Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Windansea Beach House

Owner

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 29, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Windansea Beach House

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

*** This property also features a private studio to rent that sleeps 2 more, see 'My other properties' on this web page.

Half a block from Windansea Beach, a natural Water Park! This newly remodeled spanish/contemporary home features: Hardwood and stone flooring, fireplace, jacuzzi, outdoor shower, Barbecue, bikes, beach chairs, towels.

Lounge in the backyard and soak-up the sunshine, surrounded by Bamboo, flowers and a Buddha fountain, or use the space for dinner parties.

The front patio faces south so you can enjoy your morning coffee with the warmth of the sunshine.

The kitchen features stainless-steel appliances, granite counters and fully stocked kitchen.

Master bedroom has french doors opening to the back patio/yard. King-size bed, TV and stereo. Master bath features,glass vessel sink, glass tile and travertine stone throughout.

Guest bedroom has double bed and TV. Walking distant to restaurants, day spas, exercise, studios, convenience stores and several beautiful beaches.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 29, 2015

About The Owner

My husband and I currently live in Maui, Hawaii - but La Jolla is my home.

No place else like it! I can walk to the beach and see at least 5 people I grew up with. We all share a common bond of appreciation for La Jolla's beauty and sophistication.

Enjoy surfing, biking, sunsets and people.

Why The Owner chose La Jolla

This location is closest to beautiful and historic Windansea Beach. This is where I surfed in High School and hung out in the summer. This street was lined with old very large cypress tress that created a tunnel effect. New ones are growing up to replace them. Close to shops, unique neighborhoods and walking distance to the village of La Jolla.

What makes this house unique

Walking back from a swim at the beach we use the outdoor shower and hop in the Jacuzzi to really relax! Sitting on the front porch and enjoying the warm sunshine while I have my morning coffee or at lunch time with a book. Walking or biking to the village of La Jolla along the scenic coastline. Farmers market on Sunday. The back patio is great for entertaining with lounge chairs,jacuzzi, BBQ and large marble table that seats 8. The house is equipped with everything whether you are on vacation or cooking a Thanksgiving Dinner. Wood burning fireplace is so cozy in the winter and the AC chills the house down in about 12 minutes. Privacy with the Master bedroom at one end of the house and the guest room at the other.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Windansea Beach House
average rating of 4.714286 based on 21 reviews
Greenville, NC
4

Christmas in Paradise

  • 4 of 5

Our family spent a week over Christmas in this beautiful cottage. The weather was spectacular. We enjoyed breakfast on the patio each morning and strolled to the Pacific each evening to watch the amazing sunsets. Cooking as a family was enjoyable in this well equipped kitchen, but it did not accommodate more than two cooks in the kitchen. The dining table and dining area are very small and did not accommodate more than 4 comfortably. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed fires each night as the temperature dropped into the 40's and 50's. The back garden was spacious with a table for six, a grill (although on its last leg) and a hot tub (did not work after numerous maintenance calls). Overall, this is a great location for walking, jogging, and exploring. Don't miss Torrey Pines State Park and the Hotel Del on Coronado. We love this area of La Jolla and will return for another family vacation in the near future.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Carolyn, Thank you for writing a review. The dinning table does fold out to seat 6 people, plus two more at the counter. A new BBQ was purchased this weekend and the spa is back in working order. I hope you return to stay at the Windansea Beach House. Sincerely, Carol
Tucson, AZ
3

Almost as good as we were hoping for

  • 3 of 5

The location of this house is the main reason we went with it as well as the front patio which were both great. The parking for this house is misleading though. There's no place in the back to park as it says. Although the owner states that if you have a small car, you can park in the back, we own a civic and couldn't make it happen. There's a large telephone pole in the way of where I'm assuming this should be. We emailed the owner upon arriving regarding this and never received a response. Prior to arriving she was great at returning emails. The first two days and nights there were terrible noises in the master bedroom plumbing that kept us up at night. Upon investigation we realized it was the shower barely running in the back, which we had never used. After shutting that off tight there were no issues. Lastly, the internet is VERY slow. It worked better if you were in the master bedroom but if you try to use it anywhere else expect dial up speeds. Other than that, everything was as listed. The space was very limited, especially in the master bathroom but I suppose that's to be expected in the area. One thing we were happy to see is that the TV in the living room has been upgraded to a flat screen.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Joey, I have upgraded the internet system so the Wifi is faster. You can usually find a parking spot in front of the house on the street. Which is much more convenient then in the back ally. I have not had a guest complain yet about not finding a spot out front. Guests with a Prius or smaller car have backed into the tight parking spot located at the back of the property. I am sorry your car did not fit. Thank you for your comments and I hope you return in the future Sincerely, Carol
New Orleans, Louisiana
5

Great spot!

  • 5 of 5

Every year my girlfriends and I do a "surprise" trip. It was my turn to plan the trip and I just happened to find this house while searching VRBO. The house was right down the street from the beach in a great location. It was clean and cozy and fit all 6 of us. We couldn't have asked for a better spot! Carol was also great to work with. I can't wait to go back to La Jolla!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Windansea Beach house. I look forward to having you back for another vacation in La Jolla. Sincerely, Carol
Fountain Hills, Arizona
4

Windansea Beach House Review

  • 4 of 5

great location, nice home, quiet neighborhood. the beach was awesome as was La Jolla - our first stay. Looking forward to a return.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Incredible Home; Incredible Owner

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I use VRBO for all our travel/vacation needs. I have to say the experience that we had with the owner was overall, THE best. From start to finish, Carol was courteous, professional and impressively responsive with our requests/questions (email reply within hours; security deposit returned within a week).

My wife and I have lived in San Diego (La Jolla area) for a number of years. Carol's beach house is the epitome of the Windansea home/lifestyle; perfect location (walking distance to the best beach in La Jolla, restaurants, nightlife) and cozy home. We highly recommend the beach house!

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Carmichael, CA
5

Great Location !!

  • 5 of 5

My wife, sister-in-law, and I stayed here over a weekend on October. It is a perfect spot to relax and enjoy the surrounding area. A short walk to the beach and shops. The owner is very easy to work with. My entire communications were via email and she was always prompt and gave me the information I requested. The beds are very comfortable, the home is spotlessly clean, and everything worked. We would stay her again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and I look forward to your return visit.

Map

Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $245 Per night

La Jolla House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
March special
Mar 21 2015 - Mar 28 2015
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,700
 
 
Spring Special
Apr 11 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$245
$1,710
$4,000
 
 
Summer 2015
Jun 1 2015 - Sep 1 2015
5 night minimum stay
$365
$2,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$255
$1,750
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $100
Property Damage Protection $49

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

La Jolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Comfortable double bed sleeper sofa
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Jacuzzi/ hot tub, 4 bikes, no busy streets to cross to get to the beach

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote