GORGEOUS THATCHED COTTAGE -- RIGHT ON THE SEA ON GALWAY BAY

Colm Byrne

Speaks french, english, Irish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GORGEOUS THATCHED COTTAGE -- RIGHT ON THE SEA ON GALWAY BAY

Clarinbridge Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Idyllic, romantic 20 mins from Galway

An genuine Irish thatched cottage just for you.

Imagine yourself right on the sea, in a real traditional Irish cottage just 20 minutes from Galway city. This award winning home in a nationally protected heritage area has gentle green fields either side and a perfect blue-green bay in front. You'll love the hand-made bed in the master bedroom, the cozy loft, Irish stove, thick walls and books by Yeats and Joyce on the shelves.

We provide everything for your visit: fresh towels, linen, crockery, hair dryer, maps, even a bicycle.

Every glance out the window is a stunning vista of changing skies. The Burren hills, the oyster-catchers in their boats, the farmers passing and the empty castle across the bay fills the scene. That castle is another story, of the fight for a new Ireland, and a history to discover.

Just a short drive from vibrant and fun loving Galway City with main transport links to Shannon and Dublin, this award winning idyll, with modern conveniences, is just 1.5k to gorgeous Clarinbridge village, home of the oyster festival and welcoming restaurants and pubs. There's shopping there too with the top rated Meadows and Byrne, an antique shop you could spend hours wandering through and best coffee shops for miles around.

It's easy distance to Galway Golf club, and Burren National Park for world-class hiking. But you don't have to go far: There's fantastic seafood in local restaurants; great Guiness, traditional music in the pubs and lovely walks & cycling from your door.

.A real turf stove to warm yourself, wooden floors, a cozy hand-made Quaker kitchen and comfy beds; a master bedroom looking out to the sea and a pretty little loft reached by a set of stairs. Everything you need is supplied and Irish cook books to make not just bacon and cabbage.

Cave is available for only certain parts of the year so book early to avoid disappointment. There aren't many genuine thatched cottages left in Ireland you can rent; most are recently built or are taken over by heritage groups. We are proud of the cottage and we hope you enjoy it.

Enjoy your getaway.

More Details
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
Guestbook comments from the owner
How do I even begin to describe our visit to your wonderful cottage and the beautiful country of Ireland. We loved the cottage from the moment we set eyes on it and your lovely sister Ann was there to greet us. We settled in quickly and begin plotting our day trips.
May 2012
  • 1 of 1

Colm Byrne

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks french, english, Irish
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I'm a writer living in London with one foot in fiction and the other in technology. I've set one of my plays in the cottage and wrote more than one piece of work there. More here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colm_Byrne

I'm originally from Limerick but have lived all over the world, spending most of my time in San Francisco, New York and Los Angeles

Like every Irish emigrant I always wanted my own piece of ireland. I searched for years. Every trip home included a look in the papers, a drive around the For Sale signs. When i first heard of Cave, I was told 13 children were last reared in it. Being one of 9 brought up in Limerick, I felt an immediate closeness to the rough hewn walls, the small rooms, the square-cut windows and the openness of the sea. We put in a bid and after a long back and forth - lost.A rich musician had outbid us at every step. I met Bridie, one of the women who was brought up in the house and she told me tales from the war of independence, a love tale and another about the 'little folk' who used to knock on the back door. It was heart breaking to let it go. Then we got a call a month later - it was back on the market. The national heritage status prevented the building of a studio. The owner came to us and said he wanted us to have it. After careful refurbishment, Bridie came in and had a look around. She was quiet for a moment, then said. 'It has the same feel'. She couldn't tell whether thew floorboards we put down, though a century old themselves, were there before or not. It was a success. 'It was always a place of music' she said 'and the door was always open'. We rebuilt the half-door so that you can keep it open too.

Standing at the door, the sea breeze takes away every care and replaces it with a pure sense of the moment. Once inside the door, I first put on the fire and the smell of turf has me at home immediately. Every visit there is memorable, either with friends or alone to do a bit of writing. I'll often go down to the shore and pick some mussels and have them in a lovely wine sauce for my dinner. The evenings are spent chatting with friends, neighbours or enjoying a rich glass of wine by the fire.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Gorgeous thatched cottage -- right on the sea on Galway Bay
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Gorgeous thatched cottage -- right on the sea on Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841672
+44 744 650-7157
Clarinbridge County Galway
5

STUNNING SCENERY, GORGEOUS, WARM, TIDY COTTAGE

  • 5 of 5
Gorgeous cottage with fantastic views. Went for a post-christmas wind-down, and spend most of the days reading from the library of books in the cottage. Everything was as described and more. Very comfortable. Clean and fresh linen. We didn't cook much there as we ate up in the village at the friendly paddy burke's oyster bar.
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Gorgeous thatched cottage -- right on the sea on Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841672
+44 744 650-7157
Clarinbridge County Galway
5

AUTHENTIC THATCHED-ROOF COTTAGE EXPERIENCE !

  • 5 of 5
Cave Cottage is a step back in time but with modern conveniences. The authentic thatched roof, the half-door, the wood-stove & valve radio whisk you back to a bygone age. Step outside the front door to witness stunning sea views with the picturesque village of Clarinbridge a few minutes drive away.
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Gorgeous thatched cottage -- right on the sea on Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841672
+44 744 650-7157
Clarinbridge County Galway
5

PERFECT RETREAT

  • 5 of 5
My partner and I Went to stay in this idyllic little cottage for five nights and certainly did not want to come home.
It's ideal location situated a few steps down to unspoilt bay coupled with the breath taking view of rolling hills behind it made it what dreams were made of for us.
Internally the cottage was clean, warm and comfortable offering all the charm and comfort we expected along with the quirkiness that one desires when booking a three hundred year old cottage.
The local pubs and restaurants were a true delight with Irish hospitality living up to its good name. A night out in Galway is also a must.
Both my partner and I are lucky enough to be very well travelled, we don’t tend to visit the same the same place twice but I can categorically state that a trip to the West Coast of Ireland would not be complete for us without another visit to Cave cottage.
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Gorgeous thatched cottage -- right on the sea on Galway Bay
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p841672
+44 744 650-7157
Clarinbridge County Galway
1

WONDERFUL COTTAGE IN HORRIBLE SHAPE!

  • 1 of 5
We were there in summer for 8 nights. The first impression was fantastic, the cottage seems to be beautiful, right on the sea. BUT THEN: The wall in the sleeping room was/is moudy and stinks. Nobody could sleep in this room. It was really harmful!! Really discusting! We slept in the livingroom on the floor.
The kitchen-stuff was also very dirty and moudy. My husband cleaned the dishes, pans and machines for two hours befor we were able to use. And one comes to the other. The window in the bathroom was out of order. The floor in the whole cottage was very dirty and discusting. About 30% of the lamps were out of order. I changend as much as we found light bulbs to getting light in the house. Also we missed the microwave. The bicycle and the grill were not for use!!! To dirty, to rosty and out of order.
And so on and so on. Mostly annoying was the fact that we could not reach the owner, not by phone, not by email as he mentioned. And this was very irritating! Thats why we write this comment!
It's just a pitty!!! This wonderful place in such a horrible shape!!
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write. We take complaints very seriously. We're shocked to hear this. But we're also very puzzled as to why you didn't contact us - - contrary to your assertion. This issue would have been rectified immediately if you had. Our full-time housekeeper lives right by the cottage and you were given her phone number. He job is to respond to guest needs while there. She has confirmed that you did not contact her.
The only communication we have is your acknowledgement of the emailed guide which has 3 phone & email contacts at the top in bold. It clearly states you must contact us if there is a problem while you are there - not after when nothing can be done (like now). I emailed and phoned you to confirm your review above but you chose not to respond at all.

Nonetheless let's go through your issues:
Dishes: Housekeeper may have overlooked something. We will take it up with her. The guest immediately after you wrote: "We had a lovely stay at Cave cottage. It was in a perfect spot and was comfortable and clean. Thank you." Not to take away from your complaint but merely to show that she is usually very good and attentive.
Blown lightbulbs: Covered in our guide. A power supply issue to the old cottage outside of our control. A box of bulbs is available and the housekeeper is supposed to check them. We'll check that too.
Odour: The cottage is cleaned regularly of course. It might be the straw roof or turf in the fireplace - a pleasant aroma that can get strong immediately after rain.
Mold: The cottage was painted this spring (as it is each year). At 300 years the walls flake occasionaly. Still, it's made of earth with no modern materials and breathes, so mould is rare. We'll look into it though.

Why don't you come stay with us again? We'll give you a 30% discount and are sure you will have a wonderful time, as our guests always do.

It is in our clear interest to fix issues - they do happen - while a guest is in the cottage and not to ignore them when it becomes damaging for us and upsetting for you. When you stay at a hotel and towels need changing, you call the front desk. Why you didn't call and continue not to communicate is the mystery here. The housekeeper is our front desk and we pay good money for that service.
Maybe you tried but were not used to calling from Ireland - we don't know because we have not received a response from you. Get in touch and we'll see what we can do to make it better.
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Kilometres
Shannon
Nearest Ferry
50 Kilometres
Doolin to Aran Islands
Nearest Train
10 Kilometres
Galway City
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
Galway to Dublin
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Paddy Burkes Oyster Tavern
Nearest Golf
9 Kilometres
Galway Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
3 Kilometres
Moran's of The Weir, Basilico
Car: recommended

Just 20 minutes from Galway city and a million miles from care, . This is where guests tell us they can really unwind and feel at home. A mile from Clarinbridge/Clarenbridge - home of the famous Oyster festival. The fishing village of Kinvara is nearby the amazing Burren home - great for hiking and exploring.

There are festivals year-round; Galway Arts Festival, Cuirt and Galway Races. Golf and fishing all around the coast and out to the Aran Islands will tempt sportsmen. The bay is a calm sea with gentle tides lapping right in front of the cottage (3 metres from gate).

Galway City is your charming with it's quaint cobblestone streets, traditional music, superb night-life and haute cuisine.

Cave cottage is your retreat: Your neighbours are farmers and fisherman, your views are the sea and the mountains, your friends are yet to be made

Golf: Huge range of the finest golf clubs in Ireland.

All within easy driving:

Galway Golf Club

Bearna Golf Club

Lahinch Golf Club

Athenry Golf Club

...and too many to mention

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Clarinbridge Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2014
Jun 1 2014 - Sep 13 2014
2 night minimum stay
€120
From
€125
Fri,Sat,Sun
€770
€1,800
 
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
€225
€800
 
 
Oyster Festival 2015
Sep 11 2015 - Sep 14 2015
3 night minimum stay
€145
€850
€1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
€92
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning €60
Refundable damage deposit €100

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Clarinbridge Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (detached)
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Farm Holidays
  • Historic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Living Room
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking
  • Garage
  • Fireplace
  • Sofa Bed
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Grill
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Main - toilet , shower
  • The bathroom has a full shower and washbasin with large mirror, towel radiator and wooden shutters for privacy.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • |Master - 1 queen , 1 child bed
    Loft - 1 queen
    Sofabed - 1 queen
  • The master bedroom features a queen size bed, wooden shutters, a dressing table and a very large walk-in closet with ample room for your clothes. Wooden flooring throughout. The loft bedroom is up a small set of steep stairs. There is a twin bed here, suitable for two. It has a cute frame-cut window looking out to the fields and a sloping roof up in the attic. It gets nice and cosy here. There is a sofabed in the living room. Now talk about cozy! Put it close to the turf-fire and listen to the crackle of wood and watch the flames dance and create shadows as you fall into a deep sleep.
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Books ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games for Kids
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Bicycles
  • Boat Dock
  • Patio
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • forests
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • mountain biking
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • swimming
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
Everything you need is provided! Linen, towels, cooking facilities including pots and pans. Glassware, cups and saucers, etc.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$334 - $756 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$418 - $1,038 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7