Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

NEW! KONA PALACE IN THE HEART OF HISTORIC CAPTAIN COOK ON NAPOOPOO RD.

Owner/Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Owner/Property Manager

Advertiser since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 27, 2014
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

NEW! KONA PALACE IN THE HEART OF HISTORIC CAPTAIN COOK ON NAPOOPOO RD.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description

Romantic Getaway, Views Koa, Mahogany 3 Kings, 1 Queen, 3 Bath

You may email me directly at conevacationhome@gmail.com or call 303-946-3010.

3 bedroom guest house also available for large groups. Two queens and a full so sleeps 6 on beds.

You can check in and/or check out on a calendar day that half full.

We've been renting our vacation homes for 9 years and this is our newest. We are always open to any suggestions or ideas.

Home facts: 3 memory foam king beds, one plush queen bed. 3 baths -master has double shower, huge lanai, 180 degree views of the ocean. Full slab granite kitchen, ss high end appliances. High speed internet, directv, LED tv, 1 mile to the ocean, diving, snorkeling with the dolphins, whales. 1.5 acres of coffee, banana, papaya, avocado and more. Built in 2008 with no detail spared.

The Area: The luxurious Kona palace is located at 750 feet above sea level in

the beautiful Kealakakua Bay where the whales give birth and the

dolphins sleep and play. The estate sits on 1-1/2 acres where you

will enjoy privacy, peace and the sound of cardinals singing.

The palace is less than 10 minutes from the most famous and best

preserved City of Refuge on the island. A visit there will give you

insight into the fascinating ancient Polynesian history and the place

where the royalty of old made their home. You are also 5 minutes away

from the botanical gardens where you can view the ancient petroglyphs

or walk in the historical park where Captain Cook first landed on the

Island and eventually lost his life. You are also just minutes from

Kona coffee farm tours where you can taste the smoothest coffee in the

world.

Return home in the evening to your private palace with a 20 foot

vaulted ceiling that contains a cupola for excellent

ventilation. Pick avocados, papayas and bananas on the property and

make yourself a refreshing smoothie or go enjoy the many excellent

restaurants including Kalama's just a half mile away. Visit the

farmers market on Sunday where you can enjoy live music, try the

tropical foods, and buy local arts and crafts.

My husband and I have been doing vacation rental for 8 years and

we make sure the beds are comfortable and that you have what you need

to make your stay a positive and pleasurable experience.

New Introductory Rates.

€ Ž

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Owner/Property Manager (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2005
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish

About Owner/Property Manager

From Omaha, Nebraska and moved to Evergreen, Colorado. Eventually, we will land in Hawaii. We were the first in Nebraska and Evergreen but not the first ones here!

Owner/Property Manager purchased this house in 2014

Why Owner/Property Manager chose Captain Cook

I looked at many properties and waited until the perfect one came along and this is it. No power lines, no neighbours, no noise, VIEWS. Easy & free access to the ocean and beach.

What makes this house unique

So much to do on the big island. Everything is more reasonable too. Love the volcano, the coffee, the waterfalls, the history, and no hustle and bustle. Like us, after visiting you might just fall in love with the island.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
NEW! Kona Palace In The Heart Of Historic Captain Cook on Napoopoo Rd.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
business
NEW! Kona Palace In The Heart Of Historic Captain Cook on Napoopoo Rd.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p563443vb
-(303) 946-3010 Colorado & Nebraska
Captain Cook Kona Coast
california
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5
We had a lovely stay at the Kona Palace. The house had a very beautiful expansive view of the ocean from the kitchen, master bedroom and balcony. If you enjoy cooking your own meals, the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you could think of. A few ants yes, but that’s a small price to pay living in the tropics. Put your food away and it’s not a problem. It’s always great to have a washer and dryer when on vacation, especially some nice front loading types. The Master Bathroom was huge and it had a very beautiful shower. Plenty of linens/towels and even a couple of beach towels were a plus. We even picked a couple of papayas near the house which were very scrumptious after ripening in a few days. The location was great for us since we love to snorkel at the famous “two steps” near the Place of Refuge, which is ten minutes from the house. It has some of the best snorkeling in Hawaii with plenty of fish and beautiful coral. Also nearby is Kealakekua Bay which also has some great snorkeling. We used the excellent services of Adventures in Paradise too kayak out into the bay and to Captain Cook’s monument for some excellent snorkeling. We passed a few schools of spinner dolphins that were jumping out of the water. Most nights not having A/C was fine, although the last day there the winds had stopped and it was a bit uncomfortable, but not bad. Internet access was a major plus. The owners were vice pleasant to deal with over the phone and we received our full deposit returned in just a week afterwards. As others had mentioned, the driveway does take some time to get used to and I would not want my first attempt in the dark, but it does lead you to paradise!
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Wayne,
Great attitude Wayne. Glad to hear from an experienced traveler. Also glad you enjoyed my special place. Cant wait to visit next month and plant more fruit trees. Cant wait for your return trip!
Rebecca
business
NEW! Kona Palace In The Heart Of Historic Captain Cook on Napoopoo Rd.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p563443vb
-(303) 946-3010 Colorado & Nebraska
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Souix Falls, SD
5

Far exceeded expectations!!

  • 5 of 5
We recently went to Kona/Captain Cook for a conference. We were planning on staying at a hotel, but we changed a few days before to this posh vacation rental! The view and accommodations were exceptional. The pictures here don't really do the place justice. I was stoked to go to the Big Island for the first time. Pros: the view, distance from the tourist trap (it's further south), private glass railing lanai, luxe beds (my next bed will be memory foam), full kitchen, close proximity to the water, internet access and Direct TV. My only concern, as seconded by the other reviews here, was the driveway, but you get used to it. We had no issue with any bugs (all food sealed and dishes cleaned/in dishwasher), and the house was cool enough for me. Bottomline, I would definitely rent here again!
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We had just bombed it. Don't like to use a lot of chemicals but sometimes its necessary. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Hawaii is volcanic mountains so we're glad you enjoyed being on the mountainside. Come back soon!
business
NEW! Kona Palace In The Heart Of Historic Captain Cook on Napoopoo Rd.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p563443vb
-(303) 946-3010 Colorado & Nebraska
Captain Cook Kona Coast
3

Beautiful house, but misleading description

  • 3 of 5
I will start by saying the house is very beautiful, the floor plan is excellent and the view is great. However, the description in the listing is not accurate in my opinion. First, it stated there was air conditioning in the great room. There is no air conditioning and our first night there the fan in the great room and master bedroom did not work. It was a miserable hot night with little sleep. Second, if the property is 1.5 acres you can't tell because it is so overgrown and rocky. Don't expect to walk around and look at coffee, mango, avocado trees. You would need a machete for that. We also had a problem with ants in the kitchen and the driveway to the house is not for the faint of heart. It is shared with multiple houses, has a blind corner and is extremely steep so make sure your car has good brakes.
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is kept closed up to keep out bugs and dust and needs a few hours hours for breezes before bedtime. We were sorry that Rick had a problem with the fan and lost sleep and that the cleaner didn't catch this but we promptly fixed the fan issue the next day. Everyone should know that new homes are designed to take advantage of the trade winds. The gardener works hard to keep things up. We have over 1 acre groomed but not the lower part. Soon to be a coffee grove! You cannot leave food laying around or the ants will come. That's the tropics! We don't have any critters in Evergreen, CO - I will miss that. The guest house is above and the new home is below and the driveway is shared for 30 feet with only one other home. If it were the mainland suburbs, there would be 6 homes on the 1.5 acres.
business
NEW! Kona Palace In The Heart Of Historic Captain Cook on Napoopoo Rd.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p563443vb
-(303) 946-3010 Colorado & Nebraska
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Pinedale, AZ, USA
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5
We felt so fortunate to have found this beautiful home in Captain Cook. Anyone who stays is in for a treat. The craftsmanship and materials are exquisite, as are the lovely furnishings and the wonderful lanai with an ocean view. As a bonus, the owners are terrific folks. Only problem--you may want to go home and remodel! To answer VRBO questions: Yes, the photos are accurate, the property is well-maintained, and I would absolutely recommend it. The Place of Refuge just south is very interesting, and our grown children loved the catamaran jaunt to Captain Cook Monument just down the road complete with snorkeling. Mahalo for the lovely stay.
  • Submitted: May 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You guys were the best! It brings me special joy when special people visit. So glad you enjoyed the area and the home. Maybe you can make it a yearly tradition! ;-)
business
NEW! Kona Palace In The Heart Of Historic Captain Cook on Napoopoo Rd.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p563443vb
-(303) 946-3010 Colorado & Nebraska
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
This was a beautiful home. Great views and awesome sunsets. The location is great for a home base to explore the island. It has high end finishes, is very clean and very well equipped. Air conditioning is not needed with ceiling fans and cool breezes. Direct tv and high speed internet was a bonus. I would also say that the driveway is adventurous the first time.

There were 4 adults in our party and it was very comfortable. We would definitely come here again. The owner was very pleasant to work with.
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Sandi, You were top notch! Thanks so much for visiting and I do hope you make it back. I think the pool suggestion is a great one. I'm thinking outside bedroom two and the laundry room so you can watch the sunset I also like your suggestion to rent an SUV or Jeep when you come to the island. Take care!
business
NEW! Kona Palace In The Heart Of Historic Captain Cook on Napoopoo Rd.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p563443vb
-(303) 946-3010 Colorado & Nebraska
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Austin, Texas
5

Absolute Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
Aloha, my girlfriend and I stayed at the house for a weekend getaway in March 2014 and enjoyed it very much. The fantastic view is why we chose this one over the others. We went snorkeling at the nearby bay, which is nearby the Captain Cook monument. The next day we went hiking at the Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park, which is about an hour's drive.
The house was very well laid out, and the beds were awesome. There was speedy Wi-Fi and DirectTV also. The house was very clean. There was a well equipped kitchen with new appliances, but we only ate breakfast at the house. Our only complaint would be that the driveway is interesting the first time down, but all the driveways in the area seem to be like that.
TL;DR: The house was an ideal home base for exploring the Big Island, and we will be booking there again soon.
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed it and we passed our first test. Whew! I hope you can come back and stay longer. I'll have more gear for you then.

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
KOA
Nearest Train
Tonka
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 11
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Several
Car: recommended

Photos

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $170 Per night

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$170
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Weekly Cleaning Fee $70 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Fees: Showings are $40, Invoices or rental agreements are $10. New Years, July 4th, Thanksgiving & Christmas are 7 night minimum. Remaining federal holidays are 3 night minimum. July 4th, Christmas & New Years are +30/nt. Rates for all my properties are based on double occupancy. 2 singles that want 2 bedrooms go with the 3 person rate, 3 singles go with the 5 person rate, etc.
Deposit is due to reserve the calendar. Rent is due two months before arrival or when booking if less than two months before arrival.

Cancellation fee is $80 until two months before arrival, then 1/2 the reservation until one month before arrival the the full reservation is at risk. Rebooked nights are always refunded in full.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Amenities

Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2520 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Monument View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Ohana en-suite bath
  • Master has a double shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
  • King, King, Queen, (California King in Ohana) All 3 kings are deluxe Simmons Comforpedic memory foam mattresses. Two queen aero beds can be made available for larger groups.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Other Vacation Properties

  • 4 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 16
  • 4 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$275 - $300 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote