Callum Hantler

Speaks english
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Callum Hantler

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE OLD SCHOOL HOUSE AT CERISY

Cerisy Belle Etoile House Rental Photos and Description

4 Dble bedrm+ 2 twins+1 with 4 single.3 bathrms (2 showers+1over bath,3 toilets)

We can get you up to 10% discount on your ferry crossing vehicle cost, either one-way or return, on every vehicle in your group, any time of the year.

Your group has entire house,pool and property to yourselves. New mattresses and further restoration, Jan 2011. It is ideal for multi-family holidays. Pool is hexagonal, approx 5mx5m, above-ground type. Wi-fi internet. Sunny walled courtyard with 2 solid teak tables for outdoor eating for 16. Cider+Calvados orchard, tasting and sales room 10 mins walk.. Electricity + firewood is free in summer (is extra £100 a week for winter rents). Linen is included in rent, you arrive to beds all made-up. A free 'Welcome Pack' in both fridges: chilled wine+ cider, cheese, biscuits, milk and teabags. Accommodation is 4 Dbl bedrooms, 2 Twins, 1 children' room of 4 singles. (House facilities continue below)

There are 2 dinning tables indoors, 3 bathrooms (i.e. 2 showers+ 1 shower over bath, 3 toilets). 2 kitchens; dishwasher, 2 gas ovens+hobs (free gas), 2 fridges, 1 washing machine, 1 tumble dryer. multi-channel Free-Sat UK TV (42 inch screen by LG, new in 2011), a Video, 2 DVD players, a Hi-fi, loads of DVDs and Videos, most of them for children.

The Village:

The house is within the village of Cerisy-Belle-Etoile, a traditional village. There is a bar/cafe up on top of Mont Cerisy, the hill behind the village, 5 mins drive or 25 mins walk to top. There is a traditional bakery in the village, it doubles as a Post Office too. Nearest supermarket is in town of Flers, 7km away. Walk/drive up to Mont Cerisy and the cafe, notable for its summer gardens and flower festival. Mont Cerisy's facilities include a childrens' adventure playground, the local boules pitch, tennis courts, ping-pong tables, castle ruins and viewing tower, plenty of space for bike riding (you have several bikes in the backyard of the house, they're free, you don't need to hire them), and forest walking/running tracks.

Across the road is a Cider/Calvados orchard with it's own Tasting and Sales room 10 mins walk down the same road.

Paris and day-trip sightseeing:

Paris is best reached by train from Flers, your closest town 7km away. 2.5 hr trip to inner city Paris station (Gare Montparnasse). Your local English-speaking taxi driver (see ph number on kitchen wall) will drop off/pick up in his people-carrier.

The Normandy beaches and coast line and D-Day museums/cemeteries and Monet's famous gardens are both within comfortable driving day-trips. The ciyt of Caen is approx 1 hour drive from the house.

More Details

Details for The Old School House at Cerisy 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16, 3 Bathrooms

This large house is restored to a high standard, and has comfortable facilities including 2 kitchens, 7 bedrooms, 1 bathroom with toilet, bath and a shower over it, another shower-room with toilet, and another shower-room with toilet which is en-suit to one of the bedrooms. There is a separate lounge with a dinning table, there is another dinning table in one of the kitchens, and a breakfast bar in the other kitchen. There are some delightful vintage mosaic tiles in the lounge. There is a large TV with a UK set-top digital box with all UK channels (it is not a Sky Sports or Sky Plus box), and there is another TV for videos and DVDs. There is a good Hi-Fi. There is wireless broadband. The pool is an above-ground type, especially suitable for kids. It is deep enough for adults, too. There are 2 outdoor dinning table (teak wood) where 16 people can eat outdoor. There is night lighting. There is 2 dishwashers, a clothes washer and dryer. There are two ovens and hobs, 2 fridges/freezers.
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
''Fabulous week had by all. Visited Calvados (tasting) place twice. Enjoyed the pool, excellent wirlpool opportunities. Produce from bakery well sampled, and excellent.
May 2010
  • 1 of 2

Callum Hantler

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2002
Speaks english
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Old School House at Cerisy
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
business
The Old School House at Cerisy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6876
Cerisy Belle Etoile Orne
uk
5

We Loved This House

  • 5 of 5
We Loved this house

Chilled rose wine, Normandy cheese, tea & biscuits for the kids was a very pleasant surprise on our arrival and was very much appreciated.

Cerisy-Belle-Etoile is lovely little Norman village right next to Mt Cerisy (more of a hill really), which is perfect for the kids with adventure playgrounds, obstacle course, mini golf ,tennis, table tennis, restaurant and bar for a cold beer in the sun while the kids play.

The house has pretty much everything we needed. Two well equipped, spacious kitchens, two living rooms, one with English TV. Outdoor bbq area over looking the pool and huge outdoor dining table. The kids spent all day in the pool while we spent lazy afternoons sitting round wining & dinning.

Home cinema system & WiFi kept the teenagers busy and the fact that there is plenty of room for everyone to have their own space was definitely a bonus. Comfy beds all round and three bathrooms a must with a large party. The kids especially loved the hidden room.

Mont Saint-Michel well worth a day trip, try lunch at nearby Concale, sit back and watch the mussels and oysters being harvested.

All in all a truly French experience with all the mod cons, we will be back again. Thank you to Carol and David who where just down the Rd to help with anything & left the house spotlessly clean for us.
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Old School House at Cerisy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6876
Cerisy Belle Etoile Orne
Germany
4

Far away from interesting places

  • 4 of 5
We have been to Cerisy summer 2010 with six adults and six teens. The old school house was big enough for us all. The house was well equipped. The chairs in the backyard should be replaced and some lounge chairs would have been fine. It was a little bit too far away from the places we wanted to visit. (e.g. Honfleur, Deauville) At all we had a good time in Cerisy.
  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
business
The Old School House at Cerisy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6876
Cerisy Belle Etoile Orne
UK
5

Family holiday in Cerisy

  • 5 of 5
14 of my family holidayed here in early August. The house was exactly as described, it was very well equiped and when we had problems with the Wifi link someone was quickly on the scene to put the problem right. The bakery was wonderful, with very fresh bread and croissants available for us early each morning.
We had 4 small children (all under 5 years old) and 2 older ones and the garden and swimming pool were all completely safe.
I would certainly recommend this property for a relaxing holiday.
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
The Old School House at Cerisy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6876
Cerisy Belle Etoile Orne
france
1

pathetic accomodation

  • 1 of 5
My heart sinks when I think about this appalling gîte. For that price you can get a great mansion, a house with a sea view with clé vacances or gites de France.
That house is squeezed between a busy road and a churchyard! The small backyard contains a pool with gravel all around. This shows a complete lack of respect for local customs, ie: people attending church, funerals....as they would hear the splashing and kids screaming.
Apart from kids beddings, there wasn't a single comfortable adult bed. The worst being a futon!!!
There were lots of window panes broken and flaky painting giving an altogether feeling of depression. Young kids are not safe in this house: lack of safeguard railings, wobbly hand railling....

There is absolutely nothing to do in that area, so the high price is not justifed at all. I felt conned and been taken on a ride really.
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Naturally I am sorry a guest didn't enjoy his stay here, I can only say look at the other reviews, none of them are like this.

We have addressed the issues: all mattresses, except the kids bedding, were replaced with new ones in Jan 2011, at the same time we also repainted, we also fixed the cracked glass window panes.

High price? We've done our research and our price in fact compares very well to other Normandy large self-catering non-share houses taking groups of 10 or 16. For summertime rents all your electricity, gas and firewood is free. The house is cleaned by a team each saturday, for free. The Welcome Pack(s) in the fridge(s) are free. Many Gites charge extra for these things, we don't.
Callum Hantler
Owner
business
The Old School House at Cerisy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6876
Cerisy Belle Etoile Orne
East Sussex
5

Nice and comfortable stay for 12 friends

  • 5 of 5
We were a group of 12 friends who stayed in the house over the New Year week. The house is set in a small village and despite it being the holiday period where France closes down, the bakery provided us with fresh bread each day. Flers was a short drive away and their Super Market provided us with all we needed. The house was clean and kitted out with all the mod cons. Linen was provided as detailed and we arrived to a lit fire and a welcome pack of cheese and cider. The house provided plenty of space. Only thing that was advertised and we could not find were the bikes and the table tennis table, but given the snow this was not a huge problem. We largely stuck to the house so I cant comment on the surrounding area but the park just a short walk up the hill in the village was great and I would imagine great for kids in the summer.

Would happily book again, the owner and caretaker were easy to contact and helpful.
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
The Old School House at Cerisy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p6876
Cerisy Belle Etoile Orne
Chelmsford UK
5

Great house for group

  • 5 of 5
The Old School House was perfect for our family holiday.

This was our last holiday together before my husband, daughters and I head back home to Australia.

We wanted somewhere that could accomodate the extended family (8 adults and 3 children), not feel squashed, be clean and tidy and still be within our budgets, which wasn't that big.
It ticked all our boxes and more. We were impressed at how lovely it was, a pleasure to just sit around the house and pool all day and night.

Unfortunately both the cidar/calvedos vineyard and the local bar/restaurant wasn't open all week, as both owners were away on holidays (right in the middle of the summer period). This was just bad luck, but there were plenty of places around to eat at.

Having both the west wing and main house meant that we could spread the families between the rooms and have the 2 babies at opposite ends so that neither could wake the other with crying. We even had 2 rooms spare.

Our only disappointment was that the description said there'd be 4 bikes available for use but they weren't there. Also the double beds were really uncomfortable. I'm not heavy so I usually find when others complain about mattresses, it doesn't bother me much. Ours was not great, you could feel the springs. But I suppose you can't have it all.
The owner was quick to respond to questions and gave great customer service, not surprisig as he is from NZ. Down under folk always offer excellent service ;)

A great house for hide and seek- even for the adults!

For the money, it was exceptional value and I would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Thanks C
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Caen
Nearest Ferry
80 Kilometres
Caen
Nearest Train
7 Kilometres
Flers; trains to Gare Montparnasse,Paris
Nearest Motorway
45 Kilometres
A13 or A84
Nearest Beach
60 Kilometres
beach

You do not share this property, we rent it to one group at a time. Only your group will be there, you have the entire house and pool and property to yourselves. This large house (it has 2 kitchens, 7 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, 2 lounges) is the middle of a classic French village, Cerisy-Belle-Etoile, sitting at the foot of Mont Cerisy, the highest point in this part of Normandy. The village has a bakery and a Post Office. The bakery is excellent for morning croissants and daily bread. There is a bar and cafe in the village & up on the hill on Mont Cerisy, where there is also a huge play area for children with table tennis, swings, boules sand pitch, mini golf.

The house is about 1.5 hrs drive south of Caen ferry port. The closest town is Flers. If driving from Calais ferry port it is about 4 hrs drive. If from Le Harve ferry port it is about 2 hrs drive. Good train service to Paris, 2 hrs+ from Gare Montpanasse to Flers on the Paris-Granville line

Other Activities: Walk/drive to Mt Cerisy; adventure playground, Boules pitch, tennis

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cerisy Belle Etoile House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
British Pound
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Jun 7 2014 - Sep 5 2014
7 night minimum stay
£1,195
 

Notes

  • Electric and firewood is free in the summer and free in Christmas/New Year weeks.

    But in winter rents electric is £50.00 extra per week, plus firewood is £50.00 extra per week, i.e. £100.00 extra per week for firewood and electric combined. Winter Rents are: Jan 9th to 8th May, and 12 September to 18 December.

    Full Linen Service is provided free all year round: it means you arrive to all beds made up, all bath towels/mats/flannels/soap/toilet paper provided, clean cotton kitchen aprons, tea-towels etc provided.

Amenities

Amenities

Cerisy Belle Etoile House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 300 m²
Location Type:
  • Village
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
  • Family
General:
  • Firewood
  • Local Maps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking On Street
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • 4 Ring Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 3 bathrooms comprising 3 showers including 1 over a bath. A toilet in each bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom - 4 double
    Bedroom - 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom - 4 child bed
  • 4 doubles, 2 twins, 1 room with 4 beds, 2 cots. All bedding linen and general linen (towels, bath mats, T-towels, cotton cooking aprons etc) is provided free, already paid for within your rent. All beds are made up before you arrive.
Entertainment:
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
  • CD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • 16 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fly fishing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
Notes:
Power and Firewood: no extra charge for these, it is included in the rental price (except for winter rents) Full Linen Service is provided free, plus cleaning, already paid for within your rent. Arrive to a cleaned house, plus we clean it after you leave, all beds are made up, all towels/bath mats/flannels laid out, clean cooking aprons and tea-towels provided. Showers, baths and toilets: there are 3 toilets and 3 showers, but 1 bath only. 2 full kitchens in this big house, i.e. 2 dishwashers, 2 gas ovens/hobs, 2 fridges, 1 clothes dryer, 2 sets of cooking ware. There is a Log Burner fire in addition to the central heating. There is plenty of cut wood, and it is free. Free cycles (4): There are 3 good modern cycles. They are 26' wheel hybrid types with quick-release adjustable seats. TV is satellite (not Sky Sports or Sky Movies), includes 10+ English channels, i.e. BBC1 and 2, ITV, Ch4, Ch5, BBC3 and Four, plus others. Radio: via the satellite TV, plus Radio 4 LWave radio