Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

BEAUTIFUL TRADITIONAL VICTORIAN STYLED MOUNTAIN HOME!

Christine Arleo

Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Contact the Owner

Christine Arleo

Advertiser since: 2011
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL TRADITIONAL VICTORIAN STYLED MOUNTAIN HOME!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Hunter Mountain House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Hunter and Windham are Opening November 21 2014. This will be a great year on the slopes !!

Home is nestled in the Catskill mountain range, and sits within the historic Sunset Park community. The home is a Victorian styled mountain home that is surrounded by trees and natural rock formations. The home has natural wood floors throughout, wood burning fireplace, and contains all modern amenities including, but not limited to, fully equipped kitchen, flat panel television, wireless Internet access, and washer and dryer. There is a wrap-around front porch and two of the bedrooms have out-door balconies overlooking the mountainside.

This property is a quiet and peaceful retreat. In the summer, guests can enjoy swimming in the natural creeks and waterfalls, as well as hiking, boating, fishing, golfing and biking, among many other outdoor activities. In the winter, the property is a mere 6 miles from Hunter Mountain ski resort and is also within close proximity to Windham Mountain ski resort. There are many restaurants, shops, and other entertainment within close proximity.

Postcard Like Winter & Fall Settings: Mild Summer Temperatures & Star Filled Skies:

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Christine Arleo (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

About Christine Arleo

I built this home next to a family home. I restored the original family home. I love the peace and serenity of my properties and enjoy seeing others do the same.

Christine Arleo purchased this house in 2007

Why Christine Arleo chose Hunter Mountain

I have loved the area since my childhood. I worked here during summers while in college and have many great memories here.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
average rating of 4.5 based on 16 reviews
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 -609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
New Jersey
1

Renter Beware!

  • 1 of 5
This house is truly lovely. We were 4 couples in our 50s renting for the weekend. This was our first time renting a house through the internet. Upon returning to our respective homes, we found out that we were being blamed for broken kitchen tiles (that we noticed were cracked upon arrival.) As a result, our deposit was not returned. Any renters should inspect for damage upon arrival and take pictures and notify the owners. Never assume that the owners are aware of damage on their property! We made that mistake. This experience has left a bitter taste.
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The renters are not being completely transparent on the rental of our home.
We are completely aware of the condition of our home and take great pride in our home. We were actually at our neighboring property that weekend and we were in the home several days immediately before they arrived as well as our housekeeper was in the home. When our home is not being rented we are in the home inspecting and updating the home. The renters cracked 6 tiles and ruined our kitchen floor. (We immediately replaced the whole kitchen floor). See our updated pictures.
We rent VRBO homes frequently and as with any where we would stay if we saw any damage that seemed “out of character for the whole home” we would immediately notify the owners or management. The renters saw us throughout the weekend and even asked many questions of us. However they neglected to notify us of the problems with the tile. They left us a note upon their departure and mentioned the cracked tiles there. We immediately sent them an email with the pictures notifying them that they would be responsible for the damage they created.
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 -609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
A group of my friends stayed at this property over the weekend. We all had a great time and loved the house. It was minutes away from the shops/restaurants and the mountain. House was clean and very spacious. No complaints!
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 -609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Spacious, affordable, clean rental!

  • 5 of 5
Had a fantastic trip for a group of 6 of us and we were very happy with the property and how well kept it was. The pictures really didn't do it justice - it was cozy, extremely clean and had everything we could possibly need for a great weekend getaway. The owner was very responsive and helpful throughout the rental process and stay. We had no issues and hope to visit again this season. I highly recommend this rental for anyone who is planning a ski trip to Hunter or even Windham - it is in a great location to both resorts and you won't be disappointed.
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 -609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Haines Falls House

  • 5 of 5
Our experience was very positive. The rental process was smooth and professional from contract to security deposit. The house was clean and comfortable. We had a relaxing and enjoyable weekend and would stay again!
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 -609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
5

Great property to relax with friends

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at this home with a group of friends in August 2013 . The home was exceptionally clean with all of the conveniences and amenities listed in the property description. We particularly enjoyed the wrap around porch for relaxing and sharing stories. The owners were very gracious and accommodating.They were a great resource for information regarding places of interest such as Haines Falls, golf courses and restaurants in the area.It was the consensus of the group that this beautiful home is a redo for next year.
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Beautiful Traditional Victorian Styled Mountain Home!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p912098
+1 -609-670-2961
Hunter Mountain Catskills
1

Not worth the aggravation

  • 1 of 5
As a renter a few things that you would expect during the rental process are an owner that takes pride in his/her property and in your experience at their property. If there was an issue, you would expect a quick and apologetic response to issues and a timely return of any deposits. In this case renter beware!

This owner had no problem yelling at my wife and lead a conversation on the below with "are you going to give me a hard time on this" and "this is not a breach of contract".

We rented this house (my family and in laws) for a long weekend at Hunter Mountain. We arrived at the property after the check in time to a pig stye. The driveway was covered in snow, there was garbage and beer bottles stacked in the kitchen, the floors needed a sweeping and dirty sheets and towels were still on the bed and in the bathrooms. My wife called the owner and sure we got a quick call back, but the irate voice on the other end was quite the opposite of what we expected. Was any apology offered? No. Was a how can I make this right? Can I refund the $75 cleaning charge? No. It was either we packed up our stuff, and found somewhere to spend 2 hours (after our check in time) to allow a cleaning service to come in or were on our own to find somewhere else to spend our weekend.

After our weekend stay, we waited for the 14 days to get our security deposit back. On the 15th day we followed up again with the owner and were told to send him an address where he could mail out a check as he was vacationing and couldn't utilize paypal to send back our deposit. Again another example of the owners entitlement, having the renter jump through hoops and making it as difficult as possible to get what is rightfully ours.

I would strongly recommend that you find elsewhere to stay. We did not get the feeling that we were welcome at this property. The owner comes across as entitled and makes you feel like you are the inconvenience for him, rather than making this a stress free process. Find somewhere in the area, where you can find an owner that takes pride in his property, is good on his word and whose first response is to scream at a woman and blame the renter when he has messed up.
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: “We take full responsibility for the failure of our cleaning people to prepare our home. From the second we were advised that the home had not been turned over from our last guests we acted with the care and concern appropriate for the situation. We immediately telephoned our cleaning person and advised her that our home had not been cleaned. We spoke to our cleaning person within 5 minutes of the call from our guest. She assured us that she would immediately go to clean the home. However, our guest impatiently made it clear to us that anything short of an instantaneous resolution would be unacceptable. She advised us that the condition of the home constituted a “breach of contract” and further asked “Is this how you conduct a business?” In response, we advised her that we did not breach the contract so long as we cleaned the house within the next few hours. Our cleaning woman arrived at our home shortly thereafter. We checked with our guest 30 minutes after receiving the initial call, to confirm that the cleaning woman was there. We further advised our guest that she and her group could either stay at the house while it was being cleaned or they could go leave for a few hours and return after house was clean. These options were unacceptable to our guest . It was at that point, without any other option under the circumstance, we advised our guest that she and her group could find other accommodations and that we would, or course, refund all of the monies. She then agreed to leave for a few hours. We checked back with our cleaner when she were done (1 hour and 30 minutes later). The house was cleaned and our guest subsequently advised us that everything was good. They stayed the entire three nights. After the house was cleaned we spoke to our guest. She advised she was happy and said the home was beautiful. In regard to return of the security deposit, our rental contract states that the deposit will be returned via regular mail by check. We ask any person(s) interested in renting our home to read all of the other reviews from our other guests. Again, we deeply regret the problem this renter had at check in time but we quickly resolved the problem and were subsequently advised by our guest that she was happy. This review was written by her husband- with whom we have had no contact at any point .

Map

Kaaterskill Falls
Maggie's Krooked Cafe
The Spinning Room
Citgo
Currans
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Tannersville
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Currans Tannersville
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Hunter Mountain & Windham Mountain
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $400 Per night

Hunter Mountain House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2014 - Dec 26 2014
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
New Years
Dec 27 2014 - Jan 2 2015
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,800
 
 
Martin Luther King Day
Jan 16 2015 - Jan 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Presidents Day
Feb 13 2015 - Feb 16 2015
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $100
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes Paypal billing
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Hunter Mountain House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master bedroom bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor (in Master Bedroom)
    2nd Bedroom bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd floor in 2nd bedroom
    First floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1st floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd floor en suite full bathroom
    Master Bedroom - 1 queen , 2nd floor- en suite full bath
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 1 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Bose Radio included

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote