Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Sleeps 8 , Pets OK,Historic Beach House,steps to Beach

Capt. Al is the property manager and guests relations. Contact him for info.

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, spanish, russian, Our staff can interpret French, Japanese, Chinese
Bedrooms 3
Property type house

Contact the Owner

Capt. Al is the property manager and guests relations. Contact him for info.

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, french, spanish, russian, Our staff can interpret French, Japanese, Chinese
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 13, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Sleeps 8 , Pets OK,Historic Beach House,steps to Beach

Bedrooms 3
Property type house


Clearwater Beach House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 8)

Tommy Bahama Island House is a classic 1920's Beach House updated in 2015. New kitchen, furniture, wood floors, LCD TVs and takes daily rentals.

Featuring Designer Tommy Bahama furniture, kitchen with stainless steel Samsung appliances, Maytag dishwasher and wood cabinets,black granite counter tops. New LCD High Definition TV in each bedroom and large TV DVD, High Definition 1400 channels, and wifi. channel. HBO, quality stereo and CD player, movie library, quality posturepedic mattresses and Tommy Bahama island wood furniture, Tommy Bahama Beds, designer decorated and well appointed house. Classic beach house with small front and rear porch. The wood deck offers a limited view of the Gulf of Mexico. There are a total of 10 cottages in this group so if this one is rented, please email us for availability of the other 1,2,and 3 bedroom cottages.

The Tommy Bahama Island house is 100 years old and is a fun, funky, beach house with character and will be enjoyed by wanna be beach bums, families who just want to walk to the beach and don't mind getting sand on the floor, fun loving guests who want to sit on the porch and watch the never ending excitement at the Ship Wreck Bar across the street, but may not be suited for well heeled, upscale, picky, fussy folks as it has all the quirkiness of 100 year old homes which included converted porch rooms, unusual sized rooms, low porch ceilings,

There are no streets to cross just step out back door, you will see the beach, walk past two other houses and your on the beach. Weber Gas Grill at Clearwater Cottages, and wood party deck with Tin Roof Gazebo in Key West style common backyard , ( The back yard is near the house, but not part of the house. ) The Tommy Bahama Island house is 6 blocks walk or about 10 minute walk to pier 60 and all the restuarants on the beach. Across street and 3 blocks walk to olympic size heated swimming pool, tennis courts and basketball, community and recreation center for children and playground. Free admission passes given to guests who stay one week. Maximum free passes is 10 Heated kiddy pool has big water slides and fountains, and lifeguards. You may drop your children off if over 9 years old. There are camp counselors to assist them to have a great day

This is maintained by the City of Clearwater to the highest standards and put most small hotel pools to shame..

Email owner for availability and questions. Text gets fastest response. We do not update the calender .There are 10 rental cottages available in this group and usually have one available. DAILY RENTAL IS AVAILABLE . No charge to use the manager's bicycles ( have some rust ) no charge for manager's beach chairs ( may have some rust ) No charge for coolers or fishing poles ( does not come with beer or bait ). Use the new Weber Grill ( You must do your own grilling )

Please email to check availability and call to reserve 813-417-1218 we do rent our cottages to well behaved young adults under 21. We also rent to well behaved senors. Well behaved pets also enjoy the beach cottages. The beach is pet friendly 3 blocks north of clearwater cottages.

Linens, bed comforters, and towels are provided. Paper goods included.

Wedding parties and other family reunion services available. We do not just leave the key under the mat. When you rent from clearwater cottages our friendly staff meets you at check in, and insures that all your vacation needs are met so you have a great beach vacation.

Pool: we offer free passes up to 10 passes for for guests who stay one week to best pool complex in clearwater beach. There is no pool at the house.

The beach is 300 steps, yards walk just down the block (less than 20 seconds) You will see the beach off the back porch.

Pier 60 with vendors, street performers, entertainers, fishing pier, bands and nightime activities 6 blocks walk,about 10 minutes.

Frenchy's Rockaway Grill and Palm Pavilion outdoor waterfront restaurants 4 blocks walk. Live music at both and directly on the sand.State of the art olympic size adult heated pool and children's play pool, showers, lifeguard, recreation center, tennis and basketball, library and boat ramp just across the street . 2.5 blocks over. Free children's playground and park with bocci courts, rides, bbq grill just across the street, two block down on mandalay ave. Trolley and bus stop just outside next block take you everywhere for just $1.50 angelo's pizza for the hungry and shipwreck bar for the thirsty just across street. Busch gardens one hour drive

Historic tarpon springs 30 minute drive

Disneyworld 1 and half hour drive, universal studios close to disneyworld and seaworld and all orlando resorts

Master bedroom : queen size Tommy Bahama poster bed in master bedroom with 34 inch Vizio HD Plasma TV curtains open to living room which makes room feel much larger.

Guest bedroom has Queen Tommy Bahama Bed and wall mounted Plasma TV. Long narrow room.

Porch bedroom has queen size tommy bahama poster bed, with a limited gulf view and wood porch. It is a long narrow room.

Sundancer Super Spa available on first come basis. $90 per week for all your guests, 4 hours use daily . Reservations guarantee it will be available. Located in the Key West style back yard of Clearwater Cottages. RESERVATIONS REQUIRED)

Video Tour : We suggest you view the video tour so you get a feel for this house. Go to Google and type Youtube Clearwater Cottages. You can see how close it is to the beach. Also note it is across from Shipwreck Bar and is great for Parties but not be for families with babies. Cottages on Glendale st 100 steps to beach would be better.

The video tour show the Tommy Bahama House, Pineapple 2 bedroom beach apartment and the Dolphin Cottage 100 steps from beach.

This is a fun, funky, 100 year old real beach house with who's age shows on the outside being so close to the beach, but comfortable and fun and clean on the inside. Some rooms are long and thin, some floors crooked, some ceilings low. Some rooms do not have outlets on every wall. It feels like a beach house built 100 years ago. Not for picky fussy country club types. IF YOU WANT A PERFECT HOUSE, PLEASE RENT A NEW HOUSE FOR TWICE THE PRICE. For fun loving guests who when sitting on the front porch, don't mind the entertainment and music from the famous Shipwreck Bar across the street. You will have the best seat in town for entertainment, but if you want quiet, we suggest one of the beach cottages closer to the beach. Clearwater Cottages offers cottages as close as 100 steps from the beach.

Well Heeled travelers who wish to be disconnected from the vibrant beach atmosphere and expect perfection may choose the Sandpearl hotel just 2 blocks over or the Surfside Condos just behind behind the Cottages for twice the price, same world class beach . Fun, artsy. wanna be a beach bum again and guests who want to life the Salt Life for a few days will love this house and energy at Clearwater Cottages.

Master Bedroom Queen size Tommy Bahama Wood Bed with Posturepedic Mattress, offers complete privacy from rest of house, and curtains open to living room making it feel twice the size. 50 inch Vizio Wall mounted TV

Guest Bedroom is private from rest of house except if the porch bedroom is occupied , those guests would have to walk through this room to access the bathroom and kitchen. Not an issue if Sofabed is used in living room.

This is a long thin room but cozy with window viewing wood deck and Angelo Pizza. Wall mounted Flat LG TV and window air conditioner. Has Queen size Tommy Bahama Wood Bed and Tommy Bahama Chairs.

Porch Bedroom features Queen size Tommy Bahama Poster Wood Bed with small view of Gulf of Mexico. This is a converted porch with air conditioner, long and narrow, has all original divided light windows. Has private entrance from back porch, or through Guest bedroom. 40 inch LG Flat screen TV.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Capt. Al is the property manager and guests relations. Contact him for info. (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french, spanish, russian, Our staff can interpret French, Japanese, Chinese
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 13, 2015

About Capt. Al is the property manager and guests relations. Contact him for info.

Welcome and thanks for visiting my profile. I am Capt. Al , my nickname because I am on the boat most of the Summer enjoyng the beautiful waterways and islands around Clearwater Beach.Originally from New Jersey I grew up near the shore and always desired to live near the beach. When you come to visit I hope to show you around this beautiful little island and the things I enjoy most. See you soon.

Capt. Al

Capt. Al is the property manager and guests relations. Contact him for info. purchased this house in 2005

Why Capt. Al is the property manager and guests relations. Contact him for info. chose Clearwater Beach

In the condo craze, most of the cottages and old wood hotels were torn down. There are just a hand full of old cottages left in Clearwater. When you vacation here, you feel like staying at beach cottage like when you were a kid. Feels a lot different than the high rise hotels and condo resorts. If you like fancy shmancy please say at the Hilton or Sandpearl Hotels, but if you want to experience that Old Florida Charm, the Cottages are for you. These houses were designed OLD FLORIDA DISTRICT by the Beach by Design planning committee.

What makes this house unique

Sit on the front porch and watch the never ending excitement at the famous Shipwreck Bar. Fun loving Tourist stumble in and out all day for photo shoots. When you tired of that , go sit on the back porch and watch the sunset. Many famous Tiki Bar and Resturants are just 2-3 blocks walk on the beach from Clearwater Cottages.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Sleeps 8 , Pets OK,Historic Beach House,steps to Beach
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
Worcester, MA

Wonderful Experience

  • 5 of 5

I booked several of the cottages and the Tommy house for my group of 25+ college kids and coaches. From start to finish it was an awesome experience. The location is perfect, the cottages are very nice, and the overall experience was wonderful. Kudos to Captain Al and crew for helping us with a late checkout and even returning a forgotten item. While these cottages are not the Ritz, they are well appointed enough to make anyone comfortable and the attitude/location make this a one of a kind experience.

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Coach : We are glad all 25 college kids had a great time over Spring Break, and they have a great Coach for bringing them. Happy to hear you enjoyed the Tommy Bahama Island house and found it well appointed, comfortable, and that felt like it was a one of kind experience Capt. Al and Karen
Pittsburgh, PA

Authentic beach house, great experience

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at the Tommy Bahama house was very pleasant for 6 spring breakers! When we arrived at the Blue Wave Motel to pick up our house keys, the man at the front desk not only provided us with them, but also stepped outside and pointed out area attractions and their distance. Upon arriving at the Tommy Bahama, we were greeted by the housekeeper to an authentic, friendly little home that was just to our liking. The online description was accurate to what we experienced in the house. We were within a very decent walking distance to Pier 60 and the popular stores and restaurants, but still far enough away from the crowded lower beach area. I hope to stay here again someday and thank you for allowing us to stay at the Tommy Bahama house!

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad the Tommy Bahama House was to your liking and that you found it was exactly as described. It's great when we get positive reviews and that you all enjoyed your Spring Break in Clearwater Beach. Hope to see you next year. Capt. Al and Karen
Toronto Ontario Canada

Great times at the Tommy Bahama

  • 5 of 5

Went to stay in Clearwater at the tommy bahama suite with some friends and had an amazing time. The rooms were clean, furnishing was fitting for a historic beach house and there was a great sound system. Service from captain Al and his first mate Karen was exceptional. Very friendly and accommodating service. Highly recommend if you are looking to be steps from the beach as well as close to local establishments to get food and refreshments.


  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Tommy Bahama Island House. Appreciate the comments that the rental was very clean and kind words about Karen and myself. Interesting to note that where one guest made negative comments about the old school sound systems, other's have found it terrific. My opinion, nothing like the old school monster speakers. It also lends itself to the feel of a time gone by. Thanks again for your positive review, and hope to see you soon. Capt. Al and Karen
Boston, Massachusetts

Happy travelers

  • 5 of 5

We just got back to New Engand after spending four great weeks at the Tommy Bahama House. We are three women with three dogs. This was a terrific fit for us. The house has plenty of room and is very well appointed. The kitchen was recently redone with stainless steel appliances, including a dishwasher, and granite countertops. It really is steps from the beach and walkable to town and the recreation center. Capt. Al and Karen were great hosts and very responsive to any requests we made. We had such a good time that we've booked the Tommy Bahama house for SIX weeks next year.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you Ladies and pets, had so much fun that you will be returning next year. We are glad you enjoyed the brand new kitchen with Granite countertops, Maytag Dishwasher and new Samsung appliances. It was time for an update, and new kitchens make everyone enjoy the cottages more. We look forward to seeing you next year as I see you already reserved the Tommy Bahama House. Thanks for the kind words about Karen and myself. Capt. Al and Karen
Saint Inigoes, MD USA

Saint Inigoes, MD

  • 4 of 5

Not sure why the last reviewer was so upset. Every review I read and info on the cottages web site explained exactly what this cottage was. I'm still here, checking out Saturday and wish I could stay another week. The cottage is old, quirky, funky, cool etc. It is NOT dirty and nasty. Yes, there is a GREAT local "dive" bar across the street. Went over and played pool one night and had a great time with friendly locals and tourists. I'm 60 and was happy to see they had some great tunes (CSN, Chicago, Boston etc.) Sit out front on the cottage proch and watch the passing beach goers and the when the "show" at the bar as the night goes on. Sit on the back porch where it's quiet and watch the "filtered" sunset as Capt. Al calls it. Great takeout pizza joint next door, but this really is the quiet end of the beach, yet only a few blocks from Palm Pavilian (great food and drinks) or Frenchie's on the beach (didn't eat there). Best of all is the great people that own/run this place. Unfortunately Capt. Al left for NJ for a weeding so we didn't get to go out on the boat, but whenever we saw Al, Karen or Rodney they would stop and talk for a while and then ask if there was anything we needed. Very attentive. Karen was going to the store today and asked if we needed anything. Can't get that at the Hilton! I'm a Hilton Gold member so I know what a decent place is, so you know this review isn't written by someone who's best stay was at a Motel 6. There was absolutely no problem with cleanliness. This is FL in August and we didn't see one bug in the place. If we have reason to come back (which we will), we'll call Capt. Al first for a cottage. Don't forget do your research and take some of the comments with a grain of salt, but if most are positive, ignore the one or two that are negative. Most of those have an axe to grind. Don't stay here if you want plush carpets, balcony on the beach, covered parking etc. cause this ain't the place for you!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guests from MD: Thank you for your unsolicited review while I was visiting my family in New Jersey. We are glad you had a great time as most people do who stay with us at Clearwater Cottages. Sometimes we get guests who really belong at the Hilton or Sandpearl and as you read, we want them to stay there as we want fun loving, families and guests, who come back year after year who know they found something unique and special here in Clearwater. Thanks for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again. Capt. Al and Karen
Atlanta, GA

Don't waste your money

  • 1 of 5

Old, nasty, filthy dirty. Antiquated furnishings, decor, rusted fixtures, a window air conditioner that turns on and the outlet sparks. On a busy street, across from a dive bar. Undeniably the worst place we've ever stayed

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John: You stayed one night in this house and the next day wrote this innacurate review. Amazing that the Guests who stayed in the same house, there the week prior to you had a fantastic time, found the house very clean, and wrote an unsolicited review, while I was away in NJ for a wedding, and you had nothing but bad things to say about the same property. I really don't understand as there are pictures of all the new expensive Tommy Bahama Furniture, updated and expensive Stainless Steel appliances and new wood cabinettes. I know the units are very clean as the housekeeper lives on the property and checks every one prior to check in. You never complained or even called housekeeping if there was an issue. Clearwater is a party town and yes the Shipwreck Bar is across the street as advertised in the listing. Most of our guests love to go over there to shoot pool, play darts or just sit at the bar and enjoy a good local story. This house is not recommended for well heeled travelers ( although we do get them as they want to be beach bums for a few days ) , big shots, or wanna be big shots, perfectionists, picky fussy people or guests who like to write critical reviews. Fun loving, easy going, people who want a great value and wanna be beach bums will enjoy the Salt Life here and great hospitality or the Managers. The reason you were disgusted, I later found out was that it rained when you check in, and rained the next day and the business office clerk would not give you a refund, so you left and lost your deposit. You could have simply called me as I answer my phone 9 to 9 everyday and everywhere and I could have worked out a credit for a sunny day. Hope sunny days are in your future. Capt. Al


Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Tampa Airport
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Gulf To Bay (highway 60)
Car: not necessary

Third house from the sand, and 5 blocks walk to Pier 60. Clearwater Aquatic Center offers Olympic size heated Adult pool and children's pool with fountains, 30 foot waterslide, life guard, kids 'drop-in' recreation center, tennis and basketball, changing room and air-conditioned exercise room all three blocks walk from Clearwater Cottages. (provided by city of Clearwater) , Clearwater's best family value all day use of pools, state of the art air conditioned exercise and changing facility, tennis, basketball, life guards, camp counselor, game room . Pool across the street Free children's playground, park, and BBQ grill just 2 block over across the street. Clearwater Cottages offers free passes for our guests who stay one week, up to 10 passes for the Clearwater Aquatic Center wow! Just ask Capt. Al

Located behind Surfside Condos and 5 blocks from Pier 60

Capt. Al, your host also manages other properties in Clearwater Beach including Small Boutique Motels, condos and other resorts. Please email us with your needs and budget and we are sure to find what you are looking for.


Rates & Availability

From $195 Per night

Clearwater Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer Rates
Apr 20 2015 - Aug 1 2015
1 night minimum stay
Fall and value season
Sep 1 2015 - Dec 19 2015
1 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning and Linen Fee $89.00 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes Full refund if canceled by email within 45 days of arrival except Events, Holidays, February and March or rentals of more than 1 weeks. Holiday weeks rates are slighly higher. If you bring more guests than you booked for and need additional rooms, we can provide them for you at additional charge. We book for many properties and will do everything we can to make your stay enjoyable. Clerical fee to cancel is $39
Additional Fees
Reservation fee for Spa is $89 per week for 4 hours daily ( includes removing cover, sanitizing after each use, and rebalancing chemistry, covering at night. Spa can only handle 6 guests daily )
Pet fee is $89 per pet per week, or $19 daily.
Free parking is for one car, although there are metered spots in front of this house.
Rates are higher for Holidays and Events
Once you make a reservation you are required to pay for the rental upon arrival in full. No refunds for late arrivals, early departures for any reason including, it's raining, the water is cold, kids are sunburned. spouse is partying too much, found a cheaper rental across the street, jelly fish season, or any other reason.
You may run your credit card and pay upon arrival.
Checks must be received 30 days prior
Deposit required to make a reservation
$250 , except high season and holidays $500
Call to reserve with credit card
Enter dates to see total


Clearwater Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Main bath has tub and shower, new vanity, enter from hallway
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom dark wood floors, queen size Tommy Bahama Bed, Large Vizio Plasma TV, central heat and air, opens to living rooms with curtains to make it feel really big, but private from all other bedrooms. Guest bedroom has Queen size Tommy Bahama Wood Bed, seperate air conditioner . It is long and narrow, and private from rest of house, excect from Porch Bedroom,new wood floors. Porch Bedroom Has Tommy Bahama Queen Bed with Gulf View, Additional air conditioner and seperate entrance and porch . Guests would have to walk through Guest Bedroom to access bathroom, if Porch bedroom is occupied.
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Historic 1920's beach house with Gulf View. Third house from the sand in North Clearwater Beach across from Pizza Restaurant and Shipwreck Bar. Nice friendly street. House has all Tommy Bahama Designer Island theme furniture and very cozy and living room has several sofas and lounge chairs where your group can congregate and overlook activities of Mandalay Ave.Stainless Steel Glass top Oven/stoveand Granite in remodeled kitchen. There are 10 Beach Cottages so have more friends stay next door. Video tour google utube Clearwater cottages. Once again, this is a remodeled fun, funky, 100 year old beach house for fun people who want to be 200 steps from the sand, and not for picky, fussy, perfectionists.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote