Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

QUINTA D'ALEGRIA: LUXURIOUS, TRADITIONAL, PEACEFUL WITH HEATED POOL

Linda Dias/Norberta Sá

Advertiser since: 2006
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Our Madeira

Advertiser since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2014
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

QUINTA D'ALEGRIA: LUXURIOUS, TRADITIONAL, PEACEFUL WITH HEATED POOL

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Overview

Funchal House Rental Photos and Description

Superb Location. Bakery & Restaurants Locally & Funchal and Sea 10 min by bus.

This traditional Quinta, built in 1871, was restored from ruin in 1999 into an award-winning home. Rooms are large, light and luxurious and the surrounding gardens abundant with palm trees, camellias, scented climbers, avocado trees and dazzling bougainvillea. A conservatory entrance leads to a dignified lounge and dining area, with open log fire for winter evenings and French windows opening on to the gardens and heated pool. The kitchen/breakfast room, with laundry room behind, leads to a BBQ area and shower/WC for use after swimming or sunbathing. Upstairs are 3 bedrooms; 1 double en-suite, 1 double & 1 twin and a second bathroom. Maid service is provided by friendly Ciseltina. Owner Joy, a Madeira resident for 31 years, offers this villa and neighbouring Casa Belflores (each with total privacy) to those wanting quiet surroundings, stunning views over the bay of Funchal and perfect location, where the famous Monte toboggan run ends. You can book both together if you need 6 bedrooms!

Reasons for choosing Madeira: For nature lovers, Madeira has plenty to offer, with superb vegetation, and hundreds of subtropical plants to keep the most enthusiastic gardener occupied. Part of the island has been pronounced a World Heritage protected site, this is the area of the Laurisilva forests which are located in the Western part of the island , an area well worth exploring, especially on foot. Walking the island has become very popular with visitors who can follow long trails along the islands water courses, locally known as levadas. For golfers there are two excellent golf courses, one of which is only a ten minute drive from the house. The capital of the island is of course Funchal, a town which as well as being very attractive and spotlessly clean, has many restaurants for all tastes and budgets, and an excellent variety of individual shops, in addition to several very interesting museums.

More for your comfort and peace of mind: Owner Joy, having adopted this island as her home 30 years ago and with years of experience in the hospitality industry, offers a holiday home which probably rates as the most desirable and luxurious on Madeira. Attractive teak garden furniture with table and chairs are provided, as well as sun loungers and parasols and her gardener will be on hand to keep the pool crystal clear. Maid service is provided by cheerful and very kind maid Ciseltina, who is also responsible for changing linen and towels twice a week.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Linda Dias/Norberta Sá (Property Manager)
-
Advertiser since: 2006
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese

Guestbook comments from the manager

What a holiday and what a house.

Thank you for your hospitality during our stay. To be here is to be "in heaven".

Beautiful house and garden. The house with a safe and lovely style - we loved it all.

And thank you for a wonderful meal on our arrival.

We will be back next year.
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 20

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Quinta D'Alegria: luxurious, traditional, peaceful with heated pool
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 35 reviews
business
Quinta D'Alegria: luxurious, traditional, peaceful with heated pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65677
+351 -291 761997
Funchal Madeira
Broadway
5

Quinta-ssentially perfect!

  • 5 of 5
A stunning quinta, sympathetically restored, and beautifully maintained.
Madeira offers everything for the discerning traveller. Short of staying at Reids you could do no better!
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: What a great heading on this review - and the content includes quite an accolade too! many thanks, Judith.
business
Quinta D'Alegria: luxurious, traditional, peaceful with heated pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65677
+351 -291 761997
Funchal Madeira
5

D'Alegria is a perfect house with beautiful views!

D'Alegria is a perfect house with beautiful views!
  • 5 of 5
Beautiful house, ideally located to visit whole of Madeira. Views from the house are awe inspiring. Welcome basket, fresh flowers and Madeira wine on arrival! What more could we have asked for! Joy is very welcoming and extremely knowledgable and helpful. Dream house, dream holiday.
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Quinta D'Alegria: luxurious, traditional, peaceful with heated pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65677
+351 -291 761997
Funchal Madeira
5

Great views and very nicely decorated interior.

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at Quinta D'Alegria for one week end of April. To property is located half-way from Funchal to Monte right at the final Station of the Tobbogan. You can walk to the city center in 30 minutes, although the way back up the hill requires some training. Joy has decorated the house very nicely with lots of antiques and nothing is missing. We would highly recommend to book the welcome dinner with her, which was very delicious. However, you have to bear one thing in mind. The house is approximately 400m above sea level and therefore the temperature is usually lower than in Funchal and it appears that there is less sunshine than in the city. Besides that Quínta D'Alegria is a great place which we can fully recommend.
  • Submitted: May 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your enthusiastic review of our property Quinta d’Alegria, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. The area of Livramento where we are located is in fact just 250 metres above sea level, and you are right that it’s slightly cooler than the city of Funchal, on the thermometer its’ usually a difference of 2 degrees centigrade. Unfortunately your first week in Madeira at Quinta d’Alegria, the weather was very changeable all over the Island, and it probably seemed to be sunnier down at the coast, however since the day you departed the weather has been much, much warmer and we have enjoyed clear skies and sunshine from morning until night. We do everything possible to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable but unfortunately we cannot influence the weather!!
business
Quinta D'Alegria: luxurious, traditional, peaceful with heated pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65677
+351 -291 761997
Funchal Madeira
Sewickley, PA
5

Beyond Expectations!

  • 5 of 5
We cannot say enough about our stay at Quinta D'Alegria. We had a terrific experience. The home is better in person than on the internet, as you cannot feel the warmth through the pictures. Everything is clean and well maintained. The garden and pool were beautiful. The owner, Joy, and her maid, Cisteltina, treated us like family instead of paying house guests. The location is spectacular. You are right in the middle of the residential part of Funchal. However, the way the house is set on the side of the hill, you have complete privacy and a spectacular view. Although we left before the New Year's Eve fireworks, we thought it would probably be the best vantage point on the island to see them. We had a beautiful meal made for us our first night there. Despite it being Christmas and having her own family, Joy helped us in making reservations for Christmas Eve dinner and tuk tuks to see the Christmas lights, and printed out a recipe for the traditional pork in wine Christmas dish I asked about. In addition, for a mere 40 euros, Cisteltina made us a delicious dinner of the traditional salted cod in a wonderful caserole dish. This was waiting in the oven after a day of touring. We started the week with a car, but found the hills and narrow streets hard to manage. We ended up returning the car the first day. Taxis were easy to find and Joy gave us the number to the most affordable company. She also gave us the name of a wonderful woman, Terrese, who took us on a day long tour of the island for a very affordable price. Our favorite restaurant was Armazem de Salt. Great ambience and food. O'Classico was also very good. We were not as impressed with Riso. Although the ambiance was great, food was not. May have been due to serving a set menu on Christmas Eve, but all five us agreed that it was not a good meal. Le Jardin in old Funchal was also very good. Madeira itself is a beautiful place and a great combination of things to see, but not too much to see, so you can just relax and soak up the ambiance. I would and will highly recommend this home to friends and family.
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Quinta D'Alegria: luxurious, traditional, peaceful with heated pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65677
+351 -291 761997
Funchal Madeira
Saint-Petersburg
5

vacation on may 2013

  • 5 of 5
Our stay in Quinta D’Alegria was really great.
First the positive points:
Very nice renovation. You really feel that it was made with love.
The villa is spacious enough to accommodate 6 persons with comfort.
Everything was very clean on our arrival, no visible evidence of previous guests and clearness was kept during our stay. Garden is in perfect condition and the gardener was on duty almost daily.
Spacious courtyard with spectacular view to Funchal and Ocean.
On arrival we had kind of breakfast pack in the fridge and welcome bottle of madeira. It’s very nice when you arriving late after the long flight. Also we were supplied by basics like salt, tea, sugar and even some spaghetti. We also found lots of instructions and recommendations printed for us by owner. The owner was really helpful when we had minor problems or when we asked to recommend local events or attractions.
Now some negative things and recommendations:
We ordered pool heating, but it appeared to be broken. They tried to fix it, but it took too long. Thus we were able to use the pool only couple days from our two weeks. The good thing is that they did not charge us for the heating.
We were there early May and it was cold. Several days it was 13-15 degrees only, with rain. Inside of the house it was also cold and fireplace and electric heater were not enough. So I would suggest have more electric heaters for such bad weather days.
The location is on the mount so you will not be able to walk to Funchal. The car is hardly recommended otherwise you will spend too much for taxi. To be honest we were told about that by owner. BTW the entrance to garage is quite tricky when toboggan riding, so be careful and try to get not too big car and think twice about full insurance. BTW the garage could accommodate only one car, but it’s not a problem to find a parking down the street.
The toboggan stop is right under your terrace it’s very fun, but happy tourists produce too much noise. That was disturbing the sleep of our baby.
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Yuri,
I hope all is well in St Petersburg.
Thank you for your kind comments about the villa and it's garden with those beautiful vistas. I am pleased you had a great stay.
I remember your family well even though six months have elapsed. I also remember how unlucky you were with the weather at the beginning of May. Unfortunately the heat pump for our pool needed a spare part which had to be ordered from mainland Portugal and it took time to arrive, as it was, the unusually cool weather was not really conducive for swimming or sunbathing so I hope this didn't affect your enjoyment too much even though you badly 'needed' some sunshine.
I am sorry to hear that you didn't feel as cosy as you would have liked inside the house but, here in Madeira we are used to putting on an extra sweater when the weather cools down whilst those from Northern Europe are accustomed to fine tuning their home heating to a warm setting to offset whatever the weather maybe doing outside; as in Madeira our year round average outside temperatures are +/- 20C homes and hotels do not have central heating.
I have become aware how visitors do miss their heating at the times when we have an unseasonal cool spell and more especially because our climate can also be very humid, also the reason for our beautiful plants and greener!! . Because of this our property has an efficient log fire, two electric heaters, electric fan heaters in the bathrooms, heated towel rails and also electric under blankets on the beds. Most homes in Madeira would not have any form of heating at all but we like our guests to feel as comfortable as possible. I do recall providing you with an extra heater at your request so I am not quite sure what sort of temperature you were aiming for.
Believe it or not some of our younger guests do walk into town although it’s a steep downhill walk and comfortable footwear is a must! A car is however really useful as taxi fares can mount up quickly.
Let’s hope that wherever you choose for your holiday next, you'll be blessed with toasty warm weather and lots of sunshine. What a pity you can't be here right now as our temperatures are currently in the mid 20ºC’s with wall to wall sunshine!
Best wishes Joy Menezes (Proprietor Quinta D'Alegria).
business
Quinta D'Alegria: luxurious, traditional, peaceful with heated pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p65677
+351 -291 761997
Funchal Madeira
5

Wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful week in Madeira; the house was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The kids enjoyed the pool a lot and the garden and surroundings was everything we hoped for. Joy is a great owner; she came at short notice if needed and were very helpful when we had questions about Madeira in general. We would definitely like to come back!
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your very appreciative review, we are always delighted to hear that our guests are happy and satisfied as we try very hard to try and make sure that everything is extra special for everyone who stays with us. Although we cannot take credit for the weather, I know that the warm sunny days were very welcome after the bitter Norwegian winter you left behind ! We look forward to seeing you again. Joy Menezes (Proprietor)

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Funchal international airport
Nearest Ferry
5 Kilometres
Funchal ferry to Porto Santo
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
5 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Madeira’s charming capital town of Funchal, with its 140,000 inhabitants, sits in a large bowl that rises from a natural deep-water harbour on the south of this sub tropical island to an impressive backdrop of high mountains. It is the island’s centre of activity, with something for everyone: an opera house/theatre, chic shops, street stalls, open market, wine lodges, museums, city parks, bars, cafés and restaurants without number, multi-screen cinema, a Roman Catholic cathedral dating back to the 14th century and an English Anglican Church built in 1822. This beautiful island is famous for its tropical gardens, two championship golf courses, truly wonderful mountain and coastal walking, ocean swimming, sailing, game fishing, etc. and, above all, its friendly Portuguese inhabitants. Verdant and with varied and stunning scenery, it is definitely worth exploring and the new network of roads and tunnels make this so easy now.

Other Activities: tropical gardens, ten pin bowling, cinemas.

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From €975 Per week

Funchal House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Nov 4 2014 - Dec 18 2014
7 night minimum stay
€975
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,530
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Jan 5 2015 - Feb 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
€975
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Feb 3 2015 - Mar 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,045
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Mar 30 2015 - Apr 8 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,285
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Apr 9 2015 - Jun 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,175
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Jul 1 2015 - Sep 23 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,530
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Sep 24 2015 - Nov 3 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,350
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Nov 4 2015 - Dec 18 2015
7 night minimum stay
€975
 
 
Prices for 4 guests, see notes
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 5 2016
7 night minimum stay
€1,530
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Notes Prices shown are for up to 4 guests. An additional charge of €78 applies for a 5th and 6th guest.
Welcome pack of breakfast provisions; fresh flowers; linen,bath & pool towels. Maid service twice a week.
Pool heating is available from Nov to mid-May at a weekly charge of €100, payable locally.
Logs for the fire are charged at a cost of €35 per week.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Funchal House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 200 m²
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , en-suite with master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , bidet , shared between bedrooms 2 & 3
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , for visitor use or by those using pool
  • Both bathrooms are sumptuous and beautifully fitted out, with walk in shower as well as bath. They have heating for the winter months and hairdryers are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , with en-suite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , + Z-bed or cot available
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , + Z-bed or cot available
  • The three, comfortable bedrooms are upstairs with gorgeous sea views: two double (one en-suite) and one twin. The bedrooms are furnished and decorated to a very high standard, with plenty of wardrobe space. The beds are made up with crisp white cotton sheets and, for the cooler winter nights, each has its own electric under blanket. A portable electric radiator is also available.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The LIVING/DINING area is very spacious, sunny and comfortable with armchairs and sofa seating for 6, French windows opening on to the garden/pool and an open log fire for winter evenings. Cable TV, a DVD/Video player, CD/cassette radio and free wireless internet coonection provided. At the far end, handy for the kitchen, a traditional dining table with chairs has seating for 8. A sweeping staircase leads upstairs. The KITCHEN is fully equipped with a breakfast table for 6 and gas hob, electric oven, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and microwave oven, coffee machine, toaster, cafetière, plus crockery, cutlery, glassware and cooking/serving utensils. The laundry room has a washing machine, steam iron and ironing board. Fully furnished with linen changed twice-weekly and maid service. Provision pack on arrival. A dehumidifier is provided. See RATES NOTES for extra charges for winter pool heating and logs. Sorry, NO SMOKING in the villa - only outside.

Other Vacation Properties

$348 - $1,615 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$466 - $497 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$861 - $2,566 per week
7 - 14 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote