ENJOY NATURE AND RENNIE LAKE PONTOON BOATING ON US.

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ENJOY NATURE AND RENNIE LAKE PONTOON BOATING ON US.

Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-12)

Come relax up north and enjoy Pontoon boating, fishing, or swimming at Rennie Lake Ranch. We offer two smoke-free cabins on two wooded acres on beautiful Rennie Lake. Rennie is a 250+ acre all sports lake located in the heart of thousands of acres of state land.

Watersports, biking, hiking, and many other sports are available right from the ranch. Come on up and enjoy Beautiful Northern Michigan.

Cabin 1: is 3BR/1BA has a private deck,and a knotty pine great room including a large fireplace. A futon is also included to sleep a total of 6-7.

Cabin 2: is 1BR/1BA and has a large deck and two sleeper sofas to sleep a total of four.

Both cabins have a full kitchen including microwaves, dishes,and cooking utensils. Linens are provided and each cabin has Dish Internet/Wi Fi, Direct TV (200+ channels),VCR, air conditioning, a gas grill, washer and dryer,and a private deck.

50% down to reserve each cabin, Balance due two weeks prior to arrival. Security Deposit of $250 due upon arrival. Cleaning Fee $50/unit. Pet fee $50/pet subtracted from deposit,balance returned after ok check out. Cancellations 60 days prior ,100% refund, 30 days 75% , No refunds within 30 days unless we can fill slot ($100 fee)

Keywords: Two Cottages Rented Together

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Advertiser since 2005
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About The Owner

I am a retired teacher who owns a few rental properties in the Traverse City area. I am also a licensed builder who can take care of any problems/repairs that might occur during your stay(day or night)with a minimum disruption to your stay. We take pride in our rentals and try to keep the price down for working families to enjoy.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2004

Why The Owner chose Traverse City

We love the Rennie Lake area with all the state land, Ranch Rudolf, and great hiking/biking trails. The wildlife in the area is varied and extensive.

What makes this cottage unique

Explore the great trails,lakes, and the Boardman river while visiting. We provide Mtn. bikes and boats for your use. We supply firewood for your nightly campfires on the beach.Watch for Loons, Deer, and other wildlife from the property.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Rennie Lake Ranch ia a two acre wooded site nesteled on a quiet cove of Rennie Lake. Lots of state land is right next door for hiking,biking, and exploring. The cabins are recently remodeled,nicely decorated, and clean. We have had positive feedback from our guests, and will work with you to provide a great experience for you and your family.
Jan 2007
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.3
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 7 reviews
business
Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58060vb
-(231) 357-1426
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Indiana, USA
5

Excellent vacation

  • 5 of 5
Our family of middle aged parents, grown kids and their children enjoyed an excellent vacation at this location. The kids loved fishing and catching frogs, being on the boat and interacting with nature around the cabins. We took a long hike on trails not far away. The drive into "town" was very reasonable, but we loved being able to cook our own meals if we wanted.
The owner was very attentive to any needs that we had and was very prompt about meeting them.
This was a very enjoyable setting, and we highly recommend it!
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58060vb
-(231) 357-1426
Traverse City Northern Michigan
1

Greatly unimpressed....

  • 1 of 5
We had to find a last minute place to stay for two nights -- and while the owner seemed to be very flexible with our plight, in hindsight they charged an outrageous amount for the two nights. The original conversation included justifications about the cost due to the location and all the additional amenities (pontoon boat, mountain bikes -- all included for our use.) This seemed to be ideal, but it turned ugly very quick! The pontoon boat had a tiny, tiny engine -- typically used for small fishing boats - we were amazed it could even move the pontoon! The mountain bikes really were ONE mountain bike - as there was a chain missing or broken on one of the bikes -- not much fun biking alone. So we spent time on the beach which was very nice. The house itself also had several problems. The front bedroom had a queen bed that was not only sitting on a broken box spring and frame, but felt like it was filled with foil! The bed had a definite valley that was nearly inescapable! So now, for our group of 6, we have one queen bedroom, 2 TINY futons in the living and a larger futon on the porch (note this cottage only has 2 bedrooms – not 3 as listed on their description.) The living room futons are not large enough for an adult to sleep – may be small adults or kids but beware the metal bar! I spent one night sleeping in a chair, that was just plain awful.

The other glaring problem was the lack of cleanliness. We had to wait to check in until after 3 pm, because they were still cleaning. I'm not really sure what they cleaned as there was urine around the base of the toilet that had obviously been there quite awhile, the walls, and sides of vanity were dirty and dusty. The kitchen stove was not usable -- something had been burnt to pieces in it -- and the smell was horrific. There were ants all over the counters, so we had to store everything in the frig. And lastly, when we arrived the doors and windows were all open -- I thought it was odd, until we locked up the place and left for a few hours. Upon our return, the cottage smelled musty and a definite hint of urine. Renter Beware!
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow. In 8 years of renting this cabin we have never, ever had any renters that were totally misleading until now. Go check all the reviews we have ever had and see what they say. We are totally full every year, would people keep coming back if these comments were true? First of all, we never had one complaint or call to fix, or change anything during their stay. The pontoon Boat is included for FREE. Used pontoon boats with smaller motors still rent for $150-$175+/day. Mountain bikes we provide for FREE, they rent for $50+/day.(one did have the chain partially off and took about a 1 minute fix, but no call to us. We have three bedrooms (two large and one smaller one with a closet and a queen size futon) The two smaller futons are brand new this year so maybe they are a little bit to firm? The queen bed they mentioned had the roller come out of one leg, so it probably would be totally wierd sleeping on it (10 seconds to fix if they would have called me) The comment on cleanliness is completely false. My wife and I and two house cleaners spend 2 hours cleaning this cottage every week. The only comment that could possibly be true is that the oven looks dirty inside because the the auto-cleaner is broken and hand cleaning still leaves the the burnt in stains. We always leave the windows open in the summer when it is 80 degrees out. And yes, if you close up all the windows in an older cottage it will smell a little musty (not urine) like the older basement that it has. (that is common sense) Now lets get real about the price. We charge $295/night for our 3 bedroom cottage, boats, bikes, etc... and Motel rooms in Traverse City, not on the water charge $219, and on the water go up to $329 + per night for just a room with 2 beds. So you be the judge. Does our older cottage have a few problems, sure, just like any others in this price range, ( and they don't include a pontoon boat) but to list all these things and never call even once to give a chance to address any of these issues ? I rest my case. Come on up and enjoy Rennie Lake Ranch like hundreds of others have and see for yourself. We hope to host your stay sometime.
Bill Bassett
business
Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58060vb
-(231) 357-1426
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Traverse City
4

Would have loved to stay longer

  • 4 of 5
My visit was very enjoyable but too short. Found the little cottage2 to be quaint and comfortable with a great kitchen and relaxing outside deck. Perfect size for one or two. The larger cottage makes for the perfect northern MI get a way, having a rustic cabin feeling including beautiful fireplace, but all the amenities you could need. Enjoyed the private rural waterfront setting with lots of wildlife, but still not too far from Traverse City. If had more time, would have gone horseback riding at Ranch Rudolph. Owners were very friendy and accommodating.
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58060vb
-(231) 357-1426
Traverse City Northern Michigan
8425 S. Forest Court Rd; TC
4

Comfortable cottage atmosphere in beautiful outdoor location

  • 4 of 5
My stay at this location, since early September 2011, was perfectly enjoyable. The structure itself is not new, so don't approach this rental with "modern" expectations. Rather, it is blessed with rustic charm, the type that you might find in a mountain getaway or, as here, a "remote" lakeside vacation cottage. The rental I had, the larger structure of two on the property, was warm, comfortable and blessed with phenominal views of beautiful Rennie Lake (which is approachable by French doors and a patio in the back that descend to a dock that the owner/landlord provides with boating and fishing gear). The owner provides dish t.v., and internet connections are available (bring your cell phones if needed, however, because ATT and Charter haven't yet found it cost effective to bring land lines and cable to this particular spot on the map where its available all around). My only "negatives": the mattresses are getting a bit old and could be replaced; and the bathroom plumbing, while operational, could use a little updating.

One particularly good aspect of this rental: the nowner/landlord is immediately responsive if any problems ever arise. During the winter, there were the expected electrical outages and heating problems that Bill immediately (same day) had someone attend to if he was not able to do so himself. During warmer months, the central heating/cooling system was a blessing. PLUS, you'll never see the landlord unless you want to . . . he leaves you alone.

Also, great neighbors. All in all, a good place to be. Oh, the location is about 8 miles from downtown Traverse City on paved roads.
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58060vb
-(231) 357-1426
Traverse City Northern Michigan
midland, mi
5

Satisfied customer

  • 5 of 5
I have only positive comments about my stay at at this property. It is a very quiet relaxing area. Everyday you see some kind of wildlife it may be deer, turkey, geese, ducks, turtles, ducks, frogs, cardinals etc. You can relax with a cup of coffee down by the lake, or watch the lake from the dining room table. The house is fully furnished also has a gas grill outside to use. You can get to the lake by going out the patio door and walking down to the lake thru the back yard. There are "water toys" provided for you to use when you rent the cabins. A wonderful fire pit down by the lake to roast your favorite foods or just relax by. The owners have been very pleasant if any needs would arise. If your summer weather would turn rainy there is a dish tv for you to use. Overall this has been a very enjoyable experience. All of the pictures on the internet are truly accurate depicting both cabins. The cabins are very clean and well maintained as is the yards.
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Enjoy Nature and Rennie Lake Pontoon Boating on Us.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p58060vb
-(231) 357-1426
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Grosse Ile, Mi 48138
1

Bees galore and much more...

  • 1 of 5
Our family stayed at this property the week of August 20th. I'm sorry to be leaving this negative review, but feel we would be remiss if we didn't alert others to some of the issues we encountered. I suppose everyone has their own idea about such things as nicely decorated, clean and recently remodeled, but in our collective opinion, this place didn’t live up to any of those statements. Upon arrival, in the larger of the 2 cottages, fans were blowing to assist in drying the carpets that had just been cleaned. Whatever odor the cleaning of the carpets was supposed to mask, it didn’t work. Also, this cottage said it was a 3 bedroom, but actually, it was a 2 bedroom with a futon set-up in a closed in porch area that had no closet and very little privacy. The second cottage offered its own set of problems. First of all, you had to enter the cottage by hurrying through the door so you could avoid the angry bees. We bought spray, but we were never able to get rid of the bees, whose nest wasn’t visible. Yes, several of us were stung, including me, and it hurt like the dickens. Secondly, this cottages said it had two pull out beds, which it did, but there was only room to pull out one at a time, so unless you sleep in shifts, you don’t get the benefit of the second pullout. The other huge disappointment was that you couldn’t really swim in the lake. The kids tried, but upon entering the water, they sank to their waists in muck. There was a nice deck for grilling and eating on, but guess what…more bees. The door to the main cottage wouldn’t lock, so that was a safety issue and the windows operated poorly and the screens had numerous holes, which allowed in a lot of insects and bees. In all honesty, we didn’t complain to the owner because we figured we wouldn’t be able to locate another place to stay, and the issues we had couldn’t be easily fixed. We’ve rented many times from VRBO and have always been happy, until now.
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take pride in our rental and feel badly about the poor review. We took immediate steps to take care of the Bee's nest once we knew about it.( We wish they would have called right away and we could have avoided the whole issue if we would have known) The carpets were professionally cleaned and deodorized by Stanley Steamer saturday am because the previous week renters had trashed them badly. The fans were left on and we told the renters about this and they said it wouldn't be a problem. We had to have them cleaned, we would not have new renters come in to dirty carpets. We were surprised this was an issue (it cost $200 and many owners might have waited another week to the end of the season before having them cleaned)The sliding door lock sometimes does not latch well so, like many others, have a wood bar for the track lock. The lake bottom does get soft as you go out so we provide paddle boards and a floating swim raft out in deeper water for swimming and diving off.We have had many repeat visitors over the years and mostly positive comments up to this point.
We hope to host your stay in the future.
The Bassett's
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Traverse City

Casino Gambling, Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore, Wineries, Interlochen Music Camp, Thousands of acres of state land right next door with hiking trails, biking, and RV trails, Ranch Rudolf is close by with horseback riding, and canoe/kayack rentals on the Boardman River, Close to Traverse City and Grand Traverse Bay.Traverse City has miles of sandy beaches and lots of nightlife as well. Sightseeing, wine tours, Sleeping Bear National Lakeshore are all favorite activities.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Traverse City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
Jun 14 - Aug 30
7 nights
$1,995
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning Fee $150
Pontoon Boat Fee $100
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes Pay by check or money order. 50% with deposit with balance due two weeks prior to arrival.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Queen size Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (4) We have two futons in the large cabin and two smaller sofa sleepers in the smaller cabin.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Dish Internet/WiFi, Direct TV,Pontoon Boat, Paddle Boat, paddle boards, and Dock Provided. Fire pit on the beach stocked with firewood for your nightly campfires.Good fishing, and wildlife all around the area.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,400 - $1,971 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,500 - $5,500 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 14
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 15

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote