Tania Dominey

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tania Dominey

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SAANEN

Les Alleuds Cottage Rental Photos and Description

La Chèvrerie, 3 self-catering Gites, sleep between 4/6 people with games room

3 self-catering Gites. Our Gites are situated in a small hamlet in Les Alleuds in the Charente-Poitou region very close to the historical town of Melle. They were Farm Gites for the goat farm which was originally on site. With ancient exposed stone walls and wooden beams, our cottages provide modern convenience and old world charm.

Attractions: In the Historic Town of Melle which is only 15 minutes drive away, there are Mines d'Argent (Silver Mines), Deux Arboretums ( There are 2 walks through the town ), Roman Monuments and 3 roman Churches for you to explore. At Chauvigny an hour away there is a Medieval City and a truly unique spectacle of amazing birds of prey from all corners of the earth; Les Géants du Ciel. If you would like to swim in the local Lakes there is Lambon 40 minutes away and St Macoux which is 20 minutes with lifeguards or there are outdoor Swimming Pools at Melle, Sauzé-Vaussais or Lezay all 15 minutes away. For the children La Vallee des Singes (Monkey Valley) and L'ile aux Serpents (Snake Island) are 40 minutes away. The canal system of the Venise-Verte makes a lovely day out, just an hour away, where you can punt or just walk.

More to do: A must for the adults is a visit to Cognac where you can go on a guided tour and taste the local Brandy or just explore the lovely town with your children. The theme park of Futuroscope at Poitiers gives a whole new perspective on the Cinema. Don't leave before the night time show! All the local Towns have a market on different days of the week where you can savour the French way of life.

Guest Book:

More Details

Details for Saanen 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6, 1 Bathroom

This cottage is suitable for a large family (2 Adults and up to 4 children) with is own front door, private patio and barbeque area. Full of character with original stone walls and beams. Upstairs 1 double bedroom and 2 twin bedrooms with fitted wardrobes and cupboards and a shower room. Downstairs a French TV and DVD player a lovely wood burning stove and a well equipped kitchen. All linen and towels are provided for our guests. Large garden, Games room with table football and English TV, there is a laundry room and a wet room with bath if required for young children. Baby equipment available on request. Outside there is a 10m X 5m in -ground Heated Swimming Pool (Heated from May until September) with its own toilet and shower and table-tennis for everyone to use.
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Tania Dominey

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2006
Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 14 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Saanen
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
business
Saanen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56614?uni_id=55108
+33 0549077978
Les Alleuds Deux-Sevres
5

Brilliant

  • 5 of 5
Having booked a cottage, we were a little worried having read the review from a previous guest. All our concerns were unfounded! We had a fabulous week despite of the weather not being good. We found our hosts, Mike and Tania, friendly, helpful and welcoming, nothing was too much for them. Their children were equally so when they were home. The cottage and facilities were excellent, and the area lovely. Hope to come back soon when the weather is better!! Thank you Mike and Tania for allowing us to share your home.
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Saanen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56614?uni_id=55108
+33 0549077978
Les Alleuds Deux-Sevres
Bridgwater,Somerset
5

Not disappointed by our return

  • 5 of 5
Well in need of a serious relax and revitalise we came back to stay with Mike and Tania. We were not disappointed the cottage continues to be home from home with pretty much every thing you can think of provided. The very hot weather in our first week meant the the pool was essential to cool off. We cycled and enjoyed the rolling landscape and the odd cheeky beer :)
Really enjoyed the chance to unwind in a quiet rural part of France and left feeling energised and relaxed.
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Saanen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56614?uni_id=55108
+33 0549077978
Les Alleuds Deux-Sevres
Harpenden
1

Disappointing Summer holiday

  • 1 of 5
We arrived at the property at about 7pm on Saturday night, for a 2 week holiday, tired from our journey. Tania met us at the gate and proceeded to outline the rules as we walked to the gite.
Here are some positives, the property and garden was very clean and in good condition. However this was offset by its size. An estate agent might describe it as a “bijou clever conversion”. I would describe it as compact and efficiently designed.
The ceiling downstairs is very low, but it is the upstairs that is particularly challenging for anyone over 5 foot 9. Beams criss-cross the rooms such that even children have to be careful not to bang their head. There is 1 tiny window in each room. In 38 degree heat, it was so stuffy I didn’t manage to get a single good night’s sleep – the latter was compounded by incredibly uncomfortable beds where springs featured more than one would like.
The kitchen lacks a dishwasher, microwave and washing machine. The knives are all blunt and the kitchenware basic and cheap. We were offered a knife sharpener.
The guest guide book compounded our initial concern. It comprised rules/regulations, an inventory and 1 page on the local markets! A few leaflets were bundled carelessly beneath the book.
The particulars highlight that the pool is heated and secured by a fence – this was an important part of my decision as I have an adventurous 2 year old. Unfortunately the heating was never used. Further the pool was only accessible for 7 hours each day (unless you were family or friends). Sun tan lotion had to be applied an hour before. Further we were told that children could not jump into the pool, or use inflatables because of a hosepipe ban – this turned out to be untrue. Further the gate was left open during these times so we had to keep a watchful eye on our son.
Another aspect of the particulars that caught my attention was access to animals. On our first day we asked Tania about them. They had 3 caged rabbits in the play area but she didn’t mention the chickens, geese and other animals that featured in the particulars.
The proximity to the owners and layout made us feel like we were being monitored.
We found the guest book confusing as most of the reviews were positive. We concluded that M&T are reluctant hosts to people that they don't know. We found them at best unfriendly and, at worst, rude.
In the hope I would get my deposit back, I said that we had to leave early for work. In left for another another gite.
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately this review we presume has been written because we with held their caution as we discovered when they had left that there were two beds wet also the bedding, one the mattresses we had to replace. All of our other reviews for this gite cannot all be wrong and we can't please everybody.
business
Saanen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56614?uni_id=55108
+33 0549077978
Les Alleuds Deux-Sevres
4

Les Alleuds- Poitevine

  • 4 of 5
My family & I spent a week in the Poitevine property for the last week of August 2012. We had an enjoyable week using the property as a base to visit La Rochelle, ILe de Re and other local attractions. The property is in a great location and has plenty of facilities to keep everyone occupied with the play area and the animals an constant source of interest. The local silver mines guided tours are also well worth a visit.
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Saanen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56614?uni_id=55108
+33 0549077978
Les Alleuds Deux-Sevres
4

Beautiful & peaceful holiday

Beautiful & peaceful holiday
  • 4 of 5
We had a great restful week, c/o of Tania. The weather was fantastic so the girls spent most days in and out of the pool. The accommodation was just right, nice and clean - the original beams upstairs were beautiful until you bumped your head on them! We had everything we needed in the gite and Tania was on hand if we wanted anything else. I liked the fact we were able to order croissants for the morning so could get up and enjoy our holiday at a leisurely pace.

The girls loved the pool, the table tennis and the animals and we liked the quiet location and the sunshine! Thanks
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Saanen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p56614?uni_id=55108
+33 0549077978
Les Alleuds Deux-Sevres
5

Beautiful Saanen

  • 5 of 5
We have just returned from a two week stay at Saanen Gite where we have had a very relaxing holiday. Mike and Tania gave us a warm welcome on arrival, were attentive during our stay and had a good knowledge of the local area. The gite was spotlessly clean, well equipped and finished to a high standard with original stone walls and beams. It was spacious enough for a family of six, child friendly with its play park, games room, large lawn and fenced off swimming pool. Although in a beautiful rural setting, there are several towns with local boulangeries and supermarkets close by. We also enjoyed several day trips to La Rochelle, Niort and Confolens. La Chevrerie is a real credit to the hard work of Mike and Tania and we would recommend it for a relaxing family holiday.
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
61 Kilometres
Poitiers
Nearest Ferry
250 Kilometres
St Malo
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
St Saviol
Nearest Motorway
14 Kilometres
Les Maisons Blanches
Nearest Beach
100 Kilometres
La Rochelle
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Les Routiers, Chaignepain
Nearest Restaurant
500 Metres
Les Routiers, Chaignepain
Car: necessary

The property is situated in a small hamlet between Sauzé-Vaussais and the historic town of Melle, an hour from La Rochelle, Poitiers and Angouleme.

Chaignepain is ideal for cycling and walking along meandering lanes past small vineyards, fields of sunflowers and maize, taking in panoramic views of the region. The way of life in this area is so rural and unhurried that it gives the impression of going back through time. The total absence of any light pollution, means that at night you can look up to an astonishingly crisp and clear sky and enjoy a glorious display of stars. Chaignepain is very well placed for visits to Cognac, La Rochelle, Ile de Re, Chauvigny, Venise-verte, Futuroscope at Poitiers and the local historic town of Melle. We benefit from living in the region that is recognised as the 2nd sunniest in France.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Les Alleuds Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Reduced again
Aug 23 2014 - Sep 6 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£625
 
 
Rate
Sep 7 2014 - Oct 24 2014
2 night minimum stay
£70
£400
 
 
Early season
Mar 27 2015 - May 1 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£75
£450
 
 
standard rate
May 2 2015 - May 29 2015
2 night minimum stay
£85
£550
 
 
Mid season
May 30 2015 - Jul 17 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£90
£650
 
 
High Season
Jul 18 2015 - Aug 28 2015
7 night minimum stay
£725
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit £250
Notes In winter there is a small charge for heating and logs.


In April/May/June/September and October we are flexible on changeover day.
A deposit of 20% will be taken on booking and then the full balance paid at least 4 weeks before arrival with the security/damaged deposit of £250 ,the security/damage deposit will be refunded within 2 weeks after your stay if no breakages/damages.

Cleaning charge £50 paid with balance and returned if the Gite is left in a reasonable condition.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Les Alleuds Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 84 m²
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Holiday Resort
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Sunbed
  • Fireplace
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Wireless Internet
  • Toilet Paper
  • Parking Off Street
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Basic Soaps
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Oven ...
  • Microwave
  • Freezer
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Grill
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • With a shower enclosure and thermostatic shower and modern suite. a seperate wet room with a bath if required for young children.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • All bedrooms have fitted wardrobes and cupboards. Baby equipment on request.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Foosball
  • Ping Pong Table
Outside:
  • Child's Swing
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • water parks
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • walking
  • scenic drives
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
We have a secure play area with a play house and swings. Children can feed our chickens and rabbits under supervision. We also have a selection of bicycles for you to use.
Email Owner Contact Me