Great Views. Bkn. Applcns. Ancient Windows, stuffy
Submitted: August 8, 2012
Stayed: July 2012
REVIEW TITLE: Great Views. Broken Appliances. Ancient Windows, Stuffy front room, Unresponsive Owner.
DATE OF ARRIVAL:
The view and location on lake is grand. Had everything you needed, EXCEPT being comfortable inside and an understanding and responsive owner--see below.
The AC blew out ambient hair, i.e., USELESS.
The house was way too stuffy: not enough cross breeze; no screen door on front door; small screen openings in rear door. Large scenic windows that do not open for air circulation. No fan in front room, so very hot and stuffy.
Windows do not stay up on their own--must use a stick.
GET THIS: The owner said they were built that way(???).
When in my life have I seen normal windows that do not stay open? Me thinks, never.
One DVD player did not work. The other DVD player, that the OWNER accused me of breaking--I went to turn it on and it fell behind the 75 lb cathode ray tube tv and it broke when it hit the floor. We called/emailed the owner and she said, "...I will send someone out...". Well they never appeared when we were there.
I feel cheated paying what I payed. Owners reply, "WE DO NOT GIVE REFUNDS"
And last, she also called me a nit picker--hahahaa. Instead of her addressing the problems.
I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN NOR WILL I RECOMMEND IT.
It's lucky to get TWO STARS.
Owner's Response: I have to say this is the first time we have had a complaint about the cabin. We received a nice email about 2 days after they arrived, that the cabin was wonderful and well stocked, but that they had a problem with one of the 2 dvd players. This was the only time I heard from them until the Monday after they were due to leave. They said they left a couple days early,due to smoke from a forest fire in the area. But, if they did it was without any notice. This prevented me from renting it to others on the cancelation list. I did however offered them additional days at a later date ( at no cost ) but was refused.
The cabin is about 900 sq. ft. with picture windows over looking the lake. There are 9 windows with screens that open, 2 new ceiling fans, a front door and a new french door w/ screened side panels that open to the deck. We have worked hard to make sure the cabin is a comfortable and enjoyable place to be, but with a complaint that the refrigerator froze their eggs I realized that nothing I said would make them happy.
We have many couples that return for visits, so I hope that this review will not hinder anyone from visiting our little cabin on on the lake. It is truly a wonderful place to be.
Helpful votes: 7/9
Did you find this review helpful?