FAMILY RUN COMFORTABLE LONDON APARTMENT CLOSE TO RESTAURANTS AND CAFES

From
£28
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Stuart Wilson

Speaks english, french
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FAMILY RUN COMFORTABLE LONDON APARTMENT CLOSE TO RESTAURANTS AND CAFES

Bromley Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Historic Crystal Palace is one of the safest and nicest areas of London

Stay in a slice of history - this London apartment is in a listed house (built 1850) in a family-friendly conservation area. Easy access to tourist cultural and historical attractions of the city centre but also to historical south east England with Leeds castle, Hever Castle, steam railways and many fine walks. 5 min. walk from historic Crystal Palace park with its famous Victorian dinosaurs and National Sports Centre is a 5 mi.n walk. 2 min. walk to excellent world-food restaurants/cafes and large supermarket. The apartment is in the most prestigious area of historic Crystal Palace. The house is one of the oldest and most striking in the Crystal Palace area and can be seen in the impressionist painting of Pissarro (called Fox Hill). At the highest point in south London, the apartment has views over south London. Leafy green walks are close by yet frequent trains take 15-25 min. into the city centre for museums, clubs, and shows.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Stuart Wilson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english, french
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Family run comfortable London apartment close to restaurants and cafes
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews
business
Family run comfortable London apartment close to restaurants and cafes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90380
Bromley London
Canada
5

Lovely Little Home From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2008
  • Stayed: Apr 2008
We very much enjoyed our stay in this Crystal Palace flat.It is exactly as described and is close to restaurants,shops,the supermarket,and wonderful Crystal Palace Park.The owner was pleasant and helpful.We would definately stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We very much appreciate the kind comments - as a family business, it does matter to us that our guests enjoy their stay.
Helpful votes: 25/27
business
Family run comfortable London apartment close to restaurants and cafes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90380
Bromley London
2

Flawed gem

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Pros:
Excellent dinning, public transport (bus, train), grocery shopping, and park within walking distance. Kitchen with oven/stove combination, large sink, and fridge inside the flat. Washer on premises. Great value for the money.
Cons:
Owners left for family emergency without ever informing us of that fact or having a contigency plan and as a result several issues that cropped up were not dealt with in either timely manner or at all. There was no hot water or heat on second night and in general the room was severly underheated during our stay. There is no thermostat or any sort of control in the room and the radiators are on a timer. There are no electric heaters like in an upstairs unit. This was not disclosed prior to our stay. We got sick as a result towards the end . The room is draftly as well, bed keeps falling apart, and few applicances are nasty (toaster, hot pot).
Overall:
The location and the price set this one apart, but when things go wrong you cannot count on the owners to handle the matter properly or in speedy manner. It is hard to believe these issues did not appear before and the impression is one of owners knowing about the problems but not taking steps to prevent them from occuring or mediating them. Recommended for warmer months, avoid in colder weather.
Owner's Response: I am glad that our guests felt that the apartment was good value for money and there are lots of positive comments in the review. However, there are some very large and I believe deliberate inaccuracies in the details of this review. We did tell the guests that we would be away, but we did not say that we were attending a funeral as we consider this personal. While away, on one night we received repeated and quite rude texts at two o'clock in the morning saying that the heating was not working and demanding that we do something about it. In the morning, once everyone was awake, we were able to work out that someone had accidentally switched the boiler off - the switch does say on it 'do not switch off!'. Once the boiler was switched back on at about ten in the morning, heating and hot water was restored. I believe that we dealt with this in a timely manner (8 hours after being informed). We plan to move the switch so that this cannot happen again. The other issue was with slats on the bed which had dislodged. Before we departed for the funeral, I asked our guests if all was well. They mentioned the bed. I took a look at it and it took me two minutes to reposition the slats. Again, I believe that we dealt with this in a timely manner (2 minutes after being informed).

We pride ourselves on dealing with issues quickly as they arise and were able to do this in this case even though, on one occasion, we were several hundred miles away. If we are away, we also have electricians, plumbers, cleaners etc that we can call to deal with any emergencies. However, on this occasion we had no need to call on them.

We take the point about the thermostat and are planning to replace the existing system with a more sophisticated one. However, I am left feeling a bit confused because before we had to attend the funeral, the husband said he was too hot at night and requested a sheet instead of a duvet. I thought that this was reasonable because the room is warm and double-glazed. Even the most sophisticated heating control cannot keep people at two different temperatures in the same bedroom.

We certainly cannot take any responsibility for our guests catching a cold; half the world catches a cold at least once a year.

To be honest, I think this review is an angry reaction to the boiler being accidentally switched off during one night. We have had more than 150 guests over 4 years and no other guest has ever said that the apartment is cold.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Family run comfortable London apartment close to restaurants and cafes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90380
Bromley London
Japan
5

3 week stay in the Pissaro Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our stay at the apartment was great!! The location was great and the owners, Stuart and Vivienne, allowed us to park our car on the property so we didn't have to worry about where to park. The room was warm and comfortable and the view of the garden was also very nice. We also had a fun time making our own meals and going shopping at Sainsbury's which was only a few minutes away. We would definitely recommend this apartment to our friends. We plan on coming back every year!! Thank you again, Stuart and Vivienne!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Family run comfortable London apartment close to restaurants and cafes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90380
Bromley London
Oklahoma USA
5

Great budget home base while on holiday.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
My husband, myself and our 19 year old daughter stayed here for 2 weeks and found it very comfortable and cosy. What a nice surprise that on our first morning, we awoke to see a fox in the garden. It truly is "Fox" Hill. Please take the owners advice and at least upon your arrival, take the taxi from the train station to the house. Though not a long walk, for 4 pounds the driver will show you how to get there and back from the station and will also save you the trek up the steep incline, hence the "Hill" part of the address. There are other ways to get there without treking up the hill. The bathroom is seperate from the apartment, half a flight down, but is private, sufficient and quite modern. We were able to shop at Victoria train station each evening for our dinner and breakfast supplies and the kitchen was supplied well for our needs. It was pleasant to just relax in the evenings, watching tv and surfing the internet after a long day of chasing trains and tubes. The cross ventilation we had from the big windows each evening made for perfect sleeping conditions. If you're looking for a nice place to use for home base in the evenings while doing the tourist thing during the day, I couldn't recommend a better and more economical place to stay. The owners were very responsive to all inquiries before our arrival and after. Very friendly people. The house was quiet, although we're fairly certain there were other people staying there, though they were rarely heard at all. We loved it so much we plan to return again in a year or so with friends. I forgot to ask while we were there if it was another apartment adjoining via the hallway that maybe a larger party could also rent. That could be nice to know if it is so. All in all, the rental was exactly as described. More updated pictures would be nice because the room is much nicer than it appears in the pictures and the garden is lovely and the main entance into the apartment from outside is charming. It was "home" for 2 weeks that we will never forget!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always delighted when visitors enjoy the Crystal Palace area of London as much as we do. Future guests might like to know that there is indeed a larger, two-bed apartment on the top floor of the building where Chris and family stayed, and the views over the garden are even better. As well as being able to shop at Victoria or London Bridge for supplies there are also two supermarkets near the apartment, one right next to Crystal Palace station and lots of cafes for morning coffee, breakfast, afternoon tea, takeout (all kinds) or romantic evening or family meal. It is also worth spending some time during the day locally, as there are great vintage and antique shops and flea market as well as the park, pool and sports centre
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Family run comfortable London apartment close to restaurants and cafes
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p90380
Bromley London
Leicester, U.K.
5

A cosy home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
The Fox Hill, Crystal Palace apartment was a pleasure to stay at. It had all the amenities and furnishings we needed for a long-term vacation stay. We enjoyed using the kitchen and the ecofriendly, electric stove. Some of the antique decor gives it a very charming appearance. The cable on the television was also an added bonus. It often premiered good movies. A very useful bedside radio clock, with ipod facilities, dressing table, breakfast/dining table with chairs. The sofa and bed were very comfy, and the temperature of the room was never an issue. There were extra heaters available to us for those cold days/nights too.
For those wanting to save a pound/buck, and especially for those who lose value in currency to the pound, it's furnished with all the kitchen appliances you need to make the occasional dinner/lunch at home without incurring restaurant costs and the grocery store is only within walking distance.

The location is as described, situated in a safe, peaceful residential area, only about a 10minute walk from the train station. The trains operate frequently and central London is only 20/30 minutes away.
The correspondence between the owners was very pleasant and helpful. They were always at hand when we needed any assistance.


Overall, our stay was enjoyable and we'd highly recommend it to future travelers!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
Email Owner Email

Map

× This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.
Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Gatwick and Heathrow
Car: not necessary

Crystal Palace is very family-friendly. Eating out at restaurants and cafes in Crystal Palace is a must with excellent food from all regions of the globe. Crystal Palace park is the place to work up an appetite or for the more sedate, antique hunting is always good fun. South East England offers access to field and forest (e.g. the famous Winnie The Pooh Ashdown Forest) and a slice of history (Leeds Castle and Hastings where Normans and Saxons slugged it out) yet central London is only 20 min. away with its famous historical and theatrical landscape.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Bromley Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Last Minute
Mar 22 2014 - May 2 2014
£195
5 nights
 
 
Spring/Summer
May 3 2014 - Jul 11 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
£315
5 nights
 
 
Summer
Jul 12 2014 - Sep 5 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
£315
5 nights
 
 
Autumn/Winter
Sep 6 2014 - Dec 19 2014
£280
5 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Rates include towels, linen, etc. No breakage deposit; we know that accidents can happen.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Bromley Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • Town
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Budget
General:
  • Toilet Paper
  • Local Maps
  • Heating
  • Sofa Bed
  • Wireless Internet
  • Activities Guide
  • Safe
  • Washing Machine
  • Towels Provided
  • Basic Soaps
  • Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Alarm Clock
Kitchen:
  • Toaster
  • Grill
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Microwave
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchenette
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Mini Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The main living area consists of one very large room with, in addition to the double bed, a futon (sleeps 1). There is a large sink in the room and a kitchenette area. The apartment has its own private bathroom. All linen, towels, etc., are provided. We live nearby so can be on hand for any queries. Babysitting can be provided for a small fee (by my daughter age 16). There is free wireless internet access and a digibox enabling access to many digital TV channels.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Books for Adults
  • Radio
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • tennis
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • golf
Email Owner Email