BEAUTIFUL LEELANAU PENINSULA WATERFRONT COTTAGE

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps15
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Enter your email address to view the phone number

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEAUTIFUL LEELANAU PENINSULA WATERFRONT COTTAGE

Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 6 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 15)

Welcome to Sleeping Bear Cottage! Our cottage is located directly on Little Traverse Lake in the heart of Sleeping Bear National Shoreline.....VOTED MOST BEAUTIFUL PLACE IN AMERICA in 2011 by Good Morning America!!

Just across our scenic road you can hike or cross- country ski the trails to Good Harbor Bay on beautiful Lake Michigan. Built in 2005, the cottage is perfect for large family gatherings, or two-family vacations. It is a well appointed cottage located on Little Traverse Lake with private 110' shallow sandy waterfront with dock. There are 6 bedrooms and 4.5 bathrooms!

There are two master suites each with their own private bathroom. One is located on the main floor and has a king-size bed and private balcony overlooking the lake. The other master suite is located on the second floor and has a queen-size bed. This bedroom also faces the lake and has an adorable window seat where you can curl up and read a good book.

Other bedrooms on the second floor: bunk room with two bunk beds (4 twins in total); bunk room with lake views: 1 twin bed and 1 bunk bed (3 twins in total); and one other bedroom with a full-size bed and window seat overlooking the lake. These three bedrooms just mentioned share a hallway bathroom. We also provide a crib if you are traveling with an infant.

The lower level walkout has a private bedroom with a king-sized bed. Also in the lower level: full bathroom, game room, and the media room is furnished with a 65 inch TV! Kids love the lower level with the ping-pong table, pool table, air hockey, giant TV,and foosball table. The wall of windows and sliding glass door gives a great view of the lake.

In the summer, take your morning coffee out to the screened porch to enjoy the sunrise over the lake. Or relax in the hot tub. Bring your inland lake motor boat, fishing boat, kayak, canoe, sailboat, mountain bike, road bike, X-C skis, for a vacation you will remember forever.

Your rental will include use of our two kayaks. Please remember to wear a life jacket. You may also use our Sunfish Sailboats if you are an experienced sailor. New for 2013: A Stand Up Paddle Board! Rental also includes Michigan sales tax, linens, towels, and end-of-stay cleaning*.

Day trip to scenic locations, climb the famous Dune Climb, experience world-class golfing, resort town shopping, delicious restaurants, the sites of Traverse City, the sounds of Interlochen, casinos, or wine-taste at many local wineries. Downhill skiing available at the Homestead Resort (6 miles) or Crystal Mountain (40 miles) --rated #1 ski resort in the Midwest 2008!

*end-of-stay cleaning included in 3 night (or more) rental.

Keywords: Cottage

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Scott has been traveling to Leelanau Peninsula since he was a boy. He has always felt that the area has magical qualities. Both Scott and Kerry enjoy hiking the trails and biking the roads. They are constantly in awe of the scenery and views. They enjoy the secluded lakes, beaches, and dunes. They are inspired by the endless possibilities for fun and enjoyment in this area. When their children were small, they purchased vacant land on Little Traverse Lake hoping to someday build their dream cottage. This became a reality in 2005. They hope you also find the magic.....

Little Traverse Lake is right in the middle of the Sleeping Bear National Shoreline. Our cottage is located on the north side of the lake with the National Shoreline of Lake Michigan across the street...a short hike away. Our cottage is located halfway between the resort towns of Leland and Glen Arbor. We ride our bikes into either town to the coffee shop or bakery. Across the lake (on M22) there is a small store which stocks basic grocery needs and a local farm market. We hope someday that Sugar Loaf Mountain ski resort will open again. It is located right across the lake from us. Right now, it makes a great hike with unbelievable views of the majestic Lake Michigan, Lime Lake, and Little Traverse Lake. For downhill skiing, we travel to Crystal Mountain in Thompsonville (40 miles) or The Homestead Resort (7 miles).

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 18 reviews
business
Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55082vb
(989) 450-1890
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Chicago, IL
5

FOUR FAMILIES SHARE COTTAGE FOR A WEEK

  • 5 of 5
Every year, four siblings and their families, rent a house for a week and enjoy each other's company. This year, we rented your cottage and everyone (six adults and six boys 6-15 years old) agreed that it is the best place we've stayed at so far. The boys not only enjoyed the lake and the Lake Michigan beach, but also the number of games available in the rec room in the basement: the pool table, air hockey, and ping pong. The adults appreciated the space and the number of rooms available. We, especially, liked the screened in porch. Thank you for making this year's week together an enjoyable one.
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55082vb
(989) 450-1890
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Michigan
5

GAMPA

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at this Little Traverse Lake house for the past two summers. It easily handled our 7 adults and 5 children. The kids especially liked the game room and the hot tub. The lakefront was very kid friendly. We enjoyed the beach, walking/driving to the big beach, biking to neighboring towns, ice cream at Moomers, campfires at the beach, taking hikes at the many surrounding trails, and of course the sand dunes! Scott & Kerry were great to work with!
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55082vb
(989) 450-1890
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Royal Oak
5

LAKE HOUSE

  • 5 of 5
Beautiful house with nice furnishings! Great entertainment area downstairs. Stayed there in October and even rain couldn't take away from the amazing scenery. Will be back next year for sure!
Owner is very accommodating and responds very quickly to all needs.
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55082vb
(989) 450-1890
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Bay City, MI
5

AWESOME

  • 5 of 5
Wonderful of a stay as usual. That's why I keep going back : )
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55082vb
(989) 450-1890
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Fenton, MI
5

FAMILY RETREAT

  • 5 of 5
This was our third year here. Quiet and relaxing and we will return again next year.
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Leelanau Peninsula Waterfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p55082vb
(989) 450-1890
Traverse City Northern Michigan
Long Grove, IL
5

TWO THUMBS UP!

  • 5 of 5
The PROS: The house is beautiful. Love the sun room, kitchen and rec room. The kitchen has EVERYTHING you need to prepare meals - pots, pans, bowls,lots of plates and tableware. Also the kitchen and entire house is very clean and well cared for. The house fit 10 adults very comfortably. The lake is perfect -- quiet, great to boat and kayak on, good fishing off the pier, scenic.

The CONS: The beds are very hard and not comfortable. Bring your own pillows too.
-Window fans would have been nice to use for those hot days. Upstairs was very uncomfortable during the hot spell we had. We went out and bought fans so our guest could sleep.
- The shoreline/beach area was unusable. The grass was so long that we couldn't use the chaises or fire pit.

We rented a Pontoon boat for the week we were there. It was so much fun to spend time on the lake. It was well worth the $$$.

I would definitely come back. Everyone in our family had the most wonderful time.
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that we did not have enough floor fans for you. It was an extremely hot week and although we cannot control the weather...we should have had more fans. We had an unfortunate accident/incident at our cottage in the spring where all of our floor fans (and other items) were damaged...and although we got Sleeping Bear Cottage put back together...we forgot to replace the fans. We have since purchased 4 floor fans plus 5/6 bedrooms have ceiling fans.

Also, we'd like to apologize for the overgrown waterfront. No kidding--It was a mess! Our lawn service company went out of business without notifying us! We've since hired a new company and they seem to be doing a great job.

Regarding our beds being uncomfortable....It's really subjective as some people like them and comment on how comfortable they are!

Again, we apologize for the lack of fans and the condition of the waterfront. We are very glad you had a great week------the boat rental company called to tell me you were great customers and lots of fun!
We hope you consider coming back for a visit.

Map

Car: necessary

swimming on site, Nearby community tennis courts are located in Glen Arbor, canoeing, river tubing on the Platt or Crystal River, concerts (Interlochen), wine tasting, boat/jet ski rentals, dune climb nearby, Located in the heart of Sleeping Bear National Shoreline

Photos

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Traverse City Cottage Rental Rates

Notes

  • $700/night plus fees
  • US Dollars
  • Email for Details
  • 2014 Rates: $4900/week + $89 rental insurance*
  • Off Season Nightly Rate: $700/night--3 night minimum Maid Service Charge $250
  • $1000 refundable security deposit required
  • Includes linens, towels, sales-tax, 2 kayaks, 2 sunfish sailboats, hot tub, WIFI
  • *rental insurance is NON-REFUNDABLE

Amenities

Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Linens Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath 1st floor - toilet , shower
    Bathroom Lower Level - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Powder Room - toilet
    Master Bath 2nd floor - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 2 Lower Level - 1 king
    Master Bedroom 2nd floor - 1 queen , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed with double on bottom and twin on top
    Bedroom 6 - 2 bunk bed , 2 bunk beds with 4 twins total
    Master Bedroom First Floor - 1 king , Lakeside balcony
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Foosball
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Pool Table
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • restaurants
  • museums
  • churches
  • marina
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
  • boating
  • antiquing
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • shopping
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • tennis
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • golf
  • snowboarding
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • skiing
  • sailing
Notes:
65' Cable TV, Washer and Dryer in separate laundry room, 2 car attached Garage, game room in lower walk-out level with pool table, air-hockey, foosball, and pingpong table, board games, books, waterfront dock, 2 kayaks, 2 sunfish sailboats and life jackets, bon-fire area, 4-5 person hot-tub, All-sports lake, Bring your own jet ski or motorboat, No pets, Sorry no telephone service at this time: Bring your cellphone and charger. Cleaning fee included in rental charge with 3 night (or more) stay. Taxes included.

Other Vacation Properties

$2,200 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$7,700 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 24
$3,200 - $3,400 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 15