BRAND NEW OCEAN FRONT HOME IN PRIVATE GATED COMMUNITY

Dale

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BRAND NEW OCEAN FRONT HOME IN PRIVATE GATED COMMUNITY

Kapoho House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom, 2 bathroom open plan home with gazebo next to the ocean

E Komo mai, or Welcome to Honu Ocean Paradise!

Tucked away in beautiful, sunny Kapoho on the Big Island's eastern side, this brand new 3 bedroom oceanfront home is the perfect destination for an island getaway. Located in a private, gated community, our home opens its doors to a peaceful setting adjacent to the ocean with a lanai and outdoor gazebo. Come see the Honu (Hawaiian for turtle) rest and swim in our private rock fish pond.

Spend your days snorkeling in waters only footsteps from this charming and happy home, visit nearby island favorites such as the Volcano National Park, Lava Tree State Park and Ahalanui Park or explore the the Big Island further with day trips to Kona or Waipio Valley.

Come and enjoy the natural beauty of Hawaii!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed

Dale

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2013
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Our property was passed down by my parents who always dreamed of having an ocean front home where our family could gather and special memories would be created.

Several years ago, we decided to build a new, open plan home on the property and this is the result. It's been fun decorating our home with a few pieces of furniture that have been passed down from one generation to the next.

Enjoy our home and the tranquility of Kapoho!

Dale purchased this house in 1983

If you are looking for a quiet, oceanfront home to relax, this is it! Create your special memories by coming to our home and enjoying what the Big Island has to offer.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Brand New Ocean Front Home In Private Gated Community
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Brand New Ocean Front Home In Private Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p502674vb
+ 832-851-8431
Kapoho Puna District
-
5

FABULOUS PROPERTY AND LOCATION!

  • 5 of 5
I highly recommend this property. When we arrived the home was spotless and very inviting. The caretaker was very welcoming and accessible. The house is new, spacious and well laid out. All appliances, furnishings and fixtures are new. There is a large enclosed garage with full laundry. There is an open-concept kitchen, dining and living area. The owner Dale, and caretaker Suzanne have gone out of their way to make this rental one of the best I have ever stayed in... and I am an owner of 2 vacation rentals myself so I understand what it takes to make a vacation a property not only comfortable, but special. We were on the Big Island to attend a birthday celebration up in Volcano Village. Several other attendees had also rented vacation homes on the same street in this private community. We were able to also visit their rental homes and ours was by far the nicest and had the best ocean views and access.

The oceanfront location is one of the best in the entire Kapoho area. This private neighborhood is THE place to stay in the Kapoho area. Access to the ocean is easy. The snorkeling and swimming are wonderful here. We saw beautiful sunrises every morning. In addition to the great ocean bay, ponds and tide pools there is a private pond in the back yard with large sea turtles... what a wonderful surprise! The roofed gazebo-style deck overlooking the ocean is a great place to enjoy your meals. The yard is nicely manicured with pathways and beautiful plants.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property and will definitely be returning in the future. I consider it to be a great bargain. You will not be disappointed. You can stop searching for a great place to stay, you've found it.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your very kind comments about our home in Kapoho.
We look forward to seeing you again.
business
Brand New Ocean Front Home In Private Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p502674vb
+ 832-851-8431
Kapoho Puna District
Houston
5

FANTASTIC STAY AT YOUR BEAUTIFUL HOME!

  • 5 of 5
We had a wonderful time at your beautiful home! We especially enjoyed having access to the calm ocean right from the backdoor. Many hours were spent snorkeling with the sea turtles and admiring Hawaii's natural beauty. The house was clean and beautifully decorated -- it had everything we needed. The house also has a great location ... We visited Volcano National Park and Green Sand Beach. We also enjoyed buying fresh produce from the Hilo farmer's market. We will be sure to return again soon on our next visit to the Big Island!
  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha!
We are so glad that you and your party enjoyed your stay at our ocean front home.
Please come back to visit us again.
Mahalo
business
Brand New Ocean Front Home In Private Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p502674vb
+ 832-851-8431
Kapoho Puna District
4

REALLY GET AWAY FROM IT ALL!

  • 4 of 5
This is a true get-away! We enjoyed our time in this peaceful setting and really felt that we were out of the tourist zone. After a busy week on the Kona side, this was a nice change of pace.

The neighborhood is very quiet, well kept and seemed very safe. The home is new, so it was clean and well maintained (but we didn't spend much time in the house since during the day we were out seeing sights or splashing in the water). Not having a dishwasher was a bummer, but the view from the kitchen window was so nice that I almost forgot!

The best part of this property is the ocean access. It is easy to get in/out of the water for snorkeling/swimming and there is plenty of fresh ocean water coming in and out of the little bay. There are several large sea turtles that like to hang out in the fish pond, so it was definitely a treat to see them. We spent one day at the Volcano (can't miss that, but it takes a good hour to get there) and ate one dinner in Pohoa (at Kaleo's - yum) but other than that we just hung out in the water.

We were very glad that the wi-fi was working well, as cell service is almost non-existent. The listing and photos are all very accurate and Dale (owner) and Suzanne (local manager) were both very responsive and available.

The only reason I didn't give the home 5 stars is that the location is pretty remote and thus fairly far from activities/food...I don't think I realized how far removed we were going to be. However, it's very easy to spend the whole day splashing in the water and watching for turtles if you have no other agenda!
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Sara,
Thank you for writing a review on our ocean front home. Yes, Kapoho is truly a "get away from it all" experience. We love the quiet neighborhood but most of all we love being by the ocean and seeing the marine life. What a special treat it is to see the "honu" or turtle resting in our fish pond and watching the sunrise/sunset from our gazebo.

I'm sure you and your family will have many pleasant memories of your trip to Hawaii.
Please come back to visit us again and thank you again for writing a review.

Mahalo,
Dale
business
Brand New Ocean Front Home In Private Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p502674vb
+ 832-851-8431
Kapoho Puna District
Scottsdale Arizona USA
5

PEACEFUL , BEAUTIFUL GET AWAY

  • 5 of 5
The turtles are amazing! What a delightful experience to have them coming up to the house daily. Dale was very flexible; we needed to add an additional day and it was very easy. The home is lovely, very clean, very tastefully decorated. Fans in every room made it very comfortable even during sunny afternoons. Kitchen has everything you would need although we were a little surprised that there was no dishwasher. It didn’t hamper us at all, we bought paper plates & there is a full size dish rack under the sink. (The home is new and totally modern). We used the house as our base to explore the Hilo side of the island and didn't mind the drive but you wouldn't be able to rent the house without a car. The TV options were a little light but not a big deal because we weren't there to watch TV. No wi fi , which is indicated on the listing but it’s always strikes me as odd that a listing made available through a web service, booked through the web etc doesn't have wi fi . So again, we weren't surprised; it would certainly be a nice enhancement.
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha Mark,
Thank you for your candid review. Our home was completed late last year (2013) and we thought carefully about the amenities to include. Appliances by the ocean corrode very easily due to the salt sprays so we nixed the idea of the dishwasher. On a positive note, we will be having internet which will be in place on March 14th. Please come back again and enjoy beautiful Kapoho!
Mahalo,
Dale
business
Brand New Ocean Front Home In Private Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p502674vb
+ 832-851-8431
Kapoho Puna District
5

DEEP PEACE AND STUNNING SEA LIFE FOUND HERE!

  • 5 of 5
We came here for 5 nights, I wish it could have been 2 weeks. My expectations were high, but the experience blew them out the window. We rented kayaks in Hilo (Sun and Sea, awesome friendly staff and great gear), which was fantastic- launched them right out the back- you can just coast in the lagoon and stare at the fish and turtles (crystal clear water, you can see fish from the surface!) or go out in the Bay on a calmer day for a longer paddle and to other places to snorkel like Champagne Pond around the corner. The snorkeling was best right in the back yard though, within our first five minutes in the water we saw rays, turtles, and masses of beautiful colorful fish. The house is well equipped, new and spotlessly prepared by Suzanne, who makes arrivals and departures flexible and easy- she also gave helpful tips for where to kayak and snorkel. Cooking, grilling and hanging out at the house was a lot of fun. We also had a great time when we ventured into Pahoa, we loved the restaurants, Kaleo's (fun cocktails) and Luquins (mexican)- and you cant miss Paolos for true intimate Italian dining (dont forget to bring your wine!). Other highlights were the Wednesday night Market- a must do for local food, music, and crafts. It was also only about an hour to the volcano (no lava flow unfortunately when we were there). We've been many places in Hawaii but Kopoho was our all time favorite, the location and true Hawaiian vibe cant be beat, and this house is a beautiful and comfortable place to make home base. We'll be back!
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha!
Mahalo for your kind response. Kapoho is a special place and we are glad you were able to enjoy the beauty of the area. We hope to see you again!
business
Brand New Ocean Front Home In Private Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p502674vb
+ 832-851-8431
Kapoho Puna District
5

GREAT FAMILY GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5
We had 14 nights on our first trip to the Big Island and we decided we wanted to spend some time near Kona and the rest in the vicinity of Hilo/Volcanoes. Our overly involved research revealed the Kapoho area and instantly it sounded like the place to have some relaxed family time. After being told over and over that Kona is sunnier, and the place to be, we decided on only 5 out of 14 nights in Kopoho. Kona was very nice but for our family who rather have peace than shops and front door snorkeling than tour operators; Kopoho should have been our longer stay.
This new home was ideal for what we were looking for. It was relaxing, comfortable, and fit 3 adults and 3 young kids very well. Being right on the water was fantastic. There is nothing like a before breakfast snorkel to start the day off right not to mention an after lunch swim and a before bed dip. The water was always calm for the kids snorkeling and they loved viewing the turtles in the pond. I think this was the best home in Kopoho for viewing honu (turtles) and snorkeling in your front yard. Our day trips included the Hilo farmers market and Volcanoes and both were very easy excursions from Kopoho.
I am not sure when we will be able to get back to the big island but if we can make it work we would love to spend more time right here. We will be dreaming of our tropical fruit breakfasts on the lanai overlooking the water.
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Hilo Airport
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 137
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Kaleo's or Luquins in Pahoa
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Kaleo's or Luquins in Pahoa
Car: necessary

For a day trip, head to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. See the explosive lava eruptions captured on film at the Kilauea Visitors Center then drive on down the chain of craters road to see the lava flowing.

While in the area, explore the Thurston Lava tubes.

Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kapoho House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall rates
Sep 7 2014 - Dec 12 2014
4 night minimum stay
$200
$1,400
 
 
Winter holiday
Dec 13 2014 - Jan 4 2015
4 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Tax ID W35927574-01
Cleaning fee of $150 will be charged. Smoking and pets are not allowed inside or outside our home. Additional $300 fee will be charged if this is violated. Sorry, no parties or events here.
Cancellation policy: Please refer to rental agreement and rules

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Kapoho House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , adjacent to master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Towels/Beach towels are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , ensuite bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Brand new mattresses/sheets in all the bedrooms.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • hiking
  • fishing
Email Manager Email

Other Vacation Properties

$750 per week
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$190 - $275 per night
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$945 - $1,505 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6