Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Watch Dolphins Play at Eagle's Rest. Spring is great at SGI! Come on down!

Owner

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 8, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Watch Dolphins Play at Eagle's Rest. Spring is great at SGI! Come on down!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

St George Island House Rental Photos and Description

Contact us for quotes on 3, 4, 5, or 6 nights when available. Early Bird is for 7 nights only.

WE INCLUDE COMPLIMENTARY TRIP INSURANCE WITH EACH RESERVATION.

EARLY BIRD SPECIALS -- BOOK 7 nights in High Season 6 MONTHS IN ADVANCE AND TAKE 5% OFF YOUR RATE! Book 7 nights 6 months in advance Mid or Low season and TAKE 10% OFF YOUR RATE! Specials apply to 7 night stays only.

Beautiful three bedroom home with unobstructed gulf view. Families welcome, kids welcome, pets welcome.. Peaceful retreat with King bed in master, two Queen beds, two bunks, and sleeper sofa. Decks, porches and widow's walk for spotting schools of dolphins. Watch shrimp boats with nets unfurled heading in and out of Bob Sikes Cut while sipping your morning coffee. We are within walking distance of Bob Sikes Cut for all you fishermen out there.

We are steps (two to three minute walk) from house to waves using convenient boardwalk in this first tier home. The Plantation has miles of private beaches, and tennis courts for your enjoyment. Our new community pool is 45' by 75' with lap lanes. The brand new Clubhouse is completed and beautiful! The bike paths are terrific and sunsets are spectacular from the widow's walk at Eagle's Rest. Bed linens and towels in place when you arrive and your long distance phone calls and wireless high speed internet are free! Complimentary Trip Insurance.

Keywords: St George Island, Beach House, Plantation, Appalachicola

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Owner
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 8, 2015

About The Owner

Hello! We are Tom and Kelly Townson and bought our house on St. George Island with the hopes of hanging onto it till retirement. We've rented it for several years and it has been a good experience for us. We still have it after putting 3 kids through college and are only 2-3 years away from our dream coming true! We love St. George and the beautiful beaches, amazing sea life and wonderful people that call the island home. It really is a magical place and we are very blessed to be here. Come see for yourself. If you need a place to relax, slow down and enjoy family or friends, this is the place to do all that. You will receive a warm welcome at Eagle's Rest.

Why The Owner chose St George Island

We love the quiet and solitude of unspoiled natural Florida. The sea oats, the piney woods, the herons, ospreys and pelicans that wade or skim over the water. The dolphins doing acrobatics out of the water for the sheer joy of it. The sound of the waves and the utter peacefulness of this place. When we bought our house, there was no one between us and Bob Sikes Cut. It has grown a lot over the last 20 years but the things that drew us here are still here and so are we.

What makes this house unique

We love shopping in Apalach, touring the Victorian homes in May, eating at the Grill and BJ's and The Blue Parrot. Some of our favorite things are walking down to Bob Sikes Cut or sitting in our rockers and watching the dolphins cavort in front of the house while having some home roasted coffee.

The beach changes for each season and it's always so interesting to see the different shells, the changes in the shoreline, the activity of the birds.

We enjoy sharing our home with our guests and knowing that it is blessing other families. We've gotten so many nice notes over the years- from honeymooners to young families to many generations vacationing together. We like to think many happy memories are made at Eagle's Rest. We'd like to invite you to be part of that story.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time and the house was perfect for us!! The first night was chilly and the fireplace was working like a charm. The flue must have popped closed because the room suddenly had some smoke it it. My husband got some hot pads and tongs and reopened it and everything cleared up for he log to finish. I called the office to let them know and they were very punctual coming by by in the morning to check on things. We didn't have a problem with it the balance of our visit and everything else was in perfect working condition. We had left tallahassee after 3 days of constant rain. We woke up to sunshine and perfect weather during our stay! Thanks for sharing your home with us.
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 16

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Watch Dolphins Play at Eagle's Rest. Spring is great at SGI! Come on down!
average rating of 4.6 based on 31 reviews
Red Wing, MN
4

A house with an incredible view!

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I totally enjoyed our vacation and your lovely home. The reason why I couldn't give you 5 stars is that our family is made up of old dogs, both human and animals. Sadly, we found the stairs to the front door were just about bearable but then to have to climb another 15 or so hard tile steps up to the living area was a stretch for us. Our dogs had to stay on the first floor as their backs and legs couldn't handle the extra stairs. We both had similar problems. Otherwise, I can truly say that your home is lovely and has everything that one could want to enjoy their stay on the island. This was my husband's first trip to SGI and my 15th or so. We loved it and enjoyed ET's fish and chips and in particular, his oyster special every afternoon from 3:30 to 4:30 p.m. For a younger family, this is a perfect home in a lovely area.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kate, Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of our beach house Eagle's Rest. Like most of the houses on the Island we have a reverse floor plan which means the living areas are on the 2nd floor to afford the best views during the day. I'm glad you found the house well equipped and the views "incredible" but wish the stairs had been easier for you. We appreciate your staying with us over Christmas and hope you had a lovely holiday and a safe trip home. Tom and Kelly Townson
Huntsville, Al
5

Wonderful time at Eagles Rest!

  • 5 of 5

My extended family joined me for some down time on beautiful St. George Island this Fall. Eagles Rest was charming and so comfortable-

We needed nothing more than the home provided- we did not dine out much. The beds in all three bedrooms were fine, the pull out sofa used one night was comfortable as well.

The view from the upper deck is just what I had hoped- virtually unobstructed. The eagles nest was great for viewing the stars at night- fun!

There is not one thing that constituted a negative about this home, near Sikes Cut where the fishing is good. I highly recommend this unit.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen, Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and were so kind to write such a lovely review. It is a tremendous help to us and our future guests! We would love to welcome you back anytime. Tom and Kelly Townson
Murrayville
5

Happy and Satisfied

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful beach house! We enjoyed every minute in this home. It had everything we needed for a much anticipated week at the beach! The views from the outside decks are just like the pictures - only better! The beach was perfect. The dolphins played in front of us every day. We cooked in almost every night and had everything we needed. Loved having the washer and dryer on the same floor as the bedrooms. Our little Shih Tzu loved it also! He had plenty of friends that week!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Gail for your kind review. We are so happy you had a wonderful vacation at St. George and found Eagle's Rest met all your needs. We love hearing that our guests had a relaxing, fun time! We'd love to have you and your family back anytime. Thanks again for your review. Tom and Kelly
Dallas, TX
4

Another Restful Week at Eagle's Rest

  • 4 of 5

We have been here many times. Every time we come it only gets better. The whole family loved the week away (including our female Golden who discovered crab hunting!)

The only thing, and I mean only, that would make this better (and maybe keep me there for 2 weeks) is better internet connectivity. But that is very minor!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello John and family, So glad to have you back. You guys are getting to be regulars and we are thrilled to have you. We have had the internet company out in April before you arrived and had hoped this issue was resolved. We will be having them out again to get the connectivity issue dealt with. Thanks for letting me know. We'd love to have your guys for two weeks and want to do what we can to make that happen! Tom and Kelly Townson
5

Loved our stay on St. George Island

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed every minute of our stay in your home in the Plantation on St. George Island! The house was perfectly equipped with everything we needed. Watching the dolphins and the incredible wildlife everyday, as well as, being on the Gulf Coast with the beautiful waters and beaches was awesome; we will certainly return! We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary with a renewing of our vows at the Lighthouse!! Our ONLY complaint would be that there were renters there the week we were who would everyday take their kayak out and sprinkle shark bait in the waters where other vacationers were swimming and enjoying the beaches. We were afraid everyday to swim in the water for fear of an increased risk of shark close to shore. These renters caught several shark while fishing from the shoreline in the area of swimmers. Not sure what the covenants for The Plantation are, but if this is routinely allowed, unfortunately, that will deter out interest in staying in the Plantation in the future. There are so many places on the island to fish, it was very concerning that these people were doing so where others were swimming. Over all, our time there was amazing and a great week for our family. Even our teenagers loved St. George Island without all the flashy activities that other more crowed beaches can offer.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kathy, We are so glad you enjoyed your time on St. George and found the house was perfectly suited for you! We were delighted to have you and your family spend a restful time on our beautiful island and still had plenty of fun for your teenagers! I was shocked to hear of the kayakers baiting sharks. In 21 years I've never seen that. In fact, I've just called the office at the Plantation and they confirmed that security would have responded and stopped it. The number is posted in the house by the phone. I'm so glad it didn't keep you from enjoying your time at Eagle's Rest. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future and thank you so much for posting a review. Best Regards, Tom and Kelly Townson
Surrey, BC
5

Loved My Stay at Eagle's Rest

  • 5 of 5

Peace and comfort, the smell of the salt air, reading a book on the covered deck overlooking the ocean…AAH. I loved my two weeks at Eagle’s Rest. Buying fresh local catch from the fish seller and cooking it up in the spacious, well stocked kitchen, taking long, invigorating bike rides exploring the nooks and crannies of St George’s island, and sunset walks on the beach enjoying the antics of the dolphins and pelicans, was balm to the soul. I can’t wait to return and enjoy this home away from home, clean, bright, comfortable and airy. Thank you to the owners for creating such a wonderful beach retreat for your guests to relax.

Debbie

Vancouver, BC

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Debbie, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It is a great help to us and we really appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your time on our lovely island and we look forward to your next visit!

Map

Nearest Golf
30 Miles
St James Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Wide Boardwalk to Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Empty beachfront lot across from our house so no obstruction
Nearest Point of Interest
No home here so lots of privacy
Nearest Point of Interest
Bob Sikes Cut for Great Fishing
Nearest Point of Interest
Parking area for cars to get to the Cut
Car: necessary

New Championship Golf Course - St James Bay in Carabelle now open- 35 min drive-Canoe and Kayaking rentals available as well as bicycle rentals-all delivered to your door, Great shopping in Appalahicola- very artsy and good restaurants

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $245 Per night

St George Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late Spring
Apr 11 2015 - May 22 2015
3 night minimum stay
$428
$2,137
 
 
Summer 2015
May 23 2015 - Aug 7 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,975
 
 
Fall 2015
Aug 8 2015 - Nov 27 2015
3 night minimum stay
$2,137
$3,470
 
 
Winter 2015
Nov 30 2015 - Dec 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,717
$3,147
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 9.0%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Our rates are ALL INCLUSIVE except for taxes. We provide complimentary linens, trip insurance, cleaning, keyless entry, access to all Plantation Amenities, free long distance calling. We are inside the gated Plantation with 24/7 security and access to biking trails, tennis courts and pool.
A monthly stay is 28 days.
To confirm a new reservation, the first deposit is due 24 hours from day of booking . See below for more details:

1. 100 days prior to arrival: 25% deposit due in 24 hrs; 25% due 90 days prior to arrival; final 50% due 30 days prior to arrival. 2. 31-99 days prior to arrival:50% deposit in 24 hrs, remainder 30 days prior to arrival. 3.Less than 30 days, full amt. 24 hrs of booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

St George Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1980 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Beach View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 2 bunk bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , In large open family room there is a sleeper sofa
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2nd bedroom has French doors that open onto Gulf side deck
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with French doors opens onto Gulf side deck
  • King size beds (1) In Master, Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Crow's Nest
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Keyless Entry, Wood burning fireplace, Washer& Dryer in large Laundry Room, Enclosed outdoor Hot/Cold shower, Fish cleaning table, Board Games, Puzzles

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$875 - $1,600 per week
3 - 5 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,450 - $1,650 per week
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,222 - $4,444 per week
7 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote