Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

We Love Our Glacier View Home! Find Out Why!

Dominic (Dee) and Teresa Carestia

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Dominic (Dee) and Teresa Carestia

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 31, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

We Love Our Glacier View Home! Find Out Why!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Smithers Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom / 2 Bathroom Sleeps 6

FLASH: WE NOW HAVE DISH TELEVISION ON OUR 50 INCH FLAT SCREEN PLASMA TV AND WIRELESS INTERNET!

We LOVE our Glacier View home above Lake Kathlyn for so many reasons! First, we just love Smithers and the surrounding area. The people here are simply the best, the scenery is beautiful beyond measure, and the fun, recreational activities are just endless! If you love the outdoors and fishing, hunting, hiking, bicycling, downhill skiing, cross-country skiing, snowmobiling, ice skating, quadding, photographing wildlife and natural wonders, trekking through the mountains, and just enjoying the most pristine natural environment you are going to find, then you will love Smithers too!

Why do we love our Glacier View home? Well, for starters, it's brand new! It's an ICF home (insulated concrete form), and it is the quietest, coziest place you can imagine. You don't hear the airport traffic, you don't hear the highway noise, you don't even hear the trains coming through town several times each day and night! Our home is easy to heat (you can practically heat this place with a cigarette lighter) and it stays oh-so-comfortably warm in the winter. And, we have ceiling fans in every bedroom and in the great room to circulate air and to help keep things just-right cool during the summer.

We finished our home in the fall of 2013, and in 2014 we put even more high-end finishing touches by adding more really nice furnishings. These include a combination ottoman/coffee table, area rugs, lamps for the night stands in the master bedroom, blinds on selected windows, and we are just finishing the landscaping now. Of course, the lawn won't be grown until 2915, but the snow is coming soon for this year anyway. Our home is now pretty much fully finished and is currently occupied. We have only a few small additional items we are contemplating for our home which we will add again next spring. Check our calendar for future availability!

Some of the photos show our knotty hickory cabinets and imported granite counter tops, Brazilian Koa hardwood floors, and rare larch plank ceilings. We have taken a great number of trees out of our view of the glacier this summer, and our glacier view is now even more beautiful than before! We also have cleared and topped trees so that we now have a really nice view of the Babine Mountains from the master bedroom deck also.

It was our aim to make our home as beautiful and as nice as we can to enjoy for ourselves and to share with you when we are not here living in it. Check out all ofr our newest pictures!

We have had lots of wonderful guests over the last year, and we thank everyone for their wonderful comments. Everyone who stayed with us told us that we had the nicest place available in the area. That is always very nice to hear, and we invite you to try our Glacier View Home and judge it for yourselves! We spared no expense putting only those things of highest quality in our home. We ask only that you enjoy it with us, and that you please help us take good care of it along the way.

We are also offering reduced rates for fewer than 6 guests. We wanted our rate structure to be equally advantageous for smaller groups, so here is what we wanted to offer to good people who can't put a larger group together, but would still like to enjoy our Glacier View Home. Our base rental rate for 1 or 2 guests is $1050, and each additional guest up to a maximum of 6 guests pays an additional rental rate of $30.00 per night.

The many guests who have now stayed with is have called our Glacier View Home truly beautiful, spectacular, and the very best at a reasonable price! We appreciate what our guests have had to say about our home and our service. And now, we look forward to hearing from you!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Dominic (Dee) and Teresa Carestia (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 31, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
We Love Our Glacier View Home! Find Out Why!
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
Montana
5

We LOVED it!

  • 5 of 5

The home is just beautiful!! We enjoyed our stay so much, the downhill skiing was fantastic, and we even got some wonderful cross country skiing in right from the house. We went down to the lake and had some winter skating fun on it as well. The view of the glacier from the front room is just to die for. The house was very well equipped with everything we needed and was so warm, comfy and cozy. The owners were wonderful to work with, and we can't wait to come back. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We are very glad that you enjoyed your winter ski vacation in Smithers and your stay in our Glacier View Home. You were wonderful renters and we would love to have you back anytime. All the best! Dee & Teresa
5

Awesome home!

  • 5 of 5

Dee and Teresa thanks for sharing your home! Myself and two friends decided to go to Smithers to ride Snowmobiles.(Alaska had no snow) we were lucky to find this home to stay in, it was one of the many highlights of our trip. After a long day of waist deep powder and sore muscles we were able to return to a very well stocked house that felt just like home. If you are looking to go to Smithers and rent a home for a week, I can't imagine there being a better place to stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dan and friends! We thoroughly enjoyed having you guys stay with us, and we would love to have you back anytime, including when the snow mobile riding is at its best again!! You guys were great guests, and thanks so much for not only enjoying our home, but taking really good care of it while you had a blast in the powder! All the best!! Dee & Teresa
Petersburg Alaska
5

Wonderfull property

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home. From the moment we walked thru the door it felt like home. Enjoyed the view,spectacular. The close proximity to town made it very convenient for our stay. Especially enjoyed all the moose wandering around, and the quiet neighborhood. Thank you for having us. Bruce

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was GREAT having your group stay in our Glacier View Home. We are very happy that you enjoyed not only our home, and that you took such good care of it, but we were also very pleased to hear that you took in some fantastic snowmobiling while you were there! Thanks again, and we look forward to your return!
5

Absolutely stunning!!!

  • 5 of 5

This place is even more beautiful than the pictures! Dee and Theresa were always swift to reply to any questions we had and were very helpful. Our stay in the gorgeous house with a fabulous view of the mountains was beyond our expectations!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your great review and wonderful compliments! We are always thrilled when our guests enjoy not only our home, but the Smithers area as well. We were glad to hear that your family had a great month at our home, and we look forward to having you back!
5

Another Great Christmas in Smithers

  • 5 of 5

This was our second Christmas in Smithers. Our first stay was wonderful and our expectations were high. Teresa and Dee have kept the house in immaculate condition, and our expectations were exceeded. This house and surrounding area have so much to offer, I would recommend them to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again, Sam. It is always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests as yourselves stay in our beautiful Glacier View Home. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves again over your Christmas holiday in our home. You two are ALWAYS very much appreciated and welcome guests!
4

smithers

  • 4 of 5

Teresa and Dominic. Thank you for a great stay at your Smithers residence. The only complaint I would have is that the kitchen supplies were fairly inadequate. I love to cook and I found it a little difficult as the kitchen was missing basic items. A steamer for vegetables, a bottle opener, a barbecue, etc. Also having a larger capacity coffee maker would be great. (I love my coffee) haha. Other than that your place is absolutely beautiful! I would recommend it to people for sure. I would give it a 4.5 out of 5 rating. If the kitchen was better stocked it would be a 5. By the way, the pots and pans are very nice. Hope this helps!

Cheers,

Dave

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very glad that you enjoyed our home so much that you are recommending it to others, Dave, and thank you! Just so that our potential future renters have accurate information, the BBQ was in the garage and was indeed readily available for your use. That’s where we keep it when fall/winter rolls around. We regret that you didn't check the garage or ask us at the time. This is our home, not just a rental, and we have a fully equipped kitchen which actually does include all of the items you mentioned, as well as a toaster, blender, mixer, pie and cookie sheets, ceramic baking dishes, colander, fresh fruit and vegetable juicer, as well as the “very nice” pots and pans you mentioned – just everything a person would need because, again, we live there too. All of our other guests have had no problem finding everything they needed, but again for future guests, there are bottle openers in the general utility drawer in the kitchen (don't know how you missed them, Dave, but sorry that you did), and a wine opener as well as grippers to help open tight lids. Inexpensive steamers are readily available at the dollar store in town if you couldn't find ours – but like everything else you mentioned, it is there. We admit that we are not big coffee drinkers, but our coffee pot will make 8 cups of coffee, two batches, in about 5 minutes. Our other guests have actually appreciated our smaller pot which readily provides fresh coffee rather than having stale old coffee sit in a large pot throughout the day. For potential future guests, please feel free to compare the other reviews by Kamryn (“The house was very well equipped with everything we needed”), and Bill (“It was so nice to have a fully equipped home and no worries”). Again, we are thrilled that you enjoyed our Glacier View Home and we thank you for your kind words and your “for sure” recommendation! We look forward to having you back anytime, and all the best! Dee & Teresa

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Kilometres
Smithers Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
8 Kilometres
Numerous
Nearest Ferry
350 Kilometres
Prince Rupert
Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Smithers Golf and Country Club
Nearest Train
15 Kilometres
ViaRail Canada, Smithers
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Highway 16, Yellowhead Highway
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Numerous
Nearest Ski
20 Kilometres
Hudson Bay Mountain, Smithers
Nearest Beach
1 Kilometres
Lake Kathlyn Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$1,050 Per week

Smithers Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
C$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee C$150
Refundable damage deposit C$500

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Smithers Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Two bathrooms - one very large shower stall for the master bedroom, and one shower stall for the guest bedrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Three bedrooms. Two queen size beds and one sofa sleeper in the den/bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote