FABULOUS COTTAGE-3 MILES FROM ASU-BABBLING BROOK-LOTS OF CHARACTER.

Andrea Byrd, Real Estate Agent

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Andrea Byrd, Real Estate Agent

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FABULOUS COTTAGE-3 MILES FROM ASU-BABBLING BROOK-LOTS OF CHARACTER.

Boone Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4-5)

This listing is brand new as of June 4, 2011. Please read our reviews on our other Homeaway properties. We strive to please our guests by providing unique properties for an affordable price.

Built in 1929, just restored and modernized with a brand new inside, this cottage maintains the character of the 1930's remniscent of simpler quieter times, only with new plumbing and higher ceilings. It is located only 3 minutes from the Boone courthouse and ASU, yet it sits on a quiet side street where you can get peace and quiet. Some of the residents have lived there since the 1930's. Sit on the deck out back and listen to the babbling brook or play in the big yard.

Both of the bedrooms have ceiling fans and color TV's with cable. The queen bedroom has a euro top mattress from Sealy which is very comforable and the twin beds have new quality mattresses as well.

Living Area: The living room boasts a stone fireplace that covers one wall, it has vaulted ceilings, lots of lights, and it open to the kitchen. It is furnished with a comfortable and brand new queen sofa bed and an ecclectic blend of modern and antiques. We provide Cable TV, and WiFi for your convenience.

Parking: There is space for up to 3 vehicles off the road and next to the yard of this cottage, with a few steps descending into the side yard next to the front porch.

Why you should vacation here: Someone over the last 80 years figured out where the sun came up and planted accordingly so the house is shaded from the hot sun and stays cool all day. So...escape the heat and come to Boone.

There is a window A/C unit for your comfort but we found that it is not even needed most of the time.

I am a licensed real estate agent, please let me know if you are looking for property in the mountains. Thanks

More Details
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the owner
We have had the most wonderful week at your beautiful home. We came from Florida and the cool weather and babbling creek have soothed our spirits and souls. We will always treasure the memories this time has created.



Thank you for providing such a gorgeous setting for our family to grow together.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 11

Andrea Byrd, Real Estate Agent

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2008
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Property is only 3 miles from downtown Boone and ASU yet it sits on a private side street. Enjoy the babbling brook off the back deck. It is affordable and comfotable.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 29 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fabulous Cottage-3 miles from ASU-Babbling Brook-Lots of character.
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 29 reviews
business
Fabulous Cottage-3 miles from ASU-Babbling Brook-Lots of character.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p900838
+1 828 964-9005
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Raleigh,NC
5

FRIENDLY YELLOW COTTAGE

  • 5 of 5
We needed a "home away from home" in Boone as we were celebrating our daughter's upcoming graduation from ASU. Our family relaxed and enjoyed the quaint simplicity inside and the beauty outside from the deck. The kitchen was well supplied for my cooking needs. The furniture and beds were quite comfortable. And yes, the brook does babble. We will rent this property again because a weekend was not long enough.
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Cottage-3 miles from ASU-Babbling Brook-Lots of character.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p900838
+1 828 964-9005
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
North Carolina
5

GREAT COTTAGE!

  • 5 of 5
We had a great weekend vacation at this cottage. Everything we needed was there to make us feel like we were at home. The location was also wonderful; we toured ASU with my daughter who is attending in the fall and it was so close. We can't wait to stay here again when visiting her!
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words and I hope you will stay with us again.
business
Fabulous Cottage-3 miles from ASU-Babbling Brook-Lots of character.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p900838
+1 828 964-9005
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
North Carolina
5

PAT CAMPANA

  • 5 of 5
It was a quaint place and in the perfect area. Just minutes away from Boone and App St and restaurants and shops. I would go back gaain and rent this house.
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Pat!
business
Fabulous Cottage-3 miles from ASU-Babbling Brook-Lots of character.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p900838
+1 828 964-9005
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Supply, NC, USA
5

PERFECT FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
The home owners were amazing and worked with our crazy schedule. We loved staying at this cabin in the snow. There is an amazing sledding hill right out the door that our kids played on for 3 days straight and cried when we left. I absolutely loved this house and it is set up perfect for a family or couple either one. Located close to the appalcart, easy to get to right off main road with roadside parking. Cannot wait to go back.
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Cottage-3 miles from ASU-Babbling Brook-Lots of character.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p900838
+1 828 964-9005
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Houston, AL
1

CABIN NOT CLEAN, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

  • 1 of 5
First of all, we had spoken at least twice regarding my arrival time. I was to come to your store to get the key but if I arrived was after a certain time and the store was closed to call your cell because you stated you lived close by. I arrived about a half hour later than anticipated, not bad considering that was my first time making the 425 mile journey. I spent 45 minutes calling your cell and leaving voicemails, trying to arrange to get the key. Finally, I called the local sheriff dispatch, explained my dilemma and obtained your home address and drove there. I knocked on the door, introduced myself and told you I could not reach you on your cell. You came right out and stated that your cell usually does not pick up at your house. What? You then stated that the door to the cabin was unlocked and that the key was on the kitchen counter. Another ‘what?’ Why didn’t you call MY cell (which I gave you) before you left your store (where you had cell service) and tell me all this, saving me 45 minutes, avoid calling the sheriff to locate you and driving to your house, etc. We were tired after 9 hours of driving, it was almost dark and our 2 Chihuahuas were getting antsy. OK, fine. I let it go at the time.

Secondly, the other reviewer was somewhat reserved, I won’t be. Keep in mind this was a month BEFORE the other reviewer’s stay. Dust was visibly hanging down from ALL of the ceiling fans. The tops of even lower items like the TV were covered in dust and I don’t mean noticeable with a white glove, I mean standing over 1/16” thick such that if you ran your bare finger along any part of it for one foot it would fall off your finger from its own weight!

And lastly, your definition of ‘rustic’ as found in YOUR description of the cabin and your rude response to the other reviewer. Nowhere in ANY dictionary definition of the word ‘rustic’ will you find even the remotest reference to ‘dirty’, or ‘dusty’ or ‘filthy’. The other reviewer had a reasonable expectation and you failed to meet it. Fess up to it! Instead of attempting to make it up to her by offering an incentive to let you make another go of it, perhaps with a future discount, you instead, turn it back on the reviewer, basically implying that their expectations were wrong, making it THEIR fault and stating, in your own words “….if you can't see that then you need to rent elsewhere.”

If you ever decide to quit the rental business, may I suggest you avoid house cleaning and public relations.
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly, I sincerely apologize for your unhappy stay. I apologized profusely at the time that my cell phone battery had gone dead without my knowledge. My cell phone works fine at my house. It was so long ago I cannot remember why you did not go straight to the cabin as all of our other guests do but I thought that I did go by the cabin to check on you after your arrival and gave you a partial refund for your inconvenience.
To Future Renters: This reviewer waited 9 1/2 months to tell me about the dust, however the cleaning issues were resolved as soon as it was brought to our attention last May. We found the cabin was being cleaned but not dusted, we had been out of town for a month and a half and were relying on a cleaning service. Please see more recent reviews than this.
We strive to have happy guests so please let us know if you have a concern, both my cell number and home numbers are listed on the website. Also we have a paragraph on the agreement that states "If you are paid in full go directly to the cabin". This is for the convenience of the guest so no one has to find a rental office first, however we are available if you have questions or get lost, etc.
We have made every effort to avoid unfortunate incidents as outlined above and I hope you will give us a chance.
business
Fabulous Cottage-3 miles from ASU-Babbling Brook-Lots of character.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p900838
+1 828 964-9005
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
It was so homey there we loved the fire place and the fact that each room had a TV, the home was warm and inviting. I was a place to relax but was close enough to shop. I highly recommend
this cute place... And my dogs loved the place
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
105 Bypass (1107) & Hwy 421
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Willow Valley

Golf: Willow Valley is a public par 3.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Boone Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
SUMMER 2014
Jul 9 2014 - Aug 24 2014
2 night minimum stay
$99
$553
$1,900
 
 
Standard Rates
Aug 25 2014 - Sep 30 2014
2 night minimum stay
$99
From
$109
Fri,Sat
$553
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
FALL
Oct 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
$109
$595
$1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$89
From
$99
Fri,Sat
$553
$1,700
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%
Notes $99/nt
$50 Cleaning Fee
Add 12.65% Tax
We accept credit cards via Pay Pal;
$25 Pet Fee - Only small well behaved pets under 30 lbs.;
2 night minimum please;
Dates Available: Year around!
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Boone Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
General:
  • Wireless Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Activities Guide
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Grill
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Pull out sleeper sofa in living room with brand new mattress.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • antiquing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • fishing
Notes:
We try to provide everything you will need on your trip. You are given a supply of paper products and toiletries for your stay, however, if you run out you will be responsible for replacing the items you need.
Email Owner Email