COUPLES RETREAT! STUNNING VIEWS, WALK TO FUNCHAL, FREE WI-FI, KING SIZE BED

From
€115
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Louise Allison

Speaks english, portuguese
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

COUPLES RETREAT! STUNNING VIEWS, WALK TO FUNCHAL, FREE WI-FI, KING SIZE BED

Funchal Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Spacious, Pool, Air-Con/Heating, IPod Doc, Cable TV, Car not Essential

Over looking the Bay of Funchal with stunning ocean views these 2 one bedroom apartments make a perfect holiday home. Designed for couples, each property has privacy & lots of space to relax both inside & out, light streams into the living areas with sliding doors leading out to the large veranda´s with the pool below. They feature wooden floors & have fully integrated kitchens with granite work tops, king size beds & spacious bathrooms. There´s air conditioning/heating, cable TV in several languages, dvd, free Wi-fi internet, IPod speakers, alarm & the property is in a nice residential area. Parking is in the street immediately outside, however with good public transport links a car is not essential, Airport transfers can be arranged. A complete guide with information about the property & the Island is provided.

Details for Nº1 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2, 1 Bathroom

This beautifully furnished apartment on the lower floor, has a few steps leading down to the private entrance & is spread over 125m, the open plan layout is very spacious & features original stone walls a fire place and has fantastic panoramic views over Funchal & the harbour. There is a large decked veranda & an outdoor dining area just off the Kitchen which is very well equipped making this an ideal holiday home for couples. there is a king size bed, separate laundry, free Wi-fi, cable tv, dvd, air-con/heating, Ipod speakers, books & information on everything from public transport, supermarkets, walking, restaurants, local attractions, and much more.
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Events Allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • not suitable for children
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Louise Allison

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2009
Speaks english, portuguese
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Born in Norfolk UK, i met my Husband in Australia and after getting Married in 2002 we moved to Madeira where my husband is originally from. We really enjoy living on this beautiful little Island. Our passion is renovating properties, turning something old and run down into a new stylish home to rent or sell!

Louise Allison purchased this apartment in 2008

This property is a hidden treasure, we bought it for the location, just a few minutes from the centre of Funchal with stunning views over the harbour and ocean!

The views obviously! The Villa is just a 10 to 15 minute walk from the centre of Funchal, it´s close to bus stops & is a nice neighborhood. The Villa has a lovely feel inside, so much more than a typical holiday let with lots of little finishing touches, the idear was to create a space that you really want to spend time in & relax. King size bed, comfy sofas, quality fixtures & fittings with a large kitchen. This is a versatile property perfect for a summer or winter holiday with the large veranda & the pool below to enjoy being outdoors or in winter it makes a perfect cosy retreat.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

25 Reviews Write a Review
Couples Retreat! Stunning Views, Walk to Funchal, Free Wi-fi, King Size Bed
average rating of 4.96 based on 25 reviews
business
Couples Retreat! Stunning Views, Walk to Funchal, Free Wi-fi, King Size Bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p805065
+351 912345455
Funchal Madeira
5

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Had a lovely stay in this very clean and well equipped accommodation. It is just as the pictures show. Wi fi has been fixed we had no problems with it. We used the airport pick up and drop off offered €30 each way and it was very well organised. The owners were away when we were staying and they were kind enough to let us use their own BBQ on their balcony! As other reviewers have mentioned Lourdes is wonderful. She was there to meet us and show us around, making it very clear she was at the end of the phone anytime we may need her. Such a friendly welcoming lady. On our last day she came to see us off and had even phoned our airport drop off taxi driver to check he was on his way! Would recommend booking this great place to anyone thinking of visiting this lovely island.
Owner's Response: Hello Gail, Thanks so much for your wonderful review. I am so glad you both had a great time and the Villa lived up to your expectations! It was such a shame we didn´t get to meet you, maybe next time! I shall pass on your kind comments to Lourdes who will be very pleased, we are lucky to have her working with us. It´s really important for us to try and offer the complete package, making sure our guests enjoy the accomodation as well as the meet & greet service and it´s always nice to know if you need any assistance nothing is too much trouble, once again thanks, much appreciated, Louise.
business
Couples Retreat! Stunning Views, Walk to Funchal, Free Wi-fi, King Size Bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p805065
+351 912345455
Funchal Madeira
4

Great views and well appointed property

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This was our first visit to Madeira Island and glad that we chose this property for our 7 week stay.

The views were nice with modern furnishings. We have only a few comments to make about the property. The parking was not ideal with a very narrow one way street with large volume of traffic and people jocking for parking. When we went out we risked coming back to no available parking. Talk is that the property will expand, the parking situation must be resolved prior to any expansion. The street was very steep and you must be prepared for a long haul up. Grocery store was 10 min. by car. The facing street was very busy with a large school and noise, many racing motorcycles. We had difficulty with internet access for the duration of our stay, though we tried to convey the issues, we received less than satisfactory resolution. To be so far from home without access was a disappointment. Renters prior to us and in the cottage also had problems. Instructions for appliances need to be available in English.
We are grateful to Lourdes for being our Angel on the night we arrived and for giving much appreciated directions in getting around during our stay.
Owner's Response: Thanks Carol, glad you had a good time with us in Funchal and again like your last review for The Docks i really appreciate your comments. Yes your right the parking can sometimes be an issue here & yes your right we are expanding our property and the first thing we are going to do is create off road parking with space for everyone to park. Parking in the street is not ideal & when your here for a long period of time , as you were i can totally understand that this would become an inconvenience. Also, sorry about the internet problem, we tried so hard to resolve it as you know, nether me, Raul or the internet service provider seemed to be able to resolve this, after many call outs and telephone calls it turned out to be a conflict between 2 different pieces of equipment and did actually take a few weeks to resolve after you left, we had new modems, we had about 4 different technicians & no one picked this up, for all concerned it was rather frustrating & for you & all our guests that were affected i can not apologize enough! There are times of the day when there is more noise, it is a little nursery opposite but your right sometimes the children can be heard, as for those motor bikes that sometimes pass it is very annoying, they should be banned! Hopefully the views & the Villa made up for this & at this property you a nice big laundry and plenty of space to hang/dry clothes & towels. We are very lucky to have Lourdes, a lovely lady who always helps to take care of our guests & makes sure our properties are spotless, especially as i was away when you arrived and i think you had a problem with your hire car and Lourdes was there to help you resolve the problem, your right she is an Angel! Once again thanks for choosing our property, enjoy your next trip here and we hope to maybe catch up with you whilst you in Madeira!
business
Couples Retreat! Stunning Views, Walk to Funchal, Free Wi-fi, King Size Bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p805065
+351 912345455
Funchal Madeira
Richmond
5

Stunning appartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This was our second stay in one of Louise and Raul's properties - see the cottage also wonderful from 2012. It is much more spacious than even the professional photos suggest. Really hard to find fault. We had slight trouble with wi-fi but that may have been our computer.
It is a lovely and enormous appartment with fantastic views. It was all complete luxury. We had been before to the same site and knew it was an uphill walk from town. Although we hired a car, we tried the bus this time -being lazy rather than needing to. Multiple numbers of buses were easy for us when we felt too full of lovely food to walk.
My only hesitation in a 110% review is that it might get too booked for us to return next year.
Owner's Response: Hello and Thanks for your lovely review, indeed it was a pleasure to welcome you both back to Madeira. I am really pleased you enjoyed the facilities and that you were impressed with the Villa, i remember when you stayed at the Cottage on your first visit here and we were in the process of renovating the Villa! Well done for using the Bus´s, they are actually really efficient and easy to use, and definitely save you from walking up hill when coming back from a day in Funchal or a lovely dinner! Even down in the centre when you think you´ve discovered every steep street or hilly area there´s always another one around the corner to keep you on your toes! Regarding the wi-fi, it was not your computer, in the beginning we just had one modem but then another was installed to boost the signal in the Villa, the two modems were conflicting with each other causing the internet to keep dropping out, after many technicians and weeks of trying to resolve this we just had to reconfigure them so they were working together, typical! Sorry this was a problem while you were here, it did affect a few of our guests over that period but like i said finally it´s all in working order! Once again thank so much for coming back to Madeira, we really hope to see you in the future!
business
Couples Retreat! Stunning Views, Walk to Funchal, Free Wi-fi, King Size Bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p805065
+351 912345455
Funchal Madeira
5

perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This property exceeded our expectations - spacious, high quality, very well maintained, clean, well equipped.
We particularly loved the views, log fire, super shower, huge comfortable bed.
Louise was there to meet us - friendly and helpful advice before we arrived and during our stay.
We have been to Madeira before - walking the lavadas and visiting the gardens is a must.
We hired a car though driving here is not for the faint hearted and many rely on the many buses and taxis.
Happy to recommend this villa to others and we hope very much to stay here again one day.
David and Judy
Owner's Response: I really appreciate you taking the time to make a review, thanks for your kind comments, i am really glad you enjoyed all the facilities at The Villa, we have really tried to make it a home from home with the king size bed, log fire and lots of little touches to give it a quality feel. I think your right, the views are fantastic, it´s great to wake up and see the ships in the harbor, we are very lucky to have this wonderful view everyday! Thanks for choosing our Villa, hope to see you again one day!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Couples Retreat! Stunning Views, Walk to Funchal, Free Wi-fi, King Size Bed
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p805065
+351 912345455
Funchal Madeira
5

Memorable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
A great place with a spectacular location.A warm welcome by the owner Louise to an apartment which is very well equipped and in immaculate condition.We had such a great time that we are returning to enjoy it again.The housekeeper Lourdes is a gem and very helpful if Louise is absent.
Owner's Response: Thanks for your compliments about the Villa, i´m so pleased you had such a great holiday and thank you for re-booking this year, we look forward to seeing you both!
Helpful votes: 0/1
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Funchal Airport
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Kilometres
Funchal Port
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Kilometres
Via Rapida exit 12 Campa de Barca
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Barreirinha
Car: not necessary

This property is in a fantastic location, away from the typical tourist areas & only a 10 to 15 minute to walk down to the centre it has some of the most stunning ocean & harbour views looking out over the city of Funchal. Once in the centre there´s much to explore like the Old town 'Zona Velha' with it´s many restaurants & bars, this is a great place to spend an evening. The Forte do Santiago & the beach complex Barreirinha are also near by with direct access to the sea, the water is crystal clear! The cable car to Monte & Monte Palace gardens are well worth a visit, take a trip back down to Funchal in one of the famous Toboggans it´s a really fun experience not to be missed! There is supermarket cafe & cash machine near by. For those without a car public transport is very good, a guide to the local area is provided along with maps & info on bus timetables, taxi´s, walking, Island tours, restaurants & attractions like The Blandy Wine Lodge, Palheiro Gardens & golf, boat trips, whale & dolphin watching & much more. The property is only minutes from all the main roads to access the rest of the Island & there´s ample St parking.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Funchal Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2014
Apr 13 2014 - Dec 20 2014
5 night minimum stay
€115
 
 
Christmas & New Year 2014/15
Dec 21 2014 - Jan 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
€875
 
 
2015
Jan 5 2015 - Dec 20 2015
5 night minimum stay
€115
 

Additional information about rental rates

Payments can be made by Bank transfer or using Visa or Master card
A 30% deposit of the total rental is required upon booking to obtain confirmation
Balance is payable six weeks before the arrival date
Bookings made within 6 weeks of the arrival date must pay in full at time of booking
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Funchal Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 125 m²
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Luxury
General:
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Living Room
  • Security System
  • Firewood
  • Towels Provided
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Iron & Board
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Washing Machine
  • Activities Guide
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Maps
  • Linens Provided
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking On Street
  • Sunbed
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Oven
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Basin with marble unit & bench below for storage, Walk in shower, heated towel rail & hairdryer, towels provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • king size bed 1.80 wide x 2.00 long, quality linen, built in wardrobes & good lighting for bedtime reading, rug, chair, dressing table & mirror. All bed linen is provided.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Books
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Books for Adults
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Wood Deck
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Events Allowed
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • not suitable for children
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • live theater
  • botanical garden
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • marina
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • ATM/bank
  • laundromat
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • wind-surfing
  • swimming
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • paragliding
  • deepsea fishing
  • sailing
Notes:
The Pool is shared with a 1 bedroom Cottage at the rear of the property, also for couples, Note: As well as the area around the pool each property also has it´s own private veranda with sun loungers, dining table & chairs & all have stunning views of the Harbour & the ocean! Guests traveling with a baby can request high chair & cot. Front loading washing machine & rack for drying clothes. All necessary equipment is provided to clean the property. cleaning services can be provided at an extra charge. Airport transfers can be arranged.
Email Owner Email