Jacqueline Hansen

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Jacqueline Hansen

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 bathroom, Sleeps 4

Located on a quiet tree lined street our Heritage Home has been in the family since the 1920s. The ground floor apartment has a private entrance and has been newly renovated.

We are centrally located and easily accessible by car, bus or sky train to everything you will want to do in the Vancouver area. It is a 10 minute bus ride to downtown Vancouver including Chinatown, Gastown, shopping and theatres. We are 10 minutes by taxi to both cruise ship terminals and also the Waterfront station of the Canada Line sky train to and from the airport. It is 5 minutes to the entrance of the #1 Highway to North Vancouver which takes you to the Horseshoe Bay Ferry Terminal to Vancouver Island. The nearby Ironworkers Bridge gives you quick access to all the local ski resorts with beautiful hiking trails in the summer and the Highway to Whistler/ Blackcomb Mountains.

Our neighborhood of Burrardview sits on the shores of Burrard Inlet and there are a number of parks within a short walking distance from our home. These include Burrard Park with it's sweeping views of the inlet and North Shore Mountains, New Brighton on the water with swimming and picnic areas and Hastings Park with racecourse, casino and Playland's heritage rollercoaster.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
Very welcoming, suited our needs well. Thank you for sharing your home with us especially for providing the high chair and crib.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 4

Jacqueline Hansen

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We have 6 children all living in the Vancouver area and 7 grandchildren and 1 great-grandson. We love to travel and also enjoy music, reading and gardening. Two of our children are tour guides in the Vancouver area so we have access to any information regarding tours, attractions etc in our area. We love our little corner of the City and think it is one of Vancouver's best and would be delighted to share it with you! On a hot summer day come home to the cool breeze off the water and relax in your home away from home!!!

Jacqueline Hansen purchased this apartment in 1920

Our property has been in the family for three generations. Bill's grandparents purchased the house in the early 1920s. Although there have been some new houses built many of the houses in our neighborhood are also heritage properties. This along with the Japanese Plum trees that line Trinity Street give us a feeling of history and make us very happy to live here.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Mountain View Central Location
average rating of 4.736842 based on 19 reviews
business
Mountain View Central Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919810
+1 6042551871
Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) East Side
Las Vegas, NV USA
5

WONDERFUL STAY!

  • 5 of 5
Our family recently returned from a very enjoyable one-week stay at this listing. It's conveniently located about 15-20 minutes outside downtown Vancouver by bus. The Play Land amusement park is just a 20-minute walk from the house. Our two children, aged 14 and 9, had a lot of fun there. The neighborhood is clean, safe and quiet. The nearest shopping area is about 7 blocks away, including a number of Asian markets and the Donald Market, a neighborhood store featuring a wonderful selection of fresh vegetables, baked goods and more, perfect for our family that likes to cook our own food rather than make a constant practice of eating in restaurants. However, when we did venture out, we discovered a great Japanese restaurant in the area named Sushi Nainamo, also an easy walk from the residence.

Speaking of cooking, the residence comes equipped with a large skillet, rice cooker, hot water kettle, toaster, toaster oven and coffee maker. Be aware that it does not have a stove top or oven. However, making creative use of the facilities, we were more than satisfied with our cooking arrangements.

For the first few days, we got around quite handily on foot and by bus. The bus runs quite regularly between the house and downtown, about once every 15 minutes. About midway through our stay, we decided to rent a car. There's ample street parking near the unit. Having the car multiplied our options for shopping, putting us an easy 15-20 minutes from a couple of our favorite stores, Costco and Walmart.

The unit more than lived up to its description and photos, being very well kept and clean. All four beds are pillow-topped, providing much more comfort than we are normally accustomed to at home. It was tough to get out of bed in the morning!

Everything worked fine but on the one occasion that the electric skillet power cord malfunctioned, the owner bought a new skillet by the very next day!

We arrived with a ton of dirty clothes having just completed an Alaskan cruise. The washer and dryer were put to immediate use and worked perfectly!

The owners' daughter is a tour guide, so we were able to get an abundance of tourist information about the Vancouver area. The owners live upstairs, so they are readily and easily accessible to answer questions or intervene in case a problem arises.

We were very satisfied with our experience and would gladly stay there again.
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The bus ride to downtown is a little longer at the moment due to some major work on our main route which has resulted in a detour for almost a year. This is almost finished and should make the route much shorter & quicker. For all the ESL schools our neighborhood is considered very desirable because they are downtown and we are so close & easily accessible by bus. By car it is only 10 minutes to downtown.

We enjoyed having this family & would gladly welcome them back again.
business
Mountain View Central Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919810
+1 6042551871
Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) East Side
5

HAVE REALLY ENJOY OUR STAY AT JACKIE'S PLACE .

Have really enjoy our stay at Jackie's place .
  • 5 of 5
We really enjoy staying at Jackie's place.The place was very comfortabel and cosy.Close from everything we were wishing to see.Jackie and Dawn were very helpfull about all the information we were needing to known about the city.I highly recommand this place cause close of everything and quiet and peacefull place to stay.
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was great to have this lovely couple from Quebec stay with us. My daughter Dawn, who has been a tour guide in Vancouver (tours to Victoria and Whistler) for several years, was able to help them with a lot of their questions about our area. Because we are close to downtown, the cruise ship terminal and also the North Shore mountains our location is ideal. Our proximity to the water means it is not only a safe, quiet place but also several degrees cooler than downtown on the hot summer days. We now often have repeat visitors and we look forward to seeing our new friends from Quebec again in the future.
business
Mountain View Central Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919810
+1 6042551871
Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) East Side
5

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Jacquie and Dawns lovely home for a full month during an important time in our lives. Our son was having 2 surgeries, 3 weeks apart and we needed a quiet peaceful place where he could recupe and we could stay together as a family in between surgeries. This place was the perfect spot for us and we believe, heaven sent. Level entry, cozy rooms, comfortable beds,lovely duvets and plenty of space for us and for visiting family members.We had all we needed to be comfortable and also had use of the owners BBQ and washer/dryer- very much appreciated!Jacquie and Bill took the time to compile large binders holding pamphlets to all the restaurants and attractions nearby- what a blessing for out of towners. A wide variety of reading materials had my kids remembering their favorites and the cable TV was more than adequate. Harkens to a time and place where people knew the difference between a house and a home.We will most definitely recommend and be back whenever we can!
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were happy to welcome this lovely family and be able to provide them with a clean, safe home away from home at this stressful time of their lives. If you are looking for a lovely quiet safe neighborhood, walks by the water looking across to the mountains and only a short drive to the cruise ship terminal or tourists attractions we have it all. Or if, as in the case of this family, you want to be near to any one of our Vancouver hospitals we are only a 15 minute drive away. We have guests who have returned for 2nd and 3rd visits and we hope you will come and let us help make your Vancouver visit memorable soon.
business
Mountain View Central Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919810
+1 6042551871
Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) East Side
3

GREAT HOST, QUIET LOCATION, CLOSE TO WATER AND CAN PARTIALLY SEE THE MOUNTAINS

  • 3 of 5
We stayed at this first floor suite for a week while we were participating in an event at the PNE. This house is in a great location to get to the PNE easily (a couple minutes by car). There is parking in front of the house too.

The suite was well stocked with supplies (kitchen, bathroom, etc.) The beds were very comfortable and the linens and blankets were excellent quality. There is a BBQ for your use in the backyard.

We felt a little claustrophic in the suite, however, because the ceiling is quite low (even though we're only 5'3 and 5'6) throughout the apartment. The ceiling in the shower tub is very low. The wear and tear of the suite was quite noticeable in parts, especially the shower and the living room. The furniture in the living room are quite worn. The suite has an "old smell" to it.

This suite is a decent budget place to stay if you don't mind the "oldness" of the suite.
The host, Jacquie, is very sweet and very accommodating and makes sure you have everything you need for your stay. She also provided me with a lot of helpful information prior to booking.
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: We have never had a guest complain about the ceiling being low..although we have had some tall guests. In fact we have never had an online complaint. I usually invite guests to give us their feedback and try very hard to act on any that are constructive (and possible to change). I think the fact that so many of our guests have returned for another stay speaks for itself. Our apartment is not a luxury apartment. If that is what you are looking for there are plenty in Vancouver and they charge accordingly. However, we do strive to make it safe, clean and comfortable. I believe we have achieved that. We are 10 minutes from downtown, close to the Canada Line from the airport, just across the bridge from the North Shore ski resorts and on a safe quiet street. And I promise you it smells clean too. Come and see for yourself. We will gladly be your "Home Away from Home".
business
Mountain View Central Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919810
+1 6042551871
Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) East Side
5

QUIET, CENTRALLY LOCATED APARTMENT

  • 5 of 5
Our family of 4 including our 5 and 7 year old boys took an Alaskan cruise and decided to spend 3 days in Vancouver afterward. We didn't want to spend a fortune on a hotel room after the price of the rest of our travels and found the perfect solution here. We had separate bedrooms for us and our kids, a beautiful neighborhood, and easy, free street parking. The unit was kid friendly and very clean. The owner was very easy to work with. We were able to easily get to all the attractions we wanted and would highly recommend Grouse Mountain, Capilano Suspension bridge, Granville Island and Stanley Park where we visited the aquarium. On our last night we went to La Casa Gelato on Venables Street. They have 218 flavors so you can find one for any taste. If we ever return to Vancouver we would definitely contact Jacquie again for our stay.
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were very pleased to have this family and their well behaved little boys stay with us.. Our close proximity to the cruise ship terminal make us a get pre or post cruise stopover. I was happy to hear the boys enjoyed the puzzles and books we provided. We are central to all the attractions mentioned and yet the cool breezes and quietness of our neighbourhood also make it a great place to relax when you come home. We will happily welcome this family back on any return visit.
business
Mountain View Central Location
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p919810
+1 6042551871
Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) East Side
Portland, OR USA
5

LOVELY AND CONVENIENT LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
The apartment was comfortable, clean, and cozy with all the features we needed. We loved the quiet neighbourhood and proximity to parks and the harbour. Very close to good restaurants, etc. Bill and Jacquie were kind and helpful hosts, yet not intrusive. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Vancouver.
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Email Owner Email

Map

Stanley Park
"This is the jewel of Vancouver. Beautiful views of the mountains and ocean. You can rent a..."
Granville Island
"The public market food fair, souvenier shops, outdoor musicians combined with the gorgeous s..."
Car: not necessary

We are a very short drive to the local ski/hiking area (10 minutes) and can see the local mouuntains from our house. There is ice skating at the local ski resort and in summer Grouse Mountain has 2 bears that live up at the top. The views from the top of Grouse are a must see. In late afternoon you can see the city by day and then take in the sunset and city lights at night. A ten minute drive home and because we are also located 10 minutes from downtown and all the theatres and restaurants there you can go out for the evening! I think our location is perfect for seeing Vancouver and area.,

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
Jun 1 2014 - Sep 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
C$ 125
C$ 700
C$ 2,400
 
 
new years
Dec 30 2014 - Jan 2 2015
4 night minimum stay
C$ 500
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
C$ 95
C$ 600
C$ 2,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes This is a two bedroom suite. The rates given are for double occupancy. For more than two adults add a daily charge of $15 per person per night
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Hastings-Sunrise (Hastings Park) Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Mountain ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Budget
General:
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking On Street
  • Iron & Board
  • Internet
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Freezer
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Television
  • Radio
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • theme parks
  • restaurants
  • bay/sound
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • rain forests
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • live theater
  • museums
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • cycling
  • roller blading
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Email Owner Email