SANDY BEACH COTTAGE ON TORCH LAKE, IN ALDEN

Enter your travel dates

Owner

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SANDY BEACH COTTAGE ON TORCH LAKE, IN ALDEN

Alden House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

JUNE 1 - 21 STILL OPEN 2,000 PER WEEK

Our cottage has just received a major face lift. All of the carpet was removed exposing a wonderful old hardwood floor. We have put some new furniture in and redecorated the place with new curtains except for the main living room. Some of the changes can be seen in the pictures posted below.

This ideal location is only a brief walk from downtown Alden. The sandy beach slopes into the clear water gently, making this a great walk-in swim site with a raft out in front of the cottage. There is also a permanent anchor off the end of the dock for those who bring there boat (rentals are nearby & can be arranged with prior notice).

This single story cottage has a fully fenced back yard making it perfect for dogs or small kids. It comes with a fully equipped kitchen with a small island and an attached breakfast area as you walk in from the street. Through the kitchen opens in to a spacious living room with large picture windows facing the lake. With a TV and fireplace on one end of the room and a dining area on the other.

The living room opens out through French doors onto the screened in porch which provides an exceptional sunset view. There are two bedrooms one with a queen size bed and the other with two twin beds located on one side of the house sharing a full bath. The third bedroom is on the opposite side with a set of bunk beds and a full bath attached to it.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

My Grandfather bought the house in the 30's and it has been in our family ever since. Both my mother and I grew up here over the summers. Obviously I am slightly biased but it is truly a great place

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Sandy Beach Cottage on Torch Lake, in Alden
average rating of 3.75 based on 4 reviews
business
Sandy Beach Cottage on Torch Lake, in Alden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54404vbi
(406) 580-1523 (Montana, USA)
Alden Northern Michigan
Cincinnati, OH
5

Heaven on earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This cottage is in the best part of Torch Lake to catch the most breathtaking sunsets. It is a short two minute stroll into town to go to all the wonderful shops and restaurants. The lake is shallow and sandy at this point. Perfect for small kids to get in and enjoy the lake. The cottage is rustic but cozy. Exactly as a lake house should feel! All the beds were comfy and the cottage was clean and had everything we needed. We hope to come back every summer!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Sandy Beach Cottage on Torch Lake, in Alden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54404vbi
(406) 580-1523 (Montana, USA)
Alden Northern Michigan
Portage, MI
4

Great cottage!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Given that there were only two reviews for this cottage, I was a little leery of renting it for my family for a week. However, we had very short notice of our time off and I was convinced by the owner's response to an unfavorable review to give it a chance. We are so glad that we did! The house definitely has a "summer camp cottage" feel to it, but to us that was part of the charm. I don't want to vacation in a house just like I have at home. Just as the owner has stated, the kitchen has been stocked with all new supplies. All the pans, knives, dinnerware & utensils are nice and new. The surfaces are older, but easy to keep clean. The entire interior of the cottage was very clean. The bedrooms were comfortable and had nice linens. There are two full bathrooms, but one only has a tub. A nice big tub, but still no shower. There are plentiful towels in the kitchen and both baths. The wood floors throughout the cottage are very nice. The living/dining area is quite large with lots of windows. It made the cottage feel much larger. The beach area is very nice, and there's quite a lot of frontage. There are chairs down at the beach area for camp fires or relaxing in the sun. It's a bit a of a steep hill from the house to the shore, but not too bad. I suppose the only negative is that there is not a lot of comfortable seating in the house. The sofa in the living room is nice, but all the other chairs are small and uncomfortable, Not a problem if you have great weather, because who is inside on a lake in nice weather?? But we did have that random cold windy day that we felt very cooped up. The other thing was that this cottage did seem a bit pricey when comparing it to other cottages on Torch that seemed to have more to offer. Granted, we haven't stayed in those other places so we can't say for sure, but by comparing photos and amenities with prices, this one seems a bit high in regular season. Overall, this was a very nice cottage in a good location and we would definitely consider another stay here.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Sandy Beach Cottage on Torch Lake, in Alden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54404vbi
(406) 580-1523 (Montana, USA)
Alden Northern Michigan
Chicago, IL
4

Sensational location; rustic house

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at the cottage. The property and location are spectacular (the photos on vrbo don't do it justice). A georgous sandy beach, with a gradual slope and a nice dock. Literally, one of the nicest spots on the lake. Also, the house sits on a little hill about 10 feet high and is ~40-50 feet from the water, so the view is amazing (180 degree water view facing the sunset directly). Lots of nice touches like stacked firewood on the beach for bonfire/smores at night. Great porches for sitting and enjoying the view (both screened and open). We rented a boat all week and made good use of the dock and mooring. The very short walk to Alden was a big plus (sandwiches, market, coffee/baked goods etc). There are nice large windows at the front of the house, so you can enjoy the view from both the main room and master bedroom. We brought our dog and she made good use of the fenced front yard.
The house has an old summer cabin feel. If you are ok with a much older house that hasn't had a major update in a long time, you'll be comfortable. If you are finnicky about housing and like everything in a house to be modern/new/spotless, then you might want to consider other locations. I personally liked the house and thought it had a lot of character and history. My wife was not as big a fan of the house and thought it was crying out for some basic updates (like a new kitchen). Note that although the house was rustic, all appliances, etc. worked. The house has plenty of room, and all of the beds/bedrooms were comfortable.
One the whole, I give the property/location 5 stars, and the house 3 stars, for a blended four stars.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Sandy Beach Cottage on Torch Lake, in Alden
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p54404vbi
(406) 580-1523 (Montana, USA)
Alden Northern Michigan
Grand Rapids, MI
2

Not Good....(but great location)

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The good: 1) location, both to Torch Lake & downtown Alden; 2) in email correspondence & phone conversations, the owner seems like a genuinely nice guy.

The bad: 1) the place is really, really, really dirty -- carpets are terribly soiled (the women wouldn't walk around in bare feet); the kitchen floor was filthy (I wiped up a water spill on the first day with a paper towel and was disgusted by the dirt coming off of the linoleum floor); etc.; 2) the place is poorly maintained -- when we arrived one of the two toilets wasn't working, & wasn't fixed until two days later; the light switch in the master bedroom stopped working & we had to unscrew the bulbs on the first night to go to sleep; the sinks into which the washing machine drains were clogged such that you couldn't do two loads of laundry within two hours of each other; when it rained on one of our last days there, water was dripping from the ceiling into the living room area; &, finally, the mooring anchor buoy was missing, having been replaced with a little yellow innertub that was destroyed by the waves on our first day there; 3) the kitchen is stocked with antiquated, rusted equipment/accessories -- the decription refers to "fully stocked kitchen". Maybe technically correct, but who wants to use kitchen knives that are totally rusted and disgusting-looking? No one in our group would use *anything* in the kitchen that we didn't wash ourselves ahead of time. Pots, pans & skillets looked like something from 100 years ago that you would use around a campfire.

I really thought long and hard before posting this review. However, forums that allow customers to post reviews exist for a reason -- to help inform prospective renters. I think the owner is a decent guy, but, unfortunately, he lives in Montana & doesn't get back to Michigan very often (he and/or his family also own the cottage next door). In my opinion, the carpet needs to go NOW & be replaced with tile. It's in horrible shape & new carpet will look almost as bad after a couple of seasons. The owner needs to go to Target or WalMart & spend $500 or $1000 on new kitchen equipment/utensils. And the place needs to be cleaned/scrubbed from top to bottom, with maybe a fresh coat of paint. I don't know whether the price we paid is "current market" for a cottage in this condition on Torch Lake, but I do know that this rental experience fell far, far short of expectations and, as a result, I just can't recommend this place.
Owner's Response: I would honestly like to thank you for posting this review, As you said I live in Montana and I am not aware of things that go wrong with our cottage unless someone tells me of the problems. I would like to let you and anyone else know my wife and I removed all of the carpet while we at the cottage over Labor Day weekend and that we were extremely lucky to find beautiful hardwood floors underneath. Please look at the updated pictures of the living room. We have also found a new cleaning lady for switching over the cottage between renters as it is now apparent that the old one was not doing her job to the proper extent. We also removed much of the older kitchen utensils and have replaced them with new ones, we did leave a few of the old "camp fire" ones in case anyone wants to use them for that reason. As far as the maintenance issues go we have had all of them fixed and taken care of. The roof leak is fixed, of which I am very thankful to have found out about. We have had a new well pump put in this year and new toilets in each of the bathrooms, and we have also purchased a new buoy for our boat anchor as well. I would like to say that the cottage has had a pretty significant face lift from this past summer and is in significantly better condition than it has previously been. The kitchen still looks as did but we are hoping that it will get a major face lift like the rest of the cottage in the next few years. I hope that any prospective and future renters will find this review and response useful in deciding whether or not to stay at our cottage, to which I hope that you will consider staying with us and enjoying our cottage for your summer vacation.

Chris Stearns
Helpful votes: 26/26

Map

Photos

Availability & Rates

Alden House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $2300-$2900/wk
  • US Dollars
  • June .............................................. $2300/week
  • Starting Saturday June 30th through Labor Day ........... $2900/week
  • After Labor Day Weekend ................................. $2300//Week

Amenities

Alden House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • VCR
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing