Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Modern rustic, light-filled designer cabin...Tour de Cashiers May 2nd!

Donna Hamilton Paulson

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Donna Hamilton Paulson

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Modern rustic, light-filled designer cabin...Tour de Cashiers May 2nd!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Cashiers Lodge Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedroom/4.5 bath Lodge, sleeps 12-14, less than 5 minutes to Lonesome Valley

Welcome to your vacation home in the Blue Ridge Mountains!

The Mountain House offers an immediate sense of sanctuary and space, ...a place for your family and friends to live beautifully... where we hope you will return time and again.

We furnished this house in a way for which we we constantly search when we travel, but rarely find. Mountain rustic...(modern mountain if you will), with designer details, antiques and a refined casual vibe thrown in for a lovely eclectic mix. This craftsman style, genuine post and beam house has heart of pine hardwood and slate floors throughout - no carpet. The Mountain House is also recently furnished, and so everything in it is new (except for some antiques!)...so, new top quality sheets, towels, mattresses, down comforters and furniture selected specifically for this home. Oh, and we're dog friendly - just let us know Fido is coming (treats in store!).

Cleanliness: It is top on our priority list as it is for most travelers. We have a top notch cleaning team, and you can be assured your vacation getaway is clean, top to bottom.

Convenience: It's also important to our guests to be close to the supermarket, restaurants, and shops. While still secluded and pastoral, the Mountain House is just 5-10 minutes to all these things.

Detailing: It's here, in every room, not just some of them. And it's just one thing that sets the Mountain House apart. All the rooms are unique, with great accents, from the ten foot antique French workbench coffee table in front of the fireplace to cool art throughout the house.

Family perfect: Aren't most of us looking for the place that can make can those family memories? Birthdays, anniversaries, reunions....the occasions that make you realize the time together is the gift that never wears out.

Space: For everyone! The great room is perfect for family gatherings in front of the soaring 24 foot rock fireplace great in the winter season or on chilly summer nights(and a second, lovely living area downstairs),...plenty of seating for everyone to chat, or watch movies on the HD television. Wifi, of course.

Family dining: A huge rustic trestle dining table that seats 10 to 12 easily, anchors the dining room. A large antique buffet against the wall for serving dinner. Right by the screened porch is the open porch, where you can dine al fresco with your family and guests, enjoying the gorgeous summer weather in the mountains.

Cooking: The fully stocked, gourmet kitchen has beautiful soapstone countertops and farmhouse sink, TWO ovens (heaven for the cook), and a Dacor 5-burner gas cooktop...and everything you need to cook and serve an amazing family meal. Beautiful dishes and serving ware, family size slow cooker, electric kettle, Bonavita coffee maker, blender, Cuisinart pots and pans, spices and cooking basics.

Relaxation: Sure we all love togetherness (most of the time), but we also need some down time, right? Try the screened porch, where I promise you'll spend a lot of time. The large daybed swing with tons of pillows and a foam mattress is the best place imaginable for reading or naps...and you may even sleep there one night! There are plenty of getaway spots for quiet moments.

Six bedrooms: Three bedrooms on the main level: 1 king, 2 queens, with 2-1/2 baths (both with heated stone floors). Upstairs are 2 more guest bedrooms (1 queen and 2 twins) that share the bath. The 6th bedroom is a king on the lower level, very private, with glass doors and windows onto the back garden with lots of rhododendrons. It also has it's own bathroom with heated stone floors and a seating area outside for your morning coffee!!

Laundry: Yep it happens, even on vacation. But here it's easy...a beautiful (yes, it can be) laundry/mud room just off the kitchen, and a side entrance (great place to unload groceries)...with top of the line front loading washer and dryer, and a lovely summer herb garden just outside the door.

No TV struggle: A lovely 2nd family room with HDTV is on the lower level, with big windows, built in bookshelves, mini-fridge and sink...and a game room with foosball and ping-pong. Game on!

I want s'mores: No problem. Just outside is a new boulder firepit with cedar Adirondack chairs perfect for a chilly mountain night and we have long, stainless marmallow roasters!

Location: The Mountain House is located in a lovely, gated neighborhood just behind the Country Club of Sapphire Valley...a wooded, gentle, level road for walking, biking or driving (not so far out and up hairpin twist roads you think twice about going anywhere). Snow is cleared by the neighborhood assoc. in the winter, as is our driveway.

Activities: Done, and done. The Sapphire Resort facilities with indoor and outdoor pools, winter ski slopes (great fun!), exercise room, playground, two hot tubs and saunas, and massage...literally just down the street. You have access! Hiking, waterfalls, golf, fishing, shopping...it's all here. We're also very close to several top notch restaurants, including the increasingly famous Canyon Kitchen at Lonesome Valley, which is 5 minutes away.

Baby, oh baby: You won't have to pack all the baby gear...we have a wonderful Four Moms Pack and Play, a Cybex stroller, Phil & Ted's lobster high chair, and vibrating baby rocker for your convenience.

The Mountain House is at your disposal!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Donna Hamilton Paulson (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015

About Donna Hamilton Paulson

I first traveled to the Highlands/Cashiers Plateau as host of 'Great Country Inns' for The Learning Channel, and thought it was one of the most jaw-droppingly beautiful places I'd ever seen! The weather in the summer is so incredible for those of us used to scorching 90+ temps...warm 75 degree days, but so cool at night you can light a fire. Lovely in the spring and fall....cozy in the winter...it was a place we always wanted to own a home...now we do and love sharing it with guests. We hope you plan a visit to enjoy the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Warning: you may never want to leave!

Donna Hamilton Paulson purchased this lodge in 2012

Why Donna Hamilton Paulson chose Cashiers

Having stayed in several houses here, we found it's better to be conveniently located...some properties are waaaaay out (or up-you may not know this until you arrive), and the drive at night can be...well... disconcerting, especially if you suffer from motion sickness. You think twice about going out for dinner, or even to the grocery store, so while we're private, everything is right there!

What makes this lodge unique

Our goal is to provide for you the perfect family vacation. The moment you walk into the great room, you know you're gonna love, love, love this house. And we are always adding things we think our guests will enjoy. Please let us know if you thing there's something we need!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 29 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Modern rustic, light-filled designer cabin...Tour de Cashiers May 2nd!
average rating of 4.965517 based on 29 reviews
Greensboro, NC
5

Wow!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 14 stayed at the Mountain House over the MLK weekend. Mom and Dad, four grown sons and their families came from near and far. We loved every single thing about this amazing house in this gorgeous setting! It was beautifully and comfortably decorated with lots of room. We are all cooks and found the kitchen well stocked and convenient. There was plenty for the kids to do, from basketball to biking to ping pong etc. We had an absolutely fabulous time both at the house and exploring the trails, waterfalls, little towns of Highlands and Cashiers. We had such an exceptional time that we decided to bring five couples with us for a return visit in late March. These folks were equally impressed! The guys played golf at nearby High Hampton Golf Course, while the ladies shopped, etc. There was plenty of time for more hiking and exploring the magical area. One night while sitting around the fire pit, singing while some of the folks played guitars and mandolins, it began to snow these enormous flakes! It doesn't get any better! We look forward to coming back as a family and with friends. Best place ever!!

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 4 of 5

The first thing I want to mention is the owner. She was an absolute pleasure to work with. She sent me emails as our trip approached with events that were happening in the area.

There were 14 people staying here, 7 children (3-8) and 7 adults, and we never for a moment felt crowded. The separate downstairs living area is great for the kids to be able to play, while the adults could enjoy the living area on the main level. The porch off the dining area has the most beautiful swing that is a beautiful place to relax. The kitchen is fantastically sized, and even with five people in it, you never felt crowded. The house is even more beautiful in person than what is shown in the pictures. The bedrooms are good sized. I was a little taken aback on my first night when I sat on the mattress I was to sleep on, the king on the lower level, because it was SO FIRM. I mean, like I've never felt a mattress this firm. I called the owner, and she told me it was probably because it was cold outside and the mattress is a Tempurpedic that would soften after we got in. It did, and I actually loved it. The craftsmanship of the home is outstanding. It's clear that the builder used extremely high end materials and did excellent work. The furnishings are gorgeous, tasteful, and (most importantly) comfortable. The kitchen is equipped with absolutely everything you could ever hope for in a gourmet kitchen. The exterior of the home is great, too, with a nice backyard for the kids to play (only slightly sloped). It snowed while we were there, and we sledded in the front and back yard.

My single complaint is the heating system. Throughout our stay, the lower level was never heated to above 62 degrees when set to 70 (it was extremely cold while we were there), and on the coldest night, it was 57 degrees downstairs even when we turned it up to 75. This was ok while we were under 5 blankets, but was pretty uncomfortable getting out of bed in the morning (disclaimer: we're South Floridians, so we're wimps). I talked to the owner, and she did offer to send someone out, but it was our last day, so we didn't bother. Also, while the lower level was icy, the upper level was ALWAYS ridiculously hot. I'm not sure if this is just a problem with this kind of house as far as heating, but this is the only thing that prevents me from giving the house five stars. It definitely wouldn't prevent me from coming back, and I'd highly recommend this house to anyone.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jessica...I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and loved the house. You're right...it's perfect for an extended family! I do hate it that the downstairs heat was on the blink while you were there....we did have the repairman come out to see what was going on...some wire was loose in the system...it was literally a 10 minute fix. I wish I had known sooner so your stay would have been more comfortable! We've had lots of winter guests, and you are the first to have problems with the zone heat....I'm guessing the bedroom zone was up pretty high, which would lead to hot upper bedrooms. We've never experienced that...the ceiling fan in the stairwell usually keeps the air well distributed. Hope to see you back again!
5

A home to enjoy...

  • 5 of 5

I just spent two nights here on a girls' weekend for my 40th birthday. This house is absolutely beautiful. We all felt that we stepped into luxury. The home is truly a place to relax and enjoy. The owner has thought of everything, and I mean everything to make your stay comfortable and fun. My friends and I ventured into Highlands on Saturday, but all of use commented that we wanted to actually enjoy the beautiful home we were in, so we were eager to head back. Everyone has plenty of space, and there are many features to enjoy from the gourmet kitchen to the Bose stereo to Netflix and the wonderful fire. The beds and furniture were so comfortable and there were plenty of cozy blankets. I really cannot say enough. The owner also left a bottle of wine for us and was so great about providing ideas for dining and activities in the area, even sending emails about specific events as we approached our date. All of us who enjoyed the weekend are trying to figure out dates to bring our families and friends for more vacations at this home that is absolutely a gift to yourself. I cannot recommend this property highly enough. We will certainly be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Christmas 2014

  • 5 of 5

The best Christmas to date. We were a group of 12: "Tyty" & 'Lovie", in our 50's, with our 2 adult children, in their 30's, their spouses and children (6 total, ages 20 months to 6 years) and Brother, in his 50's, with his daughter, 20 years old. Diverse group, but all fell in love with the Mountain House! As the other reviewers point out, communication with Donna, the owner, is fantastic with local recommendations and up to the minute activities in the area. Upon our arrival we found a beautifully boxed carrot cake accompanied by a bottle of red wine! Very nice touch. We visited Tom Sawyer Christmas Tree Farm (a recommendation from Donna) and selected a gorgeous 9 1/2 foot Christmas Tree. We picked it, they cut, bound and loaded it for us. The house is stocked with decorations, lights and a stand. We put up the tree, and decorated it with the house ornaments along with ornaments we crafted after we got there! We had a fire outside in the fire pit every night as well as a fire inside. We went snow tubing and hiked during our stay. We were a bit disappointed in the shopping. Cashiers was closed for the most part the day after Christmas (Friday) but we visited what was open. We highly recommend Bucks Coffee. Saturday we visited Highlands, which has a much more developed shopping area. The house is very well equipped in every aspect, very clean and well organized. The beds are very comfortable, with Tempurpedic mattresses. The kitchen is well stocked and equipped for group cooking and eating! We could have used an extra fridge but we made due with coolers until the last couple of days. This is not wilderness, but it is a peaceful and wooded setting. We highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: SO happy you had your best Christmas ever at the Mountain House! That's exactly what we aim for... And while most guests don't need an additional refrigerator, with the addition of the wine fridge...that's not a bad idea Ruth. We may try to get one to put in the garage for those who cook...a lot! We hope to see you back again soon!
5

Mountain Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Wow! What a spectacular Thanksgiving week shared by our extended family at the beautifully appointed Mountain House. Where to begin? Well, for starters your ongoing and very thorough communication not only helped us prepare for our visit but let us know early on how much you truly care about your guests. Upon arrival, we were greeted with wonderfully thoughtful treats and a warm, inviting atmosphere. We "oohed" and "aahed" over many of the design details throughout the house, relished in the comfort of cozy beds, fluffy towels and toasty bathroom floors. The kitchen was fully stocked (and then some), along with a brand new roasting pan for our 25 lb. Heritage turkey! The fireplace kept us warm and the great room was lit by beautiful candles, especially that gorgeous Flashpoint candle on the coffee table (it's on MY Christmas list this year). We did puzzles and played games around that spectacular table, all the while wondering about its origin. Surrounded by natural beauty, we enjoyed lovely walks, runs and visits to the fitness center. We shopped in Highlands, visited Bridal Veil Falls, climbed Whiteside Mtn. (on ice and snow) and dined at Chile Loco. Oh, and last, but certainly not least, we lounged on the ultra cozy porch swing. Honestly, when someone vacated it, the next "lounger" was waiting in the wings!

Bella and Roxi had a wonderful week as well, cuddling with us and enjoying walks on the golf course. It really is special to be able to bring them along. After all, they are treasured members of our family!

Overall, this was the most positive rental experience we have had in years of family gatherings at the Outer Banks and NC mountains. We cannot thank you enough for your limitless hospitality. As a family, we cherish this time together and we were blessed to have every member of the family present. The Mountain House was the icing on the cake. We do hope to return again.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you had a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday at the Mountain House....come back soon!
Jackson Ms
5

Better Than All The Rest!!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of seven stayed at the Mountain House the third week in October and we could not have been more pleased with our accommodations! My wife and I actually traveled to the mountains in June to look at a number of properties for our October getaway. When we visited the Mountain House, we knew this was the place for us and immediately reserved it. The house is beautiful and spacious and the decor unbelievable. We used our time in the mountains to play golf at Sapphire National, hike to a number of waterfalls, shop and enjoy the fine restaurants in the area. Our group especially liked Cornucopia in Cashiers and Madison's at The Old Edwards Inn in Highlands. The owner was absolutely a treat to work with and provided us with a great deal of information about the area and offered great suggestions on things to do. Upon our arrival, we were pleased to find a carrot cake and bottle of wine compliments of the owner which certainly started our getaway off in fine fashion. The final comment I will say about the Mountain House is we liked it so much we have already reserved it for next year and added a day to our stay!! One cannot go wrong with the Mountain House!!

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Cork and Barrel Wine Bar
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Sapphire Valley Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 64
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Canyon Kitchen, Gamekeeper's Tavern, Cork & Barrel
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Sapphire Valley Resort pool, snow skiing
Car: necessary

Cashiers is the most wonderful place in the summer for families...loads of things for the kids to do from camps to fishing to hiking to gem mining...and the same goes for adults(minus the camps). In the evening, there are many upscale restaurants for foodies and the weather is perfect. Warm sunny days...cool crisp nights that call for a blanket!

You have to save time to see some of the gorgeous waterfalls in this area...some are just a few minutes drive away. And while some require a serious hike, others are easily accessible.

The city of Ashville is a great day trip, just an hour or so away...incredible shopping and restaurants, lots of artists call Ashville home. And you can zipline ACROSS the city...yep, an in-city canopy tour.

And if you've never seen the Biltmore mansion...this is a must visit. Allow a full day to see the place...it's that big, and that fascinating. Good places to eat lunch right there.

White water rafting, fly fishing, horseback riding...it's all here.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $500 Per night

Cashiers Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
Apr 1 2015 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
Memorial Day
May 22 2015 - May 25 2015
4 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
June
May 26 2015 - Jun 27 2015
5 night minimum stay
$500
$3,500
 
 
Summer
Jun 28 2015 - Sep 3 2015
7 night minimum stay
$4,000
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 7 2015
3 night minimum stay
$650
 
 
Fall
Sep 8 2015 - Nov 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,000
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2015 - Nov 29 2015
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2015 - Dec 27 2015
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
cleaning $250 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.75%
Notes July Fourth holiday week is $4500.00

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Cashiers Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 5 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Heated stone floors
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Double vanity, walk in slate shower, heated floors.
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower , Heated stone floors
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • master bath with separate shower and jacuzzi tub, two guest baths all with stone floors...
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 6 - 1 king
  • two king, 3 queens, 2 twins...We also have a blow up pillow top mattress available.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Additional housekeeping can be arranged if desired.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote