BRILLIANT LOCATION, MODERN AND SECURE - HIGHSPEED WIFI, SATELLITE TV & AIR CON

Philippa Griffin

Speaks italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BRILLIANT LOCATION, MODERN AND SECURE - HIGHSPEED WIFI, SATELLITE TV & AIR CON

Islington Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Unbelievable Location, everything on your doorstep, plus great transport links

A stylish and comfortable one bedroom apartment, in the heart of Shoreditch (Zone 1), perfect for a holiday or business trip.

This lovely apartment is equipped with absolutely everything to make your stay in London enjoyable, comfortable, stylish and above all, easy. Unlimited highspeed broadband, Satellite TV, local and overseas phonecalls inclusive, mp3 hookup, fully fitted out kitchen and great furnishings in a top quality build that you will love.

The spacious one bedroom apartment is situated on the edge of Hoxton Square in the heart of trendy Shoreditch. This is the ultimate location for anyone wanting a taste of the local London scene or those having business in the Financial District. It is an unbelievable location, with everything you need right on your doorstep plus great transport links to all of London. Old St tube station is less than 5 mins walk and Liverpool St Stn, with the Stansted Express and a huge supply of other travel connections, is only a 10 min walk. Kings Cross with the Eurostar is 10 min cab ride. And the fully wheelchair accessible East London Overground is also only a 7 minute walk from the apartment!

This location is absolutely the best - right in the heart of the East London entertainment district and also only 10 mins walk from London's Financial District. Add to this that convenience stores, restaurants, bars and many other services all on your doorstep - literally all less than 100 metres from the apartment - and you'll realise that this location is hard to beat.

The apartment comes with unlimited high speed broadband, comfortable lounge seating and 37' LCD with Satellite TV (including Sky movies and Sky+!). Everything you need to efficiently work away from the office or be comfortably entertained when you choose to stay in. And although right in the heart of the Shoreditch entertainment disctrict, blockout blinds and a quiet bedroom provide the perfect environment for undisturbed sleep. The lounge has a sofabed, so can sleep an additional person for short periods of time when required.

The apartment is on the 2nd floor with a lift and also with easy & open stair access if you don't wish to use the lift. Highchair and cotbed available.

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome

Philippa Griffin

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks italian, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Brilliant Location, Modern and Secure - Highspeed WiFi, Satellite TV & Air Con
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Brilliant Location, Modern and Secure - Highspeed WiFi, Satellite TV & Air Con
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p853077
Islington London
5

A comfortable, well equipped flat in a great locat

  • 5 of 5
I stayed here for three months while in the process of moving and was very happy with my choice. The flat was comfortable and well laid out and felt safe and quiet despite being in a central location with lots of nightlife around. Transport links are excellent. Phillipa was great to deal with and overall I would highly recommend this flat for short or longer stays.
  • Submitted: May 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to see people appreciating the same things about this apartment as me and I'm so glad you had such an enjoyable stay. Thanks for your kind review and of course for your business!
business
Brilliant Location, Modern and Secure - Highspeed WiFi, Satellite TV & Air Con
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p853077
Islington London
3

Clean spacious apartment in noisy neighbourhood

  • 3 of 5
Outdoor noise is definitely an issue with this apartment. The living room faces a very busy street with lots of traffic and firehall nearby. It is a young person’s neighbourhood and there is considerable people noise and music coming from the many bars and restaurants at night. However, as other reviewers have noted, when you close the living room windows and door, and move into the back of the apartment to sleep, it is fairly quiet. Absolutely no complaints about the apartment itself. It is clean, bright, spacious and nicely furnished. The bed is very comfortable with good linens. The owner, Philippa, gets high marks. She has prepared a booklet with clear directions on how to use the Wi-Fi, Sky TV and appliances as well as useful information about getting around the city. Philippa is very friendly, conscientious and responsive to emails and phone calls.
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: I really wish you had mentioned this when you were in! The windows are double glazed, so if they are shut properly the noise really shouldn't be bad (although obviously you are in the middle of Shoreditch and not on the edge of Hyde Park!). I would have asked you to check the window latches as I know it's not easy to notice if you don't know to look for this and frequently the one at the far end of the room goes unnoticed. I have just asked the lady who is in currently to check them and she has confirmed for me that they were latched in a position so as to let air in, not sealed shut. She has also reassured me that "We leave like this during the day but night time and we close properly so yes you are right noise is barely noticeable".

So either you have a completely different expectation of the noise for a central London apartment to me and my other guests or there was an issue which could have been easily addressed - sparing you the frustration of disappointment and sparing me the sting of a 3 star review, despite there being nothing done wrong and nothing that I could have actually done better.

All that said, I'm obviously very sorry that you had anything but a perfect stay. It's not good to have disappintment on holidays and I try to make sure my guests don't! Sorry to see that this failed this time.
business
Brilliant Location, Modern and Secure - Highspeed WiFi, Satellite TV & Air Con
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p853077
Islington London
5

Superb, spacious and secure

  • 5 of 5
I booked this apartment for a short stay including meetings in Regents Park. The apartment was on the Northern Line so convenient for Euston (where I arrived in London) and also convenient for the meetings which were one change on the Hammersmith/Circle/Central line.

I also wanted somewhere convenient for central/tourist London, wifi, a quiet place to sleep, plus lots of natural light.

From the start Philippa was very easy to deal with, responsive, helpful and keen to ensure my trip was as easy as possible. Booking the flat was time efficient and safe (using the Homeaway system). I arrived to find the flat as per the photos, with some unexpected extras, tea bags, milk, herbs/spices as well as some breakfast cereals. The flat is very clean, very attractive, with quality bedding, towels, kitchen utensils - even some cook books. The wifi and sky were easy to access and use. Lovely big bath and loads of storage. Even hair dryer, hair tongs (I think).

I felt very secure and safe in the flat - important for me as a lone female traveller. The location is excellent, just 5 mins from a tube stop (to Angel where there is a Marks, Waitrose and large sainsburys) plus the bus 55 goes past the flat on a very regular basis and this takes you into Oxford Street which is an inexpensive and entertaining way to travel

Philippa emailed to check I had got there OK and also made leaving very convenient and she was very helpful and flexible over leaving times

I highly recommend this flat and hope to return
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Brilliant Location, Modern and Secure - Highspeed WiFi, Satellite TV & Air Con
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p853077
Islington London
Barcelona, Spain and Rio, Brazil
5

Cool stylish pad in an equally stylish area!

  • 5 of 5
Philippa is THE BEST. Seriously. Prompt reply to any question, super flexible and amazingly friendly. We were moving homes within London and needed a place to stay for a week, and this flat not only was a very short walk to our new place (very handy when you're having to admin the end of a refurbishment and a move-in!), but also located literally on top of several great restaurants/bars. And oh, just a 3min walk to Old St. underground station. We couldn't ask for more...

The flat is VERY spacious and felt like a home, not a rental place. It is also SUPER clean, top marks for that. My husband calls me Monica (from Friends), so you can assume that cleanliness is always an issue! We had a lovely stay and we're already recommending it to friends/family if they need a place to stay when visiting.

Thank you so much for everything, Philippa!
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carol, thanks so much for your lovely review! I'm glad to have been a small part of making your transition to your new home a bit easier :-)

Btw, you'll get a kick out of knowing that the girl responsible for my cleaning is called Monika! I have passed on your appreciation to her, thanks so much for this invaluable feedback.

I wish you wonderful times in your new home and thank you for you custom and recommondation. Best regards and take care, Philippa
business
Brilliant Location, Modern and Secure - Highspeed WiFi, Satellite TV & Air Con
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p853077
Islington London
5

Top Notch Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
Pippa's place is absolutely amazing. The photos are accurate, the place is immaculate, well kept, and there is also a cute little balcony overlooking the inside courtyard. More over, it is RIGHT in Hoxton square. With a lovely coffee shop across the street (say "hi" to Marco from me), this place is unique treasure in that it's both in the heart of the nightlife and has fantastic more upscale restaurants (Italian, Thai) and a fabulous breakfast spot all within steps. It's a wonderful, fun neighborhood and the flat is a delightful combo of luxurious coziness. I always felt safe walking around day or night. Oh, and it's a ~5m walk to Old Street Station (Northern Line) or ~15m walk to Liverpool Street Station. You can pretty much get to all major London sites within a half hour or less from here.

I stayed here for the better part of 3 months and was sad to have to leave. Pippa was also a gem. She was extremely responsive, proactive, trustworthy, friendly, caring and sweet. Pippa also thinks about the little extras too - Wifi and SkyTV that includes dozens of free good movies and free international calls.

I came here to find a place to rest...and instead found a home and made a dear new friend. Pippa, although we only met in person briefly, I miss you already and happy we keep in touch! If the opportunity arose, I'd be back and stay again in a heartbeat.

XOXO
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sydney, thank you so much for your lovely review. I remember thinking from our conversations beforehand, and then meeting you in person briefly, that I thought you would appreciate the same things as I do, about both the apartment and the location.... and sure enough, I feel like your review has succinctly captured this! I love that it really feels right in the heart of the action when you are there, but also cozy and comfortable as soon as you're in the apartment, so it's great to know that this is the feeling that others get too.
Thank you for being a great guest and penpal. I'll def be in touch and would love to have you back again. xx
business
Brilliant Location, Modern and Secure - Highspeed WiFi, Satellite TV & Air Con
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p853077
Islington London
5

Perfect stay in London

  • 5 of 5
Came to London for business for the month of November and wanted to try something different by renting a flat instead of the typical hotel. This place did not disappoint. The flat is absolutely beautiful and super comfortable but the best part for me was the neighborhood. Hoxton/Shoreditch is an amazing part of town - my first time there so it was fun exploring my new surroundings. Great nightlife and restaurants are all within arm’s reach as soon as you step outside the front door. I also couldn’t have asked for a better host. Pippa was super accommodating and helpful throughout my stay, going above and beyond to make me feel at home. I look forward to my next stay in the spring. All went well above my expectations. I miss the place already...
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
9.4 Kilometres
City Airport
Nearest Train
0.5 Kilometres
Old Street
Nearest Motorway
26.9 Kilometres
M11 Junction 4
Nearest Barpub
0.05 Kilometres
The Electricity Showrooms
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Kilometres
Busaba Eathai
Car: not necessary

Situated on the edge of Hoxton Square in the heart of trendy Shoreditch. This is the ultimate location for anyone wanting a taste of the real Londoners scene or those having business in the Financial District. You are literally surrounded by eating and drinking options, right on your doorstep. It is no exaggeration to say that you have more than 20 venues within 100 metres of the apartment's front door. And although right in the middle of this vibrant area, the apartment's bedroom faces a private courtyard and is completely silent - zero street noise is heard at all!

Should you wish to head into the West End, it is a 20 minute trip on one bus straight down Old St. Or take the tube from Old St Station, only 500m away.

In addition to this, the apartment is only a 10 minute walk or very quick cab ride to the Financial District and Liverpool St Station, making it ideal for those in London for business and providing an abundance of great travel connection options.

Other Activities: Art Galleries, Shopping, Restaurants, Bars, Clubs, Markets

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Islington Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Low Season
Jan 1 2015 - Feb 28 2015
3 night minimum stay
£120
From
£135
Fri,Sat
£750
£2,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£140
From
£140
Fri,Sat
£875
£3,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Exit Clean/Laundering £50
Refundable damage deposit £250
Notes 3 guests/use of the sofabed incurs a charge of £10 per night

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Islington Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Luxury
General:
  • Sofa Bed
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Maps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Alarm Clock
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Towels Provided
  • Internet
  • Heating
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Free Local Calls
  • Elevator
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchenette
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Luxurious bathroom, with heated towel rail. Lovely oversized bath sheets provided to complete your experience in full comfort.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Cotbed and highchair available on request
    Lounge - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Beautiful king size bed with orthopaedic mattress and high quality bedding. Fitted with feather and down duvet and pillows (hypoallergenic alternatives available if required). Bedroom windows face onto a private courtyard and blockout blinds can be drawn, allowing you to completely block out the outside world if you should want to, for an undisturbed rest. Lounge/reception equipped with a sofabed, so can accommodate another guest if required, or another 2 if you had to, but this would not be recommended for long stays.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Television
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
Notes:
Central heating througout apartment + Air Con. Sky Satellite TV with Sky+ Movies, Unlimited highspeed (up to 16Mb) broadband internet, connected 24/7 and included in the rental cost. Phone line installed for your use, with calls to local landlines and many other countries are included. Ask owner for more information.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$2,151 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,306 - $2,906 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$276 - $649 per night
-1 - 6 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6