THE LAKE HOUSE AT MALLARD COVE

David & Tracey Weikel

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE LAKE HOUSE AT MALLARD COVE

Port Angeles House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 9. 3 Bedrooms. 2 Baths

Spacious lake front home located on the quiet side of Lake Sutherland. Panoramic view of the beautiful lake. Perfect location for watching those summer sun sets. A great room with a 13 foot wet bar, has abundant space for entertaining friends or an extended family. Lots of deck space for barbequing or just enjoying the sun. Shared docks one for boats, one for swimming, beach access, and a community pool. Sleeps 9; one queen, one full, one single, full hide-abed, full futon, plus loft space for additional guests. Perfect base camp for exploring Olympic National Park, La Push, Forks, and Port Angeles. Victoria BC is an easy day trip via MV Coho out of Port Angeles. Hot tub. Wheelchair accessible. Linens provided. You will need your own sleeping bags for the loft. Well equipped kitchen. Canoe available.

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • pets considered
David & Tracey Weikel (Owner)
Advertiser since 2014
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About David & Tracey Weikel

David grew up in Pennsylvania. Tracey grew up in northen Idaho, where they met and married. David is a University of Idaho alumni. We moved west to the Seattle area in the latter part of the 1980. Port Angeles became our home in 1998 when David was offered a corporate transfer. We love it here and hope to return after retirement. We now reside in Bremerton WA.

David & Tracey Weikel purchased this house in 2000

Why David & Tracey Weikel chose Port Angeles

After living in Port Angeles for two years, we began to search for a permanent home. One we would be happy in the rest of our days. The moment I stepped in the front door I fell in love. We have enjoyed every minute of living in this beautiful location. In truth I have spent way too much time just looking out the windows.

Our daughters, their friends and now the grand babies share our appreciation for this delightful home. The privilege of having such easy access to all the park offers is such a blessing.

We have been delighted to host several exchange students and share this home with them. All agree it is a marvelous place, to entertain or relax.

Our lives took us away, but we are hoping to return and enjoy many more big family gatherings in our beloved home.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
average rating of 4.75 based on 8 reviews
business
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p602837vb
3606164527
Port Angeles Olympic Peninsula
Blaine, WA
3

Lake front property

  • 3 of 5
Beautiful lake view with large deck and hot tub!! Fully furnished kitchen. Large great room with fireplace! Enjoyed use of canoe.

Home's main bathroom, furnishings, mattresses, and linens need major updating. Beds were VERY uncomfortable. Not recommended for seniors.

Indoor rodent control is nessasary. Saw a mouse running through great room one evening, and droppings on pantry shelving.

Experienced septic back up. Yuk!(owners admitted to dealing with issues before)

Recommend more toilet tissue supplied at the house. Not enough initially provided. When requested, "3" more rolls were delivered to the house. Kinda skimpy.

Overall, we enjoyed the lake and ability to be gathered in a home with extended family. Thank you
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Rosanne,
Thanks for your review. We appreciate the input as we are new to this business. Our home is how we lived in it. We plan to make improvements as our endeavor becomes more successful. When lived here full time we had cats in residence and they kept the local rodent population under control. We installed electronic vermin control devices, thank you for letting us know they are not working as expected. Now we can take steps to solve this problem. It is unfortunate that you experienced a pluming system failure. You may have noticed that we have several very large trees around the house, over time their roots intrude on the pluming and septic system. The necessary maintenance has been preformed. Sincerely Dave and Tracey
business
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p602837vb
3606164527
Port Angeles Olympic Peninsula
5

It's all about that view & incredible lake!

It's all about that view & incredible lake!
  • 5 of 5
We loved that the key code was personalized to us. Right when you walk through the front door you are greeted with the most amazing view! While some things about the house are quite dated, it is very clean. Lots of towels. There is a canoe that goes with the house & some lifejackets. We used it to explore the entire lake. (on 1 trip we were checking out the waterslide across the lake & the owner let us go down a few times-so fun). Watching the eagles soar & dive bomb was wonderful. Bring bino's if you can. stars are amazingly clear. We spent as much time as we could outside & in or on the lake. The hot tub is nice. On the rainy day we all soaked & got real hot then ran & jumped in the lake. There are some games, crayons, paper for scoring & lots of books. The kitchen has all the basics but no ice cube trays. I plan to bring some with me to leave next time. The BBQ is great but you need to lift the grates to light under the burners. Cons but none that would prevent me from returning next year if I'm lucky enough. I'm including it just so you know & are prepared. There are not enough windows that open. There is a fan in the closet with the hamper though that I did not find until the last day but man do I wish there were ceiling fans in that beautiful great room. The dishwasher button are worn down & it would be helpful if they were labeled or at least those best to select. There is no wifi which was just fine with me but if you need to work be prepared for that. Besides the futon & outdoor furniture nothing is very comfortable. They will meet your needs though. There are lots of fluffy pillows but they go flat quickly, bring your own. Our biggest issue with this house is there is no garbage service & I don't think there is an easy fix for the home owner. We were there a week, with 8 people at one point, so we produced a lot of garbage. Next time I will use my own containers as much as possible when packing & remove all boxes from products to recycle at home to reduce this problem (our car was full on arrival so really didn't have space to squeeze in garbage. Luckily a business let us dump 1 bag so that helped. OK all that said, after exploring the lake we truly felt this was the best location on the lake, so rent this home. We don't regret it, we will return & I now have a dream of a vacation home on this beautiful lake!
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sabrina,
Thank you for your review. About those ice trays I knew I was forgetting something. They disappeared with a previous renter and I knew I needed to replace them as well as the pan for the broiler but it had slipped my mind, so thank you for the reminder. We are hoping that by next summer we will have been able to upgrade some of the furnishings and I will add better pillows to that list. When we are in residence as soon as the front of the house is in shade we open all the windows on that side and place the fan near the door. In the morning when it starts to warm up we close all the windows on the paved side and close those bedroom doors and this helps maintain a cool interior. We have considered ceiling fans but have an on going debate as to whether that would be a visual distraction from the beautiful ceiling design.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am inclined to think we have the best spot on the lake as well, but I am sure I am biased. David and Tracey
business
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p602837vb
3606164527
Port Angeles Olympic Peninsula
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5
We stayed in the house on the lake for 2 nights. We wish we had more time. The setting is beautiful. It is convenient to many destinations in the Olympic National Park but can be a destination in itself. Lake Sutherland is beautiful and warm enough to swim. The decks are great for outside dinners and stargazing. The house is older and is fun for mid-century enthusiasts. We would definitely return to the property if we are ever in the area. We rented many properties all over the US, Canada, Europe but this house was one of the best.
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yelena,
Thank you for the splendid review. We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay. I agree that the deck offers great opportunities for star gazing. We especially enjoy watching the meteor showers from it. Hope you can join us again some day. David and Tracey
business
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p602837vb
3606164527
Port Angeles Olympic Peninsula
Federal way, Wa
5

Awesome lake house

  • 5 of 5
We stayed here for a few wonderful days the end of July. Nice big lake house, great location and nice and quite area. Plenty of room in this big house. Awesome deck, with hot tub, bbq, lounge chairs and table with chairs for relaxing and eating on the deck. Perfect if you bring your boat, the public boat launch is right around the corner and there is a big community dock to tie it off to right in front of this house. We brought out boat and fished ever day. AWESOME kokanee fishing!!!!! I read in other reviews about seeing the eagle. Yes they are there, we found out when fishing they would dive down and try to take our fish with we were reeling them in....an unreal sight to see them that close. We took the boat out tubbing and just sight seeing too. Beautiful house, lake and area. We hope to return next summer too.
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dale!
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have spent countless hours enjoying the lake too.
I am endlessly surprised at the size of the eagles when I see them so close. We feel very fortunate to have a front row seat for observing their lives. David and Tracey
business
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p602837vb
3606164527
Port Angeles Olympic Peninsula
Perth, Australia
5

Perfect house for a relaxing holiday with family and friends

  • 5 of 5
Lovely large house right on the edge of Lake Sutherland. The view from the living room is just breath taking! It is the perfect place if you have a large family or group of friends. I really enjoyed my stay there. The lake house is located in a beautiful area and offers a large variety of activities from hiking, boating and swimming in the lake to relaxing and sunbathing on the deck! All the rooms are cosy and welcoming. Definitely a great place all year round!
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lorene,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very comfortable here as well. David and I find also find the view a constant source of pleasure. I hope that someday you can return to us and revisit your favorite places and activities.
David and Tracey
business
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p602837vb
3606164527
Port Angeles Olympic Peninsula
Czech Republic
5

Perfect place for everyone

  • 5 of 5
I stayed in this lake house when I was on my trip to US and I LOVED it!!! It has such an amazing view of the lake and it is so comfortable. This place has a perfect position, too, because from there you can go hiking, there are hot springs in the woods nearby and you can go to the national park and basically everything is really close. It is wonderful. Also obviously there is swimming in the lake and in the evening you can sit on the deck and enjoy the for gorgeous view!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jana,
Thank you, I am so pleased that you found our home to your liking and that we helped make happy memories for you. We certainly enjoy it's proximity to Olympic National Park and the delight full view. Hopefully some day you can return and visit those places you didn't have time to see last time you were here. Sincerely Tracey and David Weikel
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Port Angeles International Airport (CLM)
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Coho to Victoria, BC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US Highway 101
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Dam Bar
Nearest Ski
31 Miles
Hurricane Ridge
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Granny's Resturant
Car: necessary

We are about 15 minutes away from the Elwah River restoration sight.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Port Angeles House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
Jul 7 2014 - Sep 21 2014
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$6,000
 
 
Off Season
Sep 22 2014 - Jun 20 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
$4,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2015
Jun 21 2015 - Sep 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2016
Jun 13 2016 - Sep 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
Jun 12 2017 - Sep 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
$4,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $89
damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 8.4%
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Port Angeles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Pantry Items
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Boat ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • duty free shops
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • paddle boating
  • eco tourism
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • whale watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • whitewater rafting
  • water tubing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • rafting
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • deepsea fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$3,500 per week
5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$285 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6