PERFECT FAMILY RETREAT! 3 BLOCKS FROM BEACH AND MARINA- 1/2 ACRE PROPERTY

From
$150
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

April and Pete Sneathen

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PERFECT FAMILY RETREAT! 3 BLOCKS FROM BEACH AND MARINA- 1/2 ACRE PROPERTY

Holland House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 1.5 Bathroom With Large Wooded Backyard

Newly remodeled in August.

Our large half acre backyard beckons you to lounge on the patio furniture near large shady trees, roast marshmallows over the fire pit, sip drinks and grill out, all while absorbing the beautiful wooded backdrop and serene natural setting around.

Once inside, the open floor plan, modern kitchen and spacious great room accommodates parties of all size. The main floor also offers a master suite, 2 additional bedrooms, full bathroom, a half bathroom, fireplace and laundry facilities for convenient use. High speed WiFi throughout. And a new Internet TV Viewing experience, including complimentary access to Netflix, Amazon Prime and Hulu Plus.

You'll find plenty to do in this beautiful area of Holland. located just 3 blocks from the marina and a short walk away from the Macatawa public beach; you can charter/rent a boat for the day, take a swim in the lake, or lay out under the warm sun. At the end of our short street you'll find the bike trail, and a short bike ride will grant you access to the beautiful Holland State Park and public beach.

2 Adult and 2 Kid bikes coming for summer 2014!

An ideal getaway for you year round.

No cleaning fees. There is an optional mid week cleaning fee of $150.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

April and Pete Sneathen

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2013
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We love the Holland area with cute shops downtown and great restaurants. We love how close the beach is and the biking trails nearby. Our 2 small boys love the big back yard to play in and sit by the campfire at night.

April and Pete Sneathen purchased this house in 2013

Our home is very family oriented with things for both kids and adults to do.

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Perfect family retreat! 3 blocks from beach and Marina- 1/2 Acre property
average rating of 4.5 based on 5 reviews
business
Perfect family retreat! 3 blocks from beach and Marina- 1/2 Acre property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p488639vb
+1 616-634-2333
Holland Western Michigan
5

Our Weekend retreat from the world!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
While picking our weekend get away, I appreciated the quick, courteous response from the oweners. We weren't sure of our arrival time, so the owners make it possible for quick and easy access by giving us door codes in case we arrived late. I was impressed at the cleanliness and how well stocked the home was. All we had to do was furnish our food. The decor was very warm and "homey" we loved sitting on the couches while the fireplace glowed all evening. We slept so well, the beds were absolutely wonderful and so comfortable! It was so refreshing to walk in and feel just like we were home. One of the high spots for us was the internet TV. How refreshing to have access to such a wide variety of programming on the flatscreen TVs. I would highly recommend this vacation home. It was a wonderful experience from the kindness extended to us by the owners to the beautiful decor, the large backyard complete with lawn furniture, firepit and firewood. We actually have plans to book this home again this winter.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure meeting you both and having you stay in our vacation home. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

It sounds like our decision to purchase high quality mattresses and linens for the beds are providing our guests with a great nights sleep. We also love our large private wooded back yard and have enjoyed time sitting around the fireplace under the star filled night sky. Nothing like roasted marshmallows and s'mores on an autumn night.

I'm so glad you enjoyed our Internet streaming TV entertainment system. We have 2 young children, and when we stay in our vacation home, we find that Netflix, Amazon Prime and Hulu Plus subscriptions provide for a wide variety of entertainment for both adults and kids.

We look forward to having you stay at our vacation home again in the near future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Perfect family retreat! 3 blocks from beach and Marina- 1/2 Acre property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p488639vb
+1 616-634-2333
Holland Western Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan/US
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were up from NC for the final Hope football game of the season/ Senior Day to see our son play. The accomodations were perfect for ourselves, grandparents and siblings to come for the weekend. We found the house to be very clean, and well equipped for everything we needed. Renting the house, as opposed to multiple hotel rooms, allowed us to have much more time together and grill out after Saturday's game. We couldn't have asked for better accomodations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Perfect family retreat! 3 blocks from beach and Marina- 1/2 Acre property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p488639vb
+1 616-634-2333
Holland Western Michigan
Rockford, IL
5

Weekend stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My family stayed for a 3 day weekend. The house was very clean and decorated nicely. The home was comfortable and we had everything we needed. The bathroom is nice and large (so important with women!) and the ranch style was wonderful for our crawling baby- no stairs to worry about. The netflix and Hulu were a nice surprise. We will be staying again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Perfect family retreat! 3 blocks from beach and Marina- 1/2 Acre property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p488639vb
+1 616-634-2333
Holland Western Michigan
3

Review of Extended Stay

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed in this house for 4 weeks waiting to close on a house, so we had some time to evaluate it. We will actually be staying here for 4 more weeks, but will move out 2 separate weekends because the house is rented to other people. So, we will leave reviews after each separate stay to update our experience with the property.
Pros: Furniture is pretty comfortable; nice neighborhood; relatively close to the lake; big back yard; kitchen is decently stocked; since we’ll be back after a weekend, it was helpful that the owners let us keep some of our stuff here.
Cons:
• There is only internet tv (no cable or satellite). That means no live sports (we miss football) or news and watching network shows at least a day after they air (if you get them at all).
• Water heater is turned down too low, making it impossible to get a sufficiently hot shower.
• Shower head is too low. Anybody taller than about 5 ½ feet will have a problem.
• We suspect there’s a large patch of poison ivy in the back yard near the woods, so don’t use the back 1/3 of the yard (“leaves of 3, let them be”)

None of these things are terrible and overall the house is decent. We might have rated it higher, but we were bothered by the owners pushing us for payment for our next 2 stays.

We agreed to pay for half the total for our next 2 stays by the middle of the month and the rest by the 1st move out date. The owners asked us to pay by cash or check because if we paid through VRBO it would take several days for them to get the money and would cost them a fee. Both April and Pete mentioned this to us separately.

It seems like being able to tell that payment was made should be enough and their costs shouldn’t be our problem. Still, we not only paid cash but paid $70 extra in the first payment.

Despite that, Pete left us a voicemail 3 days before the final payment was due reminding us to pay. After he called that evening, he called again at 8:20 the next morning (in case we didn’t get his message). He again asked us to pay in cash so they didn’t have to wait for a check to clear and wanted to pick it up from us that day (2 days before the due date).

We found the owner’s reminder calls & requests for cash both unusual and off putting.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We appreciate you bringing these items to our attention.

We are happy to hear you are enjoying warmer showers now that the temperature on the water heater has been increased. We have also replaced the shower head with a unit that is much taller and has multiple settings, including massage.

We checked out the issue concerning Poison Ivy and it appears to be a ground cover plant that resembles poison ivy, however you are wise to take percussion when dealing with leaves of three, we would do the same. We know you are staying for another two weeks this month, and if you still believe you have located poison ivy, we would appreciate the opportunity to meet with you so we can identify it and take action to remove it from the property. We want to make sure your stay is safe and enjoyable.

We have also added 'Netflix' and 'I Heart Radio' to the existing Amazon Prime and Hulu plus Internet TV Streaming subscriptions. We hope this enhances your TV entertainment experience while enjoying our budget friendly vacation home.

We are currently reviewing new ways we can communicate with our renters that have payments due close to check in date. We do appreciate the insight, as this will allow us to enhance our renter's vacation home experience.

Our goal for all renters is to provide them with a safe, relaxing, enjoyable, and cost effective vacation rental home.

Thank you again for you review and insight.

Pete and April
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Perfect family retreat! 3 blocks from beach and Marina- 1/2 Acre property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p488639vb
+1 616-634-2333
Holland Western Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Home decor

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The house is lovely and so fresh. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 2/3
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
36.7 Miles
Gerald R. Ford International Airport
Nearest Ferry
34.9 Miles
Muskegon Ferry (gateway to/from Wisconsin)
Nearest Train
5.9 Miles
Amtrak Station-HOM
Nearest Motorway
5.9 Miles
US 31
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
Holland State Park 0.8 mile, Tunnel Beach 1.3 mi.
Nearest Barpub
2.1 Miles
itty Bitty Bar
Nearest Ski
58.7 Miles
Cannonsburg Ski Area
Nearest Golf
12.6 Miles
Winding Creek Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
Ottawa Beach Inn
Car: recommended
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Holland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Summer Rates
May 23 2014 - Sep 6 2014
$1,200
7 nights
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 29 2014
$700
Flat fee
4 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$150
2 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Optional mid wk cleaning $150.00 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250.00
Pet Fee $150.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
Summer 2014- rents per week with Saturday check-in & check-out. Fall minimum 2 night stay
Check-in = 4:00pm
Check-out = 11:00am

Pets allowed only with permission of owner. Non-refundable Pet fee of $150 per rental period per pet will be incurred.
*Fall/Winter monthly and long term rates available. Please contact us for more information*

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Holland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1150 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Parking
  • Garage ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , With sink.
    Full Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Double sinks, rain forest shower w/hand held shower head
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 2 twin beds
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Twin daybed with popup trundle, convertible to King bed.
    Pac-n-play - Sleeps 1 infant/toddler
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • water parks
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • parasailing
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • snorkeling
  • water tubing
  • jet skiing
Email Owner Email