COOL, CINEMA MOVIE THEATER, PEDAL BOAT, DECKED UP FOR CELEBRATIONS!

Kimmie and Domald

Advertiser since 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

COOL, CINEMA MOVIE THEATER, PEDAL BOAT, DECKED UP FOR CELEBRATIONS!

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Ocean Shores House Rental Photos and Description

Unique Vacation home, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 4 Baths (Sleeps max.10 )

One of a kind unique canal front vacation home with 14 seat movie theater, a retro 1920 style soda/ Ice cream parlor (16 seats) for your special occasions and celebrations! A private dock with a kayak, 2 seat pedal boat and a fire pit by water for your pleasure (fishing trout and bass off the private dock( adults need a fushing license) or just kayaking to explore 23 mile fresh water canal. Private yet, centrally located ( 5' driving) to most shops, restaurants, sandy beaches/ dunes, trails to Damon's Point, wild bird sanctuaries, mini rain forest, lakes, Interpretive Center, the Pacific, coves, marina, jetty, islands in duck lake, Oyhut wildlife recreation area, golf courses, entertainment centers and a casino, all within 1- 2 miles.

This unique home is on a quiet residential location.:

Visit nearby Olympic national park, Forks, Taholah village, volcanic rock islands along the northern Washington coast on a day trip. In the evening, unwind yourself with your favorite movies in our unique full screen ' Taholah Theater'. One of a kind getaway home!

CANCELLATIONS: A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 20% Cancellation fee or $100/Day whichever is greater. Cancellations or changes that result in a shortened stay, or that are made within 60 days of the arrival date, forfeit the full advance payment and damage/reservation deposit. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit. You may choose to purchase travel insurance separately. a MAXIMUM OCCUPANCY- The maximum number of guests per home is ten (10) persons. An additional charge or $30.00 per person per night for guests in addition to 8 will be assessed. THIS PROPERTY REQUIRES A TWO (2) NIGHT MINIMUM STAY. . FALSIFIED RESERVATIONS – Any reservation obtained under false pretense will be subject to forfeiture of advance payment, deposit and/or rental money, and the party will not be permitted to check in. View all of your current rental rate information.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kimmie and Domald (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Kimmie and Domald

Love the nature, wild life, serenity, peace, incredible beauty, openness, harmony and love in nature..

Kimmie and Domald purchased this house in 2005

Why Kimmie and Domald chose Ocean Shores

Surrounded by all above, fresh air, and the mystifying Blue Pacific!

What makes this house unique

All above yet close enough to civilization if you want to be.

This home is definately not a place for a loud drinking party people. This home is perfect for a small, intimate family/freinds gathering to share love, and enjoy the peace and harmony in nature...

Guestbook comments from the owner

Rea/Rich Wedding Party.

Labor Day 2014.

Perfect!
Sep 2014
  • 1 of 151

Why HomeAway

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.7
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cool, Cinema Movie Theater, Pedal Boat, decked up for celebrations!
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 160 reviews
business
Cool, Cinema Movie Theater, Pedal Boat, decked up for celebrations!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903545
-1
Ocean Shores Southwest Washington
5

Ocean Shores Gibsons place Rocks!

  • 5 of 5
We really enjoyed our time at Gibsons place. We had a large group of chidren and adults and created some lasting memories. All the bedrooms were very comfortable and the living and kitchen area had everything we needed. The dock and paddle boat on the water were fantastic. We had a nice fire in the firepit and cooked smores and told stories. The house is very well kept and had a fun ambiance. The kids were crazy about the movie theatre and they had a nice collection of DVDs to watch. Would recommend to others and we hope to return again next year.
Thanks for a great time!
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate guests like you who are very gentle with this special home and also appreciating the original founder's 1920 style soda fountain and the art deco home theater.
We welcome your family and friends any time of the year! Thank you!
Kimmie
business
Cool, Cinema Movie Theater, Pedal Boat, decked up for celebrations!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903545
-1
Ocean Shores Southwest Washington
Washington State
5

We really enjoyed out stay

  • 5 of 5
My family and I stayed at the Gibson House August 17-19th. And while it was a short stay, we enjoyed the house greatly.

We had no issues with anything in the house. The owner, Miss Kimmie, was there when we arrived, and walked me through the house. She also gave me instructions on how to use the entertainment equipment - dvd player, sound system, tv. Yes, it might be older, but it still works great as long as you treat it carefully. We had no issues with it, and really had a good time watching movies in the theater room. My kids got a total kick out of it the theater inside the house. The bedrooms served their purpose. We all slept just fine. If anything, bring your own pillow just for comforts sake. We also all had plenty of towels to use for showering. Yes, you do have to walk through a bathroom to get into the "Keeper's" and "Jungle" bedrooms. Which really isn't anything to complain about. Just, you know, be patient if someone's in the bathroom. Or walk through quick. The kitchen was great, and we found everything we could possibly need cooking and utensil wise. The dishwasher ran just fine. The owners very kindly allowed us use of items in their garage. Which isn't junk...We used the two bikes, some of the play buckets when we went to the beach, and the air hockey table. I could go on about the house, but I will simply say this - treat the house with respect. The owners have put a lot of time and effort into making it a fun place to stay. It's a very functional house, and I would not hesitate to stay there again if we were ever to go back to Ocean Shores. It's not that far from the beach, and not that far from town either. Anyone who rents a vacation home should make an effort to do a walk through with the owner, and get directions on how to use certain items. The only, and I mean ONLY issue we had was with the yard, there are little sticker bushes in the grass, and we found that out the hard way. I only say that in case someone with animals, or small kids stay there. But, once we found that out, shoes went on and stayed on anytime we were outside. It did not, however, ruin our stay. Yes, the ice cream parlor is mainly for looks, but is functional if you plan ahead of time and get instructions on how to use it, and plan accordingly for it. Thank you, Kimmie, for allowing us to stay in your home. We had a great time, and made lots of great memories there.
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Sara for your kindness to take time and putting a positive review on this site. We really appreciate kind and gentle guests like you.
We like you also appreciate the tremendous amount of craftsmanship and time spent on this home by the very talented original artists Norman and Sally Gibson.
We will work on the sticker bushes in the grass soon.
Come back and visit us soon.
Thank you.
Kimmie and Donald
business
Cool, Cinema Movie Theater, Pedal Boat, decked up for celebrations!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903545
-1
Ocean Shores Southwest Washington
1

RENTERS BEWARE

  • 1 of 5
I spent the weekend at this vacation rental on the weekend of July 18-20 with my group of 10 people (including myself). My friend's credit card was used and was a guest at the vacation home as well. Not only was the entire deposit withheld without notice, but an additional charge was incurred without notification or authorization. The property manager, Kimmie, was intrusive from the moment we arrived. She would not leave me alone via text message and insisted she come visit the property during our second day. I was able to stave her off as we paid a large sum of money for some privacy for the weekend. Immediately after our departure, she started texting me and telling me about a bunch of things that were broken. All of which are unfounded, and she refused to accept the fact that the items are subject to wear and tear and were actually broken and inoperable upon our arrival. I demanded that Kimmie refrain from contacting me any further unless she intended on keeping the security deposit, after which I told her I intend on disputing every bit of it. Items we're accused of breaking: 1) A light in the "Christmas Room". We spent no more than 5 minutes in this room and most certainly did not "pull light bulbs out of the fixture". 2) The pontoon boat. The left side seat did not work upon our arrival. Once we realized it did not work, we did not touch it. 3) The 20+ year old laser disk machine. We attempted use of the laser disk machine and followed the instructions very closely as directed in both the rental book on site and instructions from Kimmie via text. The disk player opened once, we put the disk in, it did not play, and it did not open again. There was no misuse or abuse of this device and to be held accountable and responsible for a very old piece of electronics is absurd. Motors and such are subject to wear and tear and according to Washington State RCW, no guest of the rental is responsible for said wear and tear. It is important to note that Kimmie did NOT provide a rental agreement for each party to sign. According to my research with Washington State law, no person or business has any right to keep record of a credit card number or withhold a refundable deposit without prior written consent. I have attempted to call Kimmie but my messages have not been returned.
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1) Mr. Dewey emailed us the following message for an additional guest for two days =$68 ( 30x2 + 11.4% tax)
On Sun, Jul 13, 2014 at 4:50 AM <inquiry@vrbo.com> wrote:
Hi Kimmie! Thanks for the confirmation. I'd like to add one more person to the roster, making it 10 people total. You are free to charge the additional $30 to the credit card that I provided for you. Thanks! ~ David Dewey
2) 07-18-14, 6:30 pm, I called Mr. Dewey, while we were checking out a movie as no one came to get the keys, theater instructions and house rules.. He said they were all running late and unable to meet us. We hid the keys for them and left. 10:45 PM, Mr. Dewey text us that they are all inside the house. I text him offering an audio-visual theater operating instructions. He text us back “I will call you tomorrow before we use it” We waited the next day but no calls. We left messages and text him, but still no response! .He cut us off from all contacts for his entire stay! There was no chance to give him any written contracts or over the phone instructions!
3) 07-20 -2014 12:58 PM , Mr. Dewey text that they were leaving the house. We hurried there to meet them but only to see them leaving hurriedly. We found the main theater machine DVL-919, Pioneer LD/DVD/CD combination player was broken and was not operating. It will cost $1300 -$1500 to replace.
Because of this damage by Dewey’s group, no one, including all families, friends, and guests, can watch the unique collection of 150 LD movies.
When we tried to contact him regarding the damage, he threatened to take us to court.
So, I stopped contacting him. The light bulbs and Pontoon boat loose knob were minor problems and were fixed.
We have been in the rental business for 10 years for this particular vacation home.
Most guests are appreciative of this unique home with ‘Retro art deco Soda Fountain‘, and a ‘Retro movie theater‘, founded by artists, Norman & Sally Gibson, and leave positive notes ( > 99%) on the guest book.
However, a few destructive individuals find a way to this home, break expansive equipment; refuse to resolve the problems together, but demand money which is not due to them. These individuals not only threaten us over the phone but, also bullies us over the internet : traveler’s web sites, yelp, vrbo, homeaway…., repeatedly trying to defame our good name!
I am a retired senior citizen...
I am simply here to share the unique, artistic nature of this home with others.
business
Cool, Cinema Movie Theater, Pedal Boat, decked up for celebrations!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903545
-1
Ocean Shores Southwest Washington
5

Beautiful vacation home !!

  • 5 of 5
This is such a beautiful home !!
I stayed a few days with my family in this lovely home and it is the prettiest vacation home I've ever stayed
It has pretty decorations all over the house and nice waterfront private dock we even caught some fish.
I love the movie theatre and soda fountain !!
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Cool, Cinema Movie Theater, Pedal Boat, decked up for celebrations!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903545
-1
Ocean Shores Southwest Washington
5

A beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
I was very surprised to find this beautiful charming home in Ocean Shores for just to get away. Movie theater, soda fountain to entertain myself and my friend. Peaceful setting, All fun activities to chose from and a very convenient location. Walked to the golf course. I loved every moment! I will definitely come back.
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Cool, Cinema Movie Theater, Pedal Boat, decked up for celebrations!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p903545
-1
Ocean Shores Southwest Washington
Virginia Mn USA
1

Dirty and messy. Lawn not cared for or mowed.

  • 1 of 5
My son stayed there for a week and planned on getting married there. The house was a pig pen. Junk everywhere in the house. The lawn was a joke. It took about 20 people to come over and clean it up. Couldn't even get into the garage because there was crap everywhere. Then on top of that the owner of the house illegally went into his bank account and withdrew money without asking him first. This cost him alot to fix that. Then the owner of the house showed up at the wedding ceremony and started taking all these pictures that she wanted to use on the advertising of this house. She was trying to show everyone what a great place it was to get married in. After 3 days of cleaning and fixing things we made it presentable for the wedding, and she wants you all to think that is how it is. WELL, IT IS NOT. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE. Go somewhere, anywhere else.
Linda Nelson
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We find that “ It is impossible to please everyone, we try very hard and do our best. Most of all our guests( 99%) have had a wonderful experience, and we are sure you will too. The party stayed at this beautiful home for three days before they made the decision to get married here.. We were there to help clearing the entire garage(2 boats, 1 kayak , 2 bikes and extra furniture, and many seasonal decorative items),clear the garden paths for 3 tents( rainy day) and even took down the year long 'Tivoli- Christmas room', for the 'special wedding ceremony'. The card number did not clear the first time, nor the second ... After all, the bridegroom and the remaining family were so very glad to see the extra ordinarily beautiful photos I took for them on that special day!I was very glad to be asked to be a part of the sweet moments and celebrate the moments with them. I was so excited to see the beautiful photos turn out to be and was able to give them a forever lasting memories of their beautiful wedding!
The bride was an absolute beauty on that dock getting off the boat! The ceremony was exceptional also! Please call us for any questions or for a reservation. We are very nice people to work with. Thank you.

Map

Map

Mariah's Restaurant
"Good atmosphere good food."
Murphy's Candy & Ice Cream
"Great ice cream !"
Alec's by the Sea
"Great menu for seniors. Love their seafood menu!"
Nearest Airport
1 Miles
Ocean Shores, WA.
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Point Brown Avenue.
Nearest Golf
0.2 Miles
On Canal Drive. a few blocks form home.
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Olympia, Washington
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
SR 115
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Point Brown Avenue
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
West beach
Car: necessary

Centrally located in Ocean Shores, surrounded by the PACIFIC OCEAN, beautiful Grays Harbor, 23 miles of fresh water canal, islands , lakes, this home has it all! Tranquil water front, perfect for kayakers, amateur fishermen or just for relaxing by the water & fire pit . One man kayak, two men Sea- Cycle, two bikes and a game table for your pleasure. Close to all sandy beaches( 1-2 miles), golf courses, parks, Jetty, Damon Point, various wild life sanctuaries, an Interpretive Center. A short day trip to Olympic National Park, Lake Quinault, Hoh rain forest, and much more to explore!

Many theme rooms and 14 seat movie theater, 16 seat Retro soda/ Ice cream parlor to entertain your small size friends and family.

Over 3200 sq, 4 BR, 4 Bath/ 2 showers, total 12 rooms . . .

Picnic tables, BBQ grill, fire pit by the water. Private yet centrally located.

Explore the diverse wild life , marine life. from Damon Point, to Olympic National Park!

If you are lucky you will have a glimpse of kite surfers, whales, dolphins acrobatic jumps into the air at the south bay and even snowy owls!.

In the evening watch your favorite movie in the 'Taholah' Home Theater.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $385 Per night

Ocean Shores House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$385
$2,100
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $30 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Security deposit $300
Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 11.4%
Notes Falsified reservation, refusing one on one theater operating instruction will forfeiture deposit .
CANCELLATIONS: A sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty (60) days prior to the arrival date are subject to a 20% Cancellation fee or $100/Day whichever is greater. Cancellation or early departure does not warrant any refund of rent/deposit
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Ocean Shores House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Study Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Half 3 - toilet , sink
    Half 4 - toilet , Sink
    Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • One half bath in Gibson Island room and one half bath next to the Garden room downstairs. Two bathrooms with a shower in each on second floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , plus 1 single inflatable
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
  • Captain's quarter with a private bath and a watch tower, queen size bed, and 1 inflatable mattress ( single). Sweet heart room with queen size bed. Keeper's room with double size futon bed. Gibson Island ( Jungle) room with 2 beds ( full size futon beds with memory foam mattresses) and 2 inflatable mattresses ( 1 full, 1 twin)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Bicycles ...
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Pedal Boat
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Two bikes. a kite, Gas BBQ grill, picnic table. Interpretive Center, Damon Point nearby . sea bass fishing, snowy owl watching, agate hunting,at Daon Point, clam digging, horseback riding, beach combing on west beach.. Rent a electric boat for a day for 23 mile beautiful captain hosted cruise! Pet : With a written permission and a pet fee. Kid Friendly : All ages welcome. A rocking horse for small kids only in 'Tivoli winter Room'.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote