Saranac Lake Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedroom, Pet Friendly, Historic Cottage at A Great Camp Sleeps
The Gardeners Cottage is one of the original cottages of White Pine Camp; a lovingly restored Adirondack Great Camp that was the summer White House of President Calvin Coolidge in 1926.
White Pine Camp was built in 1907 in the tradition of the Adirondack Great Camps - magnificent rustic compounds of comfort built a century ago by the rich and powerful on wilderness estates. The camp offers a year-round restful retreat in unparalleled natural surroundings in a private setting.
Gardeners cottage has a Living room with woodstove, Dining room, Kitchen and three bedrooms-one with queen bed, one with double bed, one with two single beds. One full bathroom with pedestal sink, clawfoot tub and separate shower; one half-bathroom with toilet and sink. Outside sitting area. The Gardener's Cottage is located near the entrance to the property and is about 800 feet from the lake, down a wooded path, to a lakefront sitting area with dock. Available year-round.
The Great Room: The social retreat of an Adirondack Great Camp is the Great Room, a rustically grandiose meeting place for formal and informal activities. White Pine Camp's Great Room is available to guests at all times and provides a comfortable setting with furnishings typical of the era, including stick furniture, leather couches and decorative taxidermy. Firewood in the huge flagstone fireplace is always laid for guests to light at their leisure. Guests may borrow the Great Room's reading materials, board games and puzzles; and those with laptops or smart phones can use the room's Wi-Fi to connect to the Internet. The screened-in front porch offers a pleasant place to sit and enjoy the vista of the property, surrounding forest and Osgood Pond. The Great Room may also host intimate group dinners, corporate meeting or other specialized events.
The Overlook: Under a canopy of cathedral pines and overlooking the Japanese Tea House and Osgood Pond is the Overlook. With its expansive vintage red tile patio, pergola, Adirondack furniture and fire pit, the Overlook is a popular spot for a lunch time picnic, late afternoon cocktails or an evening campfire with s'mores. Most White Pine Camp brides choose the Overlook as the perfect location for a wedding ceremony.
The Bowling Alley: Part of the Addison Mizner architectural design, the bowling alley was added to the game room in 1911. Yes, the set-your-own-pins bowling alley is still functioning and is much enjoyed by guests young and old. It also boasts a large stone fireplace, pool table and intimate 'back porch' with incredible sunset views of Osgood Pond.
Japanese Tea House: Much coveted by the wealthy ladies of the Great Camps was a Japanese Tea House on an island. Olive White, wife of the original owner, was determined to have one as well. Today the Tea House is one of the most sought-after photo subjects in the Adirondacks. Our guests enjoy unlimited use of the Tea House island as a quiet getaway, sunbathing spot or a place for an evening cocktail. Accessing the Tea House entails a pleasant walk across a lagoon over a 300-foot wooden bridge and then a short arched stone bridge. Small weddings are sometimes held at the Tea House.
Beach: Off the Tea House island in Osgood Pond is an expansive, sandy bottomed shallow wading area that gradually deepens for great swimming. Because the lake is a relatively shallow body of water, the water warms quickly, allowing swimming by mid-June and into early September
Boat Houses: White Pine Camp boasts two boat houses. The 'original' boat house is pictured on our signature logo and houses canoes, kayaks and rowboats (as well as required life jackets) for complimentary use by our guests. The original boat house features the slip where President Coolidge's boat, Winkler, was kept during the summer of 1926. A large undercover deck area provides pleasant seating with an extraordinary view of Osgood Pond. The 'new' boat house, or 1926 boat house as it is sometimes called, was built to accommodate the President's stay. Complimentary canoes are available to guests here as well. The large sun-filled deck with Adirondack chairs and spacious interior with wood stove, ping pong table and an exhibit of the camp's history in the 20th century make this facility a popular spot for recreation and social events.
The Tennis House and Tennis Court: The Tennis House is one of the more unusual buildings at White Pine Camp, straddling the ridge overlooking the lake to the rear and the old clay court to the front. The long and narrow building features large folding doors that fully open to the court and floor-length windows that swing open to the rear. Flanking comfortable rattan furniture in the center of the building are a stone fireplace and a bar. The tennis court, originally of imported red English clay, now serves as a location for tented receptions and occasional performances. Common bathrooms are located in the adjacent Tennis Tea House.
The Athletic Field: Nestled in among the tall pines across the lane from the tennis court is a well maintained grassy athletic field with volleyball net, badminton and horseshoe pits. Athletic equipment is provided for these sports as well as croquet.
Alpine Rock Garden: This one-of-a-kind Alpine Rock Garden, designed and built around 1925 by French immigrant and White Pine Camp gardener Fred Heutte, earned a presidential commendation from Calvin Coolidge. The recently restored garden, located along the lane leading to the main compound, features plants reminiscent of gardens in the 1920s.
- Events Allowed
- children welcome
- non smoking only
- pets considered
About Inn Keeper
IRWIN & LAURA KIRKWOOD. White Pine Camp was sold in 1920 to Kansas City Star newspaperman Irwin Kirkwood.
Laura Kirkwood was a close friend of Mrs. Calvin Coolidge. When Laura Kirkwood died in 1926 her husband offered his camp to President Coolidge and Mrs. Coolidge for the summer season. From early July through mid-September, White Pine Camp served as the summer White House for the President and his family.
EDITH STERN & ADELE LEVY. Irwin Kirkwood died in 1927. His estate sold White Pine Camp three years later to Edith Stern and Adele Levy, daughters of Sears-Roebuck’s Julius Rosenwald.
PAUL SMITH’S COLLEGE. From1948 to 1983 White Pine Camp was utilized by the college for summer programs, student dormitories, classrooms and staff quarters. Years of heavy use, followed by several years of abandonment (from 1976 -1983) took a heavy toll on the camp’s condition.WARREN STEPHEN purchased the camp in 1983 and over the next ten years managed to stabilize some buildings while others fell further into disrepair. HOWARD KIRSCHENBAUM. White Pine Camp was purchased in 1993 by Adirondack historic preservationist Howard Kirschenbaum of Rochester and Raquette Lake, NY. He and several associates began the arduous task of restoring the camp as a museum—replacing roofs, repairing bridges, installing new electric, water and sewage systems, furnishing the camp’s many buildings and developing a series of exhibits to interpret the camp’s history and architecture.
WHITE PINE CAMP ASSOCIATES, LLC. The museum was well-received but not economically self-sustaining, so in 1997 the ownership group formed a limited liability company composed of 13 individuals and couples whose goals were: (1) to have the satisfaction of being an owner of a unique Adirondack “Great Camp”, (2) to restore White Pine Camp and share it with others, and (3) to personally use and enjoy the property for themselves and their families. Since then, the ownership group has grown to about 40 members
Inn Keeper purchased this cottage in 1997
Why Inn Keeper chose Saranac Lake
The camp that Massarene, Muncil and Mizner designed and built would be architecturally unique among the Great Camps of the Adirondacks. Its 20 original buildings included an owner’s cabin, dining hall, four or five sleeping cabins, two boat houses, a tennis house, bowling alley a Japanese tea house that would become one of the Adirondacks’ most iconic images. But unlike the heavy log style first developed by William West Durant or the ornate artistry associated with later Adirondack styles, White Pine Camp’s builders effected a more subtle rustic expression. Their “pre-modern” composition featured soaring roof lines, asymmetrical -shaped buildings, and the extensive use of dramatic, natural lighting. If windows are indeed the eyes of a home, White Pine Camp’s unusually shaped windows--in corners and clearstories--open every room to a kaleidoscopic array of natural light textures.
Another one of the builders’ innovations was the rough-milled siding developed by Muncil and Paul Smith’s millwright, Charles Nichols. It was a compromise between more traditional clapboard siding and the rustic slab siding typical of other Adirondack camps. Muncil and Nichols’ “brainstorm siding”, as they humorously referred to their innovation, soon became a common element of Adirondack architecture. Also known as “Adirondack siding”, it soon spread throughout the region and beyond.
In addition to its innovative architectural style, White Pine Camp’s designers surrounded their buildings with the most extensive landscape architecture of any Adirondack rustic estate to date. Its masonry walls, paths, bridges, flower plantings and lush rhododendron gardens create a medley of natural elements that embrace the camp’s grounds.
What makes this cottage unique
At the turn of the twentieth century, much of the St. Regis Lakes area was owned by Paul Smith --lumber baron, inn keeper, and raconteur. Many of Smith’s prominent hotel guests subsequently purchased lakefront property from Smith to build their own summer homes, or “camps”, as they came to be known. One such buyer was Archibald S. White, a prominent New York banker, and his socialite wife, Olive. The Whites purchased 35 acres covered with white and red pine trees overlooking what then was called Lake Osgood.
In 1907 White commissioned New York architect William Massarene to design his Adirondack camp, just a short boat ride from Paul Smith’s Hotel. Ben Muncil, the region’s unschooled master camp builder, was the contractor. White also hired interior designer and architect Addison Mizner to work on furnishings and décor and design several additions and alterations. White Pine Camp was one of Mizner’s first commissions. He went on to become one of America’s leading architects and the visionary behind the development of Boca Raton, Florida.