Lovely apartment,ideal location but noisy at night
We had a nightmare journey by plane and arrived over 2 hours late, but Steve was waiting for us at the airport and followed us to the car rental depot and then we followed him to the apartment. Steve then showed us around and answered any questions we had. We were pleased Steve was there to help us.
The apartment was lovely – couldn’t fault it at all. As you’ll see from the pictures, there was a nicely sized living room, two good sized bedrooms, a nice kitchen with table to eat our meals and a big balcony. The pool on the rood was a fair size but a little cold for us. We finally managed to get in towards the end of the stay.
We arrived on Sunday so almost all the supermarkets were closed, but Steve had kindly left us some milk, tea and coffee so after a little sleep we ventured out. The waterfront was very pleasant, with lots of choices of food to eat. We would recommend Monte Carlo (on the road that the new promenade is being built on) and the Hobo Cafe (After our first visit they gave us a voucher for 30% off our next meal within 7 days). The beach was nice and not busy at all.
We went to bed on the first night early due to the overnight flight etc and noticed it was quite loud outside. I believe there were some roadworks further away so some traffic may have been diverted, but still it was uncomfortably loud. Then, at about 3am the noise rose. There was a bar across the road that closed then and the noise was the people leaving. Later on in the night there was another huge noise - this time the bins were being emptied. The noise from the bar continued every night and the bins every two or three nights. Steve has since confirmed that, as with the review last year, the noise from the bar was again a one-off as this time the owners were away and the right process for closing the bar was not followed.
Take away the noise at night and this apartment would get 5/5. Unfortunately, for a family with two young children, the noise at night made it 3/5.
Owner's Response: Thank you Mark for the positive comments about the Apartment, and also the points you mentioned about Larnaca in general.
I am however sorry that your Holiday coincided with Roadworks which have now been completed, and the unusual noise from the Local Bar (this as you say was an exception).
The Refuse Collection however is a fact of life within all areas of Cyprus, due to the high daytime temperatures the collections start in the early hours, however 2 collections a week do avoid unpleasant odours.
Did you find this review helpful?