5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (GARAGE)

Ian and Caroline Dodd

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Ian and Caroline Dodd

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (GARAGE)

St Ives Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Luxury Apt. 2 Bedrooms, 2 bathrooms

SURF'S UP.Fantastic Penthouse Apartment with jaw dropping ocean views overlooking Porthmeor beach.(Wave 437860 also available) Accessed via a spiral staircase within a purpose built turret. Absolute luxury, equipped to the highest standard and with original local artwork.Central heating and double glazing make it perfect for year round holidays. In the kitchen there are built in appliances including washer/dryer,dishwasher a Baby Gaggia Coffee machine and Alessi equipment.The living area has access onto a balcony with views of the ocean,32'' TV/Bluray/video & Hifi /Ipod doc. The master bedroom/en suite also has ocean views and the 2nd bedroom has harbour views. Molton Brown hand soap/creams are provided in the bathrooms. Rental from 3pm Friday to 10am Friday, with a weekly change of luxury bedding & towels.(Sorry,no pets and no smoking). Included free use of garage, location shown on our website. (5 mins walk, 16'9 x 9' max with 7' door width) car parking is also available outside on Barnoon public car park at £35 pw

Option of 2nd apartment, next door.: For larger booking requirements, there is the option to book Wave 5 Ocean Breeze Apartments, property number 437860, subject to availability.

Wave is furnished and equipped to the same high standard as Surf's Up and also has jaw dropping views but over the harbour beach and Godrevy.

Energy Performance Certificate: The Energy Efficiency Rating from the report dated 22nd June 2011 shows Current 79 and Potential 80. Environmental Impact CO2 Rating 83 and Potential 83. The full report is available for inspection before booking the property.

More Details
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Ian and Caroline Dodd

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We enjoy using our 3 holiday properties to the full as we keep them to a very high standard. We have two in St Ives and another in the South of France. Since late 2012, Home away have been advising people to phone the owner to chat. As you can imagine this can be difficult if we are away or abroad on holiday. We always reply to e mails quickly form our i phone and you can see we have 5 star reviews on our properties. Most people e mail but if you want to chat with us and you don't receive a reply on our home number, please try one of our other contact numbers.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (Garage)
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
business
5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (Garage)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68415
+44 01270780672
St Ives St Ives area
Nottingham
5

The best of time

  • 5 of 5
We have just returned from a weeks holiday at Surf"s Up. What more can I say that hasn't already been said. Having been regular visitors to St Ives for over 30 years I can honestly say this has been the best place we have ever stayed in. The apartment was immaculate and contained everything you could possibly want. The position was great with fabulous views over Porthmeor beach and the surrounding area. Many excellent restaurants nearby. Will certainly return hopefully sometime next year. Book this apartment you will not be disappointed
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We expect 5 star facilities ourselves and strive to achieve this to complement the fantastic location. The view is awesome so we ensure you have the facilities to prepare and serve a gourmet meal, a cappuccino or just chill your bottle of champagne without having to leave the luxury of your apartment if you don't want to.
business
5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (Garage)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68415
+44 01270780672
St Ives St Ives area
5

February at st ives

  • 5 of 5
Fantastic apartment -very clean and well appointed just as described. With lots of extra touches and great views. We will definitely return and recommend to Friends.
we all loved the open plan living space and balcony.
St ives had a great ambience with beaches,walks,cafes,pubs,restaurants and culture without having to use the car!!!
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this 5 star review. We take great care with the furnishings and contents as well as ambience and cleanliness. It gives us great satisfaction when our guests describe the apartment as matching the advertisement .
business
5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (Garage)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68415
+44 01270780672
St Ives St Ives area
Columbia, Maryland USA
5

Lovely Apartment in Great Location

  • 5 of 5
Our family group of three (husband, wife, adult daughter) stayed for a week in early October and thoroughly enjoyed the apartment, the town, and the spirit of Cornwall.
The apartment was very much as advertised.

The apartment had many major pluses and a few small minuses.

Pluses we particularly liked:

2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms
spacious, not cramped
wonderful ocean views from all windows
mini-balcony
local artwork on walls
beautiful kitchen (better than our kitchen at home)
easy walk into town, to shore, to Tate Museum
turret stairwell bright, pristine, and safe
super comfortable leather sofa

Minuses that were not a big deal:

SUPER squeaky floors in bathroom and hall--amazingly squeaky
No lift, had to walk up to 3rd floor
Carpeting in bathrooms
No rubber mat for tub, shower drained slowly

All communication with owners Ian and Caroline (via e-mail and telephone) was very pleasant and helpful.

Having to wire money from the U.S. (rather than pay with a credit card) was a minus, but we did it. It took a trip to the bank and a $45 fee. For a one week stay it was worth it, but might not have been for a shorter stay.

Although a garage was available to us, we did not have a car. We arrived by train and took a cab to the apartment. Being in St. Ives without a car was just fine. It is very walkable from the apartment, as long as you brace yourself for walking up steep slopes! (The hills are part of the charm of St. Ives.)

We went on day excursions to Port Isaac and Padstow and to Truro by bus. Penzance is also easy to visit by non-car transportation (train, bus).

We enjoyed all our meals in St. Ives, eating breakfast in our apartment (and some lunches) but finding a new place for dinner each night. The restaurant options were plentiful and varied. In October, we found that reservations were generally not necessary.

The least positive aspect of our week in St. Ives was the weather, which was either overcast or rainy on 5 of our 7 days. It was also quite windy a lot of the time. The two days of sun were magnificent. When the sun came out it was obvious why so many artists were attracted to St. Ives.

Our bottom line was that the apartment was a great success and our stay in Cornwall very pleasant indeed. We would recommend the apartment to anyone fit enough to climb stairs and walk a few blocks up and down hills.
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this great 5 star review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Surf's Up in our 2nd floor Penthouse Apartment. We are pleased to confirm that the builders have returned and screwed down all of the floor boards throughout the apartment. Your comments regarding the bathroom carpets are noted, however the terms of the lease insist on carpets other than in the kitchen. We are also pleased to confirm that the slow draining shower has been addressed. Thanks also for your request for a rubber mat for the bath tub. We feel that this is a personal issue, we don't like to use them ourselves and on the odd occasion we have found them in hotels and rental properties, we have removed them before using the bath, for hygiene reasons. Guests are of course welcome to bring their own rubber mat, as you did. We look forward to hearing from you again if you visit St Ives on your next U K trip.
business
5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (Garage)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68415
+44 01270780672
St Ives St Ives area
5

Perfect New Year's Eve - Full Review

Perfect New Year's Eve - Full Review
  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Surf’s Up with another couple during New Year’s Eve and had a wonderful time. Even when the weather was very windy and raining, although you could hear the wind buffeting around the apartment, it felt secure, welcoming and well anchored with everything to hand you could wish for. When the sun came out it was gorgeous! We enjoyed the fab views from the apartment and went for brisk and lovely walks along the beaches and around The Island. When inside, we enjoyed watching the odd snippet of a Carry On film on the wide screen tv and used the Ipod player every day.
The location is excellent for access to everywhere in St.Ives - beaches, culture and restaurants alike. We arrived by train so it was really helpful to us that by prior arrangement with Ian and Caroline there is a key safe, which meant we could walk just 10 minutes from the station straight to the apartment with our heavy bags. Our friends drove, so they were able to drop off their bags and food first before going to park in the allocated Old Police garage, an approx. 5-7 minute walk from the apartment. This was really handy as it saved us paying for parking in the car park opposite and we could get supplies from Tesco's, a short 5 minute drive from the apartment, going east along the A3074, St.Ives Road towards Carbis Bay.
We felt really relaxed, surrounded by the lovely local art in all the rooms, some of which I think is Caroline's. Ian and Caroline were friendly and helpful, on the other end of the phone for any queries during the bank holiday period. It's great to know that you have these assurances when renting.
St. Ives at New Year's Eve was a hoot! - we knew that all the locals come out in fancy dress on the night, so we'd brought costumes with us - also Ian kindly told us where to find some charity/second hand shops for any extra accessories we needed. We got a bargain jacket in one shop! Do make sure you book your restaurants ahead - we went to Alfresco's - excellent for food, service and well positioned for fancy dressed people watching along the harbour front. A great fireworks display is put on at midnight in the harbour too.
We had the best New Year's Eve ever and look forward to going back again when we can, whichever season that may be.
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this fantastic review, hope to hear from you again.
business
5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (Garage)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68415
+44 01270780672
St Ives St Ives area
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5
This apartment is absolutely stunning and so are the views! It is stylishly furnished with neutral tones but is incredibly bright and airy - something to do with the jaw dropping vista from every window! There are prints and paintings in every room by local artists that really compliment the feeling of being by the sea.
The kitchen is equipped to a very high standard with NEFF appliances and there is enough crockery to hold a dinner party - including champagne flutes! Even the bathrooms have complimentry Molton Brown handwash and handcream - just another quality touch by the owners.
This is an absolute gem of a find and one that I will most definitely recommend to close friends.
Ian & Caroline were excellent in every aspect of our holiday and couldn't be more helpful.
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for this very complementary review. We hope to hear from you again if you are regulars to St ives
business
5/9 £699 ST IVES TOWN, SURF'S UP PENTHOUSE APT AWESOME OCEAN VIEW (Garage)
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p68415
+44 01270780672
St Ives St Ives area
5

A Slice of Heaven!

  • 5 of 5
Surf's Up was as stunning as the photos. Ian and Caroline have provided for absolutely anything a renter might want or need while vacationing in St. Ives. The apartment is beautifully decorated; welcoming; in a quiet and lovely location featuring awesome views from every room. The beds are comfortable; there's plenty of good lighting; top quality bathroom fixtures, kitchen appliances, and televisions, dvd players.

I simply cannot imagine anyone needing a single thing for which they hadn't provided.

I would recommend this property highly. Youl will NEVER find a better rental anywhere in the world.
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are absolutely delighted to receive our first review from visitors from the U S A.
Thanks for your very favourable comments.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Newquay
Nearest Ferry
70 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Motorway
110 Miles
Exeter
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
beach
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Sloop Inn, The Wharf, St Ives and many others
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Seafood restaurant and others, Fore St, St Ives
Car: not necessary

Surf's Up is in the heart of St Ives a lovely historic Cornish fishing village with a maze of cobbled streets jumbled with restaurants, galleries, pubs and clubs. Its many attractions are activities such as swimming, surfing, body boarding, walking, tennis, horse riding, and sea fishing. For Carbis bay beach take the scenic train journey. St Ives has a history in the pilchard trade and during the season there is an opportunity to join 'Shanty Baba', to hear some of the local tales. Food is on offer in restaurants, cafes and pubs offering fresh locally caught fish. Some of these restaurants you may have seen recently on the television. Entertainment in the summer can be found at the open air theatre not too far away. Other attractions near by are the Eden Project, Flambards and the gardens at Helygon close to the Helford river. The main attraction in St Ives is of course the Tate gallery and that's open all year round, 2 minutes away. For more info view www.oceanbreezeapartments.co.uk

Other Activities: TATE ST IVES.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

St Ives Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Holidays
Jul 18 2014 - Aug 28 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£1,350
 
 
End of August.
Aug 29 2014 - Sep 4 2014
3 night minimum stay
£150
From
£175
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,095
 
 
Early September was £995!
Sep 5 2014 - Sep 11 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£699
 
 
September and September Fest
Sep 12 2014 - Sep 25 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£795
 
 
Late September
Sep 26 2014 - Oct 2 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£595
 
 
Early October
Oct 3 2014 - Oct 17 2014
3 night minimum stay
£110
From
£120
Fri,Sat,Sun
£495
 
 
Sat 18/10, 6 nights £550
Oct 18 2014 - Oct 23 2014
3 night minimum stay
£90
From
£100
Sat,Sun
 
 
Late October
Oct 24 2014 - Oct 30 2014
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£595
 
 
Nov/Dec Xmas Shopping
Oct 31 2014 - Dec 19 2014
3 night minimum stay
£85
From
£100
Fri,Sat,Sun
£395
 
 
Xmas
Dec 20 2014 - Dec 26 2014
7 night minimum stay
£650
 
 
New Year
Dec 27 2014 - Jan 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
£850
 
 
Winter Savers
Jan 3 2015 - Feb 12 2015
3 night minimum stay
£85
From
£100
Fri,Sat,Sun
£395
 
 
Mid February
Feb 13 2015 - Mar 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
£100
From
£110
Fri,Sat,Sun
£430
 
 
March
Mar 6 2015 - Mar 26 2015
3 night minimum stay
£100
From
£120
Fri,Sat,Sun
£475
 
 
Early April
Mar 27 2015 - Apr 9 2015
7 night minimum stay
£695
 
 
Mid April
Apr 10 2015 - Apr 23 2015
3 night minimum stay
£110
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
£645
 
 
Late April/Early May
Apr 24 2015 - May 14 2015
3 night minimum stay
£120
From
£140
Fri,Sat,Sun
£695
 
 
Mid May
May 15 2015 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
£130
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£745
 
 
Half Term
May 22 2015 - May 28 2015
7 night minimum stay
£945
 
 
Early June
May 29 2015 - Jun 18 2015
7 night minimum stay
£845
 
 
Mid June
Jun 19 2015 - Jun 25 2015
7 night minimum stay
£995
 
 
Late June
Jun 26 2015 - Jul 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
£1,095
 
 
Early July
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 16 2015
7 night minimum stay
£1,250
 
 
Summer Holidays
Jul 17 2015 - Aug 27 2015
7 night minimum stay
£1,350
 
 
End of August
Aug 28 2015 - Sep 3 2015
7 night minimum stay
£1,095
 
 
Early September
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 10 2015
7 night minimum stay
£995
 
 
Mid September
Sep 11 2015 - Sep 24 2015
7 night minimum stay
£795
 
 
Late September
Sep 25 2015 - Oct 1 2015
7 night minimum stay
£595
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit £100
Notes Our contracted change over day is Friday. Out of season between October and May we can offer minimum 3 night breaks for most rental periods and the daily rate is shown if available,(Saturday change overs not currently available).
Clients are recommended to take out insurance to cover cancellation at the time of booking the apartment.
A damage deposit of £100 will be required with the final balance
A deposit of £100 per week is required at the time of booking and the balance and £100 damage deposit are payable 8 weeks before the holiday starts. We recommend that holiday cancelation insurance is taken out at the time of booking. 'QUOTABLE RATES' have been introduced by Home away, please note if the quotable rate shown for short breaks is higher than the weekly the weekly rate applies.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

St Ives Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Coffee Grinder
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • The bathrooms are very high quality fittings, mainly Villeroy & Boch. The main bathroom has a full size bath with Grohe shower attachment, wc and basin. The en suite has a shower cubicle with Grohe 2000 Tempesta Duo shower, wc and basin. Bath and hand towels are provided and changed weekly
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , en suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , either 2 singles or large double
  • Bedroom 1 has a quality sprung mattress, wardrobe, large chest of drawers, bedside tables and flat screen digital t.v. Bedroom 2 has quality sprung 3' mattresses which can zip together to make a 6' super king bed, wardrobe, large chest of drawers and bedside tables. Bedroom 2 also has a TV / combi video. Clients need to advise us of their choice of bed layout when booking as all bedding is provided and changed weekly.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
Notes:
This second floor property benefits from superb views, there is no compromise with lost space and height restrictions often found at this floor level.The property is furnished with contemporary furniture including a large leather sofa and chair. There are TVs in both bedrooms, (Flat screen free view in bedroom 1 & combi/video in bedroom 2) In the lounge there is a Video/DVD & Blu Ray player and 32 ''wide screen free view T V, & CD mini stereo with USB port, games, books dvd and videos. The Kitchen is fully equipped with Washer/dryer, dishwasher, double oven and gas hob, fridge/freezer, microwave and even a 'Baby Gaggia' Italian cappuccino machine, Alessi electric kettle and toaster.. The bedrooms have quality sprung mattresses, wardrobes, large chests of drawers and bedside tables. Bed linen, bath and hand towels and tea towels are provided. The balcony has own airspace, table/2 chairs, Lounge has Double Sofa Bed which may be used by arrangement. NO PETS ALLOWED IN DEVELOPMENT.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$502 - $1,286 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$610 - $1,314 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,946 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • Sleeps 4