MAKENA - 3 BEDROOM OCEANFRONT HOME--FROM $695/NIGHT

Sue Johnson

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 14 nights

Contact the Owner

Sue Johnson

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

MAKENA - 3 BEDROOM OCEANFRONT HOME--FROM $695/NIGHT

Makena House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Gorgeous home on quiet Old Makena Road with ocean views from every room.

Slip on your beach shoes, walk down your 40 foot dogleg to the left of your front lawn, step over small rocks, and swim with the turtles at our private beach.

Beautiful sunsets every night from a half acre lot on the ocean.

Breeching of humpback whales can be seen just off-shore in winter months.

Three-bedroom 2250 square-foot home has been decorated with Hawaiian style art, teak furniture from Bali, carpet, travertine flooring, and new appliances. Each bedroom has its own full bath.

Luxurious master bedroom with ocean views from your king-sized bed. Second bedroom has a queen-sized bed. The third bedroom has two twins that convert into a king.

Missionary founded church is three doors down. Ideal for destination weddings.

Keywords: Single-Family Home

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only

Sue Johnson

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

My parents built this home in 1969, when the only access was a dirt road. They lived there year round, but had no mail or paper delivery for many years. Its a lovely, quiet location in a pristine area, which my husband and I have updated and kept decorated in the Hawaiian style.

Snorkeling, turtle and whale viewing (in winter months) is awesome from our location. We can also swim off the left front side of our property. Our oceanfront location with sunset views overlooking 3 islands and 2 peninsulas is truly unparalleled.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 - 14 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Makena - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $695/Night
average rating of 4.875 based on 16 reviews
business
Makena - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $695/Night
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60422vb
(310) 613-2122 (California, USA)
Makena Maui
The Woodlands, Tx, USA
5

Hawaiian Charm!!!!

  • 5 of 5
This was my first place to stay on Maui and I will never forget it! I left a piece of my heart in this home and will hopefully get to visit it in the future.
I saw the location, read about all the details, read the reviews, and spoke with the owner. Sue told me the love story of her mom and dad. She spoke of the home they had built together and of the time they lived there. You can see all the Hawaiian charm in the lava rock wall and the lava rock fireplace that was built for a wife that had known cold winters before moving to Maui. Thank you, Sue, for sharing your lovely home! I could sit in the chairs and watch the waves for hours on end, that is after a morning snorkeling adventure! Thanks for having water shoes, masks, snorkels, and fins to borrow! I lost count of the different kinds of fish or sea creatures we saw every morning. This is a great location for the active outdoor kind. There are walking/running trails, swimming, snorkeling, scuba, beaches, and many more outdoor activities to be discovered. I enjoyed my stay in Makena and am looking at the calendar with plans for my return!
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Makena - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $695/Night
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60422vb
(310) 613-2122 (California, USA)
Makena Maui
5

Already want to book again for next year!

  • 5 of 5
WOW! Amazing place! From top to bottom this had it all. Ample room in the kitchen for meal prep and eating, also great outdoor seating for meals or cocktails at sunset. Some newer amenities, among them, washer and dryer, furniture and BBQ grill. Loved sitting outside watching the surf and inside watching the waves when we got too much sun. Private and quiet, yet not far from restaurants and shopping. A great experience!
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Makena - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $695/Night
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60422vb
(310) 613-2122 (California, USA)
Makena Maui
Texas
5

trip of a lifetime!

  • 5 of 5
Loved this Hawaiian style home with incredible sunsets. Listen to the waves at night while you fall asleep. Great flat back yard for boccie ball and corn hole games or sit by the ocean and watch the sunset. We had dinner every night by the ocean and used the table and chairs along the deck. Barbecue was brand new. We snorkeled in the mornings at the black lava beach which was a short downhill walk to the left of the property.In the afternoon the wind picks up and we walked to the sandy beach for body surfing.I liked that there were 3 bathrooms each with a shower and also an outdoor shower to rinse off the salt water. The Makena landing is a short walk and that is where many kayak and snorkel trips originate.This home is very quiet and private. Definitely will be coming back.
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Makena - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $695/Night
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60422vb
(310) 613-2122 (California, USA)
Makena Maui
Littleton, Colorado
3

Great location, house needs work

  • 3 of 5
This is the second time I've been to this house, the first time was 5 years ago when my parents rented it with friends. We were blown away with the location at the time and didn't hesitate to rent it 5 years later. Now after staying for a week, I can say Yes the location is AMAZING, however the previous reviews do not accurately depict the condition of the house. The time that we were there the house was infested with ants and mice. We were assured that the "entire island" was infested, however this was really bad. The mice would run across the living room floor in the middle of the day... they weren't scared of anything! The ants were so bad you had to put the food that would normally be left on the counter in the oven or microwave at night. The house was also pretty dirty and needed some easy maintenance (cobwebs up high, bathrooms need a good scrub, the BBQ was rusted/rotten, had to hold the oven closed when baking, the faucet leaked, etc). The whole place needs some serious updating... for the price, I expect more. We have a vacation rental and would be embarrassed to rent it out in a similar condition. While the property management was very responsive and nice, we won't be staying here again.
  • Submitted: May 25, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I was very disheartened when I read this review. The reviewer mentions that "property management was very responsive and nice", but these guests NEVER called to complain about anything except the rodents.

The rodent situation, in fact, was addressed by the manager, who took traps to the house the day it was reported, and by the exterminator the very next day. It's true that on Maui, you cannot leave open food on the counters due to ants, which are also prevalent all over Maui. This is why we provide a number of sealed plastic containers, as well as Clorox and Lysol wipes for our renters. Neither the owner nor the managers were aware of any leaks, or of any problems with the oven. We would surely have addressed each of these issues, had they been brought to our attention.

Most of the rest of the concerns/complaints of our reviewer were centered around a stated lack of Spring-type cleaning. We have accelerated our regularly scheduled deep cleaning, to address these issues, and we would surely have addressed the concerns during the renters' stay, had we known about them. Our manager has assured us that each and every one of the issues mentioned here will be resolved immediately.

Since I received this review, I have contacted the guest who followed this one, and the one who is there now. Both reported that they are having, or had, a lovely visit and neither of them have reported complaints. We are still struggling with rodents, along with almost everyone on Maui, according to our exterminator. However the rodent traps are now being baited weekly instead of monthly, and the situation is mitigating.

We are constantly updating our home. This year we have already purchased new living room furniture and 2 t.v.'s. Last year we bought a new patio set, new drapes, had the outside painted, and rebuilt an authentic Hawaiian rock wall along the perimeter of our property. We are grateful and proud to call this lovely old Hawaiian style home our very own, and we feel our unique inheritance is something very special to share with others.

Mahalo nui, Sue Johnson, Owner
o
business
Makena - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $695/Night
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60422vb
(310) 613-2122 (California, USA)
Makena Maui
Santa Barbara, CA
5

Classic Old Makena

  • 5 of 5
We vacationed over the Christmas Holidays in this lovely spot with our two Sons and their significant others. Here is my take away:
1. The setting is truly magnificent and private. We enjoyed cocktails while watching the glorious sunset each and every evening of our stay.
2. On Old Makena Road….a quiet two lane country road. Walk one way 50 yards and you reach a charming old Church….50 yards the other way and you are at lovely Makena Landing (not really a landing….a small public beach). If you are looking to extend your walk it is a relatively easy hike to the Wailea resorts up the coast or Big Beach down the Coast.
3. Drive a bit further to La Perouse Bay through the last Maui lava flow fields of the late 1700s and take a hike even further into the past. Spectacular.
4. Hit a multitude of gourmet dining options all within a 10 minute drive or less.
5. Better yet….after cocktails put something on the barbie and enjoy the stars like those of us who live an urban setting seldom observe. Or stay at the lovely resorts of Wailea and fight the crowds and pay three times the price or more for 3 hotel rooms.
Bottom line….if you are seeking a taste of old Hawaii rather than modern resort Hawaii this is your kind of place. The Island is small enough that day trips to Lahaina….or the road to Hana….are easily doable. Watch the whales….hike the trails to waterfalls….or just sit on your private piece of paradise and look out to sea.
If you get bored and want the crowds (by the way even over the Holidays Maui does not feel crowded…except at the resorts) there are public access points and lovely walking paths along the beachfront that pass in front of all the Wailea resorts.
Bottom bottom line….when we did venture out to see the masses on their wall to wall resort chaises….we could not wait to get back to the magic of this private piece of paradise.
Enjoy.
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Makena - 3 Bedroom Oceanfront Home--from $695/Night
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p60422vb
(310) 613-2122 (California, USA)
Makena Maui
No. California
5

Perfect Island family experience.

  • 5 of 5
If you want to wake up to the ocean under moonlight anywhere on Earth this home provides it all. Enjoying breakfast with my family and seeing that spectacular view. I take it everywhere with me now. Thank you for an incredible family experience. This is new old Hawaii at her finest. This treasure is special. Read the history on the family property and how it was developed.

Watching our kids and grandkids talking to turtles and seeing them swimming from the beach, while holding hands on that beach and being grateful for 45 years of blue sapphire memories.

We were married on Oahu during my r&r in 1968 and made this our gift to our family.

This is an out of the way place for solitude as well. There is no bad beach on Maui and the one around the corner is exquisite !

Stay toward the center of the beach if you're swimming or you run into snorklers and rocks. One day of sun for every three days of sightseeing will save your skin. Use sunscreen. Lots of it !

Convenient to all resorts yet removed from anything commercial. We love it S.J.

You've got to go Mama's Fish House. Make a reservation and bring a couple of hundred bucks.
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

We own a 40 foot dog leg parcel of land, to the left of our home,that is directly on the ocean. You can enter the ocean from this area wearing beach shoes in the morning when the ocean is calm.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Makena House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Aug 16 2014 - Dec 14 2014
6 night minimum stay
$695
 
 
Holiday Rate
Dec 16 2014 - Jan 5 2015
14 night minimum stay
$775
 
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Makena House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Garage ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Ice Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Twin beds can be made into a king-sized bed upon request., Baby Cribs (1) Pack and Play available.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Games ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
  • beachcombing
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • whale watching
  • shelling
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • surfing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • cycling
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • deepsea fishing
  • sailing
Notes:
State # W20611820-01; STKM-2012/0003 House Rules: Quiet hours are from 9:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m., during which time the noise from the short-term rental home shall not unreasonably disturb adjacent neighbors. Sound that is audible beyond the property boundaries during non-quiet hours shall not be more excessive than would be otherwise associated with a residential area. Amplified sound that is audible beyond the property boundaries of the short-term rental home is prohibited. Vehicles shall be parked in the designated onsite parking area and shall not be parked on the street. No parties or group gatherings other than registered guests shall occur. The shoreline area is the property of the people of Hawaii, and is open for the free use by everyone.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$895 - $1,350 per night
5 - 6 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$4,900 - $5,075 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$2,500 - $4,900 per night
7 - 14 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 8