Submitted: September 8, 2012
Stayed: August 2012
archontiko villas is set in the most beautiful surroundings,which definitely makes the accomodation what it is.after many emails back and fourth between Sharon and ourselves we decided to stay at archontiko for our honeymoon for 2weeks as it seemed ideal for us.we arrived at archontiko villas around 7.30am and had to wait for the owners to be called up to show us to our villa.sharon was very friendly and laid back,but it was abit of a shock to find 2 single beds instead of a double - this was our honeymoon afterall! when questioned, Sharon told us just to push them together,however these are not divan beds that can be locked together,they are iron and when together there is still a good 4-5inch gap. we tried moving the mattresses but it just made for very uneven, uncomfortable sleeping.Sharon said that morning she will try and do something about getting a double but this never materialized. Quite dissappointing.We were later informed there are only two villas with double beds and one is occupied all year round so it is unlikely to get a double. we were also told our satellite tv doesn't work-two things i wish we were made aware of BEFORE booking (can't see this info anywhere in the email correspondance beforehand) The villa was clean and tidy but the mosquito nets were full of insect remains so no chance of putting them over our beds. the cleaner was lovely - we did mention to her how there was a leak under the sink and everytime we had a shower it flooded the floor. we used the shower curtain because of this (the shower is not attratched,you just have to hold it above your head) but it was filthy and would fill the bath with orange water so made washing quite unpleasant. there are no laundry facilities so be prepared to wash clothes in bath or sink (this was no bother to us).the villas are lovely but I suspect the photos on the website were taken immediately after renovation.also forget the champagne,lanterns and candles-you will have to provide these yourself.we did however get some burnt down tealights! the bar was very welcoming and the pool was always clean,Mary was wonderful and all the cats and dogs in the resort made us feel right at home!
overall we had a lovely holiday but if we ever returned it would be to the masionettes where at least we wouldn't be paying for services we didn't get (i.e. no satellite tv) just wish we had been made aware before booking,but we did have a great time,thank you
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review however I would like to point out a few things.
Our check out time is 10:30 am and our check in time is 12 noon.We do however try our best to get our guests into the villas as early as possible.You arrived at 7:30 am, you were in your villa before 8am.As per your original request for a villa,I did inform you that we had only one villa remaining for the dates that you requested.After searching and liasing with a cheap flight company to get you cheap flights,I also gave you a 20% discount on the cost of the villa as you had mentioned it was your honeymoon,in which we were delighted to do as you mentioned how much you wanted to stay here and the help that we gave prior to your arrival, you were very thankful.We provide the following services free of Charge as per our correspondance.(11th Jul)
Safety Deposit Box
WIFI throughout the Villas and grounds
Linen & Towel Change every 3-4 days
Sunbeds at pool area
Although Satellite TV and normal TV channels was not mentioned at all !! we also provide this service free of charge also.All services were working however we had high winds before your arrival and it knocked the aerial of the satellite TV out however the normal channels were working properly.(10 in total).I did advise you on arrival however you said that you won't be watching TV.The second morning you mentioned about the double bed, I did tell you that unfortunately because you booked so late (last one available) that I didn't have one but I'll have a look and see if I could move people around which unfortunately I couldn't.Every time I saw you,I asked if everything was ok and the response was always very positive.I was not advised of any leak or yellow water or anything that you are saying above.If I had, I would have got onto it straight away if there was a problem.We always try our best to please our guests as in getting the best flight prices that we can prior to arrival,checking all companies to get cheap car hire/buggy hire/quad bike hire when you arrived etc. I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations however If there is any problems, I really need to know during your stay in order for me to rectify it if possible.On paying I asked did you enjoy your stay and I was told that you would definitely be back but you mentioned about the Satellite not working.Although we don't charge for this,I gave you a further discount on your request.
Helpful votes: 1/4
Did you find this review helpful?