FABULOUS FOUR BEDROOMS COTTAGE NEAR FERRY AND VILLAGE

Daniel or Michael

Speaks english, french, mandarin
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Daniel or Michael

Speaks english, french, mandarin
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FABULOUS FOUR BEDROOMS COTTAGE NEAR FERRY AND VILLAGE

Bowen Island House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)

2 floors cedar house renovated in 2008

4 bedrooms

2 full bathrooms one on each level

2 rooms with King beds, 2 rooms with Queen beds

Wood burning fire place

Flat screen TV

CD/DVD player

Over 200 DVD collection for your entertainment

Two 600 sq.ft south facing decks with eating area, loungers and Hammock

Fully fenced and landscaped property

English flower garden

Meditation area

Breakfast gazebo with sitting area

Wireless access FREE of charge

2 fully equipped kitchen

2 dishwashers

1 microwaves oven

2 ovens

2 refrigerators

2 coffee machines

Webber BBQ on upper deck

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Daniel or Michael (Owner)
Advertiser since 2013
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english, french, mandarin

About Daniel or Michael

We are the owners of an exclusive store named Peking Lounge located in Vancouver's Chinatown and have been in business since 2003. We use our house on Bowen Island on a regular basis but welcome rental opportunities as well.

Daniel or Michael purchased this house in 2008

Why Daniel or Michael chose Bowen Island

We bought this house on Bowen Island in 2008 due to its proximity to Vancouver and to all the services available on the island alone with hourly ferries. Although only 45 minutes door to door from downtown Vancouver to the house, the island's unique setting and quietness allows one to relax and unwind without having to drive for hours or having to pack food and other necessities as everything is available right on the island. Because the house is located so close to the ferry terminal and the village, it is possible to leave your car behind and walk everywhere. We are also less then 1 km from Kilarney Lake and its amazing 5 km hiking loop.

What makes this house unique

The Peking Lounge Guest House has a unique Asian inspired decor that provides guests with a sense of peacefulness and comfort. Access to Vancouver is so easy that it is the perfect place to call your base as you enjoy all the beauty and activities of the Vancouver area without having to stay in the city and often pay much higher prices. The Guest House is fully equipped for those who prefer to lounge around, relax and share fantastic home cooked meals without having to go anywhere.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Bowen Island, BC, Canada
2

Owners are not fond of children. Avoid this place if you have pet allergies.

  • 2 of 5
We are full-time Bowen Island residents and I booked this house to accommodate overseas visitors with small children. We already had family staying at our own home during that time, so my young family also made use of the extra beds for some of the stay. This increased the overall cost as additional person charges apply if the total number of guests exceeds four, even for babies not sleeping in beds provided.

During the booking process, one of the owners Michael made some comments about children that led me to believe that he tolerated them for the purpose of making money, but was otherwise not too fond of them. Initially I did not take offense, however his comments became more aggressive. Unfortunately for me, I had already paid a deposit and did not have time or resources to search for alternative accommodation.

The Overview page of the listing, under the heading “Suitability” states there is a small charge for children if total number of guests is more than four. However, Michael insisted on charging us the full adult rate and when I politely queried the discrepancy, he wrote back with the following comment:
“If you can't afford the property and/or abide by the rules stated then you shouldn't have booked our property. Sorry to be so blunt.”
I found this to be rather rude when taken with other comments of similar tone. There was never any implication from my end that we could not afford the property, only that we wanted to keep the cost down as we already had a home on Bowen Island where we would spend most of our time.

In the end, my husband could not sleep in the house as he has severe pet allergies and dogs had clearly been staying at the house. The owners were not remotely sympathetic about this and they were not willing to reimburse any of the extra person charges, which I felt was a bit mean considering that half of our party left little trace of being there as we spent most of our time at our own house on the island. There is a standard cleaning fee for all bookings but we made light work for them, certainly not typical for a party of 8 people. And our children caused no damage or excessive mess.

The house was reasonably comfortable and the location is very convenient for the cove; however, the lower floor was darker than it looked in the photos and one of the downstairs bedrooms smelt a bit musty. I would not recommend this house because of the poor customer service we received.
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank Molly for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that we could not see eye to eye with Molly on our rates and regulations. We stand by our policy of being 100% child and pet friendly and feel our outstanding guest reviews speak for themselves.
In short, Molly was fully aware of our current rates at the time of booking. When she pointed out the over-sight on the main page, listing last years child rates, we honoured that rate for her children.
After her stay, Molly believed that because she did not use certain amenities including the second kitchen (although there were dishes in the sink and food left in the fridge) she should be entitled to a refund. There were multiple emails of this nature expecting further discounts and refunds.
Unfortunately, in addition, the house was not left in good standing with beds not stripped, outdoor sofa cushions not taken in, large indoor furniture moved and not replaced (one wooden chair left outside) and even breakage and missing items; very unlike our typical guest check-out experience.
Regarding pets, it should be noted that Molly's husband did actually spend one night at the Guest House, ("My husband stayed at the house for the first night…") and although Molly also admitted to suffering the same condition ("both my husband and I have severe pet allergies") she managed to spend all three nights without incident.
*We clearly state that we are 'Pet Friendly' however we do have restrictions on which pets we allow to stay. Upon approval we ask that they bring their own pet bed and encourage our guests to use 'baby wipes' and towels provided to ensure repeated clean entry to the house after being outdoors. Our cleaners are trustworthy local Bowen residents who are professional and thorough and are alerted when a dog has been staying at the property.
Incendiary comments about not being fond of children are simply hurtful and untrue. We warmly welcome young families; often our own or visiting friends. We provide a high chair, play pen, baby gate, children's books, crayons, outdoor chalk, child life jackets, colourful beach towels and many games for the enjoyment of children…and for parents who come to Bowen to relax.
In the end I believe Molly was perhaps under stress hosting multiple visitors and hope that she will have a better experience next time she stays in another holiday rental better suited to her needs.
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Victoria BC
5

SuzieQ

  • 5 of 5
We stayed at the Peking Lounge on Bowen Island for a family reunion. The house was great for our family of adults, as there was plenty of room to spread out; the two kitchens were a great bonus! The house was very well equipped- we didn't want for anything and we loved the artful decor. A short walk to the Cove was handy for eating out or picking up groceries from the General Store. One word of advice would be to buy your groceries in Vancouver before heading to Bowen $$$.
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
North Vancouver, BC
5

Nicely appointed, cosy and functional

  • 5 of 5
We stayed here as two families with children. We used the 'main' kitchen and living area upstairs to congregate and hang out, but each family had their own floor to stay in.

The wood burning fireplace on the main floor was well used for our night caps and movies.

We loved the upstairs deck - the barbecue and the outside seating was great when the sun shone the first day.

We really like the layout and felt comfortable staying here. The walking trails are close by and easily accessible.
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
4

Love the house

  • 4 of 5
Very good location, owner keep the house very clean and cozy, our 2cars were fit in behind the gate that really made us a goodnight sleep, and the x-box is a plus. The only thing that we really went to give our thumb down is the refrigerator, some left overs still in ( share food? I don't think so )
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed the house. We do not keep left overs in the fridge, only condiments that we invite our guests to use if they wish to. We feel that this added touch makes it easier for guests who forgot to bring mustard, ketchup etc. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
(Also, just a side note; Bowen Island is one of the safest communities in Canada. Residents are known for not locking their doors of their homes or cars so you can feel relaxed parking your vehicle on the street as well.)
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
Vancouver
5

Nice place and good location

  • 5 of 5
This is one of the best places we've ever stayed. The kitchen is fully equipped and all rooms are quiet. The 2nd floor living room is spacious and good for chatting. The whole house is chic, full of authentic Chinese elements and with taste. It was very much like going back to my grandma's country home seeing all these furnitures and decorations. It's a few steps away from the beach and lagoon, where you are able to see salmon in Oct-Nov.
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fabulous Four Bedrooms Cottage Near Ferry And Village
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p472642vb
- 604-844-1559
Bowen Island British Columbia Gulf Islands
5

Peking Lounge Cottage

  • 5 of 5
For our family week-end (8 adults and 1 toddler), this was a perfect setting. Bedrooms were v. comfy and gorgeous, the sofas worked well enough for further sleeping accomodation. The kitchen was extremely well-equipped. We were able to play outside with the toddler (which was much-needed at times!) and the garden is really beautiful. The location is handy for a walk to the village and the neighbourhood is good for a nice stroll, as well. I would highly recommend this cottage.
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Vancouver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Bowen Island Neighbourhood Pub
Nearest Ferry
800 Metres
Bowen Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Bowen Island Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Sea to Sky Highway
Nearest Restaurant
800 Metres
Nearest Ski
8 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Pebbly Beach
Car: not necessary

Services on the island:

Gourmet grocery stores

Butcher shop

Italian deli

Liquor stores

Numerous pubs and restaurants within 2 km

Recreational Activities:

2 one man kayaks available right at the guest house

Many board games

Tennis racquets

2 minute walk to nature trails

8 km walking/running loops from the guest house, around the lake

5 minute walk to Pebbly Beach

Golf course within 10 km

Emergencies

Fire Hall within 5 km

Doctor’s clinic within 3 km

Vet clinic within 2 km

24 hours medical emergency

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Bowen Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas and New Year
Dec 20 - Jan 4
7 night minimum stay
C$2,100
 
 
Summer 2015
May 14 2015 - Oct 15 2015
2 night minimum stay
C$225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$195
From
C$195
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee C$125
Pet Fee C$25
Notes There is a $25 additional charge per person per night above 4 people. We accept cash, cheque or email transfer only. We require a credit card for a $1500 pre-authorized damaged deposit.
50% deposit require upon booking. Balance due 14 days before booking date. A pre-authorized damaged deposit of $1500 will be charged to your credit card.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Bowen Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Main bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Skylight in the bathroom
    Lower Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • The Blue Room - 1 queen , Located on the main floor with a view of the garden
    The Yellow Room - 1 king , Located on the main floor with a view of the mountains
    The garden Room - 1 queen , Lower Level with view of the garden
    The Green Room - 1 king , Lower level with view of the side garden
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$300 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$1,919 per week
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 3 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$114 per night
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote