Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Walk to Town- Close to Second Street, Parks and a Pool!

Diane

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Diane

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Walk to Town- Close to Second Street, Parks and a Pool!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Lewes House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Come to this charming two story cottage near Ship Carpenter's Square in Lewes, Delaware. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms. Sleeps 6. Children welcome. Enjoy a cool drink on the front porch or dinner on the back patio. Park with walking/running path and playground at end of street and new playground in other direction. Walk to Second Street stores and restaurants, canal and gazebo.

The best part of Lewes is how quiet and beautiful it is with so much to do minutes away. Lewes has two beaches, at the bay and ocean , and our pool makes three water options.

Take the ferry to Cape May, New Jersey and Atlantic City. Play miniature golf or enjoy the near by executive par 3 golf course. Rehoboth Boardwalk/beach and Dewey beach within 10 minutes drive. Minutes to beach and state park with free bicycles and guided nature tours.

Keywords: Immaculate, like new with the quaint look and feel of Lewes. This house has a great, sunny feel to it.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Diane (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2015

About Diane

I loved Lewes from the day I discovered it. I always loved our summers on the Jersey coast as a child and Lewes has a way of bringing back those carefree days again. My husband fell in love with it too and it's been wonderful sharing it with friends and family.

Diane purchased this house in 2005

Why Diane chose Lewes

We had rented on 3rd street for a few summers so we knew just where we wanted to be- Its the only street that's quiet and yet has two parks , the Farmers market , historic park and festivals right down the street. As soon as this quaint but new house came on the market , we made an offer .

What makes this house unique

A unique benefit is the availability of the pool that is just up Savannah Rd -5 minutes away. Adding a third water option to Lewes and Henlopen beaches. Changing rooms , lounge chairs and umbrellas are all there.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just came back from a lovely week at your home in Lewes. We loved it.The close proximity to the town and beaches is perfect. Your home is very well appointed and we really liked that. The neighborhood is really very nice and the people especially.
Jul 2007
  • 1 of 3

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 21 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Walk to Town- Close to Second Street, Parks and a Pool!
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 24 reviews
Washington, DC
5

Perfect vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay in this charming house last fall and look forward to a return this summer. The house is so comfortable and the location is perfect. We love to walk to town for dinner or just take a stroll in quaint Lewes. The beaches are a short drive away. Our favorite is located in Cape Henlopen State Park where you can also ride bikes or walk the trails. The house is very comfortable, the kitchen is well-equipped, and the owner is very responsive. Looking forward to our next stay there.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review and we're very happy to have you back this summer. You're the third return renter to inquire and nothing could make us happier. looking forward to seeing you again! Diane
Springville, PA USA
5

Charming house in great location

  • 5 of 5

This is our second stay at this lovely Lewes home which is located within easy walking distance to the many restaurants and shops. It is close to Ship Carpenters Square and the parks. The house is comfortably furnished and very well maintained. The owner is very accommodating and great to work with. We would recommend this rental to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in the Lewes area.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Sally, Thanks so much for your great review. It's always nice to share our house with people who love it as much as we do! Please Let us know if there's anything we can do to make your long stay even better. Diane
Homosassa, FL
5

Keep Coming Back

  • 5 of 5

This great little house resides in a good part of town. Close to shopping, downtown, and the park. You can walk to just about everything. We have been renting this house for Memorial Day weekend/holiday for over 4-5 years now. Well stocked kitchen, cable, and Wi-Fi. More than enough room for 4 adults and 2 kids. The owner has been VERY accommodating in meeting our needs, without any issues. Looking forward to many holidays in Lewes!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Ellen- What a nice review. I really appreciate your writing and especially since you know the house and neighborhood so well. Happy New Year to you and your family, Diane
1

Owner was responsive, but we will never go back

  • 1 of 5

Based on the positive reviews, we decided to splurge on a rare weekend away without the kids. The owner was very responsive and answered all questions quickly. We paid our money for a short two night stay, to arrive to a dirty house. There were dirty dishes in the sink, food on the floor and counters, dirty bathrooms, etc. We called the owner right away, and she offered to have it cleaned for us the next day, was apologetic, and if we didn't want it cleaned she offered to send us back the cleaning fee.

We had such a short trip planned that we didn't want to have to find another place to stay, nor have anyone in the house once we had settled in, so we said we would take the cleaning fee. In the light of day, we saw how dirty it actually was (dried urine on the toilet seat, a thick layer of dirt and hair on bedside table). The showerhead was also broken so water went everywhere except down. We were in town for a wedding and on a very tight schedule, but called the owner and said that it was worse than we had thought and we would like our money back - that we would be out as soon as we got back from the wedding. So, in the 24 hours we were there, we didn't use the kitchen,tried not to use the bathrooms, and barely slept there. She initially offered us our money back, but then offered us just one night because we could not clear out right away.

Two weeks later, we have the money back for one night and the cleaning fee, but still ended up paying full price for a night in a dirty place with a broken shower head. Even if this was not the owner's mistake (and it might not have been due to all of the positive reviews here - we tried to give them the benefit of the doubt the entire way through) the fair thing would have been to at least split the difference on the first night if not refund it entirely. I would be completely devastated if I rented my property to people and it was dirty and not functional, and go out of my way to make sure they could salvage their trip.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anjula, I'm sorry you are dissatisfied with what I thought fair and that we had agreed to : a refund of one night and of course the cleaning fee you requested instead of having the house cleaned. When you chose to leave the second night but asked to extend your stay until 6pm without charge ,I agreed as compensation for your inconvenience. I appreciate that you felt that I was responsive. In ten years of renting our house every other review has been 5 stars including those of the two persons who stayed after you. I am sorry yours could not have been one of them.
5

Perfect for family or girl's weekend

  • 5 of 5

This house was on a very nice street and the walk to town takes about 5 minutes. There was plenty of street parking also. There is a park at the end of the street which is great for a morning stroll/jog. Everything in the house was perfect and there was more than enough room. This was great for our long weekend, but would be even better for a week long stay in lovely Lewes!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed it, Linda- and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Best, Diane
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5

Such a great little place in the heart of this lively city Lewes! Well maintained, clean, fully stocked kitchen! Love love love it! And Diane is wonderful to work with! Thanks so much!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Cathy, so glad you had a great vacation!

Map

King's Homemade Ice Cream
Cape Henlopen State Park
Tanger Outlets
Nearest Airport
63 Miles
Atlantic City
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Rose and Crown
Nearest Ferry
1.5 Miles
Cape May Ferry
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Old Landing Golf/ The Rookery
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Coastal Highway
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Rose and Crown/Agave/Half Full/Nectar
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Lewes Beach

The great thing about our location is that just about everything is in walking distance. No need to get back in traffic .Ours is the only block with two parks on either end of the street . At one end of the street you'll find free tennis courts ,out door Yoga, and outdoor films as well as the new Canal Park playground . Going towards the other park you'll pass the farmers market and Historic park . On the other end is a peaceful walking/running path around a duck pond . We love the peaceful quiet as well as lively Second Street just a quick walk or slow stroll down Lewes' quaint streets . And then there are the beaches!! Two of them to choose from also depending on your crowd , the weather you can choose the ease of Lewes beach-easy parking and easy settling on the less crowded beach and calm waters with water sports to enjoy or just entertain you. Don't miss the great water ice near the changing rooms.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $193 Per night

Lewes House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
May 1 2015 - Jun 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
Summer
Jun 20 2015 - Sep 26 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,550
 
 
Fall
Sep 27 2015 - Oct 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $80
Tax Rate 5.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Lewes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) twins can be moved together to make a comfortable king in second bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,000 per week
7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,000 per week
7 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote