BEACHFRONT HOME AND/OR STUDIO COTTAGE

Shanette Westphal

Speaks english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Contact the Owner

Shanette Westphal

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEACHFRONT HOME AND/OR STUDIO COTTAGE

Stinson Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-6)

Sleep to the sound of waves; step onto the sand from your private decks. Spectacular sunsets and oceanfront living. Cedar home with a well-equipped kitchen and cozy wood stove (firewood provided)and/or lovely cottage.

Surf, boogie board, collect sand dollars, take a nap just outside your back door...Walk to unlimited, excellent hiking on Mt. Tamalpais, five minutes walk along the beach to restaurants and shopping. Kayaking and wildlife watching in the beautiful Bolinas Lagoon or visit the Audubon Canyon Ranch and see egrets nesting. Very popular area for biking, too.

Please visit our website listed below for photos and information about this wonderful studio beach cottage and house property.

Keywords: House and Cottage

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Shanette Westphal (Owner)
Advertiser since 2006

About Shanette Westphal

We are a Bay Area family of 5 who loves the ocean and the outdoors.

Shanette Westphal purchased this house in 2007

Guestbook comments from the owner

Shanette:







WOW. We were very impressed with the design solutions and blend of indoor/outdoor livability of your beach cottage. To experience a DWELL inspired home was added treat. We have experienced first hand the challenges of infill development and wish to congratulate you on your achievement. Your efforts were not lost on us. Congratulations.
Jun 2009
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beachfront Home and/or Studio Cottage
average rating of 4.769231 based on 14 reviews
business
Beachfront Home and/or Studio Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88104vb
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
5

Spectacular Beachfront Home!

  • 5 of 5
This property is a treasure!! I have been vacationing in Stinson for the past 18 years and this home is my family's favorite by far. The location, amazing sunsets, and the simple and ultra-functional design here truly offer everything you need for a perfect vacation. We have stayed here seven times and plan to return again and again! The owner has been very helpful in answering any questions we have - and always goes above and beyond to make our stay comfortable.
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Home and/or Studio Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88104vb
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Fair Oaks
5

Best Sunset viewing!!

  • 5 of 5
This was our 4th stay at this property and we love it! It is within walking distance to town & numerous hikes on Mt Tam ... miles of wide open beach walking just off the deck! It is ideal for two couples to share, families, and small group getaways! Even if you don't like to cook, you'll want to just to be able to see the ocean/beach views from the kitchen window! Stormy or sunny - we love this property! The owner is easy to work with!
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Home and/or Studio Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88104vb
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
2

Adequate turned to frustrating

  • 2 of 5
Well, the location is fantastic, indeed right on the beach, though from the photos you can’t tell that the two adjacent neighbors loom directly over the porch and “ sand yard” area.

This would have been a nice rental for two couples, but it is a poor choice for more people than that, as both buildings together only give renters two beds. The “cottage” is a very small, cramped single room structure. Extra sleeping space is available via sofa beds and futons; however, the owner withholds from the cleaning deposit the time her housekeeper spends doing the laundry with the extra sheets you have to use, beyond the cleaning fee you’ve already paid. It is outrageous to market a property for up to seven people and then charge extra for the normal use of sheets and towels from a group of that size.

Overall the house is adequate (nicely appointed but dimly lit, some amenities like the grill don’t work well) and the cottage is less so, but the cleaning fee plus charges for extra laundry time (for the sheets and towels the owner offers you!), on top of the steep price to begin with, make this place a rip-off.
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laundry is included in the cleaning fee of our property. We do state in our rental agreement that if there is excessive cleaning necessary following a guest visit, we reserve the right to withhold the extra cleaning fee from the security deposit.
We have repaired the grill which unfortunately does get a little temperamental with the salty air at the ocean.
We certainly appreciate feedback, and in fact rely on our renters to inform us if lightbulbs have burned out, etc. (we do leave a complete supply in the closet in the event one burns out during your stay) Since this truly is a vacation rental by owner (we do not use a rental company), we do the best we can to provide high quality accommodations with as many amenities as possible. However we are grateful when offered constructive criticism or ways to make a renter's stay more comfortable.
business
Beachfront Home and/or Studio Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88104vb
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Mill Valley, California
5

French/American family from Mill Valley, CA

  • 5 of 5
Our family of 6 stayed at his beachfront home for our daughter's 18th Birthday over Memorial Day weekend. The house is exactly like a beach house should be. Welcoming, warm, cozy, nicely furnished, gourmet kitchen, a house you know is loved and well taken care off. My father in law came to visit for the day. He is a retired developer who built his own beach front home in Malibu, noted that the architect who designed this house is very good. Our family enjoyed cooking and eating at the house, taking morning and afternoon walks on the beach, early morning bike rides at low tide, lounging on the comfy chairs sunbathing and people watching. We had such a wonderful weekend! did not want it to end.. We will definitely be back!
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Home and/or Studio Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88104vb
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Roseville, CA
5

True Paradise

  • 5 of 5
My family had so much fun on our beach house weekend. The house was very clean and neat, had all the food staples as described. The house was very comfortable and felt like home. It was very nicely decorated as well. The house is really right on the beach. We were able to sit on the outside deck and watch our kids play in the sand. The neighbors were friendly. There were no problems at all. Everything went as planned. It was truly an easy booking experience. I can't wait to go back.
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beachfront Home and/or Studio Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p88104vb
Stinson Beach The Bay Area
Pleasanton
5

Perfect Beach House!!!

  • 5 of 5
The house was exactly as pictured. We had never visited Stinson Beach and were looking for a quiet get-a-way. Sharon's place was right on the beach and within easy strolling distance to town. The only thing we could hear at night was the sound of the surf. It doesn't get any better than that.
  • Submitted: May 28, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and look forward to having you at our proprty again in the future!
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: necessary
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Stinson Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season (House & Cottage)
Sep 8 2014 - May 27 2015
1 night minimum stay
$550
$3,600
 
 
Peak Season (House & Cottage)
May 28 2015 - Sep 8 2015
1 night minimum stay
$4,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes PLEASE INQUIRE ABOUT RENTING UNITS SEPARATELY, I.E. HOUSE ONLY OR COTTAGE ONLY. Holidays are subject to a rate increase. Units rent combined (house and cottage) on a WEEKLY BASIS ONLY during the peak season (Memorial Day to Labor Day).
Signed rental agreement and refundable deposit required to secure reservation. Balance is due prior to stay. Cash, Check and PayPal accepted.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Stinson Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (2), Queen Sofabed (1), Baby Cribs (1) Porta Crib Available, Folding Futons (3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Wetsuits,Boogie Boards,Volleyball Net,Adult and Child Beach Bikes
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,500 - $1,700 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote