Came to Corpus for my birthday weekend, and we were highly displeased with our stay in The Beachcomber and Seagull Room. The customer service was horrible; employees weren't helpful at all. Beach area outside of the house was highly populated with homeless people. When out for the evening, our room was broken into and burglarized. Employees were not helpful in the situation; they did not appear to even care about the well being of their paying guests.
Every room has a code used to enter and exit the rooms; no keys given--many people on the property know the codes to the rooms.
I would NOT recommend staying in this home or surrounding areas. (Local law enforcement suggested staying on the island.)
The owner of the home charged us for the rooms on his own terms; upon leaving, they had yet to even charge us. (if you decide to stay here, PAY IN CASH. They kept all of our credit card information.)
Owner's Response: In response to the review by Wendy, let me say that I have been a member of VRBO for about 10 years and have never had a complaint such as this.
If the conditions were so deplorable and our employees so unhelpful, I do believe we would have many many complaints, and we would be dropped by VRBO, who has high standards for its owners.
I personally called Wendy and left a message that we were cancelling her reservation because her credit card declined the deposit and had not heard from her concerning this. We require a deposit to be made at time of booking. She showed up anyway. Our manager let her stay. She had to pay in cash because at time of check-in you need to have had your deposit paid and then pay for the rental by credit card, money order, or cash. OUR TERMS OF SERVICE. We would not take her credit card at that time because of it being declined. As far as no keys available for the rooms, all units have electric locks and are reset each time a new renter checksin, with the code of their choosing. Only the renter and our manager has the code and whomever the renter gives it to. This is the first customer in 10 years to have a complaint about it. It would be impossible to provide keys lets say if 10 people were in one unit. It is much safer than keys. Police were called reguarding the alleged burglary and my manager responded and were of no help at 2:00AM because they were awaken and was trying to understand the situation Wendy was talking about. My manager made no complaint to me about being disturbed atthat time. Unit had no sign of break-in, there was no damage. She has party and invited the beach people and whomever was staying in the other units and also invited my mangaer who declined. At one time during the party she left the unit leaving some of the people in there. She invited the homeless people to the party also. We have no problem with the beach people. They come and go. If an apology is in order to Wendy for having such a horrible time, I give it, but it was not due to property conditions. As keeping credit card info, come on now, the info is well protected and the deposit is refunded unless there is damage to the unit, then a detailed letter is sent to the renter stating the costs. We do not give anyones info out to anybody. As for the term "CHARGED ON OWNERS OWN TERMS" well I won't even get into that. It is my business, who has more right than I to make up the terms.
Helpful votes: 33/41
Did you find this review helpful?