Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

West Lake Cottage in Prince Edward County

Shannon and Daniel

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Shannon and Daniel

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

West Lake Cottage in Prince Edward County

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Prince Edward County Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Near Sandbanks Provincial Park in Prince Edward County

Private cottage-style home off Westlake in Prince Edward County, close to Sandbanks Provincial Park, Bloomfield shopping and more. With 3 acres of property, this location is perfect for a family vacation. Minutes to the white sand dune beaches, restaurants, shopping, wineries and more. There is a large sun-deck great for BBQs and good times. There are 4 bedrooms with 3 queen size beds and a twin size bed. (Bring your own bedding and towels please). The kitchen is equipped with dishes, glassware, cutlery, coffee maker, microwave, fridge and stove. Our open concept living room connects with the kitchen. Guests can dine inside or outside depending on the weather. Inside features plantation shutters, propane gas fireplace and a wood stove fireplace for cozy off-season leisure. The property features mature trees and perennial gardens. The cottage faces west, so sunsets abound and there is lots of wildlife including unique birds, deer, rabbits, and more. There is also an outdoor fire pit for bonfires and roasting marshmallows.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Shannon and Daniel (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2015

Why Shannon and Daniel chose Prince Edward County

We love our cottage and it's our home away from home. It's a private, scenic cottage-style getaway with the beach down the road.

What makes this cottage unique

This is a private cottage on Westlake to book for you and your guests. Great area fishing, and canoeing. Sandbanks beach is down the road.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.7
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
West Lake Cottage in Prince Edward County
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews
Ottawa Canada
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Just what we were looking for in a country cottage. The beds were comfortable and overall it was a clean, cozy cottage. We liked that it is located on a private lane way close to Sandbanks.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Toronto
2

Quiet spot but some hidden negatives.

  • 2 of 5

My girlfriends and i went to PEC for the weekend and found this charming cottage on West Lake. Fantastic location to get to all the little towns (8-15mins away from Wellington, Bloomfeild, Picton) Lovely property but not what the photos led us to believe. The cottage is on swamp land/river that leads into the lake, you cant actually see the lake but you can see the trailer park adjacent to the property. The cottage property had lots of space and some beautiful large trees on it. The cottage its self was a great size, nice open concept with a few updates. Bathroom was clean and tidy and the hot water was great. The kitchen had very basic (old/worn) cooking tools, dishwasher didn't work, the fridge froze all our vegetables and all round is in need of a facelift. All the bedrooms where very cold but they provided heaters which was good. The master bedroom and the bedroom off the living room had nice-ish linens but the third bedroom off the coatroom was a drab catch-all. The doors on the closet in the bedroom off the living room where broken and falling off. All in all this property has some real potential but is in need of a little fixing up and TLC. I wanted to share my thoughts and wanted to share about the exterior property.

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kindly note that these guests visited our cottage in mid-November when all of the leaves are off the trees and the water levels of the lake are low due to annual lake drainage (Fall thru Spring). Our waterfront is perfect for boating, canoeing, kayaking and fishing but it is not swimmable (as mentioned in our listing). All of our cottage photos were taken in 2014 and the cottage looks exactly as it is presented during peak season (Summer). Our property is full of mature trees, so again, in peak season when the photos are shown, the campground across the lake is hidden from view. I informed the guest prior to arrival that there was not a dishwasher currently (we are replacing it in 2015), so it is disappointing to see it in the review, since it was not advertised on our website. Linens, towels, and sheets are all provided for our guests at no additional charge (many cottages in the area charge extra fees for linens). Although they are not "hotel quality", they are still nice and what most guests would expect with a cottage rental.
Toronto, ON
5

Just a memorable place for relaxation and recreation

  • 5 of 5

Recently visited this beautiful and picturesque location with friends and look forward to the next opportunity to relax in this cottage again!

A cozy cottage, absolutely wonderful sunsets, family friendly rabbits that visited us constantly during our stay.

I highly recommend this cottage to visit at any time of year!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the nice review. The cottage is cozy and relaxing. Great for families with children, couples of all ages, and more.
Ottawa, Canada
4

Great property in a central location in PEC

  • 4 of 5

I rented the cottage for a girls weekend of 5. The cottage was clean, the property was stunning and completely served our needs for the weekend. Very close to many wineries. Beds were also comfortable. I would rent this property again for a similar weekend or week away.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our beds are queen size with fresh linens provided for our guests. Westlake is close to the beach, Bloomfield shops, Picton for groceries, and many wineries. Thank you for the nice review.
4

Traveller

  • 4 of 5

This property was cozy, clean and comfortable. I felt at home there. There was also a nice view of the sunset from the living area. We enjoyed the kitchen and dining area - had a romantic feel. Lots to see and do in the area.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed it!
2

No hot water

  • 2 of 5

The cottage itself was lovely, but there was no hot water. We were really disappointed that the owners or caretaker did not respond to our complaint on this. We spent the weekend without the ability to shower and the dishwasher did not work well either. The price we paid to stay here, should definitely have included hot water.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is not an accurate reflection of how we care for our property or our guests. We are extremely attentive to all of our guests and we always have hot water. In this instance, the hot water valve was just shut off so it would have been a quick and easy fix, but we were not properly informed. The best way to reach us for emergencies is by telephone. We have a property manager who is only 10 minutes away. In this instance a text message by an unrecognizable phone number was the only communication we received. If you need to email us please use an email that either contains your name or use the email address that you booked your rental. That way, we are likely to see the email right away and it won't go in our spam folder.

Map

Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
The Waring House
Nearest Ferry
15 Kilometres
Glenora Ferry
Nearest Golf
10 Kilometres
Picton Golf Club
Nearest Train
30 Kilometres
Via Rail Belleville
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Hwy 62
Nearest Restaurant
5 Kilometres
The Waring House Restaurant
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Sandbanks Provincial Park
Car: necessary

Prince Edward County has lots to offer for the perfect vacation. Visit the sand dune beaches of Sandbanks Provincial Park (just minutes away). The area offers lots of fine dining, shopping, cycling, and touring the wineries of Prince Edward County.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$159 Per night

Prince Edward County Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring
Mar 1 2015 - Jun 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
C$175
From
C$250
Fri,Sat
C$1,200
 
 
Summer
Jul 4 2015 - Sep 5 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
C$1,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 6 2015 - Oct 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
C$175
From
C$250
Fri,Sat
C$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Nov 1 2015 - Feb 29 2016
2 night minimum stay
C$159
From
C$199
Fri,Sat
C$850
C$1,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add C$25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee C$50.00
Refundable damage deposit C$200.00
Notes Notes:
1. Summer weekly bookings are from Saturday to Saturday.
2. If you are paying online by credit card, please note that the VRBO charges a $6 fee for the return damage deposit and cancellations.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Prince Edward County Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • Our bathroom is located on the main floor (downstairs) and has a shower, tub and tile flooring. Please bring your own towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
  • 3 of our 4 bedrooms have comfortable queen size beds. The other bedroom is a smaller bedroom upstairs with a twin size bed. There are 2 master bedrooms to choose from; 1 located downstairs and 1 located upstairs. (The downstairs master bedroom is wheelchair friendly). Light blankets provided, but please bring your own linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Other Vacation Properties

$1,749 - $1,987 per week
2 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,643 per week
7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,948 - $2,703 per week
2 - 7 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote