ROMANTIC COUNTRY STYLE GETAWAY IN A TROPICAL GARDEN WITH POND CLOSE TO THE BEACH

Michael PETROWSKI

Speaks german, spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Michael PETROWSKI

Speaks german, spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ROMANTIC COUNTRY STYLE GETAWAY IN A TROPICAL GARDEN WITH POND CLOSE TO THE BEACH

Cabo Rojo Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 Rooms With 3 Beds 1 Shower+ Toilet Plus External Kitchen/Dining Room. Sleeps 6

This cabana is nestled next to a little forest on a secluded private property with many unoccupied acres around.... It is totally private....No disturbing traffic or neighbors....The perfect place to really relax in a definitely artistic environment... .A great pond with Lotus flowers and lots of little fishes that eat mosquitoes and their larvae surrounds the side of the building.... The big Kitchen and dining area has a Rock BBQ and also a fire pit ... All kitchen utensils are supplied...Two fans blow towards the seating area should the breeze stop... There is another mini pond ...A Monster Ficus tree gives shade to this whole area...under this tree is a hammock for your enjoyment..

There are also a variety of Tropical birds and frogs, including the famous Coqui that you can see here.. A horse , 2 watchdogs and a cat also live on the property...all are very friendly...Restaurants ,Bars ,and a little Grocery store and a Bakery are close by...The next fabulous beach is only 3 min. away...

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Michael PETROWSKI

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks german, spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Romantic Country Style Getaway In A Tropical Garden With Pond Close To The Beach
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
business
Romantic Country Style Getaway In A Tropical Garden With Pond Close To The Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905391
+1 17872554144
Cabo Rojo Puerto Rico
Charlotte
2

WE WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED

  • 2 of 5
Let me start by saying we were very excited about the Cabana. There are very good points to this property, I will list these first to be fair.
1 seclusion
2 lovely pond with blooming flowers
3 unusually art work all over, indoor and outdoors
4 outside kitchen and dining area was very cool

OK, here's the negatives
1 the inside was very dirty
2 the floor is rocks covered with dirty rugs
3 LARGE spider webs hanging from the top of the cabana ( you can't see those in the pictures)
4 There are NOT 2 bedrooms, there is one bedroom with a bathroom and shower, the other is a large living room with 2 futons, that the bar opens into.
5 There was NO lock on the door PERIOD!!!!! There was a chain and a lock, but they did not fit together to close. When we would leave for the day and try to secure the doors, they would be open when we got back. We had to take our valuables with us on excursions.
6 and here is the kicker...... there was a nest of baby rats in the bedside table.

Our stay was to be for a week, Saturday to Saturday. We ended up leaving on Tuesday morning. I also asked Michael for a refund for the portion of the week we did not stay. I also sent him an email which he said he did not receive. AND accused us of letting the rat in. REALLY????

This was a long anticipated trip with my brother, we planned this months in advance and we didn't just pop in. I feel a little more care could have been taken in anticipation of our arrival. We were up for the rustic- ness described . But not prepared for this. I still have not received an answer on my refund. Also the Owner was very rude in the email that he did respond to and blamed me for the doors being open.

Please read these reviews carefully before you too are disappointed.
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: ..I suppose this place is not for everyone and we know that...We did never intend to create this unit for all people but for those who appreciate the unusual .. .What is the sense of being in a tropical environment if you are not connected to nature......

I know we did the perfect thing here...All our reviews are proof... 4.5 stars on another site ...5 stars on yet another...and 2 others..



So there are some spiderwebs 16 feet up where the warm air escapes through the opening in the roof..We purpously do not remove those because they catch flying insects which are driven up by a vortex developed by the hexagonal stucture with a tipistyle ceiling..We learned that from the Indians..Their tipis did exactly the same...That's why there are hardly any bugs there..

Yes there is a partial gravelfloor in the livingroom which also serves as an alternate bedroom...The mainbedroom is completely tiled and also screened..And yes there are rugs ..like in some 5star hotels..and they are vaccumed very thoroughly before guests arrive.

We ask all our guests to tell us if they need anything..We are only 50 yards away...If they could not lock the door they should have said something...It takes everybody else only 2 seconds.

we had guests for one week until 2 days before their arrival..No complaints just pure happines...The following week new guests..everybody happy again No complaints...

The story with the babyrats inside the bedsidetables seems to be a phantasy..No way can a rat get in this kind of very strong wooden enclosure...

Last not least...they should have talked to us but they did not and the door was easily lockable and all the other complaint were basically unjustified..We think they left for some other reason and ? ...
We give them 4 days free stay ... That is all we can do in such a case..Had they talked to us and given us proof we would have offered them our own house which rents for much more than the cabana
business
Romantic Country Style Getaway In A Tropical Garden With Pond Close To The Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905391
+1 17872554144
Cabo Rojo Puerto Rico
5

VACATION OF A LIFETIME!

  • 5 of 5
Our stay was actually in November of 2011, but my review is delayed. Sorry.
This is hands down one of the most unique places I have ever stayed. It was absolutely stunning. I loved taking showers while watching the outdoor pond! Michael and his wife were warm and friendly which just added to the serenity of the experience. This place is perfect for the outdoor nature lover.
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Romantic Country Style Getaway In A Tropical Garden With Pond Close To The Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905391
+1 17872554144
Cabo Rojo Puerto Rico
3

SWISS FAMILY ROBINSON CABANA

  • 3 of 5
The fact that almost everything is homemade is very impressive, but just don't expect it to be like anything you've experienced before. That is why this is really a mixed review, and whether you like this place will really depend on what you are looking for. Many things would fit in either the pros and the cons lists, depending on the person. First off the pros:

Pros:
-This place feel like something out of a movie! Specifically, Swiss Family Robinson! It has the same jungle feel, open air structures (though built on the ground, not in the trees), and there are even some dogs and a horse running around for good measure. It is an incredibly unique cabana.
-As I mentioned, you will feel like you stepped into paradise, because Michael planted lots of really cool tropical plants along the pond and path
-Very close to the most beautiful beaches on the island
-There is a lot of neat local culture nearby and it is in a fun rural setting
-If you are looking for something that is the opposite of all the touristy, expensive places like Isle Verde, where you can experience the authentic PR, this is for you!

Cons:
-The bedroom and bathroom were kind of damp, even with the air-conditioning on, and you can't flush the toilet paper.
-The shower water is heated by the sun in a homemade heating system on the roof, but unfortunately this means in the morning and evening the water is only slightly warm. Also there were a resident tree frog and lizard in the shower (I thought they were cute, but not everyone would)
- We were not able to get wireless, though on here it says that it is provided.
- The outdoor kitchen is very fun, but the utensils and such were old, and not that nice or clean.
-The water tasted weird, so you may want bring bottled water with you.
-Initially it was difficult to remember how/where to turn lights on and off because the switches are hidden all over the place.


Overall it was a really neat place, but definitely more rustic than I expected from the reviews, pictures, and amenities listed. This wasn't really a problem for my husband and me, but we did think it was a little overpriced for something that felt a little like glorified camping, albeit in a sweet setting.
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your opinion..I agree with almost everything you say....we constantly improve this place.....the silverware is replaced.... the rugs in the livingroom are new.

the dampness occurs once in a while because this is a tropical island..Nevertheless we are on the DRY Westside..Other areas in Puerto Rico are much more humid than here...

Less than $ 110 is not overpriced. Most units in this area cost not even half the price to construct and charge more than we do...And we can accommodate up to 6 persons which less than $ 20.- per person..Nowhere else you can find a deal like that...We got 5 stars from everybody else....If you had to build and maintain a paradise like this you would probably charge twice as much as we do
business
Romantic Country Style Getaway In A Tropical Garden With Pond Close To The Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905391
+1 17872554144
Cabo Rojo Puerto Rico
5

UNFATHOMABLE PARADISE

  • 5 of 5
My Girlfriend and I decided to celebrate her birthday in the tropics this year. Since she still hadn't received her U.S passport we decided on Puerto Rico for our vacation, as it was in the Caribbean and still considered U.S soil. We started our research of available resorts and quickly established that those destinations were not our flavor. We wanted something a little more...unique.
We Found What We Were Looking For....
Michael Petrowski and his Puerto Rican lady friend Marilyn were the most welcoming hosts we could have asked for. We quickly learned that Puerto Rico is a challenge to navigate without personal transportation, and it is even more of a challenge if you don't make prior reservations. Despite our ill fated planning, Michael went above and beyond his duties as a vacation renter and shuttled us around the island in search of car rentals, groceries, and other modern necessities
In addition to his outgoing nature, the object of his exploits, the Cabana, stands as a testament to his ingenuity, and creativity. It is a general magician like creation you will be blessed with receiving.
As the pictures show, the Cabana is hexagonal structure, built in the style of the native american tipi which used to stand on the very location on which the cabana now sits. The hole in the roof allows ventilation on the hot, steamy, nights while also keeping rain from descending into the living room.
The outdoor kitchen/patio area really makes you feel like you are slogging grog and feasting in the galley of Cofresi. We discovered that dining in puerto rico could become very costly. Having the incredible eating area allowed us to mostly cook for ourselves, and we found that we never had a better meal than the ones we made in that amazing space. Michael keeps a fully stocked kitchen of frying pans, pots, silverware, plates, bowls, cups and any other kitchen apparatus you could think to need.
Keeping house and food separate is necessary in the tropics because of all the different life forms which share the island. (keep an eye out for tiny red ants)
As the location suggests. The property is not for everyone. If you are seeking a cushy all English speaking pampered resort atmosphere, Cabo Rojo may not be for you. In stark difference to the eastern side of the island, western Puerto Rico is definitively a foreign country, despite the readily available American amenities.
In the cabana, you are living in the jungle. Enjoy your Stay! We look to return!
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Daniel and Abby !

Thank you for your eciting review....We are happy you apreciated our place we had made with lots of effort for people who want something out of the extraordinary like you.............We hope you will be back with the baby soon ...Can't wait to see it....recently had a 14 month old here....so don't hesitate to com with the baby....no problem...Good luck to you both and the little one...Michael and Marilyn...................Thank you guys !!!~
business
Romantic Country Style Getaway In A Tropical Garden With Pond Close To The Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905391
+1 17872554144
Cabo Rojo Puerto Rico
Bronx, NY
5

ABSOLUTELY ENCHANTING PLACE

  • 5 of 5
We spent 2 nights and 3 days in this gorgeous outdoor experience and let me tell you it was a great choice to do so. The place is close to Buye beach and Playa Sucia by the Cabo Rojo Lighthouse where we spent a day with friends. Outdoor grilling was perfect and even our pets enjoyed it. There is also horse back riding in the vicinity which we did and have plenty of pictures with awesome views. Thank you Michael for making it super easy for us during our stay and we will be recommending this place to our friends and families. If you want to enjoy an outdoor living experience this is definitely the place to go. I recommend it.
  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Even though the cabana is something real special most guests spend more time in the outside kitchen and diningarea just like I had predicted when I built the place...Since I am from Germany where the weather does not give you much opportunity to enjoy the outdoors I needed to create a place where I could enjoy nature and have all the comfort just under some roofs without any walls.

It does not rain much in our area but if it does I love so sit there and watch the water coming down feeding my tropical garden.That never happened to me in Germany..

I am glad you had fun !
business
Romantic Country Style Getaway In A Tropical Garden With Pond Close To The Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p905391
+1 17872554144
Cabo Rojo Puerto Rico
Montreal, Canada
5

THE PERFECT PARADISE

  • 5 of 5
My boyfriend and I found this perfect place in puerto rico for a week escapade. If you don't like big hotels, impersonnal hotels and are looking for the cabana type or b&b type of place: this is your place!! This is probably the most unique place in Puerto Rico!! I arrived and was immediatly seduced!
It is nature and art at its best: eveything has been handmade by the owner: recycled and built from nature.
You will be living in your own personnal paradise! With an outdoor kitchen to enjoy rhum and the sound of water running with frogs at night...
yo can either go to restaurants close by, but also enjoy your own breakfast at your taste at home and cook yourself a fresh fish bought the same day from the fishermans at the village 5 minutes from the cabana.... pura vida!!
it is good also because puerto rico food is not cheap in restaurants and everything is fried so you can also cook how you like it at the cabana.
The owner and his wife are the most welcoming!! we enjoyed many nights with them and their friends eating, drinking and talking...
there are plenty of things to do around, but you will need a car to get around. Very nice beaches also. We did some diving: extraordinary!
i really recommend this place without hesitation!!
You will not regret it! Enjoy!!
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed the cabana so much...so all the effort I put into building this little paradise was not in vain...Thanks for commenting and Saludos to Patrick....Michael

Map

Car: recommended

Guaniquilla is located between 2 microclimates. Rain to the north and sun to the south.. we may get clouds in the afternoon. Beautiful Buye beach of is only 3 min. .There are many shadetrees and safe swimming and snorkeling. By this beach is a Nature reserve previously owned by Rockefeller..Here you can hike along the shoreline or up the hill.There is a lagoon and the caves of the famous pirate Cofresi. The bay of Boqueron and the lagoon can be seen from uphill. Boqueron is a fishingvillage with many Bars and Restaurants.Boatrides, Parasailing .livemusic on weekends..Streetvendors sell Oysters,Clams and 'Pinchos ' (meatkabobs) Jewelry and local artesania..Cross the drawbridge of the Marina relax under the palms at the beach ,watch the sunset or sit on the pier with a beer ,( $ 1.25 ) at the beachbar..The Locals are very friendly..and there are lots of festivities all year round.On the 5min.trip home you find more restaurants and a karaokebar. and groceries til 9 or 10 pm

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
This listing does not have a published calendar. Please contact the owner for availability.

Cabo Rojo Cabin Rental Rates

Notes

  • Please contact owner for rates.

Amenities

Cabo Rojo Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Adventure
General:
  • Sofa Bed
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Wireless Internet
  • Activities Guide
  • Filtered Water
  • Paper Towels
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Secure Parking
  • Thermos Bottle
  • Parking Off Street
Kitchen:
  • Lobster Pot
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double
  • Bedroom 1 is for a couple and has A/C. Bedroom 2 is also a livingroom and has 2 beds, one of them a futonbed.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Radio
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Large Cooler
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving ...
  • swimming
  • sailing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • equestrian events
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • pier fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • golf privileges optional
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
Notes:
Please feel free to call the owner for detailed info .