HomeAway is the world leader in vacation rentals with over 1 million listings. We offer the largest selection of properties for any travel occasion and every budget. We're committed to helping families and friends find a perfect vacation rental to create unforgettable travel experiences together.
Open Concept Floor Plan With Queen Bed And Bunk Beds
This redwood log cabin with hardwood floors would be perfect for a week long or weekend getaway in the heart of the Fingerlakes. Overlooking Owasco Lake on the tip of Peterson Point, you and your family can unplug and just relax and spend quality time together while enjoying everything summer in Upstate NY has to offer.
Household amenities include on-site washer and dryer, full sized fridge with ice-maker, oven and microwave, granite counter tops, and a Keurig for those early mornings!
Outdoors includes patio furniture that seats up to ten, fire pit complete with Adirondack chairs, outdoor gas grill, hammock and children's swing overlooking the lake. Paved parking area can accommodate up to five cars.
Rental weeks run from Saturday to the following Saturday. Check in time is at 3:00pm with check out by 10:00am.
A $250.00 damage deposit is due at the time of booking; upon post-departure inspection, the deposit will be refunded in full or in part dependent upon the condition of the property and the furnishings within.
We had a lovely stay at this cottage. Upon entering, we found a key and binder with detailed information about the cottage including owner contact information should an issue arise. The binder also contained literature about local restaurants and attractions. The cottage is clean and well stocked. Inside it is quaint and charming. Outside it is beautifully landscaped. We enjoyed swimming (although a bit weedy), kayaking, and just reading and relaxing by the lake. We sat with friends by the fire pit every night but one. It is perfect for a couple or small family looking for a relaxing lake experience.
My son, husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely little cottage. I was pleasantly surprised to see just how spacious it was. The large sleeping area off the living room was comfortable for two and bunk beds accommodated even a guest or two. The porch has a beautiful area for dining, and an additional family room, adjacent to catch the lake breeze. Outdoor seating was more than plentiful, to accept even my family (1 of 9 from the Auburn area originally) The adirondack chairs surround a fabulous fire pit, where we enjoyed many nights of great bon fires and s'mores with my 9 year old son. Kayaking is a favorite of our, so that came in handy. Along with our two, we were just fine for those lovely calm mornings on the lake. The kitchen was fully equipped, and provided all the utensils needed. Although neighbors are close, they were all so lovely, and we look forward to seeing our new. Friends again next year, as this little piece of heaven is a destination that we look forward to visiting again.
Submitted: Jul 28, 2014
Stayed: Jul 2014
VRBO, from HomeAway
Families with Young Children,
We were initially very excited to go. But when you get into the property, its so dirty; no wonder there's no cleaning fee- its never been cleaned. Dead bugs everywhere, spider webs, cobwebs, and just overall dirt. On top of that the bed isn't even a real one- its inflatable. The problem with that is that it is freezing! The air in it never gets warmed up so we didn't sleep the entire first night because we were literally shivering. We had to go to walmart the next day and buy two blankets and a heater to keep us warm bc the "heater" they have is for beauty only. Im glad neither of us got sick from here but it is a lesson for us. We have never had a problem with homeway properties and I was shocked that no one else reviewed this place to let us know to stay away. The only reason I'm giving it two stars is that the backyard is very nice. I just wish the inside were as nice as the outside. PS- There is a Kurig- just bring your own pods. No salt, no sugar, ketchup or mustard; no basic things you would need. So disappointed. We wont be returning.
Submitted: Jul 25, 2014
Stayed: Jul 2014
Owner's Response: I am so sorry to hear via this review that you were so uncomfortable the first night and that you were disappointed with the level of cleanliness upon your arrival.
If I had known of either of these issues, I would have addressed and rectified them immediately. It is for this purpose that I have my contact number in the welcome binder, with the indication that guests that they can call/or text me anytime should they need to.
Again, I am sorry that I wasn't able to address these 2 major issues while you were still on property. At the very least, I would have provided blankets and had the cottage re-cleaned.
I do have a professional cleaning service that I have used in both my home and cottage for the past 6 years. They come in and clean on each departure/arrival day. To date, this has been the only complaint I have received; however, I have spoken to them, and I trust that they will continue to do excellent work for the remainder of the season.
Prior to opening the cottage, I had the exterior of the cabin professionally sprayed for bees, wasps, and other insects that are attracted to the redwood.
I typically do not provide refrigerator/pantry items because my experience has been that guests prefer to bring their own items and generally do not wish to use anything that has been left behind. For that reason, any "leftover" items whether they be in the cupboard, fridge, or freezer, are discarded by the cleaning service.
The electric fireplace is a new addition this year. It has several heat and flame-glow settings, including a no-heat setting. It has enough BTU's to heat 2X the area of the cottage at it's maximum. I am not sure why this didn't provide warmth adequately. I am having it looked at and tested to ensure that it works properly.
I am very sorry that I didn't provide the cotton blankets to the sheets and comforter inventory. I sincerely thought that late June/early July temps would not require this layer, and in the interest of storage space, didn't include them. This has been rectified, and are on property should anyone need them throughout their stay.
And lastly, because I do take feedback very seriously, I have ordered a new queen bed mattress/box spring that I hope will be even more comfortable that what is there currently.
The Cottage has provided my family enjoyment over the past 22 years, and my sincere hope is that all of my renters have a wonderful experience and comfortable stay. Anything I can do to ensure that, I will do.
Great location near to Merry Go Round Theater, Auburn Public Theater, as well as the Springside Inn's wine bar, the Oak & Vine. Less than 20 minutes from Filmore Glen; a NY State Park which is great for hikes, picnics, and swimming with spectacular waterfalls (great for photographers)!