KUMULANI AT MAUNA KEA FULL AMENITY PACKAGE INCLUDED FOR ALL

Susan Scanlan

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Susan Scanlan

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

KUMULANI AT MAUNA KEA FULL AMENITY PACKAGE INCLUDED FOR ALL

Hapuna Beach Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 Beds 2 Baths New Listing Ocean View Most Private Ground Floor Unit

Enjoy two of the world's finest resorts at this 2 bedroom 2 bath luxury ground floor condo at Kumulani at the Uplands of Mauna Kea on the Big Island of Hawaii. This peaceful gated community is on the Hapuna/Mauna Kea Resort property just above the hotels. Enjoy beautiful ocean views and sunsets from much of the unit. This unit offers the most privacy of any ground floor unit. It is perched above and to the side of the pool to enjoy beautiful views from a location with little to no foot traffic other than your own out to the wrap around lanai and grounds in front of you.

Included with your reservation is an extension of our membership in the popular Club at Mauna Kea Resort, which allows you to enjoy the amenities of both luxury Hotels located here – Mauna Kea Beach Hotel and Hapuna Beach Hotel.

Amenity fee $100 set-up fee plus $50/adult (22 & over), $30/youth (14-21) under 14 free. This is a one-time fee for the duration of stay. With amenity package you have unrestricted access to both the Mauna Kea Beach & the Hapuna Beach Hotels facilities. Privileges include: charging privileges like a hotel guest, preferred parking with keycards, 2 fitness centers, access to tennis court time at hotel guest rates at the Mauna Kea (oceanfront courts!), discounted golf rates at both hotel courses and hotel pool and beach access (free use of lounge chairs, cabanas, umbrellas, beach towels and showering facilities)

This condo sleeps 4. Master Suite has a king bed, TV, large tub, walk in shower and closet. Enjoy beautiful views to the ocean or walk out to the lanai. Guest suite has king or 2 twin beds made to your preference and private bath.

High speed cable with wireless is included along with 2 LED TVs (Great Room & Master Bedroom). A telephone is provided for local calls and free long distance to mainland USA and Canada!

Your kitchen is well appointed and fully furnished including many spices and items to cook wonderful meals. “Da Fish House” is only 5 minutes away where you can purchase that day’s catch and grill up on the gas BBQ grill on the lanai. Plenty of fresh groceries are obtained at the nearby Foodland or enjoy the numerous fine restaurants on the hotel properties or nearby.

Washer/Dryer along with all products you may need are provided. It is fully air-conditioned and has ceiling fans in the great room and both bedrooms.

Besides the Club at Mauna Kea, Kumulani has its own private pool, hot tub, and barbeque.

This condo is located 30 minutes from Kona International Airport (KOA) with many upscale restaurants and shops either on the resort grounds or within a short drive.

Hawaii Tax ID W08752737-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
  • pets not allowed
Susan Scanlan (Owner)
Advertiser since 2008
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Susan Scanlan

Susan & Tony purchased this condo in September 2013. After many visits to all the islands we knew the Big Island was the place for us and have made it our permanent home. We live about 15 minutes north of the condo. Activities abound and the diversity of the Island offers endless opportunities for exploration. Tennis is our game and there is nowhere more beautiful to play than the courts at Mauna Kea. We also love to snorkel and have found the beaches on the north end of the Big Island to be the most beautiful in all of Hawaii with the best coral and variety of fish. We continue to find secret coves all over the North Kohala coast for easy snorkel access. We hope others will experience what we have found: a place to restore your spirits, ease your mind and delight your heart.

Susan Scanlan purchased this condo in 2013

Why Susan Scanlan chose Hapuna Beach

We have stayed at the condos at Kumulani many times and at the Hapuna Beach Hotel - they never disappoint! No matter where we travel, we always know our favorite place is the Beach at Mauna Kea.

What makes this condo unique

INCLUDED with your reservation is an extension of our membership in the popular Club at Mauna Kea Resort, which allows you to enjoy the amenities of both luxury Hotels located here – Mauna Kea Beach Hotel and Hapuna Beach Hotel. Amenity fee $100 set-up fee plus $50/adult (22 & over), $30/youth (14-21) under 14 free. This is a one-time fee for the duration of stay. With amenity package you have unrestricted access to both the Mauna Kea Beach & the Hapuna Beach Hotels facilities. Privileges include: charging privileges like a hotel guest, preferred parking with keycards, 2 fitness centers, access to tennis court time at hotel guest rates at the Mauna Kea (oceanfront courts!), discounted golf rates at both hotel courses and hotel pool and beach access (free use of lounge chairs, cabanas, umbrellas, beach towels and showering facilities)

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Kumulani At Mauna Kea Full Amenity Package Included For All
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Kumulani At Mauna Kea Full Amenity Package Included For All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p496808vb
253-222-4651
Hapuna Beach Kohala Coast
Kansas
5

Bob/Sonya (Kansas)

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I have just returned from a very memorable month-long vacation to the Big Island. Having been to the nearby Mauna Kea Resort twice before and being somewhat familiar with the area we decided to try a "vrbo" unit and selected Susan's Kumulani Sunset condominium for our stay. We couldn't have been more pleased with our selection. Prior to our trip Susan provided us with thorough answers to many of the questions we had for such a lengthy stay from the usual best restaurants and sightseeing to grocery shopping and even a recommended beautician. Check-in at the Hapuna Prince Resort was quick and efficient. During our visit Susan responded quickly and completely to any additional questions that we had. A slight problem with one of the sliding doors was corrected timely and efficiently by the maintenance staff for the homes association. The unit is spacious, well decorated and the laundry facilities certainly came in handy for our lengthy stay. The views from the condominium are exceptional with the wall of surrounding glass and sliding glass doors that provide access to the lanai. On clear days the volcanic peaks of Hualalai and Mauna Loa are visible as well as the island of Maui with Haleakala volcano. We enjoyed the amenity package available with this condominium that allowed use of facilities at both the Hapuna Prince and Mauna Kea resorts which are a short drive from the condominium with free parking available. We traveled extensively throughout the island and enjoyed the diversity of climate changes, views and history from the ancient Hawaiian petroglyphs to Kamehameha's birthplace near Kapaau on the north-side of the island. Although we stayed briefly in Volcano on the south-side of the island and even spent a few days in Hana, on the island of Maui, we found ourselves, after those trips, referring to "coming back home" to "our" condominium at The Kumulani as it certainly made us feel like it was "home". We look forward to our next visit to Hawaii and our stay at this wonderful condominium.
Mahalo nui Susan
  • Submitted: May 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Kumulani At Mauna Kea Full Amenity Package Included For All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p496808vb
253-222-4651
Hapuna Beach Kohala Coast
Pacifica, CA
5

Awesome Condo!!!!

  • 5 of 5
I honestly cannot say enough good things about our condo stay at Kumulani. The condo was spacious, clean and super comfortable. It is an ideal family vacation with access to both the Mauna Kea and the Hapuna Prince Resorts, their beaches, pools and other amenities. We spent our days snorkeling on different beaches, exploring the area, relaxing by the resort pools and in the evenings we could return to the condo for a BBQ and plan our next day's activities. A car is essential with the condo since the resorts are not within walking distance but it's only a 5 minute car drive and parking is easy. Susan, the condo owner was very professional and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She even sent me a photo of the items in the pantry when I inquired about the type of cookware in the kitchen. I would rent this condo again in a heartbeat!!!!
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Kumulani At Mauna Kea Full Amenity Package Included For All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p496808vb
253-222-4651
Hapuna Beach Kohala Coast
Alameda, CA
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5
We can't say enough good things about our stay in this lovely condo. The unit is beautifully furnished, light and airy. Everything we needed was at hand for a wonderful and restful vacation. Susan, our landlord, was very accommodating and was a gracious hostess. The location is spectacular, and we enjoyed beautiful morning views and terrific sunsets. The Kumulani is perfectly located for exploring other parts of the island. We took several great day trips and enjoyed the amenities of the Mauna Kea and Hapuna Prince resorts. Having a good market and some outstanding local restaurants made the stay very special. We would recommend the Blue Dragon for a very fun dining experience, and trips to Hawi, Waipio Valley, the Tropical Botanical Gardens, and the Fair Winds snorkel trip were highlights of our vacation. There is so much to see and do on this island. We love the diversity of the landscape as we explored the dry areas, the tropical sections, and the ranches of Waimea. This is our third time staying at the Kumulani condos, and Susan's unit is our favorite!
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Kumulani At Mauna Kea Full Amenity Package Included For All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p496808vb
253-222-4651
Hapuna Beach Kohala Coast
Blacklick, Ohio USA
5

WOW

  • 5 of 5
This was our first time in Hawaii and first time using a VRBO. Both were fantastic. Found this listing and knew it would be great. The photos do not due the condo and location justice. When we walked in it felt very comfortable and the views of the ocean were beautiful.
Susan was so helpful and attentive to our questions. She was very quick to respond to emails and phone calls.
We would definitely recommend this property to anyone planning on a trip to Hawaii.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Kumulani At Mauna Kea Full Amenity Package Included For All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p496808vb
253-222-4651
Hapuna Beach Kohala Coast
3

NICE LOCATION... BUT

  • 3 of 5
Let me start by saying that the complex is lovely, and the unit overall well equipped and maintained. We definitely had some "hiccups" (as the owned referred to them) with our stay. First, we were notified a couple of weeks before our scheduled arrival that the pool would be unavailable. The owner did offer a full refund if we decided not to stay, but with so little time and not wanting to have to find another location, I said we would try and see how it went. The owner couldn't have been nicer, I did mention that we could come to some arraignment as to compensation for the lack of the pool and left it at that. Upon arrival, the second bedroom (which was to be used) had the bed stripped, pillows and bedspread on the floor, no sheets and the matrass cover had a black greasy stain on it. I called the owner and left a message, she called back and was shocked and said she would get someone from housekeeping as soon as she could. While out to dinner, it was handled. The next day the sink in the second bathroom had the plug broken so it would no drain, and after that, the slider door was stuck and could not be opened or closer and therefore the A/C would not come on as it was on a sensor. Not major disasters, just inconveniences, and when paying top dollar for location, I expect such things not to occur. But it was all handled, when we left I received an E Mail that I should look for by refunded security deposit. I wrote back and gently mentioned that I felt some compensation was due for the lack of the pool, and the minor problems we encountered, I received a reply that basically said, here is a complete summary of our E Mails and no where did I commit to a refund of any sort (my words) This is technically true, as I had not made any request or mention for a refund, except verbally. The unit is very nice and the location great, and it is actually on the grounds of the Hapuna Prince, not the Mona Kea, as is advertised I believe. Since there is no on site manager it is more challenging to get such matters resolved and in all fairness the owner did so quite well.However, should you encounter any problems make sure you get your commitments in writing.
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo, for your comments. I did notify these travelers 5 weeks before arrival (the day we were notified) that there may be pool maintenance during their visit. I offered a full refund at that time, upon arrival or any day during the visit they wished to depart. Even though I am not "on site" we are near at hand and had maintenance on site to fix minor problems within the hour. We wish for all of our guests to have the best possible vacation and work very hard to make sure that happens!
business
Kumulani At Mauna Kea Full Amenity Package Included For All
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p496808vb
253-222-4651
Hapuna Beach Kohala Coast
Arlington, VA
5

Great Rental, Great Price, Great Time

  • 5 of 5
My family rented this terrific condo unit for a wedding at the Mauna Kea hotel. The unit is in fabulous condition, and is extremely comfortable. The owner was exceptional, and accommodating. I highly recommend vacationing at Kumulani.
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm delighted that you enjoyed your vacation and very pleased to hear that you found your service "exceptional"! I can think of no better compliment. Mahalo nui loa.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Kona (KOA)
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Mauna Kea & Hapuna Beaches

Enjoy two of the world's finest resorts at this 2 bedroom 2 bath luxury ground floor condo at Kumulani at the Uplands of Mauna Kea on the Big Island of Hawaii. Hawaii Island features some of the most picturesque and varied beach landscapes in the islands. Enjoy the endless sights of The Big Island. One of the most popular attractions in all of the islands is found on Hawaii Island’s southeastern regions of Kau and Puna at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Visitors can go up to the observatory at Mauna Kea - one of the highest points you can get to in a vehicle! Whether you’re looking for a challenging trail on fields of lava or something shorter, Hawaii Island is heaven for hikers. See the lava flowing a volcano by boat or lava hike. See authentic hula throughout Hawaii Island at seasonal festivals, competitions, luau and live performances at hotels and resorts. Explore the wealth of scenic, open landscapes in Waimea and other spots throughout Hawaii Island on horseback. From the birthplace of King Kamehameha to the birthplace of paniolo, Hawaii Island is home to some of the most historic places in Hawaii. Whether it’s through paintings, sculptures, glassware, jewelry or hand-carved koa wood bowls, you’ll see the distinct styles that make the art found on Hawaii Island truly unique. Enjoy all the fresh offerings at the many farmer's markets and tour coffee and chocolate plants. Don't forget to stay put on the most beautiful beach in all the island, Mauna Kea and enjoy some of the best snorkeling. Aloha!

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Hapuna Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2014 Regular Rate
Jan 6 2014 - Dec 11 2014
5 night minimum stay
$265
 
 
Jan. Holiday 2014
Dec 12 2014 - Jan 5 2015
7 night minimum stay
$475
 
 
2015 Regular Rate
Jan 6 2015 - Dec 10 2015
5 night minimum stay
$279
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$265
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Amenity package information is above.
Deposits and Payments are made directly to owner.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Hapuna Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Mountain View
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , Master suite with large tub and walk in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Private second bath with walk in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom with en-suite bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , King bed or 2 twins - your preference with private bath
  • This condo sleeps 4. Master Suite has a king bed, TV, large tub, walk in shower and closet. Enjoy beautiful views to the ocean or walk out to the lanai. Guest suite has king or 2 twin beds made to your preference and private bath.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo ...
  • Games ...
  • Books ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Tennis ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • golf
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • fishing
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$795 - $1,400 per night
5 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$400 - $950 per night
5 - 10 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,619 per week
5 - 14 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6