Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Owner

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner
Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PARADISE ON THE BEACH!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Ili Ili Beach House is a truly unique location right on Pebble Beach. The smooth pebbles (known as ili ili in Hawaiian) create a soothing sound as the waves roll in and out. From the lanai or the garden you can watch the sunset and possibly see whales breech or dolphins play. Walk 50' and go swimming or snorkeling. Take off on a hike to an ancient cindercone or black sand beaches. Kayak to lava caves. Scuba divers love to beach dive off this beach.

Pebble Beach is not easy to find in the guide books. It is off the beaten track and therefore almost private. You will be located right in the middle of your own beach!

You will need lots of will-power to leave this house in its magical setting, but if so inclined this is a great location for exploring the Big Island. Visit the Place of Refuge, snorkel in Kealakekua Bay, surf Ke'ei beach, drive 70 miles to the Volcanoes National Park or shop in Kailua only 25 miles away. So wake up, go for a swim and then hit the road.

High Speed Wireless access and iPod ready 5.1 sound system!! Bring your work and all your tunes and stay an extra week.

SEE LINKS BELOW under heading "Links to more information" FOR MORE INFO & LOTS MORE PHOTOS.

Keywords: House, Beach front, water front, black pebble, quiet

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why The Owner chose Captain Cook

The place seduced us! We were staying with friends in the neighborhood and noticed that this house was on the market. We were not in the market for a rental, but we could not resist owning a house right on the beach.

What makes this house unique

We find this place very relaxing. It truly is hard to leave and we find ourselves only slowly getting out to explore the rest of the island.

Every time we come back it feels so good to slip into the comfort and magic of this place.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Paradise on the Beach!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
business
Paradise on the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87576vb
-(707) 433-0788 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Lanark, Ontario, Canada
5

Ah, wilderness

  • 5 of 5
An immaculate and comprehensively equipped small house that sleeps three in cool privacy. Amazing views, Dolphins swimming by and a lovely sound from the breaking waves on the pebble beach. Very private and quiet, as we hoped it would be.

Yes, there are ants and mosquitoes. Not many of either, and simple to bar from the house. As we are from eastern Ontario, we wondered why anyone would find them intolerable. This house is in the real world, not a sterile resort environment, and offers birds, butterflies, adorable little geckos and lovely restful times.

Since it is January, there are rollers coming onto the beach. Competent swimmers go past them; unfit old ladies such as I find them a challenge. But there are plenty of quiet beaches within reach and this one is private and outstandingly beautiful. I am enjoying the Dolphins swimming by.

The road down is also a challenge, very steep. You need one confident driver. The location lends itself to expeditions to the famous sites. The Volcano park is fairly close on a good road with lovely scenery and a great bakery on the way. Some of the historic sites are even closer, with a great coffee house (with bakery) en route.

Air temperature is perfect, there are lovely breezes and I would recommend this place to anyone (noting the caveats mentioned above).
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Paradise on the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87576vb
-(707) 433-0788 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Ontario, Canada
5

A little corner of heaven

  • 5 of 5
The house is all that it is described, and a little bit more. Well appointed, spotlessly clean and very private. The beach is just outside the front 'lanai' (porch), and the sound of the ocean lulls you to sleep every night. The owners have left lots of water sports gear, and there is a hiking path leading both north and south right from the house that takes the hiker past spectacular ocean vistas, cliffs and flowers - along with Hawaiian cultural relics.

Be prepared for a very steep drive down from the highway: that said, our two wheel drive Ford Escape had no problem in low gear going down; and normal drive going up. After the first few times, the nervousness subsided! Nearest grocery is 15 or so minutes away (up the hill), but with a little bit of planning this does not present any problems. And once you are at the house, you really don't want to leave ...

We have seen fairly children on the beach (6-10 years range), but they would have to be watched carefully when in the water, as there is a strong surf at this time of year (January.) That said, very young kids could play very happily and safely on the front (white sand) garden. Older, less mobile folk may have difficulty walking down and on the beach - but would also be very happy relaxing on the lanai and in the front garden. Stairs up to the lanai can be avoided by walking up the drive beside the house.

We will come back - two weeks was not enough to explore the area and this beautiful island paradise.
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Paradise on the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87576vb
-(707) 433-0788 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

A DEFINITE MUST-STAY

  • 5 of 5
My husband, myself and our 4 children (ages 14, 9, 9 and 9) enjoyed the most incredible week at the Ili Ili Beach house! The house was clean and ready when we arrived. The cleaning staff was very friendly. The beds were very comfortable and easily fit all 6 of us. The house was well stocked with basic supplies. Can we talk about the location though?!? The view was awesome! It was an extremely quiet area though not remote. The access to the basically private beach was an absolute plus! With Tess providing all the equipment, we were able to save rental money and enjoy great kayaking and snorkeling (best snorkeling we found on the island) right out the back door. The island in general is not as convenient to get around as other islands (for example, the closest grocery store was 15-20 minutes away one-way and you have to carry your trash to a dump site only on specific days) but this house made you easily forget all of that! We have not stopped raving to our friends about this house and would not hesitate to book it again!
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
business
Paradise on the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87576vb
-(707) 433-0788 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Davis, California
5

One of the best stays of my life

  • 5 of 5
I and a few friends stayed at ili-ili for a week. I must say that my trip was one of the best experiences of my life, and ili-ili played a large role in making the trip as spectacular as it was. Amazing view from the living room and kitchen. Snorkeling right off the beach is great, and even though the beach is public, it feels private, my guess being that the beach is difficult to get to for the general public. One morning we saw dolphins swimming off the beach. Housekeepers are extremely nice and clear about instructions to get to the house, etc. Location is perfect; my friends and I rented a Jeep and got to explore every corner of the island. Needless to say, 7 days was not enough, and we plan on revisiting the Big Island soon, and we will definitely be staying at ili-ili!
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Paradise on the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87576vb
-(707) 433-0788 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
3

Great place ... poor communication on methods of payment and extra fees

  • 3 of 5
Great clean house on the beach. Was very pleased with the house and location. Even the snorkelling off the beach in front of the house was better than expected.

However, we were informed that we could pay via Paypal with no mention that extra fees would be charged to us. Then they took the Paypal fees off our deposit without our consent. Not cool, poor communication. If we pay by a method that we are told is an acceptable payment method, why should they sneak in additional fees afterwards?

Their communication error should not cost me money.
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We understand that extra fees are unpleasant, however we do inform guests in writing that wire, Paypal, and foreign exchange fees will be their responsibility. We do not know what the amounts are until they have occurred and have been deducted. We do send statements that list any extraneous fees for documentation. It is very important for guests to ascertain what fees they may incur when using these forms of payment so there are no surprises.
We are proud of how well we feel we do communicate with guests, how hospitable and helpful our entire team is. We love to share this spot with others and hope that anyone who visits will have an excellent experience in every aspect. We are always available to answer questions by phone or email should there be any concerns.
business
Paradise on the Beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p87576vb
-(707) 433-0788 (California, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
MA
5

Wonderful time !!!!

  • 5 of 5
I loved this beach house on pebble beach. The description is very accurate, the house is well maintained and the property manager is amazing. The beds are comfortable. I love the fact that they use water catchment and also have a compost pile to minimize impact on the environment. The most magical thing was feeling the tropical breezes and hearing the waves break over pebble beach at night. The sound lulled me to sleep every night. I couldn't ask for better weather, warm and sunny during the day and rainy at night.
We swam and snorkeled many days there and it was fairly calm (I was informed by the locals that the beach is unswimable in the winter.). I fished off the cliffs and caught several fish. There is the kings trail that I highly recommend be hiked for the views. Kona is only 30 to 50 minutes away if one books the manta night dive or other activity in Kona. Captain Cook is 15 minutes north of the house and a great place for groceries and probably the best spot on all the big island for snorkeling. Please charter a guide or book a tour as opposed to just renting a kayak. Often times the kayak places do not have the required permit required to enter captain cook and they do not educate tourists on how not to harm the corals. Captain cook cove is a sacred place and needs protecting. I wished I was still there.
The owners answered any question we had promptly. I loved this property because it was well away from the crowds of Kona and was much cooler than Kona. The only downside is the long steep road down to the property. Downshift your car and it should not be an issue. I am looking forward to booking this property again if not next year the year after.
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

Map

Nearest Point of Interest

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $261 Per night

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$261
$1,825
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $14 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes The nightly rate is variable for short stays:
$1650/6 nights
$1500/5 nights
$1300/4 nights
$1100/3 nights
50% due at time of Booking. Balance due 60 days prior to arrival.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1) A punee (day bed) in the living room, Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
5.1 Home Theater DVD-CD Player, Gourmet Cooking utensils provided. Single & Double seat Kayaks provided.

Other Vacation Properties

$175 - $225 per night
5 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$805 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$100 per night
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote