A RIVERFRONT HOME! RIVER'S EDGE CABIN ON THE NOTTELY RIVER

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

A RIVERFRONT HOME! RIVER'S EDGE CABIN ON THE NOTTELY RIVER

Murphy House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-6)

**RIVER'S EDGE CABIN** COMPLETELY RENOVTED AND FUNRISHED IN 2006. A PREMIUM WATERFRONT LOCATION IN THE WESTERN NORTH CAROLINA SMOKY MOUNTAINS.

RESERVATIONS ARE "BY THE WEEK" FROM "SATURDAY TO SATURDAY". PLEASE CHECK "AVAILABILITY CALENDAR" BELOW FOR OPEN TIME.

River's Edge Cabin is in Cherokee County, North Carolina. The Western Most County in the state... Mountain Country! This Cedar Home was built in 1980, has two bedrooms, one bath and is located 8 miles west of Murphy, which nestles between the Smoky and Blue Ridge Mountains. Murphy is the County Seat and is a bustling city with all the dining, shopping and health conveniences you might require.

Located on the Scenic Banks of the Beautiful Nottely River the Cabin is situated at 1500 feet elevation and within the area are mountain peaks in excess of 5000 feet! The River sweeps up from the Southeast, performs a hairpin turn in front of the Cabin and bubbles off to the Northeast. The view from the elevated deck overlooking the river is the definition of panoramic!

Rushing Branch Creek cuts through the property and the path along the Creek offers a secluded hike into the vast, Nantahala National Forest which begins right behind the Cabin. Several miles downstream the Nottley flows into huge, pristine Lake Hiawassee with over 180 miles of shoreline 90% of which is unspoiled National Forest Land... Open to All!

Come to River's Edge Cabin. Always Peaceful and Quiet of Urban Noise. Cool in the Spring and Summer, when the birds are singing and the fish are jumping, and snug in the Fall and Winter, when the hills and valleys are ablaze with color and the peaks are capped snow white. Come once and you'll come again. Call soon because River's Edge books up fast every year.

* Please Remember that all reservations are by the week and are paid in full at the time of reservation.

* River's Edge Cabin is "Smoke Free" You may smoke on the porch, but absolutely not inside!

*Please note that the fireplace is NOT working currently, but will be reparied soon.

PS: If you would like Larger Accomodations please checkout "Last Bend Lodge"! New in 2005 it is a 3 Bedroom, 2 Full Bath Home and quite luxurious & is located right next door to River's Edge Cabin right on The River. There is a picture of The Lodge included in this listing however for complete details please see Listing # 31257.

PSS: Carl, Our Neighbor & Property Manager & Your Host while at River's Edge Cabin or Last Bend Lodge, has just finished construction on 2 Brand New, & very cute, Rental Cottages. They are right on the River & very close (easy, 2 minute walk) to River's Edge & Last Bend so if we are unable to accomodate you we will put you in touch with Carl.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Advertiser since 2012
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
A Riverfront Home! River's Edge Cabin on the Nottely River
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
A Riverfront Home! River's Edge Cabin on the Nottely River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7482vb
-512-415-4079 (Texas, USA)
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Leonardtown, Maryland
5

Quality Vacation Property

  • 5 of 5
River's Edge Cabin was an outstanding place to vacation for a week. The property description and photos are very accurate. The accommodations were clean, stylish, and comfortable. We ate all meals but three for the week at the cabin. The view from the porch was outstanding. Access to the National Forest was right next to the property. Unlimited access to the Nottley River within 25 yards of the house for fly fishing. Cherokee County had great site seeing and nature to observe. Murphy was a short 15 minute drive to access groceries, restaurants, shopping, and the sporting goods stores. We met Daniel Boone (a descendent of Daniel Boone) at Appalachian Outfitters and hired him as a fly fishing guide for one day, his company is Nantahala Fly Fishing, I highly recommend starting any fly fishing week with him to get the right flies on the water. Doyle's Restaurant in Murphy had great entertainment and dining. Any questions we had about the property were quickly answered by the owners. The owners are military friendly! This house is great for a couples getaway or a family with no more than two children. We plan on another visit to this property.
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Riverfront Home! River's Edge Cabin on the Nottely River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7482vb
-512-415-4079 (Texas, USA)
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Dripping Springs, TX
5

Can't wait to go back

Can't wait to go back
  • 5 of 5
Our trip to Murphy was fantastic, largely due to staying at the cabin. It is SO GORGEOUS right there on the river. The cabin is darling with everything that we needed. Very comfortable and clean. The owners were very accomodating and helpful prior to the trip, adn while we were there, the property managers were a wealth of information about things to do in the area. My family and I can't wait to return.
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Riverfront Home! River's Edge Cabin on the Nottely River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7482vb
-512-415-4079 (Texas, USA)
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Austin, TX
5

Wonderful experience!

  • 5 of 5
This is the cutest cottage and a beautiful location! We hiked, fished, and enjoyed the beautiful river that rushes by directly in front of the house. The cottage itself is darling! Clean, well furnished and decorated perfectly. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking to relax and enjoy a quiet, peaceful retreat.
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
A Riverfront Home! River's Edge Cabin on the Nottely River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p7482vb
-512-415-4079 (Texas, USA)
Murphy Murphy / Andrews Area
Winter Springs Florida
1

not safe

  • 1 of 5
We arrived at the cabin to find very dirty. The smell was very unpleasant. It didnt take long to figure out it was because there was a dead mice in the kitchen trashcan and a dead scorpian in the mixing bowl in the kitchen cabinet. There were hundreds of fruit/sewer flies hovering above the sink which we never could get rid of. Before the mouse died he chewed up toilet paper, candy wrappers, and candy and had it strewn along with his droppings all throughout the cabin, including in the couch cushions and in the bed. The dishwasher was broken, and the several of the railings on the porch were either loose or broken. The last and final straw that sent us packing early, was finding a live copperhead snake in our bed room. We have still not been given a refund for this horific experience. But we are hoping for the people who read these reviews it will help keep them safe. My suggestion is for you and your family to find someplace else to stay that is clean and safe. We have had nothing but wonderful experience with our summer trips to N.C. for the past four summers, that is until this one. I would not recommend this property to friends or relatives. The property was not clean and well maintained.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This story is full of exaggerations and inaccuracies. We were not there so some of the description may be true. Our website does not have ANY misrepresentations and we have given them a full refund which we promised without asking any questions about the veracity of their story. Here are some facts to consider: 1. The first phone call I received reported rats in the cabin. Rats are located in Paris and New Orleans and not the mountains of North Carolina. We have an extermination contract, but the cabin is in the mountains next to the national forest and two rivers. There are small field mice which sometimes enter the cabin. The exterminator visited and treated the cabin after they left. All the reports she listed were about the mice that were already dead. 2. The gardener found and killed a snake on the property prior to their arrival but reported it to them for their safety if there may be 2 snakes. The renter informed us that they keep snakes and they told the gardener that they could step on a copperhead snake and then kill it with no problem. The exterminator said that was no sign of entry and we believe they may have killed the snake outside and brought it in. 3. From the beginning they were calling us looking for various refunds before anything really happened. 4. We did a background check and found multiple non-driving arrests on their record. Also, they live in a very low priced house in Florida. 5. Rather than accepting our apology and refund for circumstances over which we have no control, they continue to send us emails asking for more apologies and asking us to wire money to them immediately. They may have had some of the experiences they described, but we did everything in our power to fix it immediately, We think they were just looking for a free vacation.

Map

Map

Fly Casting Right in Front of Cabin or Bait Fish "The Blue Hole" just a couple of minutes downstream, Hunting & Fishing, Whitewater & Calmwater Rafting/Canoeing/Kayaking, ORV'ing in the vast Upper Tellico ORV Area, History, Mountain Craft Shows, Antique Shops, Indian Reservations/Casinos, Breathtaking TVA Dams & John C, Campbell Folk School where Old Time Crafts are Taught, Murphy is a Hub & at approximately 2 hours (or less) away each you can side trip to Atlanta GA, Chattanooga TN, Knoxville TN, Asheville NC & Greenville SC, or just sit on the porch & watch the River flow by, Most Relaxing!

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Murphy House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $550-$600/wk
  • US Dollars
  • Standard Rate ...................................... $550/week.
  • Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day & Fall Color .. $600/week.
  • Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Years ................ $600/week.
  • 4 Person Occupancy ($35/person beyond 4) Security Deposit $75.
  • Check-in Sat. 2PM & Check-out Sat. 10AM. Cleaning Fee will be deducted from
  • the Security Deposit based on Cabin Condition. *CANCELLATION POLICY* If you cancel
  • & we can re-rent your time your fee will be refunded minus $50-NO REFUND if we are
  • unable to rent your time however Trip Cancellation Insurance is Available.

Amenities

Amenities

Murphy House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Clean when you arrive and we clean when you leave, fully renovated kitchen with modern appliances, Large Microwave, Refrigerator (all appliances new in 2007), Deck overlooking River, River's Edge Cabin is celebrating 13 years of hospitable accommodations & is a Member in Good Standing of the Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce! No Pets Allowed.

Other Vacation Properties

$500 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$500 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$650 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 5

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote