Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Spectacular Georgian Town House In Tenby, Incredible Views And Beach Access

Erik or Hannah Arentz

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, norwegian
Sleeps19
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 28 nights

Contact the Owner

Erik or Hannah Arentz

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, norwegian
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Spectacular Georgian Town House In Tenby, Incredible Views And Beach Access

Sleeps19
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 28 nights

Overview

Tenby House Rental Photos and Description

East Rock House: A Truly Stunning Historic House In The Best Location In Tenby

The house provides luxury accommodation 16+ people in 7 bedrooms. Fully centrally heated and recently renovated East Rock is a truly wonderful house to enjoy for a special celebration or holiday. Full internet wifi throughout the house. Very centrally located with incredible views over South beach, Nelson himself stayed here in 1802. Tenby recently (Nov 2014) won the silver award for 'Best UK Tourist Resort', East Rock is at the heart of this pretty coastal town with its four beaches, excellent cafes and pubs and its iconic harbour.

Sorry, no hen or stag parties, though contact owners to discuss should you not fit the norm for such groups!

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Erik or Hannah Arentz (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, norwegian
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

About Erik or Hannah Arentz

Tenby based couple married for 25 years with 3 children and recently returned to Pembrokeshire after 15 years living abroad. Loving being back by the beach!

Enjoying meeting happy customers, especially when they enjoy the property so much that they rebook the next year too!

Erik or Hannah Arentz purchased this house in 2013

Why Erik or Hannah Arentz chose Tenby

We had been looking for the 'perfect' house in Tenby for nearly 5 years. When East Rock came on the market we knew it was special and hopped on a plane to view it. Bought it within a fortnight of it going on the market and have spent the time since very extensively renovating it. Completed May 2014. Luckily we have been living elsewhere in Tenby since August 2013 so were able to project manage the rebuild ourselves. The outside townside was re-rendered and painted November 2014 and we sincerely hope we can stop spending money on it now!!

What makes this house unique

Following the French revolution the aristocracy correctly felt it was unsafe to enjoy their usual 'Grand Tour' voyages in Europe. Two brothers in law from London decided to build themselves adjoining beach houses in Tenby and they took the best location in town, on the promontory between Castle and South beaches with incredible views. Probably built in 1798, East Rock hosted probably the most famous Briton of his time in 1802. Nelson visited along with William and Emma Hamilton, a blue plaque on the house marks their visit. Many other blue plaques in town record the visits of the other famous people who have enjoyed visits to Tenby, from Henry VII to George Eliot or Beatrix Potter plus many artists inspired by the views!

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Lovely to wake up to waves lapping at the rocks. Haven't used the car all week. It doesn't get much better than this, everything on your door step. So much space, noone on top of each other. Couldn't believe our luck."

Peter and Judith, Monmouth, June 2013

"House is perfect for all generations- humans and canines!"

Helen, Geneva, July 2013

"The views from the windows are fantastic. It is just like stepping into another world when you shut the door. We have had an amazing week."

Pain family, Yorkshire and France, August 2013

"With four young children the proximity of the beach was perfect."

Graham clan, Netherlands, August 2013.
Dec 2013
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps19
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 28 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Spectacular Georgian Town House In Tenby, Incredible Views And Beach Access
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
Cardiff
5

Fabulous 60th birthday celebrations!

  • 5 of 5

East Rock House is truly fabulous! I was blown away with the photos on the website but the reality is even more impressive - mind blowing views in all directions from the terrace, balcony and the windows. Once you close the front door, it is as if you are stepping into another world, leaving the hustle and bustle of Tenby behind.

The kitchen, terrace and hot tub combo is perfect. The terrace furniture is lovely and the kitchen beautiful and very well equipped. It was perfect for our extended family gathering of 16 with ages ranging from 1 through 20s, 30s, 40s, 50s and 60s. We were able to have great meals with all of us seated both indoors and outdoors.

The steps down to the beach provided opportunities for family sand castle building competitions and then the chance to nip back up to sit in the hot tub drinking fizz - can't be bad!

Everybody was knocked out by the house and the ever changing views - feeling as if you were at the helm of Nelson's Victory when the tide was in, with waves crashing against the rocks below, the terrace surrounded by sea. Then again equally stunning at low tide with miles of golden sand extending before you. The weather was perfect - skies as blue and cloudless as the Caribbean.

Although we dined in ( including fabulous fresh lobsters from Seafoods on the quay), if you want somewhere special to eat a 10/15 minute drive away and right on the beach, the new Coast restaurant at Coppet Hall Beach, Saundersfoot is very classy yet informal - recommended!

Many thanks to Hannah for being so helpful and friendly both in all the correspondence beforehand and during and after.

We shall be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your lovely review, glad you have such a wonderful time!
Wells, Somerset
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5

We hired this house for the weekend, bring our friends together and we were all blown away. The pictures do not do it justice!

The owner Hannah had been very informative on the run up to our stay and always on hand to answer questions. On arrival we were greeted by the very lovely Ali who took us around the house and showed us what was what.

The house was spotless, fresh white linen on the beds and fluffy towels for each guest. The kitchen had all the essentials and for ease we arranged for a Tesco food delivery to come to the house but in fact we could have easily have got all we needed within walking distance.

In our 3 night stay we were able to spend lots of quality time together as a group but the house also provides the space to break off. We enjoyed sitting around the table eating together, playing rounders on the beach, using the hot tub and taking in the magnificent view - especially when we all got up to watch the sunrise with mugs of hot chocolate.

It was truly magical, we'll be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your lovely review, it really sounds as though you got the most out of your weekend at East Rock. Having the ability to be together as a big group but also plenty of space to be private is a definite advantage to the house. Love the idea of you all drinking hot chocolate and watching the sea as dawn broke! Please DO come back!
Newark
5

Wow

  • 5 of 5

We spent a wonderful Christmas week in this wonderful house. Warm and cosy in the worst weather, we were completely at home and entertained by fantastic sea and beach views. But Tenby offers more, including a Christmas Day with weather so good we drank champagne on the magnificent terrace in shirt-sleeves. Comfortable beds, a fantastic kitchen, wifi and hot tub all made the holiday special. Step out the front and you are in the town centre with its friendly shops and pubs. At the back, head out of the terrace and down the steps and you're right there on the beach. Don't worry about parking - dump your car at the car park in town. You won't need it.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review, and we loved the photos you sent of you all enjoying Christmas in the courtyard!
Leicester
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

What a special place! We spent most of our time in the kitchen and patio and thought that we could easily be in the Mediterranean rather than Wales! We hardly stepped out the front door as the back with its steps to the beach was such a lovely retreat from the busy-ness of the Tenby streets (although we did enjoy the Sunday Spectacular amongst other things in Tenby!). The hot tub was perfect for warming up after a dip in the sea - or for drinking Cava in :-)

The house is really good for large groups - you can spend time together in the sociable kitchen, or escape to your room or the formal sitting room if you want more peace and quiet! The kids loved having their own 'kids' lounge' too.

Everything was wonderfully thought-out and Hannah was very friendly, answering any questions we had before the holiday and showing us all the features of the house before we settled in. We had a great holiday and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a perfect retreat from 'real life'.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, Erik and I specifically set up East Rock with family groups like yours (and ours!) in mind. Your comments are great to hear as are exactly what we'd hoped/planned for!
oxfordshire
5

out of this world!

  • 5 of 5

I booked to stay at East Rock for my uncles 60th birthday and it didn't disappoint!

18 of us slept there for 3 nights, and there was more than enough room for all of us, we even had extras come along in the daytime to enjoy the celebration with us.

the views are to die for! great location for the beach and town, and the local multi-storey car park is close by and very cheap to park for the weekend...

the hot tub was a great bonus!

I wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
West Bromwich
5

East Rock

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous house. It really is stunning. Lots of space and great for large groups. Hot tub over looks the beach so you can relax with a beautiful view. Owners are very nice and very helpful and spent plenty of time with us on our arrival, showing us around the house and explaining everything to us. They have thought of everything, there is lots and lots of kitchen equipment to cook with and lots of cutlery, plates, cups, glasses and also plenty of plastic glasses for outside. It sleeps 18 but we had a gathering of about 30 for a birthday and there is plenty of space and glasses to go around. We would have no hesitation about going back and look forward to doing so in the future ...

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

Map

Special interest holidays:

Lots of surfing, fishing and sailing opportunities. The Pembrokeshire Coast Path provides fantastic walking opportunities. Coasteering very popular with adrenaline junkies. Lots of History in the town and nearby castles.

Coast/Beach:

East Rock is built on the promontory between South Beach and Castle beach. These are literally under the house, which has its own access steps to the sand! Sheltered Harbour beach is a minute or so's walk away and North beach five minutes walk. Tenby is considered " the jewel in the crown" of the gorgeous Pembrokeshire National park, Britains' only Coastal National park. There are very many stunning world class beaches (most 'blue flag' standard, Europe's top accolade) along this 186 mile path.

Travel:

A car is not necessary unless you want to explore Pembrokeshire, though most people arrive by driving west on the M4, A48, A40 then A477. We are c. 2 hours from the Severn bridge crossing into Wales.

Tenby has a train station.

The town is about 4 hours west of London and 3 hours 40 minutes from Heathrow. Nearest airports are Cardiff (92miles), Bristol (131 miles) and Birmingham (c.180 miles).

We are close to the ferries to Ireland at Pembroke Dock and Fishguard.

Distances:

Caldey island is a lovely boat ride, catch the boat from the harbour.

Day trip ideas: St Davids, the smallest city in Britain, with its amazing cathedral is an hour north. Laugharne with its castle and Dylan Thomas links is just 30 minutes away. Many castles and gardens nearby to visit.

Child oriented trips: Oakwood Adventure park, Blue Lagoon Water park, Heatherton activity park, Anna's Welsh zoo, the Dinosaur park and our favourite, Folly Farm Zoo are all short (5-15 minute) drives away.

Further Details:

Very easy walking distance to shops (Tescos express, two bakeries, butchers, fishmongers, greengrocers, some good independent gift shops.) Big Sainsburys on outskirts of town. All the big banks just up the road in Tudor Square. Masses of pubs, cafes and restaurants within very easy walking distance. (Recommend booking in high season, owners happy to advise.)

Photos

Rates & Availability

From £496 Per night

Tenby House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
British Pound
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
May 8 2015 - Jul 2 2015
3 night minimum stay
£563
From
£563
£2,490
 
extra night: £563    
 
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 16 2015
3 night minimum stay
£663
From
£663
£2,990
 
extra night: £663    
 
Jul 17 2015 - Jul 17 2015
3 night minimum stay
£663
From
£663
£3,990
 
extra night: £663    
 
Jul 18 2015 - Sep 3 2015
7 night minimum stay
£3,990
 
 
Sep 4 2015 - Oct 22 2015
3 night minimum stay
£630
From
£630
£2,490
 
extra night: £630    
 
Oct 23 2015 - Oct 23 2015
3 night minimum stay
£630
From
£630
£3,490
 
extra night: £630    
 
Oct 24 2015 - Oct 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
£3,490
 
 
Oct 30 2015 - Dec 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
£563
From
£563
£2,390
 
extra night: £563    
 
Dec 21 2015 - Dec 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
£563
From
£563
£3,490
 
extra night: £563    
 
Dec 22 2015 - Jan 3 2016
7 night minimum stay
£3,490
 
 
Jan 4 2016 - Jan 4 2016
7 night minimum stay
£3,490
£3,990
 
 
Jan 5 2016 - Jan 31 2016
28 night minimum stay
£3,990
 
 
Feb 1 2016 - Feb 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
£496
From
£496
£1,990
£3,990
 
extra night: £496    
 
Feb 2 2016 - Mar 24 2016
3 night minimum stay
£496
From
£496
£1,990
 
extra night: £496    
 
Mar 25 2016 - Mar 25 2016
3 night minimum stay
£496
From
£496
£3,490
 
extra night: £496    
 
Mar 26 2016 - Apr 7 2016
7 night minimum stay
£3,490
 
 
Apr 8 2016 - Apr 28 2016
3 night minimum stay
£563
From
£563
£2,250
 
extra night: £563    
 
Apr 29 2016 - May 1 2016
3 night minimum stay
£750
From
£750
£2,490
 
extra night: £750    
 
May 2 2016 - Jul 3 2016
3 night minimum stay
£630
From
£630
£2,490
 
extra night: £630    
 
Jul 4 2016 - Jul 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
£663
From
£663
£2,990
 
extra night: £663    
 
Jul 19 2016 - Jul 21 2016
7 night minimum stay
£2,990
 
 
Jul 22 2016 - Aug 25 2016
7 night minimum stay
£4,500
 
 
Aug 26 2016 - Aug 26 2016
3 night minimum stay
£750
From
£750
£4,500
 
extra night: £750    
 
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 12 2016
3 night minimum stay
£750
From
£750
 
extra night: £750    

Notes

  • Booking Notes:
    We ask for a 30% deposit with the remainder being due 8 weeks before the holiday. A £200 fully refundable breakages/ damage deposit to be paid before arrival (or via cheque on arrival.) Will be returned within two weeks of your departure if no problems.
    Please note that failure to pay the remainder sum will be construed as a cancellation. (Refund policy available on request.)
    Out of season we can be flexible about arrival/ departure dates and times.

    Changeover Day:
    Usual changeover days are Fridays (and/or Mondays)
    Departure time is 10 am, arrival usually at 5pm sometimes this is negotiable. During the summer holidays Tenby town centre is pedestrianised from 11-5, owners will advise on parking and access.

    Notes on prices:
    East Rock is available weekly: Low season from £1990 (£18 per person per night) Mid season £2250 (£20pppn) High season £3990 (£36 pppn) Short breaks possible out of school holidays (minimum 3 nights -NB2 nights same price as 3) Fri 5pm - Mon 10am Eg 3 night low season weekend:£1490 (£31 pppn)
    Bargain 4 nights Monday to Friday breaks available at less than weekend costs!
    January available for monthly booking only-ask owners for details.
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Tenby House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 19 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - shower
    Shower room 2 - shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bathroom with rain shower and underfloor heating
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Ensuite to Nelson's Lookout
  • Copper bateau bath on a plinth with a view in the Trafalgar suite + rain shower bathroom and separate cloakroom on 1st floor. 2nd floor bathroom. 3rd floor shower room + an ensuite bathroom. 3 Cloakrooms also= lower ground floor/ground floor/1st floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Emma's Retreat
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Victory Room: family bedroom
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , Trafalgar Suite: Huge master bedroom with a copper bath
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Nelson's Cabin
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Nelson's Lookout
    Bedroom 6 - 2 double , The Masthead
    Bedroom 7 - 2 twin/ single , The Crowsnest
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 16+ (7 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with copper bateau bath on plinth and double bed. Also on first floor a twin bed. Second floor has a twin bed and a family room with twins and a double. Top floor has 1) with a single and double, 2) two doubles and 3) one twin bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Usual changeover day is Friday. (Negotiable out of high season.) Strictly no smoking indoors please. Well behaved pets are very welcome but restricted to the ground floor, lower ground floor and courtyard garden, please be scrupulous in clearing up after them and don't let them on the sofas! Parking in Tenby is difficult and there is NO parking at the house, which is in the heart of the medieval town centre. We recommend dropping off bags and then parking at the municipal park in town (£12/week). Many of our guests find they have little or no use for the car as everything is on the doorstep. (We do sometimes have access to a parking place about 150m away, please enquire of owners if this is of interest.) Outside: Enclosed courtyard garden with teak table and chairs and barbecue. Large balcony terrace off the drawing room. Both with fabulous views. Covered outdoor area outside kitchen under the balcony. Fabulous awardwinnning Riviera Cedarwood hot tub in courtyard, bring your swimming costume/ dressing gown! Utility Room: Situated at the end of the open plan kitchen. A second dishwasher, washing machine, tumble drier and second fridge. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bath towels and linen plus tea towels and dishcloths are all provided in the price. All beds made up. End of stay cleaning included in price. Beach towels can be provided if needed. Electricity and gas included in price. Dogs no extra charge:) Other: The Drawing room, Trafalgar suite and the hallways on the ground floor/1st floor have many lovely, original Georgian features; fireplaces, cornices, ceiling roses, hall tables and mirrors. All bedrooms have been fully redecorated

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote