Henderson/Las Vegas 3 Bdrm 2 Bath in Palm Canyon
The property was as described--very clean and cute. The décor was quite charming--a lot of thought and effort went into creating the theme for the house. The property has a great location with nearby interstate access, yet a very quite neighborhood - no traffic or jet noise either. The master bedroom and bath were quite large and accommodating. There were however a few issues. There were no instructions on how to operate the satellite TV and we could not get it to work in the family room for our entire stay of three days (we had no issues with the TV in the master bedroom). We contacted the owner, but they were unable to come and fix it in time. There were no instructions on where the internet modem was located, so we had to call the owner. It took a few hours before the owner called back to tell us where it was. The modem needed to be reset for internet service to work. The microwave oven was broken and we reported it to the owner per the rental agreement and they did not charge it against our deposit. They did refund our deposit of $50, which was a reasonable fare. The third bedroom's single bed was uncomfortable. The light in the master bathroom toilet room did not work - had to leave the door open. We told the owner and they told us where we could find a spare light bulb in the house. We attempted to replace the bulb and it still did not work. There was no guest book. There were not enough wash cloths in the master bath (we later found extra washcloths in the laundry room). The master bedroom desk chair was apparently nearly an antique, a traditional wooden swivel chair, however it was missing the casters and lacked a seat cushion - very uncomfortable and difficult to move to be able sit at the desk. The master bed room bed frame and head board was made of pallet wood - rough sawn. One could easily get a splinter and you had to be careful getting into and out of the bed. All these things point to apparently inexperienced rental owners. We share these details in hope that the owners will heed them and make improvements.
Owner's Response: Thank you Gerri for pointing out improvements that we can do to make our house more accommodating. However, as we told you, we work long and unusual hours during the week and sometimes it is quite difficult to get over there to change a light bulb for a guest.We apologize that the bulb went out and the replacement was bad as well. However,we do not replace evert bulb for every booking to ensure they are fresh.The modem is out of sight, but easily accessible. Once I told you where it was to reset it, there was no issue. Both the T.V. and the internet were working perfectly prior to your arrival so we apologize you could not seem to get them to work for you. We go to the house to ensure everything is in order prior to every guests' arrival and it was working fine. Perhaps it was user error due to the fact Mrs Seikerka stated that you both were not (Direct TV) people.The microwave has been replaced and we apologize that it went out during your visit. As far as the bed is concerned, I too have stayed at many vacation rentals and have found some beds to have been uncomfortable, so I do not know if it was the bed or if have a sensitive back. Thank you for the tip on adding a cushion to the desk chair. It is an antique and was not manufactured with a seat cushion so we left it as it came from the factory, minus the cast iron casters so it won't scratch the floor. The wash cloths were in the linen closet with the rest of the towels. Some guests use them and some do not. But we are happy you found the extras in the laundry room. And lastly, the master bed. As you pointed out, all of the beds are made out of pallets as the pictures clearly indicate on the listing website where you found our house. If you felt perhaps you might get a splinter, why would you book a stay at our house in the first place? We apologize our house did not meet your expectations and fell short on how YOU would run a vacation rental. Unfortunately our experience will never be able to predict personal touches that our guest expect to see. I share these details with you Gerri and hopefully you will heed them when making a future booking to clearly look at the listing photographs and not book a rental in hast. Also, we feel guest books are for museums not vacation rentals! No vacation rental that we have ever stayed in had a guest book. Thank you for your booking and look forward to your next visit.
Jeff & Sheri
Sent from a smart phone with a tiny screen
Did you find this review helpful?