ADIRONDACK MOUNTAIN MAJESTY -- NEW FALL RATES

Sue Carter

Advertiser since 2013
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Manager

Sue Carter

Advertiser since 2013
Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ADIRONDACK MOUNTAIN MAJESTY -- NEW FALL RATES

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Overview

Keeseville Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Three Bedroom, 1 Bath Waterfront Cottage on Augur Lake with mountain views

Feel your troubles subside as you begin your stay in our rustic, lakefront Adirondack Mountain home...

For couples seeking a romantic getaway to families looking to make memories, our camp has something for everyone...

Take one of our three kayaks out early in the morning and watch wildlife awaken on the lake...

Feel the gentle waves caress your body as you float on a raft in the cool water...

Cast a line from our rowboat and try your luck at Bass fishing...

Sunbathe on our sunny lawn... We have a Southern Exposure...

Cool off in the lake and enjoy the sand under your feet as you gradually descend into the water --no unexpected drop-offs here...

Grab a bucket and try to catch a frog along our shoreline... Better be quick! They are fast...

Borrow a book and relax in our Adirondack chairs...

Enjoy your morning coffee, afternoon snooze and evening cocktail on our screened porch with unobstructed views of the lake and Knight Mountain...

Pluck some herbs from our garden and spice up your dinner...

Grill today's catch on our gas grill while the kids shuck delicious local corn on the cob...

Share ghost stories while eating S'mores around our fire pit...

Delight in the laughter of loved ones as they experience today, tomorrow's best memories...

Forget your worries.. they can't find you here...

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sue Carter (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2013
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Sue Carter

We are the Lockwood Family from Queensbury, New York. We have travelled throughout our gorgeous nation but would be hard pressed to find a location more beautiful than the Adirondack Mountains.

Sue Carter purchased this cottage in 2006

Why Sue Carter chose Keeseville

Mere words cannot begin to describe what Augur Lake means to us. It can be better expressed through the emotions that it evokes. Joy, solitude, peace, laughter, excitement, gratitude. To us, The Rustic Retreat on Augur Lake is a piece of heaven on Earth that we are blessed to own. We feel great joy that we are able to share our home with others.

We hope that you too will be overwhelmed by the blessings of this place and experience the restfulness, calm and joy that it bestows upon us.

What makes this cottage unique

Augur Lake provides some of the best Bass fishing in the Adirondack Park. Because it is a private lake with no public access, only lake owners can enjoy the pristine waters of this Adirondack jewel. Boat traffic is light and no personal watercraft is allowed.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Adirondack Mountain Majesty -- New Fall Rates
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Adirondack Mountain Majesty -- New Fall Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477752vb
+1 -518-593-9889
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
Massachusetts
4

Late Summer vacation

  • 4 of 5
The cottage was exactly as pictured with many amenities. Kitchen was well equipped with plenty of utensils and cookware. Great selection of DVDs and books for rainy days - we had several unfortunately. Ausable Chasm was a great excursion as well as Lake Placid, Plattsburgh and surrounding area.
The Lake is very pretty to look at by the campfire. The weed infestation makes it impossible to swim from the shore and frustrating getting fishing lines caught up. Kayaks were a great bonus. Saw a variety of wildlife including bald eagle, beaver and 3 fawns very close to cottage.
The driveway is indeed quite steep and difficult to maneuver. We chanced it not having a 4 wheel drive vehicle and survived but it was a nuisance. We wouldn't choose to stay here again unless we had a car with higher suspension. The neighbor who refuses to fix the drive must be a grumpy person - its unfortunate as the setting by the lake is quite lovely. Getting in and out was just a hassle that added a bit of stress to an otherwise relaxing vacation.
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found everything within our control satisfactory. We agree, the driveway is a point of frustration and that is why we clearly state it's condition on our VRBO listing and advise our guests that four wheel and all wheel drive vehicles are strongly recommended. We have never had any intention of misleading our guests.
Unfortunately, milfoil has become a real problem within the entire Adirondack Park and like other lake communities, our association has struggled with ways in which to combat it while abiding by the stiff regulations put in place by the Adirondack Park Agency. In June, our Lake Association was given permission to stock Augur with sterile carp. Experience has shown that over time, by eating the milfoil, the carp will help eradicate this nuisance weed. We have however, raked and hand harvested the weeds from our shoreline to the end of our dock so that our renters have a pleasant spot in which to swim. In addition, there are many lovely areas around the lake, including the small island visible from our home, where our guests can swim weed free.
Again, we thank you for taking the time to review our home and we wish you many blessings. The Lockwood Family
business
Adirondack Mountain Majesty -- New Fall Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477752vb
+1 -518-593-9889
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
5

what a quiet place!!!

  • 5 of 5
we had such a great time at "the rustic retreat"; everything was better that what we could expect ! We were 2 families with 3 kids (3, 5 & 7 y.o); we brought our own extra mattress and put it in the kids' bedroom.
Everything was made for kids and parents to have fun: little safe sandy beach with toys , indoor games, pretty room ( we loved the "rainbow" light"!), first time kayaking, wild animals to discover !!!! As the kids said " best holidays ever ;) !
We recommend this place to everyone without any hesitation!!
PS: we were a bit worried about the driveway , but it was quite OK, even with our modest city car (!!) but probably harder during winter!
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay in our Augur Lake home. You don't know how much we appreciate your kind words and your recommendation to others. Thank you!

We know that the Adirondacks offers many lovely homes for rent and feel very blessed you chose ours for your precious vacation time. We hope that you will consider coming back next year. Thank you again, The Lockwood Family
business
Adirondack Mountain Majesty -- New Fall Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477752vb
+1 -518-593-9889
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
5

our getaway

  • 5 of 5
It is long after our getaway with our two boys...but we are hoping to return to this perfect little spot. We spent a week in July of 2013 and are thinking of maybe two this summer. Our boys are 11 and 7 and still talk so much about our week on Augur Lake. We had the gift of quiet, relaxing family time...with a beautiful lakeside view. Every day for seven days we took out the kyacks, we had a bonfire, made s'mores. We were able to hike, hit Ausable Chasm and Lake Placid during the Iron Man. This vacation was very outside of the box for us beach people. And we loved every minute at your cozy, peaceful and almost "off the grid" camp. Honestly...we can not wait to return and find our quiet mornings, daily exploring and campfire nights. We have nothing but great memories and are hoping to make even more this summer.
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We are overjoyed that you had such a wonderful time with your family making lifelong memories at the lake.
We would be honored to welcome your family back at any time. It gives us great pleasure to be able to make "our getaway" yours. Thank you!
business
Adirondack Mountain Majesty -- New Fall Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477752vb
+1 -518-593-9889
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
What you see on the website is what you get: quaint, rustic, cute.
The cottage is really well kept and organized and has tons of fun stuff to keep you busy. 3 kayaks, a row boat, life vests for everyone, beach towels, floaty toys, lawn games, huge fire pit, even a rockin' tree house! Everything you need is there, no need to bring it.
10 minutes to Ausable Chasm!!!
Awesome screened porch with plenty of seating for great mosquito-free evenings!
The driveway down to the cottage is indeed painful, but we managed with a Mazda 3 and a bit of skill...
Good grocery store, convenience store and liquor store in Keeseville, less then 10 minutes away.
Unfortunately this year, the lake was completely filled with weeds, so the beach wasn't very useful, but there are still a few really nice swimming spots on the island or on the other side of the lake, easily accessible by kayak.
Great for families, friends parties or rustic romantic getaways.
Great experience overall, would definitely go again!
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, thank you, thank you for your kind words and ever so thoughtful review. It warms our hearts to know that you had such a nice stay at our home. We try to make things within our control as comfortable for our guests as we possibly can, since we know there are so many great places in the Adirondacks to choose from. We really appreciate that you took a chance on our place and are so happy that it worked out so well and that you had a nice time.
Again, thank you for renting our home and then taking the time to review it. Wishing you many blessings, The Lockwood Family
business
Adirondack Mountain Majesty -- New Fall Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477752vb
+1 -518-593-9889
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
United States
5

Comfortable, enjoyable getaway

  • 5 of 5
The "Rustic Retreat" worked out perfectly for our family. The cabin was well furnished and supplied, clean, attractive and very spacious. The kitchen was huge and easy to cook in, nice big dining table, comfy beds, lovely screened porch, modern bath. Beautiful views of the lake and mountains. Wish the lake didn't have so many weeds, but it was fun to take the kayaks to the nearby little island (250 kayak strokes or less!) for swimming in the clear. Convenient to Keesville for grocery shopping, and to many hiking trails and awesome swimming holes that my husband, an inveterate map reader, managed to find. Cell phone service was spotty (we have AT&T) but that was actually a bonus for us since we all got to really be away from it all for a few days. Love the Adirondacks, and wish we had more time to spend there. Maybe next year.
One additional note: We were warned that 4 wheel drive is recommended because the private road to the cabin is steep and rutted. Well, this is NOT an exaggeration. We have a van that has high clearance but no 4-wheel drive, and making it up the drive was a dicey proposition.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at our home on Augur Lake. It sounds like many happy memories were made during your stay.

The Adirondacks are filled with many wonderful things, not the least of which are the wonderful swimming holes! They are the source of great fun and wonder.

We are grateful to you for taking the time to share your experiences with others.

Take good care and best wishes, The Lockwood Family
business
Adirondack Mountain Majesty -- New Fall Rates
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p477752vb
+1 -518-593-9889
Keeseville Lake Champlain Valley
Saratoga ny
5

Quiet and Peaceful!

  • 5 of 5
We arrived at a very clean, neat, bright and comfortable cabin. The ride down the driveway was a bit rough. The cabin is open, kid-friendly (we have 5 boys ages 1 to 6- kid-friendly was wonderful), the beach is visible from the big screened-in porch and the kayaks and row-boat were the source of some really fun times for our family. It was peaceful and private, sketchy cell-phone reception and no Internet, which we enjoyed. There was goose poopy all over the yard, guess that's the Adirondacks... We cleaned up the poo so our kids could run back and forth from the house to the beach without stepping in it. We had a problem one night with the carbon monoxide detector going off over and over at midnight, scaring our kids to death, but the property manager was very nice when we called her in the middle of the night, and replaced the alarm the next morning, and we had no other issues with it. The old one had just gone bad. The beach area was clear and beautiful. The boys could watch good-sized fish sunning in the shallow water!
The cabin is close to Ausable Chasm and some great hiking areas, and not too far from Burlington, VT, so if you wanted something to do on a day trip there are several options.
We would recommend this cabin to anyone, especially families, and would definitely go back again ourselves. It was peaceful and comfortable, a perfect vacation spot.
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, five boys! What a blessing. Thank you for choosing our home as your vacation destination when there are so many to choose from. We are thrilled to hear that you had a nice time despite the midnight wake up call. We are so happy to hear that it was resolved to your satisfaction. Thanks for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. Best wishes, The Lockwood Family
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Plattsburgh International Airport
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Port Kent
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Port Kent
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Port Kent
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
I -87
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Little Italy -Downtown Keeseville

Nestled in the beauty of the Adirondack Mountains, our camp is centrally located giving easy access to Plattsburgh, Lake Placid, Burlington, Vermont and Montreal.

Locally, recreational opportunities abound. There is something for everyone!

Discover Ausable Chasm - a canyon of rock formed over 500 million years. Get wet as you snake through the cavern by raft or tube or explore the wonders down under at dusk by lantern...

Take a one hour ferry ride from Port Kent across Lake Champlain to beautiful Burlington. Spend the day shopping tax free or visit the Echo Lake Aquarium and Science Center and learn about the fish, amphibians, invertebrates and reptiles that call Lake Champlain their home.

How about a hike? From the beginner to the expert, the possibilities are endless. We are closest to Pocomoonshine, which boasts views of Vermont, Canada and the Adirondack High Peaks from its summit.

In less than an hour, be at the place where 'miracles are made,' Lake Placid, the site of the 1980 Winter Olympics and home of the Ironman Triathlon.

History buffs can explore the North Star Underground Museum in Keeseville to learn the history of fugitive slaves as they made their way through the Champlain Valley to Quebec or travel to Plattsburgh, where American Master Commandant Macdonough stopped the British Offense in its tracks during the War of 1812.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Keeseville Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Post-season
Sep 8 2014 - Oct 14 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
 
Columbus Day Weekend
Oct 10 2014 - Oct 12 2014
3 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,210
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning/Linen Fee $110
Security Deposit $200
Notes Acceptable payment methods are personal check, money order or cash.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Keeseville Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom -- shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen Bedrooms 1 Bedroom with Bunk beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a deeded right of way to our property which requires the use of our neighbor's six hundred foot driveway. The condition of her driveway is steep and rough. Because of this, we strongly recommend renters use a four wheel or all wheel drive vehicle to access our property.
Email Manager Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,200 - $2,250 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$749 - $1,579 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$900 - $1,600 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote