'CHALET ISKAR' THE ONLY PRIVATELY OPERATED CATERED CHALET IN BOROVETS

Fraser Black

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Fraser Black

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

'CHALET ISKAR' THE ONLY PRIVATELY OPERATED CATERED CHALET IN BOROVETS

Borovets Chalet Rental Photos and Description

5 double ensuite bedrooms, that will accomodate up to 12 people

This catered Chalet has been converted to its British owners specifications recently, to offer high quality, spacious accommodation. This catered Chalet consists of five en-suite bedrooms, three of the bedrooms will accommodate a cot/child’s bed. The downstairs consists of lounge/dinning area, with its own kitchen and separate w/c. The main gondola lift is only a couple of minutes stroll away, and the impressive Samakov Hotel is next doors. As you would expect from a catered Chalet, breakfast, tea and evening meal are all provided, as are free wine/drinks. There is also an honesty bar. The property is heated by a dual fuel central heating system with radiators in each bedroom, and the ensuite facilities all have electric showers, to ensure hot water is always available. Each room has a colour tv with dvd player and hairdryer. There are guest facilities for tea and coffee in the lounge/ dining area, along with microwave,TV, DVD, and hi-fi, and a selection of games and magazines

We can arrange Kindergarten classes as well, and if we have enough demand for the coming season, we will have our own dedicated nanny/instructor.

Prices variable, but are catered to individual needs...PLEASE ASK

More Details
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
many thanks for looking after us at such short notice, the chalet was wonderful, and your cook emi is amazing. Next year we will be back with a larger team!!
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 1

Fraser Black

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2005
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Dedicated skier, involved in Race training in the UK and winter and summer camps, mainly for children upto 16, ski club chair, South West Ski Association vice chair, member of SSE council, qualified instructor.

Fraser Black purchased this chalet in 2005

Having spent many years in Borovets I picked up on the fact that there were not any catered chalets in the resort itself, so I opted to fill that gap.

Central and close to the Gondola station, everything is within a short stroll, and we also run a restaurant in the resort so cover everything you could need

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.5
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
'Chalet Iskar' the only privately operated catered chalet in Borovets
average rating of 3.5 based on 4 reviews
business
'Chalet Iskar' the only privately operated catered chalet in Borovets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52223
+44 01934424778
Borovets Sofia Area
1

VERY DISAPPOINTING

  • 1 of 5
We had a mixed experience of our ski holiday at Chalet Iskar. The skiing conditions were great for the end of the season. The locals were friendly but the condition of the chalet really let the holiday down. We booked three of the rooms, one for my wife and I, one for my two daughters and one for my son. But the chalet was in very poor condition. Two of the toilets were leaking water all over the bathroom floor, one of the toilet seats was cracked and could not be used. There were ants running everywhere including over the kitchen table and the breakfast. There were cracked floorboards which were dangerous to walk on. The fire alarms had been pulled down and stashed in cupboards so I had to go out and buy batteries and refit. We mentioned this to the part time cleaner but without any result.

Our meals were provided at Bobby’s bar and Bobby was our ski instructor who was great. But we were very disappointed with the accommodation. We had also booked ski school and kit via Fraser the owner. He had said that he did not know the current rate so charged us the full season price with the agreement that he would reimburse the extra once he had confirmed the final price. This never happened and we he has not responded to any of the calls or emails since. We ended up being over charged by about £250. So beware. We will not be visiting Chalet Iskar again.
  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take all comments very seriously, but leaving a review 10 months after the event is not very helpful. We have checked the chalet log and checked with the Chalet Manager, and it was noted that we had had shall we say a rather boisterous party in just before and the Chalet took a bit of a hammering. However whilst there was a damaged shower tray and a damaged toilet these were not in the rooms that these guests were MEANT to be using. As they stated they had three rooms the other two were meant ot be off limits. They did mention the broken stair, which was repaired as soon as feasible. Unfortunately these guests, for whom we discounted the Chalet price as a favour, have tried to extract money and issued all sorts of threats over their ski packs. We book ski packs on behalf of guests and to make their holiday easier, we booked these packs some weeks before arrival and have to pay for them when they are booked. Subsequently the ski school lowered the cost of the pack and for some reason these guests seem to think that they are entitled to some money back. Had the ski school refunded us the money then of course we would have done the same, but its a bit like going into your local store buying the goods and then three weeks later seeing a sale on and asking for the store to refund the difference!!!! it wouldnt happen here in the UK why do you think it should happen here in this case???? We are also puzzled by the email sent by these guests saying that they had a great time and looked forward to coming back with a larger party. So if we had caved into the demands for money back on the ski packs we wouldnt have a bad review......great !!shades of tripadvisor here where anyone can just write complete twaddle and get away with it.
business
'Chalet Iskar' the only privately operated catered chalet in Borovets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52223
+44 01934424778
Borovets Sofia Area
Hertfordshire
5

BARGAIN BOROVETS

  • 5 of 5
Fantastic holiday had by our group of 13 with great skiing had by all beginers and experienced alike!
The whole experience went like clockwork having booked direct with the owner for the chalet a year in advance to get the half term week, the payment plan was easy and helpful and communications were always answered promptly. We were met at Sofia and driven to the chalet where we were met by the very friendly Emie. The chalet is clean and well equiped. The food was very filling and well cooked and they catered well for the vegatarian amongst us. All that let it down, and it is not Emies fault, is the delay in toast and chips (only a 2 slice toaster and small fryer).
The Skiing was fantastic with slopes for the very beginners to intermediate skiers and enough runs to keep everyone happy for a full week. The boot and ski hire went reasonably smoothly but be warned the Bulgarian equipment is not up to the usual high level found in Europe. The ski lessons for the children through Hunters were great and the kids had a fantastic time. Our little ones joined the Kindergarten where they had ski lessons and sledging every day along with indoor games - they had great fun with a small presentation at the end of the week.
The weather has been very mixed to include snow, rain, ice, sun, & low cloud but none of it put anyone off.
The local people are very friendly and polite and the whole atmosphere was happy and relaxed with none of the 'snobery' of some other locations.
Would definately recommend the chalet and Bulgaria to anyone looking for a reasonably priced, fun and relaxed skiing holiday and to those lucky people enjoying Chalet Iskar now - I am very jealous!
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'Chalet Iskar' the only privately operated catered chalet in Borovets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52223
+44 01934424778
Borovets Sofia Area
Norwich
4

FIRST TIME SKIIERS

  • 4 of 5
We were a group of fourteen people (three children), staying in the chalet Iskar. Everything except flights were booked through the chalet, transfers, ski school and equipment hire (hunters) were very straight forward for us first timers also the instructors gave us a first class service. The lessons went on for as long as we wanted even to the point of the instructors joining us for a drink in the evening, they were very friendly. On the point of friendlyness we were very pleased with the treatment we received from everyone we met in Borovets especially Amy the chalet maid.
The chalet was looked after by Amy who gave us flexible eating arrangements which was very useful as we had children in the party. She cooked our breakfast, afternoon cakes and evening meal, in the evening there was always ample food to go around and some nice wine too. The food exceeded our expectations on quality and quantity, maybe the fact we were all meat eaters and had no allergies it made life easier for catering purposes.
The chalet itself was very clean, warm and homely. The flexible accomodation mean't that even a family of five were able to share one large bedroom with ample seating and room for all in the communal areas. Each bedroom had its own En-suite bathroom, the showers in some rooms were a bit tempermental but after a while we got used to how they worked best.
When an unexpercted emergency arose back home we turned to Balkan PMS (hunters) to help with arrangements, they were superb in their help and kindness.
I would definately recommend the Chalet Iskar and Borovets to friends and family as we had a brilliant time and hope to return there sometime soon.
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'Chalet Iskar' the only privately operated catered chalet in Borovets
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p52223
+44 01934424778
Borovets Sofia Area
Monmouth, Wales
4

FEB SKIING 2009

  • 4 of 5
Thanks for a great weeks skiing. Helped by having the best conditions of the year. Everything as expected, clean tidy although there were a few maintence problems. Not all the showers were hot. Food was good, filling if basic. (But when in Bulgaria!!) But made up for by the wine that came with! Orgainisation was good, everything ran like clockwork although a welcome information sheet would have been nice. Everone turned up when expected and transfers were good. Children (6-10yrs) really enjoyed their first time! Great place for beginners or intermd skiiers on the cheap. Really good for family groups where kids can go onto bed and the adults can talk through the days adventures. Opposite the gondola so great for access to the slopes. Would go again!!
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Kilometres
Sofia International
Car: not necessary

THIS CHALET IS SET IN THE MIDDLE OF BOROVETS, NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH PLACES THAT ARE NOW USING A SIMILAR NAME AND ARE AT LEAST 10KMS AWAY!!!Borovets is set in the Rila Mountains and is Bulgaria's premier winter holiday resort, based at the foot of Mt Mousala (2950m) which is the highest peak on the Balkan Peninsula, snow cover is extremely good between mid December and as far as the end of April. As well as providing opportunities for walking, mountain biking, fishing and hunting in the summer, it is also an excellent base for exploring the surrounding areas.

Transfers are approx 1-1/2 hrs from Sofia and about 21/2 hrs from Plovdiv airports, depending on the road conditions.

Other Activities: Ski-doos, sleigh rides, off piste skiing

Golf: two 18 hole courses within 30 minutes of the Chalet, 'SofiaGolf' and the ian woosnam designed course at Dolnya banya.

Ski: Borovets caters for all levels of skiing, and is especially renowned for those learning to ski and board. There are a good selection of runs to test all abilities, and we have the added bonus of being able to cater for 'extreme' parties, involving snow cat treks, night skiing with head lamps and ski-do skiing!! You won’t find this anywhere else. This Chalet is owned by very keen skiers, and is managed by the resorts top Snowboarding Instructor, so if we cant cater for what you want no one will be able too! We aim to please, so any special requests are always welcome, just give us a little warning for the more obscure ones!

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Borovets Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2014-15
Dec 13 2014 - Dec 19 2014
7 night minimum stay
£1,850
 
 
2014-15
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 2 2015
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
 
 
2014-15
Jan 3 2015 - Feb 6 2015
7 night minimum stay
£2,100
 
 
2014-15
Feb 7 2015 - Feb 20 2015
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
 
 
2014-15
Feb 21 2015 - Apr 17 2015
7 night minimum stay
£2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£20
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit £750
Deposit to secure the property is one third of the rental cost. Another third is due in July, and then the balance along with any extras (such as transfers/ski or board packs etc) is due in november.
Notes Flight prices from £65 indirect flights to about £250 BA. The earlier the holiday is booked the cheaper the flights will be. Transfers to the resort are £25 per person return, in our own minibus, and/or cars. During the summer months we can arrange cycle hire/maps, etc everything needed for a relaxing but energetic time away. We can also arrange specialised hunting trips, hunting Boar and Deer
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Borovets Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Included in Price
Floor Area:
  • 130 m²
Location Type:
  • Village
  • Mountain
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
  • Family
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Safe
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Sofa Bed
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Broadband Access
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Telephone ...
  • Heating ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Refrigerator
  • Grill
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower , all 5 rooms ensuite
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom - toilet
    Bathroom - shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , bunk bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , downstairs
  • 2 doubles, 1 twin, 2 family bedrooms, 2 rooms with 3 beds, 2 cots cots are new travel cots and can be moved to suit
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Games
  • Books
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • Daily Maid Service
Attractions:
  • forests
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • Babysitter
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf privileges optional
  • ski privileges optional
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
All bedrooms have en-suite facilities with electric showers, and shower cubicles. There is plenty of storage space in the rooms, as well as satellite TV and a hairdryer. We can accommodate children in single beds and/or bunk beds, we can also provide cots. Breakfast consists of a continental fayre, with the addition of things like boiled eggs and omelettes. Tea and coffee are provided. Afternoon tea is provided on a help yourself basis, and dinner is a sit down meal with complimentary wine/beer and soft drinks. There is an honesty bar provided, along with sat TV, DVD and hifi in the lounge area. Tea and coffee facilities are always available in the dining area. There is sizeable ski/board/boots storage locker downstairs, and all our guests needs with regard to passes and lessons can be arranged, as well as some more exotic skiing experiences.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$40 - $42 per night
4 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4