DOWNTOWN COTTAGE IN HEART OF LOS GATOS NEAR ALL RETAIL AND RESTAURANTS

John Whitney

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Contact the Owner

John Whitney

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

DOWNTOWN COTTAGE IN HEART OF LOS GATOS NEAR ALL RETAIL AND RESTAURANTS

Los Gatos Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Very cute smartly furnished 1bd/1ba private rustic cottage located in wooded setting in the heart of downtown Los Gatos. Enjoy all that Downtown Los Gatos offers including: free jazz concerts with wine and cheese every Wednesday evening, free Music in the Park every Friday afternoon, Farmer's Market every Sunday, diverse retail, great restaurants and pubs, walking trails, and mountain hiking. Smallish kitchen and living room combined but new hardwood floors. Living room has pull out couch for extra guests. Nice size bedroom with queen size bed and walk in closet. New deck. Near Route 17 so expect significant noise outside. If you like privacy, parking, and downtown living, this cottage is for you! Pets welcome.

Some of the amenities:

- Internet access

- Cable TV

- Towels/Linens included

- Coffee Maker

- Microwave

- Gas Stove

- Outside Gas Barbeque and Deck

Keywords: cottage

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered

John Whitney

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Downtown cottage in heart of Los Gatos near all retail and restaurants
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Downtown cottage in heart of Los Gatos near all retail and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377710vb
+1 408.458.0060
Los Gatos The Bay Area
Oregon
4

LOS GATOS COTTAGE

  • 4 of 5
The pictures of the cottage are pretty accurate and, although small, a good fit for a small family. I wished that I paid closer attention to the earlier reviews about the noise-level. I am normally a medium-to-heavy sleeper and yet the noise kept me up (yes, even the early hours of the morning, there is traffic coming and going on 17, especially Saturday nights). The only other two minor issues was that (1) the coffee pot was marked as leaker and we were unable to find the filter and (2) the local TV (to view the news) was not recieving a signal. We contacted John and he corrected the coffee pot situation right away. We were unable to connect on a good time to get the TV looked at, but we were able to view Netflix and some HULU. The cottage is well stocked with toilet paper, towels and cleaning supplies such as dish detergents and hand soap. We found out from John that he also stocked the other rental units with a selection of earplugs, but not in the smaller one that we were at. He plans to remedy this shortly. All the earlier reviews about contacting John are spot on, he will do his best to fix any issues that arise. It is also within a short walking distance in downtown. Although there is no garage, there is parking lot designated for the tenants, so available close by parking is not an issue. I should add that the cottage is clean, which is important consideration for me. I bundled up our toddler in the down comforter at night and you can smell the "clean laundry" scent! We would stay again, especially after hearing from John that he stocks earplugs for folks who may have forgotten to bring theirs along.
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
Downtown cottage in heart of Los Gatos near all retail and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377710vb
+1 408.458.0060
Los Gatos The Bay Area
3

REMODEL REFUGE

  • 3 of 5
The location next to downtown Los Gatos is excellent for walking to shopping, dining, grocery, hardware, coffee, etc. The property is very clean and comfortable enough, yet aged. Significant traffic noise is no joke; bring your earplugs if you are used to quiet sleeping. Space is best suited for 2, and a life safer for those with pets. Really accessible to the Bay area, the Peninsula or Santa Cruz and the coast. Thank you so much for our remodel refuge!
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
Downtown cottage in heart of Los Gatos near all retail and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377710vb
+1 408.458.0060
Los Gatos The Bay Area
4

GREAT LITTLE GETAWAY

  • 4 of 5
The cabin was well-appointed and perfect for a little getaway right in the heart of Los Gatos. John was wonderful and made it very clear that he was close by and would be more than willing to attend to any of our needs that may arise during our stay. Having a full kitchen was a wonderful way to save a little money, although, if you prefer, there are plenty of great places to eat within a 5 - 10 minute walk from the cabin. There are well-maintained sidewalks throughout the town, so getting around on foot is not a problem at all. The cabin is also close to several great hiking trails. One note to those that are the taller side, we are each 6 ft tall, and some of the doorways and the shower head were a bit low for us, but as long as you watch your head, it's not that big of a deal. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks for everything!
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Downtown cottage in heart of Los Gatos near all retail and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377710vb
+1 408.458.0060
Los Gatos The Bay Area
Palo Alto, CA
5

SAFE, CLEAN, GREAT LOCATION, PETS WELCOME - LOVED IT!

  • 5 of 5
My family needed a short term rental and didn't want the coldness (and inconvenience) of a hotel. We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage (next to the 1 bedroom) and loved it! Lots of space, smartly designed (new floors, new bathroom, new kitchen) and, of course, great location. For the noise we kept windows closed and fans on = no noise. John was great, met all of our needs. Thanks John!
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Downtown cottage in heart of Los Gatos near all retail and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377710vb
+1 408.458.0060
Los Gatos The Bay Area
Hayward, CA
5

GREAT PRICE AND LOCATION, ESPECIALLY FOR PET OWNERS

  • 5 of 5
Last fall we were moving to CA from overseas, and needed a place to stay (along with our pets) while house hunting. We were nervous about booking something online from so far away, but John was very accommodating and answered all of our questions over the phone. We stayed at the cottage for almost 2 months, along with our 3 year old son, our 3 dogs and our cat! Also I was quite pregnant at the time. We certainly filled the cottage to its full capacity, but felt very lucky to have found such a pet-friendly, fully furnished, short-term place at such a great rate. With that many pets, we couldn't find anything comparable online anywhere around the entire SF bay area, and ending up in Los Gatos was an unexpected bonus - such a cute town & so many great restaurants and cool places within walking distance!
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Downtown cottage in heart of Los Gatos near all retail and restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p377710vb
+1 408.458.0060
Los Gatos The Bay Area
1

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE - DIRTY, ILL-KEPT, NOISY

  • 1 of 5
Please be aware I took pictures of this place to prove my points which were submitted to the owner and to HomeAway.
The worst thing about the place was something I couldn't take a picture of:the freeway noise. I had been told that I would hear freeway noise if I was outside on the deck, but inside was pretty quiet. Inside was not quiet. Even with ear plugs, which I wore continually, I couldn't get away from the roar of the freeway anywhere inside. I tried closing all the windows. It did very little to cut down on the noise, but it did turn the place into a hotbox, even though the outside temp was less than 80. Due to the noise, I did not sleep that night.

Although free wifi was advertised, the sheet of paper they left that explained the wifi left a blank space where the security key was supposed to be. The bed had no frame. The carpet around the bed was disgustingly stained. I looked for a cup to make coffee in; they were all dirty. The coffee pot was encrusted; it looked like it hadn't been washed for weeks. The cupboards were sticky with grease. The cupboards were falling apart. The dish towels were dirty and stained. The toilet seat had been broken and repaired with duct tape. The towel rod was broken.

I can't imagine expecting anyone to stay in a place in such bad general condition, let alone leaving it so dirty. I travel quite a bit, and this was among the worst three places I've ever stayed in. I can't say "slept in,"because I didn't. I could hardly wait to leave, which, although I contracted for 2 weeks, I did the very next day.

The owner has been notified and I am now fighting to get my money back.

I had been very much looking forward to having a refuge to return to at the end of my very long days of work; I'm so disappointed. My one-night stay was a truly depressing experience.
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: How does one respond to a negative review without sounding defensive? Let us start by stating that we are a family-run business, and we're not really a "business" at all -- we offer three rustic, furnished cottages in downtown Los Gatos. We take great pride in keeping them stocked, clean, and in good order. They are furnished very nicely. The other reviews substantiate this claim.

On the other hand, this upset tenant does make some good points. A long-term renter had just left the cottage, and so we may have missed some things (broken toilet seat, dirty coffee pot, etc.). However, the cottage had been cleaned not once, but twice. It was not dirty. Yes, the bedroom carpet was stained, but had we been contacted, we would have it replaced or steam cleaned within 24 hours, with a discount for the inconvenience. Yes, the mattress/box spring does not have a frame, but we have found that this reduces dust and lost items. So far, no one else has complained.

It's important to note that we live within feet of this cottage, and were willing to come in to take care of any complaints or problems within minutes. We would have cleaned the coffee pot, washed any smudged dishes, etc. This tenant did not give us the chance.

Lastly, as the advertisement states, the cottage is located close to Highway 17 and there is noise. It is the price one pays for a lprime locale in downtown Los Gatos. Most tenants are able to adjust quickly. We clearly state in the listing and then reiterate in the contract that there is significant noise. And "significant" means, well, significant.

If you're looking for a four-star hotel, this cottage is not for you. Los Gatos offers two very nice, top-tier hotels in the area for about three times the price. But as the other reviews state, our cottage is cozy, well-appointed, and in a great location. Oh, and we replaced the carpet.

John
cell: 408-458-0060
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
San Jose Mineta
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Santa Cruz
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Campbell, CA
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 17
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Santa Cruz Boardwalk
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Toll House Hotel
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Foothills
Nearest Golf
2 Metres
La Rinconada Country Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Heart of Downtown Los Gatos
Nearest Point of Interest
"Jazz in the Plazz" Concerts
Nearest Point of Interest
Sunday Farmer's Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Toll House Hotel
Nearest Point of Interest
Los Gatos Creek Trail
Nearest Point of Interest
Music in the Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Icing on the Cake

Located downtown Los Gatos in wooded area off main street. Shopping, nightlife, hiking, restaurants, and retail shops are 2 minute walk away.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Los Gatos Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$135
From
$145
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $95.00

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Los Gatos Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
General:
  • Secure Parking
  • Gas Heating
  • Floorboards
  • Living Area
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Laundry Soap
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Internet ...
  • Heating ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Ice Maker
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Kitchenette
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (1) Medium sized bedroom with walk-in closet. Bedroom furniture includes: queen size bed with pillows, sheets, comforter, bed table and table lamp, 3-4 pictures on walls, bureau, and floor lamp., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon in living room
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Music Library ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Wood Deck
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Shed
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
  • Small Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • theme parks
  • museums
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • water parks
  • coin laundry
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • antiquing
  • naturism
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • mountain biking
  • hiking
  • golf
  • fishing
  • cycling
  • tennis
Notes:
iron & board, coffee maker, 4 ring stove and oven, freezer, kitchenette, grill, spices, toaster, ceiling fans, toilet paper, floorboards, soaps basic, towels provided
Email Owner Email