GREAT LOCATION WITH LOTS OF OPEN WATER!

Greg Bruce

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GREAT LOCATION WITH LOTS OF OPEN WATER!

La Follette House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Sleeps Up To 10 With Lots Of Porch Space.

Three Bedrooms (one overlooking Great Room), 2 Bath, with two large porches overlooking the lake. Full kitchen with Stove, Microwave, Dishwasher, Crock Pot, Two Coffee Makers, Toaster. Great room includes Satellite TV, DVD/Bluray player, Sound system with CD player. Washer/Dryer, New Gas Grill, Two picnic tables and deck chairs. Plenty of parking for cars and boat trailers. 12' X 20' Floating dock accommodates two boats. Close to Public Boat Ramp and several Marinas.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed

Greg Bruce

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2013
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Currently living about 15 minutes from the property on a farm. We're from the area and are very familiar with it.

Greg Bruce purchased this house in 2002

Bought this property from parent's estate. Home was built by my wife's father. One of the choice lots in Big Creek one. He was the second person to buy property here and got what is considered the best two lots on the Big Creek site. Sits on a point about midway between Point 7 and 5. 10 minutes by boat from Norris Dam. 7 minutes by boat from Sequoyah Marina, Home of Fire on the Water 4th of July weekend fireworks extravaganza. Convenient to several Marinas, including Sequoyah, Whitman Hollow, and Shanghai. Drive times are Cincinnati 4 hours, Dayton 5 hours, Atlanta 4 hours,

Centrally located so it's easy to get to any area of the lake by boat in a reasonable amount of time. Secluded with only three homes on a cul-de-sac. We're the last house at the end of the road. The way the house is situated you can't see any other homes from the upper or lower deck.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.5
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great Location with Lots of Open Water!
average rating of 3.5 based on 4 reviews
business
Great Location with Lots of Open Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472768vbi
4235664325
La Follette Norris Lake
1

BAD NEWS

  • 1 of 5
Nice place but could use a lot of cleaning and a little repair would go a long way. Found mouse feces in a few places, dried food on the kitchen counter, broken recliner and recliner sofa, opened the fuse box to reset a breaker and the inner panel fell out and nearly hit me on the head. Tie down cleats on the dock were broken. But worst of all my wife and I who slept in the first floor bedroom ended up with bites on our bodies. No one else had any bite marks. Really disappointed.
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, the week of this family's stay was when we were away on vacation ourselves. Normally, we personally clean our cabin and have had nothing but praise on the cleanliness. We always appreciate feedback about our hired help and will take this into consideration in future. When we cleaned and inspected prior to our vacation the cleats on the dock were intact. They have since been replaced. We have also replaced the recliner (we had plans to do that anyway and had been looking at new ones; actually the only thing broken was a piece of the handle. the recliner still works perfectly. It's just a bit old). As for the sofa, we will address that issue this week. It does not appear to be broken and we have had no other complaints. On Saturday, we will inspect that, as well. The breaker box has been repaired. I have seen absolutely no mouse droppings, and we routinely have pest control service at our cabin. We do, as does everyone at the lake, have a problem with lady bugs. Perhaps the visitors mistook those for mouse droppings. I sweep them out every time I clean,and the substitute cleaner obviously did not. As for bug bites, we sent our exterminator out today to double check, but we have never had a problem or complaint. Again, we appreciate all feedback as we strive to provide a wonderful experience for all of our guests. We also encourage our renters to call us if there are problems such as these so that we can address them immediately.
business
Great Location with Lots of Open Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472768vbi
4235664325
La Follette Norris Lake
West Palm Beach, FL
5

GREAT CABIN ON THE LAKE!

  • 5 of 5
The cabin is older but is gorgeous none-the-less! It is clean, would sleep 8 comfortably, has a massive stone fireplace and is right on the lake with awesome views. The neighbors are super-friendly as well! Even in late November, we had a great time just relaxing, enjoying the awesome view (with snow on the ground and trees) and visiting the local scenery as well as the Great Smoky Mountain National Park. The price is great!
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Location with Lots of Open Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472768vbi
4235664325
La Follette Norris Lake
5

GREAT LAKEFRONT RENTAL

  • 5 of 5
8 of us just stayed at this house and had a wonderful time on the lake! House was clean and had everything we needed. There are NO steps to the water just a hill which was much nicer than some of the staircases we've climbed at other rentals! And for 1200/wk this house is amazing, we could not have found something more affordable! It's about a 1/2 hr off the highway, the dock is a nice size we tied up one boat and had plenty of room for our seadoo and more. Just beware of a neighborhood skunk wandering around the house... it never sprayed but we had several sightings! :)
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great Location with Lots of Open Water!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472768vbi
4235664325
La Follette Norris Lake
3

GREAT CABIN ON THE LAKE FOR LOUNGING AND FLOATING, NOT THE BEST IF YOU HAVE A BOAT

  • 3 of 5
This is a great place to stay if you are looking for an affordable week on the lake. However, if you are planning on bringing a larger boat I would look elsewhere. We had a great time hanging out in the large yard and floating in the lake but the floating dock is not braced well and WILL rock your boat when other boaters pass. We had minor damage and still had 6 different fender guards on the one side and the boat tied to a tree on the opposite to try and keep it off the dock.
The house itself was exactly as described and fit 6 people very comfortably. The kitchen was fully stocked and the owners even left a gift basket! Large deck with great views for morning and evening and a large flat screen if it decides to rain. We were lucky enough to get to eat all of our breakfasts and dinners outside. The grill that is provided fits a lot of food.
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
57 Miles
Knoxville McGhee Tyson
Nearest Motorway
13 Miles
I-75
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
LaFollette Country Club
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

La Follette House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer, Saturday-Saturday only
May 1 2014 - Sep 30 2014
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$4,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$175
$1,250
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Pet Fee $25
Notes Rates subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Shorter stays may be available if house not booked 2 weeks prior to intended stay.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

La Follette House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Telephone
  • Fireplace
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom on First Floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Loft Bedroom overlooks greatroom, door to upper porch.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , Has it's own door to upstairs porch, rocking chairs.
  • Full size air mattress for overflow sleeping as well as two twin mats that slide out from under beds in upper bedroom. Great for kids! Increases sleeping capacity to 12.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Boat ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • water tubing
  • kayaking
  • water skiing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • hunting
Notes:
1 hour 20 minutes from Pigeon Forge/Gatlinburg and The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. 30 minute drive from to Don Sundquist Recreation Area (4 wheel/Jeep/motorcycle trails, hunting, hiking). 20 minutes to Cove Lake State Park. 45 minutes to Knoxville.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,950 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9