December 2012 stay in La Jolla
Submitted: February 14, 2013
Stayed: December 2012
We stayed in this house late December 2012. Initially we had asked for a discount because only two of us were going to stay here.The request was denied, we were offered the house at full holiday fees. Since we paid full price we had 4 others stay with us. The onsite manager questioned this which we thought was strange. The contract to rent included a clause that we would be responsible to pay for extra water usage. The first and second day of our stay, the manager was washing clothes. We asked how is water usage kept track of if she is doing laundry? She said not to worry we wouldn't be charged extra. We were not. The manager lives on the property, it was unsettling to go into the yard and have her and her dog hanging out.
The house itself was comfortable. It sleeps 6 but in the dining area there is only seating for 4. So having meals together as a family was a challenge.
The area is residential, so it was quiet and close to a grocery store and some restaurants.
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review. As owner, I felt I had to follow up on your comments because we usually get 5 Stars everytime with many favorable comments about Barb and Blondie! I would hope everyone would read them to get a feel for the house. Barb works hard to be sure it is a good match for the guests with the house so everyone is happy.Yours was only a 5 night booking,usually we do require minumum 7 nights,but initially since it was only 2 persons,Barb went ahead and made it. The reason you did notice her doing laundry was the the Holiday season was back to back and the sheets,linens,towels,etc had to be ready for the next guest.Again,she thought this would be no problem with only 2 persons staying,but with 6,everything had to be clean and ready to go,since she had to clean for 6 rather than 2 after you left.Barb is fanatic about having the house clean for the next arrival and was nervous she could not have it ready.Barb also respects (and has been reminded!!)the privacy of all our guests in regards to use of the back yard. It has worked both ways,as she reminded me,that she get's knocks early in the morning on her back gate "wondering if Blondie can come out and play?"from children (and adults!) staying in the house.I think this is evident from previous reviews.But there are those times,complete privacy is preferred during your stay and Barb is the first one that wants to be clued in so your wishes can be respected.Again,we want guests to be happy on their vacation,the house is very pleasant and sunny with lot's of windows,a big fenced in back yard and perfect for those that want to enjoy a warm,friendly,relaxed vacation. A plus of having Barb close,is that problems that occasionally occur,can be dealt with immediately.Hopefully,next time you can find a house more matched to your needs and give it 5 Stars,but thank you for the input,as we can all learn from our mistakes!
Helpful votes: 1/1
Did you find this review helpful?