FAMILY FRIENDLY - QUIET LOCATION!

Brett Aylesworth

Speaks english

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Brett Aylesworth

Speaks english
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2013
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FAMILY FRIENDLY - QUIET LOCATION!

Eagle River Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom - 1 bath with additional bunkhouse

The Cottage

The cottage has 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, a full kitchen, a living room, and a screen porch. One bedroom has a full bed, and the other bedroom has 3 beds (a queen and two twins). There are also two additional twin beds located in the old boat house which has been converted to a bunkhouse. There is a firepit onsite, as well as a gas grill available for use. Please bring or purchase your own firewood.

Columbus Lake is a 600+ Acre lake located in Sugar Camp Wisconsin. The lake has no 'public' access, therefore it does not have heavy fishing pressure or boat traffic like most other lakes. The lake is abundant with walleyes, panfish, perch, northern pike, and muskie. The shoreline is a sandy bottom, with some reeds surrounding the dock located at the cottage. If you are in need of a fishing boat, or other items, contact us and we will try to accommodate requests (some may be at an additional cost).

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Brett Aylesworth

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2013
Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Family Friendly - Quiet Location!
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Family Friendly - Quiet Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471755vb
Eagle River Northern Wisconsin
5

A BIT OF HEAVEN ON EARTH

  • 5 of 5
There is nothing more to say than AWSOME. From day 1 till we had to go home it was great. From the cabin with the big flat screen for news, weather and movies in rainy times to grilling out, big fires, shopping in Eagle River and Fishing every chance we had(with some very helpful hints)! We cant think of a thing that could have made it any better
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, actually just added the nice TV the week before you came because the old one had intermittent sound problems.
Hope you can return again next season!
business
Family Friendly - Quiet Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471755vb
Eagle River Northern Wisconsin
5

GREAT FAMILY VACATION SPOT! PERFECT!!

  • 5 of 5
My husband and our three young kids (ages 6, 22 months and 5 months) recently stayed in this cabin over Labor Day weekend. It exceeded our expectations in every way. The owner was incredibly easy to contact and get information from prior to and during our stay. He stopped out to check an issue, even though it was his holiday weekend too, and gave us recommendations for dining choices. He even brought over a personal kayak for us to use during the weekend. The location is ideal for anyone wanting privacy during their vacation, as the lot is set back off the road surrounded by woods. The only time you see other people is if they drive by on a boat. The cabin was cozy and clean when we arrived and even better than the posting and pictures had described. The cabin faces the lake with plenty of windows along the front wall, so I could feel comfortable letting my 6 year old play in the lake while being able to see her from inside the entire time. The lakefront itself is sandy and shallow, and our oldest could swim all the way to the docked boat and still touch. Also, the cabin is close enough to the shore that our baby monitor was able to maintain signal all the way to the end of the dock so Momma could catch some rays while the babies slept. Our daughters enjoyed playing in the neat boat house bunk area during the day and we used the boat, grill, and kayak daily. There was also a paddle boat and canoe on site for us to use. The kitchen had everything we needed for preparing food and Eagle River has a large grocery store for supplies. The screened in porch was perfect for our meals and game nights, and had enough room to store two strollers, our daughter's bike, all of our fishing gear and other misc. items with plenty of room to still move around. The bedrooms had enough room for two pack and plays along with our suitcases and never felt crowded. Eagle River has a great downtown area full of shops and restaurants which were fun to visit our last day before heading home. We recommend The Friendship House to any families with small children, because their wait staff were incredibly family friendly. We plan to recommend this place to every person looking for a cabin getaway, and absolutely plan on coming back for more visits! Thanks so much for a great trip!
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the indepth review Erica! Enjoyed meeting you and hope you are able to return again next season.
business
Family Friendly - Quiet Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471755vb
Eagle River Northern Wisconsin
Oconomowoc, WI
5

EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS

  • 5 of 5
We had a group of 11 stay at this cottage. The driveway accommodated the 5 cars we drove up. The place was extremely clean, secluded, and close to Eagle River. The owner was available to answer our questions by phone call, email, or text. Our group spent most of our time on the lake when we were not in town. We cooked all our meals on the gas grill available for the renters. The property was large enough for our bocce ball tournaments. We finished the evening with a bonfire in the fire pit located by the boat house.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Family Friendly - Quiet Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471755vb
Eagle River Northern Wisconsin
Rhinelander, WI
5

4TH OF JULY

  • 5 of 5
This was an awesome cottage to spend The 4th of July week at! It was kid-friendly with a big yard for playing baseball, along with a shallow, clear beach near the dock. The paddleboat and fishing boat were in constant use. The kids also enjoyed jumping off the dock and swimming out far and STILL being able to stand. The Bunk House, which is a nicely remodeled boat house with large screen doors that open to the lake, was a fun place for the kids to sleep in and play in throughout our stay. We also enjoyed dinner every night in the screen porch to avoid the bugs and mosquitos. Lastly, the fire-pit was also a big hit when we had company come visit us in the evening.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Family Friendly - Quiet Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471755vb
Eagle River Northern Wisconsin
2

NORTHWOODS

  • 2 of 5
The cabin was clean, however the carpet in the living room looks like it hasn't been vacuumed because its old and has a lot of snags. The biggest concern is there are no screens on the bedroom windows so you can't open them and only one fan was provided. We were lucky that the few days we were there it was cool but the week prior would have been a nightmare! Also there isn't a kitchen or dining room table. There's a patio table set in the screened in porch but it was too cool to eat out there, TV trays would make a nice addition. The kitchen was stocked fairly well, however there were no cereal bowls of any kind. The TV is old, and can only be used for DVDs. Information and owner contact was good.
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay at Columbus Lake. I would agree that the carpet does have a few snags in it, but they only effect appearance. We do vacuum the carpet between each renter. The TV is old, this is true - it is difficult to receive any TV stations in the remote Northwoods via antenna (regardless of TV new or old), so without cable or satellite or a large outdoor antenna, it isn't worth an upgrade. We will look into screens and/or providing a few more fans, as well as TV trays (there isn't a place to add a table besides the screened porch one that is provided), thank you so much for the suggestions. I'm not so sure the problems discussed deserve a 2 star review. However if you read the additional reviews, you can see the positive feedback that the cabin has received.
business
Family Friendly - Quiet Location!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p471755vb
Eagle River Northern Wisconsin
4

RAINY JULY

  • 4 of 5
The property was great: clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, it rained for most of our stay.

TV did not work, heat was on a strange set up, but nice new kitchen and appliances. Lots of sleeping room and nice cottage on a lake.

We enjoyed our stay.
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for your stay! For future renters knowledge, the TV is functional and their is a DVD player hooked up, however because of the remote location and no cable/satellite, receiving live channels is not a option at this time.
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Rhinelander
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Sugar Camp
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Eagle River
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Sugar Camp

Cabin is located just south of Eagle River Wisconsin on Columbus Lake. Columbus Lake is a 600+ acre lake with no public access. It is a very quiet lake with typically only a few boats on the lake.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Eagle River Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Base Rate
2 night minimum stay
$180
 
Discounts: 4 nights or more: $150 Nightly; 6 nights or more: $125 Nightly
 
Off season
Sep 6 - May 20
2 night minimum stay
$175
 
Discounts: 3 nights or more: $140 Nightly; 5 nights or more: $110 Nightly

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25.00

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Eagle River Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Beach View
  • Lakefront
  • Lake View
  • Waterfront
  • Water View
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bunkhouse - 2 twin/ single , Separate small building with 2 twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Kayak / Canoe
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets considered ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • winery tours
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • shopping
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • miniature golf
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting small game
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • water tubing
  • tennis
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • hunting
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$1,250 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$750 - $1,500 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,750 - $1,995 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8