Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

5* Luxury, Best City Centre Location, (Free Parking&Wifi)

Neil Shannon

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Neil Shannon

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

5* Luxury, Best City Centre Location, (Free Parking&Wifi)

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

Dalry Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Perfect location for sightseeing, shopping or taking in Edinburgh's vibrant cafe culture and nightlife. No public transport required, just step out the door and walk anywhere in Edinburgh. Stay in 5* luxury at budget prices!

Welcome to Lets Edinburgh. We are pleased to be able to offer a range of contemporary, quality apartments in our fantastic city. Our Edinburgh City Centre apartments have been described as 'modern classics' with a highly individual blend of traditional exteriors and advanced interior specifications.

Lets Edinburgh provides delightful finishing touches throughout:

Apartments with two or three bedrooms

Master bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms

Living room with two leather sofas (one luxury sofa-bed)

Fully fitted and furnished kitchens with hob, oven, grill and microwave, cutlery, crockery and cooking utensils, dishwasher, as well as a washer and dryer

Iron and iron board (serviced laundry facilities if required)

Luxury bathrooms with fine Italian ceramics

All linen and towels supplied freshly laundered

Gas-fired central heating for guest-controlled temperature

Security entry system

Home entertainment systems (television with video recorder and DVD player)

Private off-street parking

City centre locations

Broadband Internet access (PC required)

Airport or station transfers (optional)

Infant travel cot (available if required)

Disabled access (please ask us about any requirements you may have)

Millions of visitors come to Edinburgh each year. Many people find Edinburgh perfect for doing business, some are lucky enough to come for a leisure break, others are fortunate enough to visit one of our festivals. Only a few have the privilege of Lets Edinburgh hospitality.

With so much to see and do in Edinburgh, it is hardly surprising that visitors keep coming back to stay with us again and again. From golfing, mountain biking and walking in the surrounding hills and parks, to the thrills of the city itself, Edinburgh has plenty to satisfy energetic types. Culture vultures will be impressed by the capital's fantastic selection of galleries, museums, libraries, and visitor centres that highlight Scotland's proud heritage. There are modern, exciting and dramatic attractions too. If you have come to shop then you will appreciate the wide range of department stores and specialist retailers that Edinburgh offers; or perhaps you'd prefer the world famous hospitality of the pubs, clubs and cafes that are open until the wee hours...

Keywords: Apartment

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Neil Shannon (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015

About Neil Shannon

My name is Neil Shannon. I moved to Edinburgh in 1993 to study at the University Of Edinburgh. I met my wife & spent 13 wonderful years living and working in the city. We have a great knowledge of Scotland gained through our love for travel.

I have recently moved to Brisbane, Australia but keep a firm finger one my apartments in Edinburgh. we have a brilliant company in Edinburgh who will be happy to welcome you to my perect apartments.

Please fell free to ask me anything you need to know.

Look forward to hearing from you

Neil Shannon

Neil Shannon purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Neil Shannon chose Dalry

We bought our vacation rentals in Dalry Gait because as a resident in Edinburgh we found this area was perfect for exploring the city. You have easy access to the city centre by foot and all its attractions are on your doorstep, while you are still only a 3 min walk from the train station which opens up the whole of Scotland for you to explore. Why not hire a car - well we have private parking which is a must in this capital city.

All in all, my modern city centre apartments provide everything you need for your stay in Edinburgh.

What makes this apartment unique

With all the mayor attractions on your door step, Dalry Gait is perfect for your stay. Placed in the heart of the city centre, in this quiet cul-du-cac you will find it difficult to belive you are in the bustling centre of Scotlands Captial, Edinburgh. With off street private parking, located 3mins from the trainstation and easy access to the airport - Dalry Gait is the perfect location for you stay.

There is nothing more you could wish for to make this the perfect holiday destination - I should know, I book in for 2 weeks every year!!!!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Neil was quick to respond to questions I had, and was able to accommodate a fairly late check in. The reasonably central location meant we could walk to the station in 10-15 mins. The flat was perfectly sized for our group of 5 and could have comfortably dealt with 2-3 more. Bathrooms and kitchen were clean and in working order with the kitchen well stocked with appliances and utensils. Wifi was quick and reliable and the parking space (with permit) behind the building was an added bonus.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 6

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.1
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
5* Luxury, Best City Centre Location, (Free Parking&Wifi)
average rating of 4.142857 based on 13 reviews
5

Great place 2 stay!!

  • 5 of 5

Neil,

Thank you for letting us rent your lovely condo. Everything was very clean, well stocked and very peaceful.

Driving in Edinburgh was a CHALLENGE, but once there, got more familiar with everything.

It was hard for us to find Dalry St., and we ended up calling for directions, only to find we were within a few blocks!

Weather was great for us the whole time we were there and we got to see some old things that we saw years ago, as well as some new ones.

Scotland holds a very special place in our hearts and we were glad to get back and sad to leave.

Thank you,

Jerry & Lana Filkins

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jerry and Lana - it was a pleasure accommodating you. You are very brave landing in Glasgow and driving to Edinburgh during both cities rush hour and after an over night flight!
Ottawa
2

Not as advertised

  • 2 of 5

Agent not very pleasant. When we checked in we asked for some directions, we were told turn left or right and the stores were down there. No help at all. Location close to downtown by cab 7 Euros. The unit was dirty, sofa had broken springs, lamp shades had 2 inches of dirt, the shower in the hall had no water pressure and did not work. We stayed 3 nights and had one towel per guest. Floors were very squeaky...rent at your own risk not an executive unit!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Obviously we are very disappointed by your review as we pride ourselves in the quality of our apartments. We did speak to you since your stay and clarified your concerns and you seemed very happy with us offering to refund 30% of the stay value - as we take our customers comfort very seriously. As you can see from the other reviews - our guests have not had an experience like you have described. To clarify some of your points - the springs are not missing from the sofa as detail - it is a chain mesh which sits across the bottom of the sofa which had one contact point drop off its hook. It makes no difference to the comfort of the sofa but just looked a little silly and has since been re-attached. We have looked into the cleaning of the apartment and the cleaners have apologized for not cleaning the top of the lamp shade. Unfortunately areas like that sometimes get missed as during the busy periods the cleaners are concentrating on the customer contact areas - kitchen, bathroom, floors, beds and they sometimes miss these high up non-contact areas - but it is still unacceptable. The apartment is self-catering. We supply ONE towel per guest and one hand towel per bathroom. If you require more we are happy to accommodate the request by simply contacting the manager who is available 24hr per day. The shower in the bathroom, off the hall, has a switch that you need to press to activate the unit. Without turning on the shower it has no power to pump the water. It is a safety requirement for all power showers in Scotland. The switch by law also has to be located outside the bathroom. A simple call to the manager would have solved the dilemma. We are sorry about the directions - I think there has been a misunderstanding as the grocery shop is simply to the right, it is literally turn right and it is 200m along the street - there are no other directions to give, and Princess Street is turn left and walk 1km and you hit it. The beauty of my apartments are that they are centrally located with easy access to everything. Hopefully our response offers a good understanding of the problems you encountered and assures fellow travelers that should you encounter any similar issues just immediately contact us and we will have everything sorted leaving you to enjoy our wonderful hospitality.
Seattle, WA
4

A few improvements could make this place perfect

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for two nights. This unit was centrally located, and was the perfect resting place for our party of 5. It was clean and welcoming, and had most of the items needed for a comfortable stay. There were a few things that could be improved. (I also gave this list to the agent, so they probably have been addressed.) There was a hand towel in one bathroom, but not one for the other. Also, one trash can in one bathroom, but the other was lacking it. (Girls need their trash cans.) There are 5 beds in the unit – 4 singles (counting fold-outs) and one double. But there were only 4 single-sized comforters, so our couple had to share a small one. When I mentioned these things to the agent, he was horrified, so I’m sure it will be corrected. There are some other issues that can’t be fixed as easily, but I mention them here for future users so they will be aware. The springs in one of the living room couches have been broken, so you can feel the wooden cross-bar if you plop down too fast. The living room floor is unbelievably creaky. I’ve lived in old houses with creaky floors, but this is over the top creaky. I don’t know how the neighbors above and below can stand it. There is no way to tread lightly. You will definitely waken anyone trying to sleep in that room, on your way to the kitchen. Not sure how it can be fixed. Also, the dryer never completely dried our clothes. We had laundry draped all around the house the day before we left, trying to get it dry before we repacked. This could be Operator Error, so perhaps a brief cheat sheet posted nearby would be helpful.

I wish the agent had suggested meeting us at the unit instead of making us come to their office, THEN meeting us at the unit. The traffic was horrible and parking was awful, then we had to navigate through the traffic to the street opposite the office. It would have saved this driver (unfamiliar with opposite-side driving) about three years of my life in stress if only that simple step had been offered.

Having said all this, it was a very comfortable place to stay, within walking distance of the Royal Mile, and with a parking spot for your vehicle, which is rare in central Edinburgh. It was clean and well supplied with creature comforts that made it more home-like. It would be a 5 if the floor wasn't so loud or if the agent had met us at the unit.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the comprensive review and the kind words. We have acted on your suggestion and have made upgrades for future customers. A point to note for all customers - we try our best to provide a beautiful, cleaning fully functioning holiday apartment - but sometimes we miss things - we're just not perfect!!! But we 100% guarantee that if you call us immediately and report any problems we will have them action-ed immediately. Please don't wait till you go home or tell us at the end of your stay - tell us immediately are we can fix the problems - like I say - we try our best and we have a 24hr number to call us on.
4

Edinburgh apartment

  • 4 of 5

comfortable but could have used a larger bed in the master bedroom. It's a huge room with a 3/4 bed.

disappointed about the balcony. Lock was broken but could have easily been fixed.

a great location and easy to walk to sights.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The bed is actually a standard double bed, it just may appear small due to the overall size of the room! Unfortunately due to some poor guest behaviour we do lock the balcony and only release the key with a security deposit - I am surprised that the manager did not point this out? We only lock the front balcony as this is the area where the noise complaints have been consistently received from. The apartment is in a friendly residential development and we respect our neighbors which is why we have taken this action. I must also point out for future guests that we do not list the balcony or its us on our listing.
Lakeway, Texas
4

Convenient Place to stay in Edinburgh

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in Edinburgh for a week in this apartment. We did not have a vehicle, although off-street parking is available, and found this to be a great location for walking or taking the bus to the city centre. The apartment is also located next to Haymarket Station so it was easy to catch a train for day journeys to nearby towns and attractions. There is a grocery store a short walk away, making it easy to stock up on essentials without needing a vehicle. The apartment is located away from the street which cuts down on road noise. A couple of times, we heard work being done at the railway station at night but it wasn't enough to really be bothersome or keep us awake. You can, however, hear the neighbor's footfalls above you. This is due to the quality of the building, not the neighbor! However, this didn't bother us too much.

We cooked most morning and evening meals, and found the kitchen to be well stocked regarding dinnerware, pots, pans, and utensils. The apartment was clean and very modern, although the couches in the living room looked a little worse for wear and could use replacing. My parents stayed in the room with the double bed and found it to be comfortable, although my husband and I thought the twin beds were a little on the lumpy side. Overall, we had a good experience and definitely think it was a good deal for the price. We would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Amy - it was a pleasure accommodating you. We hope to see you again in the future. Neil
5

Excellent Stay in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in Edinburgh for 7 nights in May. The apartment was well appointed for all our needs. The rooms where ample in size, but the best part was the location.

The apartment is a short walk to city centre and all the attractions in Edinburgh. We walked everywhere and if we wanted to catch a taxi back, the cost was only £3 to £5 depending on how far we made it!

I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone traveling to Edinburgh.

We have actually booked in to come back next April!

Thanks again

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Edinburgh
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Haymarket
Nearest Beach
10 Kilometres
Portabello
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From £89 Per night

Dalry Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
April
Apr 7 2015 - Apr 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
£109
From
£225
Fri,Sat
£550
 
 
May day
May 1 2015 - May 4 2015
2 night minimum stay
£250
 
 
May
May 5 2015 - May 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
£109
From
£225
Fri,Sat
£600
 
 
May
May 22 2015 - Jun 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
£119
From
£250
Fri,Sat
£600
 
 
July
Jul 1 2015 - Jul 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
£159
From
£250
Fri,Sat
£700
 
 
Aug
Aug 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
£275
From
£325
Fri,Sat
£1,225
 
 
Sept
Sep 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
£129
From
£250
Fri,Sat
£650
 
 
October
Oct 1 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
£99
From
£200
Fri,Sat
£550
 
 
Nov
Nov 1 2015 - Dec 6 2015
2 night minimum stay
£89
From
£275
Fri,Sat
£600
 
 
dec
Dec 8 2015 - Dec 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
£89
From
£200
Fri,Sat
£500
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2015 - Dec 29 2015
3 night minimum stay
£195
£650
 
 
NYE 15
Dec 30 2015 - Jan 2 2016
4 night minimum stay
£300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£275
From
£300
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 2.5%
Notes Rates are subject to change until the reservation has been confirmed. A 50% deposit is required to confirm the booking and full payment is due 30days before arrival.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Dalry Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hair Dryer

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,897 - $3,139 per week
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$545 - $998 per week
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$283 - $342 per night
3 - 4 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 5

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote