Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Plumeria@AlaUla Off-Grid Eco-Farmstay Studio Real'Old Hawaii' near Kehena/Kapoho

Kathy Young

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Kathy Young

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 1, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Plumeria@AlaUla Off-Grid Eco-Farmstay Studio Real'Old Hawaii' near Kehena/Kapoho

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Opihikao Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Off-Grid Private Eco-Studios in a Tropical Organic Garden across from the Ocean

ALA ULA FARMSTAY STUDIOS are not in the path of the June 27 Lava Flow. At this time we anticipate minimal impact for your access and travel times and will provide updates and detour maps for all future guests as conditions change.

EXPERIENCE the authentic ' Real Old Hawaii' at Ala 'Ula Gardens Eco Studios, designed for those seeking an authentic rural Old Hawaii Farmstay experience; nestled within 4 tropical landscaped acres of organic orchards and vegetable & flower gardens, just across the road from the Pacific Ocean in sunny Opihikao (between Kapoho and Kalapana, near Kalani Honua Resort and Kehena Black Sands Beach) on the historic and scenic Red Road, where the sound of the oceans lulls you to sleep each night.

OUR brand new (June 2014) Plumeria Studio accommodates 1-2 guests in Queen-size comfort or can be combined with our ADJOINING Hibiscus Studio to accommodate up to 4 guests. Your private living/sleeping space has a large walk-in closet, Hawaiian art, tropical flowers, desk, iPod dock/radio, flat screen TV, DVD player, Dish Satellite TV w/HBO, and private outdoor deck/lanai sitting area.

WE have a fully equipped screened kitchen and dining area shared with other guests & our friendly and informative Volunteer Staff; ; with a cell phone booster and WIFI Internet for Emails & web browsing (no upload/download/streaming). There are 2 full shared baths which include a separate designer lava rock shower house, separate toilet/bidet/sink attached to common area and a new full bath/toilet/shower/sink directly attached to your studio. We also provide a small above-ground swimming pool with floaties, a hammock, badminton court, bocce ball, croquet, games, cards, guidebooks, yoga mats, flashlight, quality linen, bath towels, beach towels, ice chest, beach umbrella and chairs and BBQ grill. Please understand that due to being a working Farm keeping farmers hours; UNLESS BY PRIOR ARRANGEMENT, check-ins requiring assistance after 6:30pm, incur a $15 late check-in fee.

FEEL Madame Pele’s presence from a small lava heat vent just outside your door. Our gardens include numerous raised organic vegetable gardens, 10+ macadamia trees, 90+bananas clumps, 50 cacao trees, 100+coconut palms, 70+Papapya trees, 90+ various tropical fruit trees, pineapple beds, dragon fruit, liloiki, flowering heliconia and gingers, plus numerous hibiscus and scented landscape plants and the surrounding jungle and forest for your enjoyment.

ENJOY the peace of mind and tranquility of living totally off-grid, immersed in a lush tropical forest setting on the edge of the Malama Ki forest reserve, near several state parks and recreational areas. There are numerous microclimates on the Big Island and our location delivers the perfect tropical environment; drier, sunny, and warmer along the ocean stretching from Kapoho to Kalapana. Head toward Pahoa and the temperature often drops 5 or more degrees and is much more likely to be raining. Being so close to the ocean creates a more comfortable and moderate climate to enjoy year round, night and day.

HIBISCUS our other ADJOINING studio, if available, can be combined to accommodate larger parties of up to 4ppl and can be viewed via

WE also have 2 contemporary 3 bedroom Vacation Rental Homes 15 minutes away, in the Kapoho gated Beach Lots/Champagne Pond community, each with their own private hot ponds for your enjoyment. Please see and

LIKE us on Facebook


More Details
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kathy Young (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 1, 2015

About Kathy Young

I found this magical area when exploring the Big Island 10 years ago with my mother. The natural geothermal heated hot ponds in your backyard are what first caught my attention and provided so much relaxation. I was living in Australia at the time and needed a getaway from way too much stressful work, so I purchased and remodeled a house in Kapoho Champagne Pond Beach Lots which I rented as a vacation home ( in my absence. Things do work in mysterious ways and before I knew it I had unexpectedly sold my farm and business in Australia with no future plan in mind, But hey, I did have a home waiting for me, in Hawaii! So here I am, living in paradise still doing much hard but satisfying work, but with much less stress.

Kathy Young purchased this cottage in 2012

Why Kathy Young chose Opihikao

I remodeled another pond house in the Champagne Pond area ( but found suburbia was not for me and the doggies. I finally found a small 4 acre totally off-grid organic farm which I have slowly been planting out. I didn’t think I would be able to afford to live on a farm again, due to the amount of maintenance involved. But the farm came with a WWoofer farm worker, I learned, evolved and worked out having work/trade volunteers who help me keep the jungle at bay and grow all this wonderful food. We recently built a small private two room Ohana (guest cottage) near the back of the farm property, so now I can share my relaxing getaway and gardens with you, my guests. Life is good! I need only to go just outside the front gate for one of the most enjoyable and beautiful bike rides, along the Pacific Ocean. Come join us at our magical piece of paradise.

What makes this cottage unique

One only needs to drive down the Red Road to understand the magic of Old Hawaii, the South Pacific as it hits the cliffs of the southeastern shores of this island of volcanoes. The native rain forests, jungle and fields of fresh lava are constant reminders of Hawaii, the Big Island, and all of its diversity. The natural volcanic pools, warmed by underground geothermal vents, world-class protected volcanic tide pool reefs for endless snorkeling, and so much more are literally outside of the gates of our tropical farm and gardens. How can you not fall in love with the paradise that is Hawaii. Come and see for yourself.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Plumeria@AlaUla Off-Grid Eco-Farmstay Studio Real'Old Hawaii' near Kehena/Kapoho
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews

New to Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

Our week long stay at Ala Ula farmstay was Amazing!!! We stayed in the " Plumeria "studio which was lovely and oh so comfortable. We have never returned from a vacation so rested! I'm already missing the sounds of the frogs and ocean waves that rocked me to sleep. Kathy and the volunteers were so friendly and helpful. We would recommend this stay for anyone that truly want to experience the local Hawaii experience versus the tourists experience in the resorts. The views are beautiful and the beaches are very close.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

A Room above the Trees

  • 5 of 5

Plumeria is a set of two guest rooms for two guests with a new bathroom and shower. It is cafefull designed and well cared for. It overlooks the organic farm and its many garden beds and fruit bearing trees. After you arrive to the Rain Forest on the Red Road after your long flight to Hawaii, you enter with a secret code at the gate, and drive along the well maintained grounds.

The bed is very fine, and Kathy will give you new towels and beach towels as you need them. She provides you with a cooler and beach chairs and fins for snorkeling. At night you can dine out in Pahoa, or cook Mahi Mahi on the grill next to the outdoor kitchen. The young volunteer workers will guide your way to secret paths and ponds and tell you all the places to visit. This is not a hotel, but a working farm, with a wonderful host and beautiful kids who have come to work and learn about the world. A great experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Stay anywhere but here.....

  • 1 of 5

We had a most unpleasant stay here. We weren't expecting Communal bathroom and toilet which wouldn't have been so bad if they weren't so far away, especially when raining! The communal kitchen was Ok but there was no breakfast provided as stated or fresh fruit. The accommodation was not private, we had to walk past the neighbours front door which gave them no privacy and the walls were paper thin - not great for a romantic holiday! The internet poor even worse when raining and with one of the farm volunteers peeing outside everyday in full view of our balcony was not the paradise we had hoped for.

Truly this was the worst place we have ever stayed

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you had such an unpleasant stay but I sincerely WISH YOU WOULD HAVE DISCUSSED YOUR CONCERNS DURING YOUR STAY, IN A CONSTRUCIVE & TIMELY MANNER. I immediately address all complaints, given the opportunity to do so, but you never made me aware of your dissatisfaction until now publicly, a full month after your visit and you appear to REFUSE TO COMMUNICATE WITH ME, VIA MY 3 ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT YOU by email and phoning you in New Zealand, AS WAS RECOMMENDED BY VRBO. DURING YOUR STAY, YOU WOULD HAVE BEEN AWARE THAT MY BUILDERS HAD ALREADY COMMENCED CONSTRUCION work, insulating the adjoining studio walls for better privacy and our NEW ADDITON OF AN ATTACHED FULL BATH JUST OUTSIDE YOUR STUDIO DOOR. Thus you should have been aware I was doing everything I could to improve and make this the best possible rental; noting that we have NOT increased our rates to cover our improvements. On the 5th day of your stay, the day before your checkout, you did finally mention that you had expected breakfast and I immediately provided on your last day and also REFUNDED YOU $20 CASH, though AT THE TIME YOU BOOKED, THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO MENITON OF ANY BREAKFAST PROVIDED AS INCLUSIVE IN YOUR PRICE. I apologized, explained there had been an error, in failure to remove a mention of breakfast in directions email, as lava conditions caused increased costs and forced us to stop providing free breakfast. You did not inform me that you felt the INTERNET was poor, as the only reliable high speed internet we have available in our REMOTE AREA, is expensive satellite internet, affected by heavy rain but working perfectly well the majority of the time, with NO PRIOR GUEST COMPLAINTS. Inconveniences due to rain during your Jan 24-29 stay, would have been minimal due to local drought, “WITHOUT MEASURABLE RAINFALL…IN LATE JANUARY INTO FEBRUARY.” (Hawaii Tribune Heard). I do thank you for informing me of the improper conduct of one of our volunteer farm workers, who are all now fully aware to conduct themselves respectfully, with my only regret being that I did not rectify this situation from as early as Jan 25, so I do apologize to any and all who may have been affected. Our listing for our budget style Farmstay, since inception, states that the kitchen/common area and bathroom facilities are SHARED. I do my best realizing an OFF-GRID FARMSTAY EXPERIENCE DOES NOT SUIT EVERYONE, but our reviews do represent the SATISFACTION OF THE MAJORITY OF OUR GUESTS. My best, Kathy Y
Seattle Wa USA

Aloha @ Alu Lua

  • 5 of 5

We were Impressed with the host's Aloha spirit and energy. The farm property is beautiful. Very comfortable new cabin in unique tropical forrest setting. The community Kitchen and baths are new, clean and well stocked. The gardens are bountyfull with herbs, greens, fruits, flowers etc. For being a new inn it had a great Hawaiin flavor to it. The few other guests we met were charming. We spent three nights and plan to return. There is plenty to do and see in the nieghbohood as well. Uncle Roberts Market was awesome just down the road.. live! music local foods and crafts...

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Hilo Airport
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Pahoa Village
Nearest Golf
26 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
12 Miles
Pahoa Village
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Kehena Black Sands
Car: recommended

Attractions nearby include small private black sand swimming beach, beautiful walks and ocean views including Altars overlook, Malama Kai flats, keiki (baby) tide pools, Mackenzie Park, Uncle Roberts at Kalapana Wednesday Night (music, awa bar, food, and more) Market, Isaac Hale Beach Park at Pohoiki surf and swimming beach, Ahalanui hot pond, world class snorkeling at Wai’ opae Kapoho Tide Pools, Champagne Ponds, Kehena Black Sand Beach, Green Lake, Lava Tree State Park, cliff fishing, numerous scenic drives and picnic spots, lots of alternative activities nearby to Pahoa and one hour to Volcano National Park. Kalani Honua Retreat offering yoga & Hawaii cultural classes and a restaurant (2.1 miles), massages can be arranged on or off property.

In Pahoa you will find a unique village scene which includes a Kava bar, Tin Shack Bakery, Kaleos Restaurant , Nings Thai, Luquins Mexican and several other restaurants.


Rates & Availability

From $69 Per night

Opihikao Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Mar 26 2015 - May 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
Jun 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
Sep 1 2015 - Nov 21 2015
2 night minimum stay
Nov 22 2015 - Mar 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $17 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Check-in W/assistance: 1:00-6:30pm, up to 8:30pm independently or exceptions by prior arrangement only. Check-out: 11:00am. Cancellation: If cancelled/modified up to 31-90 days before date of arrival, 50% cancellation fee will be charged if we are unable to rebook. If cancelled/modified 30 days or less- before date of arrival, a 100% cancellation fee will be charged if we are unable to rebook.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total


Opihikao Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 155 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , bidet , sink
    Designer Showerhouse - shower , Spacious Designer two-headed Lava rock shower.
    Studio Shared Full Bath (attached) - toilet , shower , Attached separate bathroom w/compost toilet, shower, sink
  • There are 2 full shared bathrooms in total. Studio Full Bath is attached to the studios, Bath 2 is attached to common area with toilet, bidet and sink and the Designer shower house is located in a separate building.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Plumeria - 1 queen
  • The Plumeria Studio provides private Queensize living/sleeping space with a large walk-in closet, Hawaiian art, tropical flower arrangement, queen bed/couch. Indoor desk, iPod dock/alarm, flat screen TV, DVD player, satellite TV.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote