Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Come and see Hawaii's Newest Lava Flow

Nestor Nicolas

Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, Tagalog
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Nestor Nicolas

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Tagalog
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Come and see Hawaii's Newest Lava Flow

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Pahoa House Rental Photos and Description

Charming, Quiet and Private 2 bedroom, 2 bath home

Stay in this Charming, Quiet & Private, 2 Bed/2 Bath Home Near Beaches and Adventure!

This lovely 2 bedroom/ 2 bath home is ready for you and your family! Recently remodeled for your enjoyment, you will love the fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops, full range stove, microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, & toaster. Hardwood floors run throughout the entire home beneath exposed, vaulted wood ceilings! Snuggle up in clean and cozy queen size beds or hang out on the front porch in perfect temperatures and admire native Hawaiian rainforest trees and jungle canopy. Featuring wireless internet, telephone & cable TV, live like a local while visiting the exotic paradise of your dreams!

Located on a quiet street in the Nanawale subdivision near the historical Lava Tree Park, the famous Hot Ponds of Ahalanui, Kehena Beach, and Isaac Hale Beach Parks! Explore the historic town Pahoa (5 min.), explore the active volcano, Kilauea, (30 min.), or venture into Hilo Town (25 min. drive).

Wireless internet, telephone, & cable TV are all included.

Disclosure: Rates: $65.00 per night accommodates 2, $75.00 for 3 people, $100 for 4 people and $118.00 per night for up to 6 people plus tax & cleaning fee. ($75.00 one time fee)

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Nestor Nicolas (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, Tagalog
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2015

About Nestor Nicolas

Born and raised in PI, I moved to Guam in 1989 and met my wife Lucena. We moved to the island of Lanai for a time and then in 2005, my family and I relocated to the East side of the big island to near our grandchildren. I love to travel, play poker, and meet people from around the world!

Nestor Nicolas purchased this house in 2004

Why Nestor Nicolas chose Pahoa

We chose and bought this property for the simple pleasure of fresh, spring fed county water. (Most subdivisions are still on catchment water tank systems). We were also enchanted by the openess that the vaulted ceilings create, as well as the location of home. I mean who wouldn't want to live on Dolphin Street!

What makes this house unique

County water, high speed internet service, line phone, cable television and close to the entrance of Nanawale Subdivision, nice quite street. House has been recently upgraded with granite tops, vessel sinks, and wood flooring. The outside living space consist of a picnic table and benches, a place to drink your coffee in the morning and when in season pick avocados from tress.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Come and see Hawaii's Newest Lava Flow
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
Tubac Arizona
5

Very nice, thank you

  • 5 of 5

This house is clean, comfortable and provided all the necessities. Centrally located in the Puna district, it is close to to Pahoa for groceries,gas, etc., and not far from all the other areas you might want to see on this part of the island. I do recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. You and Your family have been such a delight to have as our guest. We hesitated to let you rent our home knowing that you had two big dogs. Our concern was unwarranted because the unit was left spin and spam... What a pleasant surprise not to have dog hair and unit smelling like a wet dog. Because of our experience with you, we will certainly keep our mind open when other guest ask us if we allow dogs... Thank you again for choosing our vacation rental. Till we meet again.. take care...
Morgan Hill, CA
5

Real Hawaii

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay. The place was nice and clean and it had everything we needed. Plenty of beds for everyone. Our children could run and play outside, watch tv, or use the Internet which is much better than hotels at the end of the day. The kids didn't want to leave. We saved a lot of money making our own food and ate better having a kitchen. The jungle setting was amazing. Beautiful ferns right outside our windows. Tide pools,fishing, surfing, warm ponds just down the road. 5 minutes to a cute old town with stores and some really good restaurants. My husband could get his prescriptions refilled at longs which was helpful. So many things on this island WOW. Lastly, the volcano. How many people can say they stayed so close to a live volcano. That's just cool. The people's spirit and culture here should be experienced if you want to learn about aloha and the real Hawaii. We didn't want to leave.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a positive review. It was a great pleasure having you, husband and 2 boys.. I hope that you will always think of this as your second home...
5

Very nice and reasonably priced!

  • 5 of 5

Lucena and Nestor made us feel like family. The house is nestled away in a rainforest like setting and stays very cool. It is clean, functional, and very nice. Has everything you need to feel right at home. Enjoyed our stay and our new Ohanas!

Mahalo.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marvin and his lovely family has been a dream come true guest. They have left my unit clean as can be. We truly enjoy meeting this lovely family and happy that they too have decided to call Hawaii home. We are looking forward to having our paths cross again.
Burgettstown, PA
4

Quiet, Ideal for two Couples, Centrally Located, Economical

  • 4 of 5

We chose this rental because it was central to the area of Hawaii that we wanted to evaluate to purchase a bit of land. Additionally it was my brother and his girlfriend's first visit to Hawaii, and they wanted to use it as a hub to do a bit of vacationing.

While my girlfriend and I had vacationed several times in the Kona area, this was our first month's stay on the Hilo side. I must say, the best part was meeting and talking to the people in the Pahoa area. Everyone was so friendly, quick to welcome, and genuine. Everyone seems to have a story and we exchanged quite a few with the local population. We felt like the Hilo side of the island was more like the "real" Hawaii. It was like stepping back into the 1960's, everyone made us feel like it was our home too.

I first thought it would rain a lot in the Pahoa area, but typically it rained only during the night and the days were very pleasant and sunny. Not too hot during the day, and not too humid during the night. Very comfortable, so no air conditioning was required..

While using the rental as a hub, we did do all the day travel trips around the Island, from Kona to points north and south. My brother and his girlfriend enjoyed every minute, from seeking out the Black Sands beach, to diner at the Hilton in Waikoloa, to seeing the lava flows at Kalapana and Lava Tree Park, to exploring along Saddle Rd and the Hamakua coast.

We found the rental to be an ideal spot to return home to after traveling about the island and returning home from evaluating property. The picnic table was our favorite congregation spot, and the outdoor barbeque provided countless meals, from Ahi that a local resident caught to steak and vegetables that we purchased from the Malama Market and nearby farmers market.

The rental was equipped to provide the basics. With two bedrooms and two baths, it was ideal for two couples. Plenty of parking (free I might add), and the nights were void of traffic noises and full of nature's sounds. The owners were very pleasant and accommodating. and while they live locally, they respected our privacy. Our deposit was fully returned except for the cost of a few cups that we broke

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mike, Frankie and your lady loves will always be welcome back to our little Hale. You have been the perfect guest and now that I know what kind of beer you like, I be sure a case will be waiting for you on your next visit. Thank you again for being a great guest. Next time I let you break a few more cups and I promise it will be on me... Take care and aloha
Burgettstown, PA
4

Quiet, Ideal for Two Couples, Centrally Located, Economical

  • 4 of 5

We chose this rental because it was central to the area of Hawaii that we wanted to evaluate to purchase a bit of land. Additionally it was my brother and his girlfriend's first visit to Hawaii, and they wanted to use it as a hub to do a bit of vacationing.

While my girlfriend and I had vacationed several times in the Kona area, this was our first month's stay on the Hilo side. I must say, the best part was meeting and talking to the people in the Pahoa area. Everyone was so friendly, quick to welcome, and genuine. Everyone seems to have a story and we exchanged quite a few with the local population. We felt like the Hilo side of the island was more like the "real" Hawaii. It was like stepping back into the 1960's, everyone made us feel like it was our home too.

I first thought it would rain a lot in the Pahoa area, but typically it rained only during the night and the days were very pleasant and sunny. Not too hot during the day, and not too humid during the night. Very comfortable, so no air conditioning was required..

While using the rental as a hub, we did do all the day travel trips around the Island, from Kona to points north and south. My brother and his girlfriend enjoyed every minute, from seeking out the Black Sands beach, to diner at the Hilton in Waikoloa, to seeing the lava flows at Kalapana and Lava Tree Park, to exploring along Saddle Rd and the Hamakua coast.

We found the rental to be an ideal spot to return home to after traveling about the island and returning home from evaluating property. The picnic table was our favorite congregation spot, and the outdoor barbeque provided countless meals, from Ahi that a local resident caught to steak and vegetables that we purchased from the Malama Market and nearby farmers market.

The rental was equipped to provide the basics. With two bedrooms and two baths, it was ideal for two couples. Plenty of parking (free I might add), and the nights were void of traffic noises and full of nature's sounds. The owners were very pleasant and accommodating. and while they live locally, they respected our privacy.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Montgomery , Alabama
5

great stay quiet and peaceful enviorment

  • 5 of 5

I would stay here every time I go to the Big Island. It's a great location for business in east Hawaii and a nice scenic drive to west Hawaii for any tourist.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ashley and Sheena Thank you for your kind review. You two have been a dream guest. I have never had a guest as clean and polite as you two. Thank you again and you will always be welcome in both my homes. Vacation rental or personal home. LOL Lucena and Nestor Nicolas

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Hilo International
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
In Pahoa Town
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 130
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
In Pahoa Town
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Kapoho Tide Pool
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $65 Per night

Pahoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
July 4
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$65
$500
$1,550
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 25 2015 - Nov 29 2015
2 night minimum stay
$90
$600
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
Dec 24 2015 - Dec 27 2015
3 night minimum stay
$90
$650
$1,950
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$65
From
$65
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$550
$1,550
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $12 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
pet cleaning fee $75
one time cleaning fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $125
Tax Rate 13.5%
Notes No more then 6 people allowed during the Merrie monarch

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Pahoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms feature granite counter tops with a beautiful vessel sink & bamboo-like stream faucet! The main bathroom has a bathtub & the master bath has a stand-in shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • The master bedroom features a queen size bed, lamps, side table, and dresser. There is also a large walk in closet & master bath. The second bedroom has a double bed, lamps, side table, and a book shelf. The living room features a 2 big wooden couch that can be converted into a queen size and full size futon beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Enjoy one of the most charming neighborhoods in the District of Puna, Pahoa, Hawaii. Enjoy water from the faucet that's fresh and spring fed. Enjoy the experience of what it's like to actually live in the modern comforts of Hawaii nei!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$693 per week
3 - 5 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$450 per week
3 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$575 per week
2 night min stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote