Great views and well appointed property
This was our first visit to Madeira Island and glad that we chose this property for our 7 week stay.
The views were nice with modern furnishings. We have only a few comments to make about the property. The parking was not ideal with a very narrow one way street with large volume of traffic and people jocking for parking. When we went out we risked coming back to no available parking. Talk is that the property will expand, the parking situation must be resolved prior to any expansion. The street was very steep and you must be prepared for a long haul up. Grocery store was 10 min. by car. The facing street was very busy with a large school and noise, many racing motorcycles. We had difficulty with internet access for the duration of our stay, though we tried to convey the issues, we received less than satisfactory resolution. To be so far from home without access was a disappointment. Renters prior to us and in the cottage also had problems. Instructions for appliances need to be available in English.
We are grateful to Lourdes for being our Angel on the night we arrived and for giving much appreciated directions in getting around during our stay.
Owner's Response: Thanks Carol, glad you had a good time with us in Funchal and again like your last review for The Docks i really appreciate your comments. Yes your right the parking can sometimes be an issue here & yes your right we are expanding our property and the first thing we are going to do is create off road parking with space for everyone to park. Parking in the street is not ideal & when your here for a long period of time , as you were i can totally understand that this would become an inconvenience. Also, sorry about the internet problem, we tried so hard to resolve it as you know, nether me, Raul or the internet service provider seemed to be able to resolve this, after many call outs and telephone calls it turned out to be a conflict between 2 different pieces of equipment and did actually take a few weeks to resolve after you left, we had new modems, we had about 4 different technicians & no one picked this up, for all concerned it was rather frustrating & for you & all our guests that were affected i can not apologize enough! There are times of the day when there is more noise, it is a little nursery opposite but your right sometimes the children can be heard, as for those motor bikes that sometimes pass it is very annoying, they should be banned! Hopefully the views & the Villa made up for this & at this property you a nice big laundry and plenty of space to hang/dry clothes & towels. We are very lucky to have Lourdes, a lovely lady who always helps to take care of our guests & makes sure our properties are spotless, especially as i was away when you arrived and i think you had a problem with your hire car and Lourdes was there to help you resolve the problem, your right she is an Angel! Once again thanks for choosing our property, enjoy your next trip here and we hope to maybe catch up with you whilst you in Madeira!
Did you find this review helpful?