Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

The Lake House at Mallard Cove

David & Tracey Weikel

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

David & Tracey Weikel

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

The Lake House at Mallard Cove

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Port Angeles House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 9. 3 Bedrooms. 2 Baths

Spacious lake front home located on the quiet side of Lake Sutherland. Panoramic view of the beautiful lake. Perfect location for enjoying fall colors and eagles feeding. A great room with abundant space for entertaining friends or an extended family. Lots of deck space for barbequing. Shared docks one for boats, one for fishing or swimming, beach access. Sleeps 9; one queen, one full, one single, full hide-abed, full futon, plus loft space for additional guests. Perfect base camp for exploring Olympic National Park, La Push, Forks, and Port Angeles. Victoria BC is an easy day trip via MV Coho out of Port Angeles. Hot tub. Wheelchair accessible. Linens provided. You will need your own sleeping bags for the loft. Well equipped kitchen. Canoe available.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
David & Tracey Weikel (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015

About David & Tracey Weikel

David grew up in Pennsylvania. Tracey grew up in northen Idaho, where they met and married. David is a University of Idaho alumni. We moved west to the Seattle area in the latter part of the 1980. Port Angeles became our home in 1998 when David was offered a corporate transfer. We love it here and hope to return after retirement. We now reside in Bremerton WA.

David & Tracey Weikel purchased this house in 2000

Why David & Tracey Weikel chose Port Angeles

After living in Port Angeles for two years, we began to search for a permanent home. One we would be happy in the rest of our days. The moment I stepped in the front door I fell in love. We have enjoyed every minute of living in this beautiful location. In truth I have spent way too much time just looking out the windows.

Our daughters, their friends and now the grand babies share our appreciation for this delightful home. The privilege of having such easy access to all the park offers is such a blessing.

We have been delighted to host several exchange students and share this home with them. All agree it is a marvelous place, to entertain or relax.

Our lives took us away, but we are hoping to return and enjoy many more big family gatherings in our beloved home.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Lake House at Mallard Cove
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
5

Beautiful View

  • 5 of 5

We stayed over a weekend to visit family that lives in PA. It was important for us to be in Mallard Cove because my Aunt had lived in the area before she passed away. All our family came out on Saturday & Sunday and spent the day hanging out on the deck because the weather was so good.

Pro's

Great Location on Lake Sutherland

Large House with great deck

3 Bedrooms with large loft area

Access to dock directly under the house

Use of canoe

Extremely Clean

Key pad entry so you don't have to pick up keys anywhere

Large Bar Counter in Living Room that can be used as a buffet

BBQ with propane filled up.

Hot Tub on Deck looking out at the Lake

Kids DVD's, Toys & coloring cranyons

2 bottles of water in each bathroom

Cons

No Wifi

Hot Tub lid was water logged and difficult to move

One of the bedrooms has a weird bed that is very small on a platform with a ramp to it. There were only 3 women staying and no one wanted to sleep on it so we ended up doubling up in one of the other bedrooms.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jamie, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. The new hot tub cover will arrive this week, wish it had been there for you. Yes the ramp room is a little different it originally held a water bed. We talk about removing it, but the grand children enjoy playing on it so very much. It is was there when we bought the place and was the builders young sons ramp for toy cars. When we are in residence we use the personal hot spot on our smart phones to access the internet vi our lap tops. It provides a better connection than any of the other options we used when this was our primary residence. Dave and Tracey
Boerne, TX
5

Loved this place!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here a few weeks ago, 4 adults and 7 young kids. It was a perfect location! We originally wanted a place that was central to a lot of sights but we liked the house so much we ended up sticking around more just to enjoy it! We took out the canoe and enjoyed the hot tub on the cool evenings. The owners came the morning we were checking out and it took us forever to get out of the door trying to load up all the kids and their stuff and the owners were very gracious will us running a bit late! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Stacey, We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in our home. When we are in residence we rarely want to leave, it is such a good spot to relax and spend happy hours with the loved ones.
5

Nice place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommend this place for a getaway trip, the view is fantastic and the kitchenware is complete although needs a little bit update of the furnitures but beside that it's perfect! We will definitely comeback.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joel, Thank you for the review. We would be delighted to host your group again any time. Dave and Tracey
Blaine, WA
3

Lake front property

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful lake view with large deck and hot tub!! Fully furnished kitchen. Large great room with fireplace! Enjoyed use of canoe.

Home's main bathroom, furnishings, mattresses, and linens need major updating. Beds were VERY uncomfortable. Not recommended for seniors.

Indoor rodent control is nessasary. Saw a mouse running through great room one evening, and droppings on pantry shelving.

Experienced septic back up. Yuk!(owners admitted to dealing with issues before)

Recommend more toilet tissue supplied at the house. Not enough initially provided. When requested, "3" more rolls were delivered to the house. Kinda skimpy.

Overall, we enjoyed the lake and ability to be gathered in a home with extended family. Thank you

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rosanne, Thanks for your review. We appreciate the input as we are new to this business. Our home is how we lived in it. We plan to make improvements as our endeavor becomes more successful. When lived here full time we had cats in residence and they kept the local rodent population under control. We installed electronic vermin control devices, thank you for letting us know they are not working as expected. Now we can take steps to solve this problem. It is unfortunate that you experienced a pluming system failure. You may have noticed that we have several very large trees around the house, over time their roots intrude on the pluming and septic system. The necessary maintenance has been preformed. Sincerely Dave and Tracey
5

It's all about that view & incredible lake!

  • 5 of 5

We loved that the key code was personalized to us. Right when you walk through the front door you are greeted with the most amazing view! While some things about the house are quite dated, it is very clean. Lots of towels. There is a canoe that goes with the house & some lifejackets. We used it to explore the entire lake. (on 1 trip we were checking out the waterslide across the lake & the owner let us go down a few times-so fun). Watching the eagles soar & dive bomb was wonderful. Bring bino's if you can. stars are amazingly clear. We spent as much time as we could outside & in or on the lake. The hot tub is nice. On the rainy day we all soaked & got real hot then ran & jumped in the lake. There are some games, crayons, paper for scoring & lots of books. The kitchen has all the basics but no ice cube trays. I plan to bring some with me to leave next time. The BBQ is great but you need to lift the grates to light under the burners. Cons but none that would prevent me from returning next year if I'm lucky enough. I'm including it just so you know & are prepared. There are not enough windows that open. There is a fan in the closet with the hamper though that I did not find until the last day but man do I wish there were ceiling fans in that beautiful great room. The dishwasher button are worn down & it would be helpful if they were labeled or at least those best to select. There is no wifi which was just fine with me but if you need to work be prepared for that. Besides the futon & outdoor furniture nothing is very comfortable. They will meet your needs though. There are lots of fluffy pillows but they go flat quickly, bring your own. Our biggest issue with this house is there is no garbage service & I don't think there is an easy fix for the home owner. We were there a week, with 8 people at one point, so we produced a lot of garbage. Next time I will use my own containers as much as possible when packing & remove all boxes from products to recycle at home to reduce this problem (our car was full on arrival so really didn't have space to squeeze in garbage. Luckily a business let us dump 1 bag so that helped. OK all that said, after exploring the lake we truly felt this was the best location on the lake, so rent this home. We don't regret it, we will return & I now have a dream of a vacation home on this beautiful lake!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sabrina, Thank you for your review. About those ice trays I knew I was forgetting something. They disappeared with a previous renter and I knew I needed to replace them as well as the pan for the broiler but it had slipped my mind, so thank you for the reminder. We are hoping that by next summer we will have been able to upgrade some of the furnishings and I will add better pillows to that list. When we are in residence as soon as the front of the house is in shade we open all the windows on that side and place the fan near the door. In the morning when it starts to warm up we close all the windows on the paved side and close those bedroom doors and this helps maintain a cool interior. We have considered ceiling fans but have an on going debate as to whether that would be a visual distraction from the beautiful ceiling design. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I am inclined to think we have the best spot on the lake as well, but I am sure I am biased. David and Tracey
5

Wonderful property

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the house on the lake for 2 nights. We wish we had more time. The setting is beautiful. It is convenient to many destinations in the Olympic National Park but can be a destination in itself. Lake Sutherland is beautiful and warm enough to swim. The decks are great for outside dinners and stargazing. The house is older and is fun for mid-century enthusiasts. We would definitely return to the property if we are ever in the area. We rented many properties all over the US, Canada, Europe but this house was one of the best.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yelena, Thank you for the splendid review. We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay. I agree that the deck offers great opportunities for star gazing. We especially enjoy watching the meteor showers from it. Hope you can join us again some day. David and Tracey

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Port Angeles International Airport (CLM)
Nearest Barpub
10 Miles
Dam Bar
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Coho to Victoria, BC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US Highway 101
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Granny's Resturant
Nearest Ski
31 Miles
Hurricane Ridge
Car: necessary

We are about 15 minutes away from the Elwah River restoration sight.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

Port Angeles House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2015
May 22 2015 - Sep 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2016
May 20 2016 - Sep 21 2016
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2017
May 26 2017 - Sep 21 2017
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$300
Fri,Sat
$1,500
$6,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$200
$1,200
$4,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99.00
Refundable cleaning fee $250.00
Tax Rate 8.4%
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Port Angeles House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • duty free shops
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Other Vacation Properties

$1,494 - $1,794 per week
2 - 4 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote